The sickening hypocrisy of the English.

Benignus

Danny Rose has said that he will be glad to see the back of football when his career ends, the recent abuse he received on international duty alongside Raheem Sterling has scunnered the lad. He rightly points out that UEFA and FIFA aren't taking this seriously, this cannot be denied when you see the fines handed out to clubs and countries who have fans that belong in the dark ages.
This isn't even up for debate anymore, Russia being awarded a world cup is a perfect example, there is a serious problem with racism in Russian football, we have learned that before the tournament Putin had sent orders to the worst offenders and warned them that they would pay a heavy price if they didn't tuck their hatred away on a 5 week vacation that summer. They obliged (who wouldn't) and a great competition was had by all.
I have every sympathy for Rose and Sterling, but I feel they would have a bigger impact if they turned their guns towards English football, the FA has a racist streak running right through it, the amount of managers in England tells you that, and what's the deal with the lack of Black Englsh chairmen in the game, personally I feel it's because of a possible reaction from a section of the clubs fans and the risk of bad publicity and embarrassing headlines.
After some scummy Macedonian fans abused Rose and Sterling, the press are like a dog with a bone, now we see them getting on their high horse and seemingly playing a game of your racism is worse than ours, and brushing aside the serious problems they have at home.
A black player in Italy suffered abuse last week, and another player has said he brought in on himself, sound familiar?
Until Uefa, Fifa and FA's all over the world stop paying lip service to this problem, then it is sadly, going nowhere.

Off to work but hopefully have a wee blether about this later on troops, have a good one it's Friday at last.

Great post Benignus 2019 great to see how far the World has moved.
Racism, Sectarianism and Feminism last one
150 years after they left Edinburgh University they’re now allowing these 7 Pioneers to
Graduate.
All 3 Isms will never be Eradicated better Education will help.
But the World right now is Leaning so far to the Right with Thumper in the White House to Brexit and the Little Englanders creating a fear of Race and Stopping all immigrants from coming hear. So that GB can regain its place in the World.
In Scotland you call a pape a Fen/Bastards
No crime committed.
But Call Slippy an English B wow the Media
Suddenly find a conscience. Funny that.
Or you bring it on yourself.
Wish I had an answer but just Glad the Family background I was raised in was of Tolerance
And treating all people how I would like to be treated. And for that Thanks.

HH ☘️?

Danny Rose has said that he will be glad to see the back of football when his career ends, the recent abuse he received on international duty alongside Raheem Sterling has scunnered the lad. He rightly points out that UEFA and FIFA aren't taking this seriously, this cannot be denied when you see the fines handed out to clubs and countries who have fans that belong in the dark ages.
This isn't even up for debate anymore, Russia being awarded a world cup is a perfect example, there is a serious problem with racism in Russian football, we have learned that before the tournament Putin had sent orders to the worst offenders and warned them that they would pay a heavy price if they didn't tuck their hatred away on a 5 week vacation that summer. They obliged (who wouldn't) and a great competition was had by all.
I have every sympathy for Rose and Sterling, but I feel they would have a bigger impact if they turned their guns towards English football, the FA has a racist streak running right through it, the amount of managers in England tells you that, and what's the deal with the lack of Black Englsh chairmen in the game, personally I feel it's because of a possible reaction from a section of the clubs fans and the risk of bad publicity and embarrassing headlines.
After some scummy Macedonian fans abused Rose and Sterling, the press are like a dog with a bone, now we see them getting on their high horse and seemingly playing a game of your racism is worse than ours, and brushing aside the serious problems they have at home.
A black player in Italy suffered abuse last week, and another player has said he brought in on himself, sound familiar?
Until Uefa, Fifa and FA's all over the world stop paying lip service to this problem, then it is sadly, going nowhere.

Off to work but hopefully have a wee blether about this later on troops, have a good one it's Friday at last.
That's a great topic to discuss and there is very little I can add to that brilliant post, B.

I will say that it's still a very real problem throughout Europe and it looked like it was contained to the Central and Eastern parts of Europe; however - as you pointed out, there is still an underlying issue in Western Europe and the number of black players or business folk going on to make a career in management, coaching, or at board level is certainly not reflective of the modern population.

