Tony Blair on TV defending his record on human rights, as a socialist, I sadly cannot hang him from the nearest lamppost, so what do we do with this

as a socialist, I sadly cannot hang him from the nearest lamppost, so what do we do with this
You could hang him from

I stopped waiting a while back. I think we have the power ourselves to champion justice and we have to work toward that aim. It's in our hands.

Interestingly, @boab1916, I've read "The Ragged Trousered Philanthropist" -- it was given to me by a British friend in the '80s who was a Labour/Co-op councillor in Ashton-under-Lyne near Manchester (he was also a rabid Man United fan, IIRC). The broad generalities of the book speak to workers everywhere, though the specifics may not be directly relatable to an American audience. But I thoroughly enjoyed it.

JC is trying to bring the party back to its roots and Blair, Mandelson and Campbell are doing everything they can to change it back to a right wing party.

I think Jeremy Corbyn is great and I'm glad he's taking Labour back to its roots. It's the same as Bernie Sanders trying to make the Democrats live up to the ideals of their party's history (even though he is an independent who caucuses with the Democrats in the U.S. Senate). I think both Corbyn and Sanders, as leaders of essentially parallel movements in the UK and US, are steering both in the right direction.

Plus he is a yank ( did I spell that right ? ) - no offense to our Californian Tim Icafiero , so not so much our immediate problem as his /theirs .

No offense taken, Millsy (and none taken in a later post, @michael duffy) :) And I have to say that I am embarrassed, like many other yanks, by this nimrod, and I feel I have to apologize to the rest of the world for our idiocy in electing him (though truth be told, he got into office through a quirk of our antiquated presidential election system where electors, and not the popular vote, puts a person in the White House -- look up Electoral College for details, as it would be too much to have to explain here. Hillary Clinton -- no prize herself but head and shoulders better than the orangutan-in-chief -- actually got 3 million more votes than Trump, but yet here we are).

On the "fake news" and the other tripe that Trump seems to try to peddle like snake oil, a lot of people here are no longer buying it, and there is a lot of "buyer's remorse" for those who once supported Trump. His polling numbers are one of the lowest of any president ever.

I actually love the great discussion in this thread, but back to the original point, Blair (or Bliar, as in B-LIAR, which I love) should join Bush in The Hague for war crimes. As an aside, there was a news story years ago which was not that well-covered by the MSM (let me show you my shocked face . . . !) that said the Bush family had bought a huge tract of land in Paraguay, since The Court in The Hague could not extradite from that country, which I always thought was interesting, just in case George Bush was to be hauled in front of the court.

One more thing, and forgive me for being a little self-indulgent. OK, OK, forgive me for being REALLY self-indulgent. But one day I was on Facebook and one of my friends posted this meme of Bernie Sanders with an anti-capitalist theme. The photo was taken at the Socialist Party USA convention in 1983, where Sanders (as mayor of Burlington, Vermont, at the time) spoke, and that idiot who put on a suit for the convention sitting at the table to Bernie's left (appropriately) is yours truly. In my defence, I AM wearing a Labour Party tie . . . and if anything, the photo proves that both Bernie and I both had hair at one time.

Thanks for the great discussion, all.
bernie_and_dad.png

Interestingly, @boab1916, I've read "The Ragged Trousered Philanthropist" -- it was given to me by a British friend in the '80s who was a Labour/Co-op councillor in Ashton-under-Lyne near Manchester (he was also a rabid Man United fan, IIRC). The broad generalities of the book speak to workers everywhere, though the specifics may not be directly relatable to an American audience. But I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I think Jeremy Corbyn is great and I'm glad he's taking Labour back to its roots. It's the same as Bernie Sanders trying to make the Democrats live up to the ideals of their party's history (even though he is an independent who caucuses with the Democrats in the U.S. Senate). I think both Corbyn and Sanders, as leaders of essentially parallel movements in the UK and US, are steering both in the right direction.

No offense taken, Millsy (and none taken in a later post, @michael duffy) :) And I have to say that I am embarrassed, like many other yanks, by this nimrod, and I feel I have to apologize to the rest of the world for our idiocy in electing him (though truth be told, he got into office through a quirk of our antiquated presidential election system where electors, and not the popular vote, puts a person in the White House -- look up Electoral College for details, as it would be too much to have to explain here. Hillary Clinton -- no prize herself but head and shoulders better than the orangutan-in-chief -- actually got 3 million more votes than Trump, but yet here we are).

On the "fake news" and the other tripe that Trump seems to try to peddle like snake oil, a lot of people here are no longer buying it, and there is a lot of "buyer's remorse" for those who once supported Trump. His polling numbers are one of the lowest of any president ever.

I actually love the great discussion in this thread, but back to the original point, Blair (or Bliar, as in B-LIAR, which I love) should join Bush in The Hague for war crimes. As an aside, there was a news story years ago which was not that well-covered by the MSM (let me show you my shocked face . . . !) that said the Bush family had bought a huge tract of land in Paraguay, since The Court in The Hague could not extradite from that country, which I always thought was interesting, just in case George Bush was to be hauled in front of the court.

One more thing, and forgive me for being a little self-indulgent. OK, OK, forgive me for being REALLY self-indulgent. But one day I was on Facebook and one of my friends posted this meme of Bernie Sanders with an anti-capitalist theme. The photo was taken at the Socialist Party USA convention in 1983, where Sanders (as mayor of Burlington, Vermont, at the time) spoke, and that idiot who put on a suit for the convention sitting at the table to Bernie's left (appropriately) is yours truly. In my defence, I AM wearing a Labour Party tie . . . and if anything, the photo proves that both Bernie and I both had hair at one time.

View attachment 1370
go Icafario!!!!!!!! it used tae be good havin hair!!!!

View attachment 1370

Americans don’t seem to have any dress sense.

Wits the deal Icafiero

Might shock you TET but Churchill admired Hitler as well although he hated his system he saw his value as a leader.?

I read a quote years ago from the Greatest Briton, he was in the Italian Parliament making a speech and turned to Benito and said "If I was Italian, I would be with you".
England was dabbling with Fascism until Hitler made it uncool, it makes sense really that a monster like Britain would be thinking along these lines.

I'm caught in 2 minds, I don't know whether to thank you for saving our club, or warn you about getting collared from Frank Serpico mate. Enjoying your posts icafiero

Thanks, Benignus! I'm not that concerned about getting collared, though. There are a lot more folks who think like me than you would expect (or at least more than the MSM would like you to believe).

Yeah i will second that B, our crazy american friend is cool wi me.

Dedicated to the cause, watching our games in the wee small hours.

Thanks, Maria! Always enjoy your posts, too.

Americans don’t seem to have any dress sense.

Yeah, well, you can dress me up but you can't take me anywhere . . . . :D

Thanks, Benignus! I'm not that concerned about getting collared, though. There are a lot more folks who think like me than you would expect (or at least more than the MSM would like you to believe).

Thanks, Maria! Always enjoy your posts, too.

Yeah, well, you can dress me up but you can't take me anywhere . . . . :D

Ha ha ha, nice one Icafiero.