Should the Celtic Collective be working WITH the board, rather than against it?

Thai Tim

Imagine you are celebrating Hogmanay 1999 going into the new millennium of 2000. You love your football team Glasgow Celtic but Scottish football has recently been dominated by Rangers, who have won nine consecutive titles from 1990 to 1997. Indeed Rangers are the current champions, and have won 11 of the previous 12 league championships. There are not too many signs that Rangers dominance will end soon. This depresses you. You make a wish… as the clock strikes "12" taking us into the new millennium, you ask that Glasgow Celtic become the most successful club team the world has ever known…

It is 25 years later. Has your wish come true? In these past 25 years during the 21st century, Celtic FC has achieved significant domestic dominance, winning the Scottish Premiership title 18 times and securing a world record eight domestic trebles. The club has also reached a UEFA Cup final in 2003 and won numerous other cups during this period. Would you say your wish had been granted and would you expect the Celtic support to be happy with the way the club has been managed and run in the 21st century?

Amazingly the Celtic support are not happy. They want more success and demand that those running the club resign, because the supporters claim they are all incompetent! Imagine what outsiders must think of these supporters. Entitled? Greedy? Celtic have won 18 league titles since 1999–2000:
2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2022, 2023, 2024. But the fans are still unhappy with the way the club is run... to the point they are insisting the board resign!

The supporters are now saying that domestic dominance is not so important anymore, and what is truly more important is success in Europe. As of October 17, 2025, Celtic FC holds a UEFA 5-year club coefficient of 38.000, ranking them 59th in Europe. This is unacceptable to the supporters, (and I agree with them). So what can be done to improve this? The consensus of our support feel the current Celtic FC board is not spending enough money on new players, and are too slow getting new players in and ready available for the important European qualifiers. While I agree with them, I also think that these supporters are being too harsh on the board members who have a genuine claim to be praised for their unprecedented domestic success, as opposed to being vilified!

If the supporters wish to focus on European success, I can see only one solution. Get Celtic FC out of the Scottish league that they are dominating to the point of boredom, and find a way to compete in the EPL. This could be achieved with dedicated focus and strong legal arguments. This Supporters Collective should be less negative and more positive, working WITH the board to argue in Parliament and the courts that Celtic FC as a business are not able to compete fairly with counterpart businesses, (English Clubs).

UK Competition Law:
  • Governed primarily by the Competition Act 1998 and the Enterprise Act 2002.
  • Applies across all of the UK, including Scotland.
  • Key points:
    • Prevents anti-competitive agreements between businesses (cartels, price-fixing).
    • Prohibits abuse of a dominant market position. Overseen by the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA).
Trade Within the UK
  • There is no separate “Scottish vs English” law — the UK is a single internal market.
  • Businesses in Scotland are legally entitled to compete on equal terms with those in England, Wales, or Northern Ireland. Any unfair advantage (e.g., subsidies, government support) that favors one region could potentially breach state aid rules or competition rules.
Other Protections
  • Consumer protection laws (e.g., Consumer Rights Act 2015) also help ensure fair competition by making misleading or unfair practices illegal.
From a business perspective, Celtic FC are unjustly banned from joining the very lucrative EPL. Clubs from Wales such as Cardiff and Swansea are allowed to compete, so why not Scottish clubs? One tactic worth exploring is to get the political party “Labour” on our side to adopt this as a promise to the fans, in order to win Scottish elections from the SNP. What I am saying is, if we genuinely want to compete in Europe properly, and not be humiliated by cash rich clubs when we do get into the CL, we really need to get access to the big EPL money. There is no other way, so I suggest this supporter’s collective work WITH the board, not against the board, to achieve our dream of another 1967. If that means starting in the lower leagues and working our way up, so-be-it.

I wouldn't say the Collective are working against the board. If the board were to come out today and answer the 7 questions and give the fans and the Collective at least a tiny insign into their strategy for the future (something i dont believe they have), I think it would make a lot of people happy.
I hope it is obvious to everyone that its the guys on the Celtic board who are refusing to work with, or even listen to the fans.
They look at us with contempt.

This current Celtic board will never see the fans as equals. They will never accept their help or advise.

I wouldn't say the Collective are working against the board. If the board were to come out today and answer the 7 questions and give the fans and the Collective at least a tiny insign into their strategy for the future (something i dont believe they have), I think it would make a lot of people happy.
I hope it is obvious to everyone that its the guys on the Celtic board who are refusing to work with, or even listen to the fans.
They look at us with contempt.

This current Celtic board will never see the fans as equals. They will never accept their help or advise.
Fair play to you Lubo. I read that original post and thought. What a lot of 💩 but fair play to Peter, he’s up early.

This decision by a collection of many supporters across a wide range of fan-run associations has not been made as a spur of the moment entitlement tantrum. It has been building and building for many many years due to being ignored or talked down to by condescending know-it-alls.

They really do think they are superior to everyone else despite them still enforcing their late 1990s business practices. They are clearly incapable of improving the club and modernising operations. These days, stagnation results in deterioration.