I believe that racism inheritly exists in the UK and the rise of the right throughout Britain (and Europe, as a whole) would appear to confirm that. It's probably fair to say that the Muslim population are currently top of the racist's shit list, but our black brothers and sisters are never too far from their sightlines either. Lest we forget - the Irish population are also a target for overt racism, particularly in this wee bigoted neck of the woods, but also across the UK in general.

As Celtic fans, we are all aware that we had to wake up to our own issues in the 80's and early 90's; however - I think we recognised quickly enough that racism is intolerable, especially when many of our families had been at the sharp end of it for decades before (and still are).

The English can tsk tsk tsk all they like about the issue of horrific racism throughout Europe, but there is a matter of their own ignorance on the subject and we've seen recent examples where Tommy Robinson and UKIP have attempted to recruit members from those who follow follow football teams in notorious, racially intolerant 'blackspots' (forgive the figure of speech).

The English also have selective myopia when it comes to racism in Scotland. They still think it's a two-way problem and fail to understand that there is only one team (well two, no three, ach.....make that 4 or 5) who openly endorse a sectarian and racist mindset, and that it is most definitely not Celtic.

I would agree that the governing bodies have a great deal of responsibility to shoulder on this subject, B. The only problem is, that there appears to be a lot of old, greedy white men dining at their top tables too.

That's a great topic to discuss and there is very little I can add to that brilliant post, B.

I will say that it's still a very real problem throughout Europe and it looked like it was contained to the Central and Eastern parts of Europe; however - as you pointed out, there is still an underlying issue in Western Europe and the number of black players or business folk going on to make a career in management, coaching, or at board level is certainly not reflective of the modern population.

I believe that racism inheritly exists in the UK and the rise of the right throughout Britain (and Europe, as a whole) would appear to confirm that. It's probably fair to say that the Muslim population are currently top of the racist's shit list, but our black brothers and sisters are never too far from their sightlines either. Lest we forget - the Irish population are also a target for overt racism, particularly in this wee bigoted neck of the woods, but also across the UK in general.

As Celtic fans, we are all aware that we had to wake up to our own issues in the 80's and early 90's; however - I think we recognised quickly enough that racism is intolerable, especially when many of our families had been at the sharp end of it for decades before (and still are).

The English can tsk tsk tsk all they like about the issue of horrific racism throughout Europe, but there is a matter of their own ignorance on the subject and we've seen recent examples where Tommy Robinson and UKIP have attempted to recruit members from those who follow follow football teams in notorious, racially intolerant 'blackspots' (forgive the figure of speech).

The English also have selective myopia when it comes to racism in Scotland. They still think it's a two-way problem and fail to understand that there is only one team (well two, no three, ach.....make that 4 or 5) who openly endorse a sectarian and racist mindset, and that it is most definitely not Celtic.

I would agree that the governing bodies have a great deal of responsibility to shoulder on this subject, B. The only problem is, that there appears to be a lot of old, greedy white men dining at their top tables too.
SP
As usual a well thought and written reply with your own view.
I am convinced if yo belong to a group that have never wandered or travelled you become insular and an unknowing racist.
Many years ago in Sierra Leone we were escorted from arrivals-hotel-chopper and back. A young 24 year old first travel abroad called the locals "Thick black bastards" asked him how many languages he could speak, "Only one".
Pointed out to him they were raised without school knowing English, French and a few tribal languages. They also can work out in their head the black market rate for Dollar, pounds and Euros. Poorly educated, but never think, they are not smart they are thinkers.
Looking down on people for whatever reason is wrong, having a low opinion on an individual via experience is different.

Once upon a time in a place now called Ethiopa a magical event happened and it changed the world we occupy forever. In this place, what we refer to ourselves as. humans evolved, to become the domiant species in this world. This all took place many many millions of years ago and not in 1690 as some suggets or 60000 years ago as others would believe based on their book. Enough said.

