Summer Signings 2026

It looks as though nothing has changed.
It’ll be a case of sell our best players before we bring in cheaper versions. They’ve got their season ticket money in now, so we can forget what we ‘promised’ the fans.
The usual silence from the board.
Why would things change? The Board were proven to be 100% right as we won a double and missed out in the other final. So, in their mind, last season was fantastic. Trophies, 2 very profitable transfer windows, little outlay on players - all adds up to a nice set of bumper bonuses to the highly successful Board.

They probably deserve another 40% payrise this season too.

Why would things change? The Board were proven to be 100% right as we won a double and missed out in the other final. So, in their mind, last season was fantastic. Trophies, 2 very profitable transfer windows, little outlay on players - all adds up to a nice set of bumper bonuses to the highly successful Board.

They probably deserve another 40% payrise this season too.
Aye and they got rid of yon troublesome manager 🤣 x 2 ...

And they held on tae Arne anaw...

Am away for a lie doon...

I will restrict myself from going all in on the clowns that run our club at this stage as I am still enjoying the glory of our double and the deep seated pain of all our detractors in Scotland.

Everybody deserves a couple of weeks grace after the madness of the end to our season.

They have to get it right and show willing to change or expect the wrath of the Celtic support with this time round I suspect not one they can withstand.

Something has to give.

Yep!

I agree. This is a Rubicon moment in time…

David Watson going to Bolton for free. I thought he was worth a punt for us. Over a 100 first team games for Killie and he has not long turned 21.
I honestly never felt inspired with the prospect of signing this bhoy ...dont get me wrong he is hard working good physicality and consistently gives his all but I think he is pretty ordinary BB.
Good luck to him though.

We really should be going for a younger more modern manager imo .Will Martin stand up to this board and get the players he wants?After that January window i dread to think who we'll bring in this summer .
The players MON and Shaun identified they wanted in January were not signed. They would have cost a transfer fee and Despot wasn't for that.
What they were given was a choice of loan players provided by agents, all of whom turn out to be not what we needed.
Remember MON's press conference before the last league game in January he was asked about the signings of Ghedjemis and Redzic and were the club in negotiation with them, he confirmed we were and hoped to sign them. We didn't, we got Adamu and Mvuka, agent recommendations, on deadline day.

I honestly never felt inspired with the prospect of signing this bhoy ...dont get me wrong he is hard working good physicality and consistently gives his all but I think he is pretty ordinary BB.
Good luck to him though.
He would have been a decent squad replacement for Luke McCowan. Younger, more potential (McCowan was young winger at Ayr Utd in League One at Watson's age), Scotland U21 international captain and capable of playing in several different roles within a team.
Nothing against McCowan but we could have got a 7 figure fee for him and signed Watson for a 6 figure development fee. We chose to extend McCowan's contract.

I feel the board should be getting a move on. The World Cup starts in about 2 weeks. But knowing our board, none of the players that we want, will be playing there. I hope I’m wrong but I’m beginning to get the usual vibes that the board will be sitting back, with their list of players and just thinking about who they will go for first. Then a fortnight later, decide to make a move for someone, only to find out that the player has been transferred to another club, that probably offered the going rate.

I know we are still on a high...but fuck sake...MONs tactics and style of play was awful to watch! There is no doubt he dragged us through this season...but it wasnt playing beautiful, inventive football!! If he has been offered the job then it is our board doing what they do best!!! Which is very little. Its Lennon in the showers type of shit. So what are we doing? Offering MON a 1 year contract? Cause the board refused to give BR cash due to his non committal...and people on here agreed with them!!
So will it be another season like this one. Cheap punts and loans....all so MON can have his swansong season....No thanks!
The club need to move forward in all departments....from board level to management.

Thank you Martin for what you have done....but please step aside....dont become another one of the old grey men who have our club in a strangle hold

I know we are still on a high...but fuck sake...MONs tactics and style of play was awful to watch! There is no doubt he dragged us through this season...but it wasnt playing beautiful, inventive football!! If he has been offered the job then it is our board doing what they do best!!! Which is very little. Its Lennon in the showers type of shit. So what are we doing? Offering MON a 1 year contract? Cause the board refused to give BR cash due to his non committal...and people on here agreed with them!!
So will it be another season like this one. Cheap punts and loans....all so MON can have his swansong season....No thanks!
The club need to move forward in all departments....from board level to management.

Thank you Martin for what you have done....but please step aside....dont become another one of the old grey men who have our club in a strangle hold
An unusually pessimistic view from you Lubo. I do agree with a lot of what you say but I don’t blame Martin for the poor quality of football in the run in, as the squad had lost a lot of its belief, were out injured or not good enough quality. I don't think he has us in a stranglehold either, and his intentions are always honourable.

But yes, this argument that so many of our fans spout about not investing in the squad because the manager might not be here in a year's time is crazy bullshit. Most managers are not here 12 months down the road and it is only Celtic fans I've ever heard spouting this crap. By this cock-eyed logic, we wouldn't invest (AGAIN!) in the team if MON stays for another year.

An unusually pessimistic view from you Lubo. I do agree with a lot of what you say but I don’t blame Martin for the poor quality of football in the run in, as the squad had lost a lot of its belief, were out injured or not good enough quality. I don't think he has us in a stranglehold either, and his intentions are always honourable.

But yes, this argument that so many of our fans spout about not investing in the squad because the manager might not be here in a year's time is crazy bullshit. Most managers are not here 12 months down the road and it is only Celtic fans I've ever heard spouting this crap. By this cock-eyed logic, we wouldn't invest (AGAIN!) in the team if MON stays for another year.

Im not meaning to lump MON in with the bastards who have prevented us from modernising over the last 30 years. Only that, if they offer him the job it will be the same old same old. A men in greys pals act.
MON loves Celtic and no one would blame him for wanting to stay on....but in him staying on...all he will be doing is unintentionally adding to that blockage that is preventing us from moving forward as a club. Football has moved forward since O'Neil was in his prime. The days of "just go out and play" are long gone...and he will never have a team anywhere near the quality of the Larsson, Suttons, Lennons or Petrovs again. The players MON had at his disposal were still better than the players at Motherwell.....yet with tactics and style....they managed to play us of the park on several occasions. I wasnt meaning to attack MON. Just pointing out that I believe signing him up will mean another slog of a season, next season. He wont be backed by the board. They've already shafted him once.
Also, he an old man. He isnt going to sign a 2 or 3 year contract. We need a manager whos coming in for at least 3 season IMO....the rebuild is that big. To me, signing O'Neil is another case of our board kicking the can down the road for another season.

Just to play devil's advocate Lubo...

If Martin can get that team of players from last season motivated enough to win us a double...I'm left wondering what he could do with players that fit his model or style of football...Martin said with 2 or 3 games to go that it was too late in the season to change our style...we all believed him...then from what I seen he changed our shape twice to win us a double...now the question remains though was it Martin or Shauns change....if Martin is in as the motivator with Shaun as the tactics...I'll be happy...as long as wee keep the flexibility to change mid game..