Yes, they did do good things for the club in their time. They had to slash spending 20 years ago after DD's doomed push to get the Old Firm into the English Premiership (which of course our multi-billionnaire largest shareholder refused finance this suicidal strategy himself).

Yes, we could still legally afford better players than any other Scottish side which led to the death of our main rivals who desperately funded their attempts to compete with through a series of illegal practices. Their cheating killed the old Klub which gave us the opportunity to dominate domestically. But how much of that success was despite our board's approach and more the direct result of the fantastic foundations implemented by Fergus?

And rather than use this period of incredible success to push on and at least strive to improve in Europe, the board choose to stockpile cash rather than strengthen the team. In fact, they far too often deliberately hamstring a succession of managers with their scattergun transfer strategy nearly always conducted far too late in a panic which weakens our European ambitions rather than gives us a stronger chance.

Nobody realistically thinks we can win the Champions League these days, but I would class finally winning 1 tie in the knock-out phase as the first step. Also, the accountants can surely see the huge financial returns more than compensate for the extra early investment in higher quality players.

Also, their boasts about how successful their transfer strategy is when PL and his cronies in the padded seats turned £1.5m signings into £25m+ sales will take a massive dunt in the next few years. The reason we got such massive profits on an occasional cheap signing was because they were playing in the Champions League and getting continent wide tv exposure at the highest level.

The values of these types of players will plummet when we fail to play in this competition. As will our prize money, sponsorship deals and the ability to buy better players, which means our board will cut costs more (but still award themselves higher salaries) and this leads to a self-inflicted downward spiral. But as long as we finish above sevco by at least a point most years then our board and DD do not give a monkeys.

We are the analog club in the digital age. The success this century is there for all to see but much of that, certainly the last 15 years, has been done due to lack of competition and a massive financial advantage.
We are not going to the EPL. They don't need us and more importantly don't want us.
It's time to move forward and not live in the past. Living in the past is what led to near bankruptcy and a terrible team on the pitch for the majority of the 1990s.
Modernise, become a 21st century European football club that strives to be the best version of ourselves that we can be. Modernise with competent, visionary executives, younger independent NEDs who will question and bring fresh ideas, build a Football Operation that is genuinely 'world class' and not just a corporate bullshit phrase.

If the club want to re-engage with the support and move forward together then a couple of easy 'wins' could be announced at the upcoming AGM, eg retirement of Lawwell, replacement of Nicholson and any NED there for over 9 years and/or over 70 years old to step down. A full, transparent and communicated review of the football operation with recommendations and timescales for a restructure to be carried out. A fully costed plan for the upgrade of the stadium, ie what is to happen to the 53 year old Main Stand and a maintenance plan for the other three stands.
None of this will happen of course as the board want to sit in their own little bubble and slap each other on the back and say 'how great are we'. We, the cash cows, should just pay up, sit down and shut up, we know nothing.

As always in these situations, there is a middle line. BOTH SIDES NEED TO WORK TOGETHER .

The collective have some valid points, but are actually unaware of how the club is run, and cannot therefore know what should, can or cannot be changed - or the timeline.

The Board needs to listen to the fans as a whole. They need to be seen to converse and respond. This does not mean that they introduce everything the collective/fans propose, but they should at least consider them.

Who can pull the two sides together? I have no idea, but I think it is unlikely to happen.

As always in these situations, there is a middle line. BOTH SIDES NEED TO WORK TOGETHER .

The collective have some valid points, but are actually unaware of how the club is run, and cannot therefore know what should, can or cannot be changed - or the timeline.

The Board needs to listen to the fans as a whole. They need to be seen to converse and respond. This does not mean that they introduce everything the collective/fans propose, but they should at least consider them.

Who can pull the two sides together? I have no idea, but I think it is unlikely to happen.
The collective, and the wider fanbase, do not know how the club is run because the Board are masonic in their secrecy. There are a lot of people within the Celtic support who have the business experience to know how a £100-130m business should be run.
If you listen to the RGC podcast (Corporate governance is it?) where Paul Thomson, a collective committee member, and Chris O'Donnell explain, using their many years experience in senior corporate positions, the roles of CEO, CFO, Chairman and NED in a well run organisation and how Celtic do not follow any good practice.
Very informative and very worrying in equal measure.

The collective, and the wider fanbase, do not know how the club is run because the Board are masonic in their secrecy. There are a lot of people within the Celtic support who have the business experience to know how a £100-130m business should be run.
If you listen to the RGC podcast (Corporate governance is it?) where Paul Thomson, a collective committee member, and Chris O'Donnell explain, using their many years experience in senior corporate positions, the roles of CEO, CFO, Chairman and NED in a well run organisation and how Celtic do not follow any good practice.
Very informative and very worrying in equal measure.

I'm not denying that there are a number of people in the support who have a lot of business experience, myself included, but the Club cannot be run by 60,000 people.

Nor am I saying that our Board are up to date and well run. We all know that they are not.