Hi.
Spent time in those woods, heavily watched. I always remember the Lancaster house talks on Rhodesia/Zimbawae.
People forget the Portugese just left Angola and Mozambiquie.
The fall out were incredible.
Cuba, Russia and the West all rushed in.
The bush wars with the cubans and the SADF with UNITA help made a farce of whites fighting whites (Cuba/SA) when the locals did not give a shit since the portugese had gone and who were the big bosses now amongst the tribes. Ethnic cleansing anyone, who cared. No Oil

Hi.
Spent time in those woods, heavily watched. I always remember the Lancaster house talks on Rhodesia/Zimbawae.
People forget the Portugese just left Angola and Mozambiquie.
The fall out were incredible.
Cuba, Russia and the West all rushed in.
The bush wars with the cubans and the SADF with UNITA help made a farce of whites fighting whites (Cuba/SA) when the locals did not give a shit since the portugese had gone and who were the big bosses now amongst the tribes. Ethnic cleansing anyone, who cared. No Oil
Just for info.
MPLA were Russian/Cuban inthe middle of the country.
UNITA were the south and the SADF helped them.
In the North were the FNLA backed by a bunch of
@@@@@@@@@@@$$$$$$$
Even now will not say, their Guy a Lt Callan and others of the British mercenary unit were shot out of hand. War Crimes.??? My idiotic elder brother now in his 70's were approached by a few ex para mates to go Africa for a jaunt. His pregnant wifes tears stopped him coming home in a box.

Thanks as usual for the high quality replies received on this thread, I'm not surprised by that, and apologies for the lack of accuracy naming the culprits as Macedonia and not Montenegro, in my defence a rushed post before I left for my graft, and the two countries named I'm sure we all agree are 2 cheeks of the same arse.
A cure for racism in British football? It's there alright. The school curriculum changes to teach the horrors of the British Empire, warts and all, in tandem we apologise to every country that we pillaged, and we raped and butchered their people. If as kids we are taught of a glorious empire, you know the one, where the sun never sets bullshit, then we are brainwashing kids that the black, indian, chinese and the Irish people are second class citizens.
This will never happen in my opinion, not in a thousand lifetimes, this country will forever be stuck with the disease that is racism, that is why, I will always feel contempt and disgust for all things Brittania.

Thanks as usual for the high quality replies received on this thread, I'm not surprised by that, and apologies for the lack of accuracy naming the culprits as Macedonia and not Montenegro, in my defence a rushed post before I left for my graft, and the two countries named I'm sure we all agree are 2 cheeks of the same arse.
A cure for racism in British football? It's there alright. The school curriculum changes to teach the horrors of the British Empire, warts and all, in tandem we apologise to every country that we pillaged, and we raped and butchered their people. If as kids we are taught of a glorious empire, you know the one, where the sun never sets bullshit, then we are brainwashing kids that the black, indian, chinese and the Irish people are second class citizens.
This will never happen in my opinion, not in a thousand lifetimes, this country will forever be stuck with the disease that is racism, that is why, I will always feel contempt and disgust for all things Brittania.
1980 Durban, went to the UK Midland bank and drew out money. Walked across to WH Smiths and seen books on the shelves abour concentration camps from the War with england.
Jyst go to bookshops were the UK Government have been.
Opens eyes

Meanwhile James McClean puts up with as bad if not worse in Engerland every week, even by some of his own side fans
And not a word said by the EFA except to ponder if McClean may have caused offence to fans for daring to not follow and reject orders political sham orders and for taking exception to anti Irish racist abuse.
"The FA are investigating me after Saturday's game, for what exactly?
"Yet week in week out for the past seven years I get constant sectarian abuse, death threats, objects being thrown, chanting which is heard loud and clear every week which my family, wife and kids have to listen to.
"They turn a blind eye and not a single word or condemnation of any sort.
"Huddersfield away last year while playing for West Brom where there was an incident with their fans which was on the game highlights, where the cameras clearly caught it, yet the FA when [a] complaint was made to them said there 'was not enough evidence'.
"If it was a person's skin colour or if it was anti-Muslim, someone's gender, there would be an uproar and it would be taken in a completely different way and dealt with in a different manner.
"But like in Neil Lennon's case in Scotland, because we are Irish Catholics, they turn a blind eye and nothing is ever said and done."

Great post Benignus 2019 great to see how far the World has moved.
Racism, Sectarianism and Feminism last one
150 years after they left Edinburgh University they’re now allowing these 7 Pioneers to
Graduate.
All 3 Isms will never be Eradicated better Education will help.
But the World right now is Leaning so far to the Right with Thumper in the White House to Brexit and the Little Englanders creating a fear of Race and Stopping all immigrants from coming hear. So that GB can regain its place in the World.
In Scotland you call a pape a Fen/Bastards
No crime committed.
But Call Slippy an English B wow the Media
Suddenly find a conscience. Funny that.
Or you bring it on yourself.
Wish I had an answer but just Glad the Family background I was raised in was of Tolerance
And treating all people how I would like to be treated. And for that Thanks.

HH ☘️?
Can't agree more,they in England don't give a monkey's no pun intended about us how many times has sinkie been abused by them at Ipox the media Doon there know what's going on up here but don't give a fuck he even got abused in airport going home to his wife and daughter's after we done them at Ipox but nothing said, sweep it under the carpet, now because it's a black player down there the media are going tonto. Do you even think they give two duck's about our black player's no chánce while up here the best wee country in the world for it's diversity HaHa say's not a bloody thing

H-H

1980 Durban, went to the UK Midland bank and drew out money. Walked across to WH Smiths and seen books on the shelves abour concentration camps from the War with england.
Jyst go to bookshops were the UK Government have been.
Opens eyes
The British wear the first country in the world to use concentration camps in South Africa.They put barbwire round a field and put women and children in the centre of it and left them to rot in the burning hot sun

Meanwhile James McClean puts up with as bad if not worse in Engerland every week, even by some of his own side fans
And not a word said by the EFA except to ponder if McClean may have caused offence to fans for daring to not follow and reject orders political sham orders and for taking exception to anti Irish racist abuse.

Another great post JimMc, the anti irish venom directed to James Mcclean is far worse than any black player suffers at the hands of the educationally deprived filth with season tickets at English clubs. This young fella is a credit to Derry and has the balls of steel and the skin of a rhino plying his trade in the UK. Don't hold your breath waiting on a campaign to halt this bigotry.

The amount of pathetic petty arguments on here, more sense to just ignore peoples comments, and so easy to do for some on here, who talk way too much but appear to think little it seems.

You on the other hand, make some great photo posts boab1916, one of the best posters here for Celtic fans enjoyment, what I personally come to look for, so I'm genuinely not looking to knock, but! you make a statement that you imagine and accept as fact! I have to ask here, based on what?

To be fair unlike your claim for st Patrick being british despite brits not actually existing at the time period and no credible evidence what so ever he even existed as a individual, at least this time you start with 'once upon a time'
but no, not enough said! not remotely. But appreciate the statement to create doubt in wonder.

Just this week a potential new species of human was discovered.
https://technology.inquirer.net/854...n-more-diggings-where-new-human-species-found

And the Ethiopian tale! that's long since past sell by, no longer an accepted supposed fact beyond question. 'They' the supposed experts claim a older skull was found in Morocco and some question the theory entirely.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/2017/05/22/europe-birthplace-mankind-not-africa-scientists-find/

Behind the widely accepted and much repeated tale of all humans came out of Africa!, There is nothing but stories of assumption from supposed experts.
Like all human knowledge and beliefs, all was acquired yesterday and was thought new but built upon knowledge and beliefs held as fact prior, all of which over time will be shown as naïve or ignorant arrogance.

I made a error on the Patrick post, some assumed and imagined I was preaching as if think I know the answers, I was and am doing the very contrary. I have no idea of the truths of any past despite having read a bit, enough to know to question all, enough to know most if not all claims are nothing but that - just claims, and no one really knows the answer among so many stories, stories that are told from the past none of us were actually there to witness.

The opening lines and moral in this song, a cliché is the only true fact of knowledge worth cherishing as fact. That's where I come from, my preaching if any is to purposely create doubt and wonder.

The more I learn, the less I know about before

The more I see, the more I know
The more I know, the less I understand.
Paul Weller song Changing Man. Sums it up I think.

I read last year that Scottish/ Scots Irish Catholics are the most abused group in the UK, ( official government report) not Black people, Muslims or Jewish people, yet nothing is said or reported when thousands of the peepul offend. Spare me the fake the moral outrage of the English commentators.
Hail Hail