The "fans" (in whatever guise) will NEVER run the Club.

All we can push for is an up to date Board who will listen to the fans. Sadly, turkeys don't vote for Christmas!!

Let's hope that our Board take on board some of the proposals made and actually reflect on where they are, and what they have - and haven't - done.

Our pressure may influence them. If they have the long term benefit of the Club at heart, they will do so. Sadly, it seems at the moment as they do not.

Here's hoping for change.

Im wondering who decides who's on the board and how many members it has? (Maybe a quick Google search will tell me)
I'd also like to see a membership scheme for fans. When we played Newcastle I had a gander at their web site and they have one. There's discounts on merch and priority for tickets etc, obv behind STH.
Taking it further there could be an honoured member Rep, voted by members to sit on the board and represent fans and possibly communicate with fans for the board as a sort of go between. Just an idea.

EDIT of course it's the shareholders who decide boards DOH! So basically DD.

Im wondering who decides who's on the board and how many members it has? (Maybe a quick Google search will tell me)
I'd also like to see a membership scheme for fans. When we played Newcastle I had a gander at their web site and they have one. There's discounts on merch and priority for tickets etc, obv behind STH.
Taking it further there could be an honoured member Rep, voted by members to sit on the board and represent fans and possibly communicate with fans for the board as a sort of go between. Just an idea.

EDIT of course it's the shareholders who decide boards DOH! So basically DD.
There's 8 on the board, DD decides who

Execs - Nicholson (12 yrs) & McKay (9 yrs)
Chair - Lawwell (22 yrs)
NEDs - Desmond (30 yrs), Allison (24 yrs), Wilson (20 yrs), Brown (9 yrs), Rose (2 yrs)

For those who haven't already go listen to what the guys who were in that meeting with Nicholson, McKay etc. have to say about what took place....if you're not seriously concerned about the attitudes, behaviours and competency of those running our club after hearing their account of what transpired then I'd say you're either not paying attention or you simply don't want to hear it!

As for addressing the original post in this thread Bridie & Gary pretty much answered / covered that!

For those who haven't already go listen to what the guys who were in that meeting with Nicholson, McKay etc. have to say about what took place....if you're not seriously concerned about the attitudes, behaviours and competency of those running our club after hearing their account of what transpired then I'd say you're either not paying attention or you simply don't want to hear it!

As for addressing the original post in this thread Bridie & Gary pretty much answered / covered that!
Hoi you stop noo they twa will git Mair bawheidit aye Thur rite but ffs dinny tell thum
Sssshhhh

HH😉

The problem is that if you listen to what the Board say about that meeting, as well as what the collective say, you are left with contrasting views.

As we are all of a similar mind, and think the Board needs reforming, we will side with the collective. Others may not.

It's a pointless exercise firing off at one another. We need someone, or more likely, some "group" to mediate and develop a route forward.

Easy in theory but difficult in reality.

The problem is that if you listen to what the Board say about that meeting, as well as what the collective say, you are left with contrasting views.

As we are all of a similar mind, and think the Board needs reforming, we will side with the collective. Others may not.

It's a pointless exercise firing off at one another. We need someone, or more likely, some "group" to mediate and develop a route forward.

Easy in theory but difficult in reality.

I trust what the collective say more than the board. The board think we are "world class at everything" which says to me they are fucking delusional. The Collective want whats best for Celtic. No one is paying the Collective. They are putting their own time and money, in terms of travel, into this with no return, apart from seeing the club they love reaching its potential. There is no need for them to lie.
The board members, on the other hand, are earning 6 figure salaries which are topped with bonuses. They want a closed shop with absolutely no scrutiny.
Anyone who has watched, over the years, what the Celtic board have done to the club, and think that they can be trusted or believed....need their fucking head checked.

I trust what the collective say more than the board. The board think we are "world class at everything" which says to me they are fucking delusional. The Collective want whats best for Celtic. No one is paying the Collective. They are putting their own time and money, in terms of travel, into this with no return, apart from seeing the club they love reaching its potential. There is no need for them to lie.
The board members, on the other hand, are earning 6 figure salaries which are topped with bonuses. They want a closed shop with absolutely no scrutiny.
Anyone who has watched, over the years, what the Celtic board have done to the club, and think that they can be trusted or believed....need their fucking head checked.

As I said, we are all of a similar mind and side with the collective. Not all fans are as involved or motivated.

Being brutal, it doesn't matter what you or I think. However, if we can get a collective to express their concerns to a Board that will listen then we may get to see some changes.

Perception is reality to the vast majority of us. Looking at Celtic results & trophies over the last 25 years would have many believing (including a number of Celtic supporters) that there is little wrong.

BTW, I think we agree on things, I'm just trying to explore the easiest way to move things forward - and to do so we must have both parties on board. Personally, I do not want to impact on the team/games in any way. Hitting the Club in the pocket may have an impact, but it will need quite a lot of fans to be on board to do so. And it won't happen overnight.