Transfer Window - Summer 2025

He's a player who splits opinions I acknowledge that mt but for me he had a very decent first season under the pressure of that price tag.
I think a lot of what he does goes unnoticed he can and has played some outstanding passes from our own half , I think he's going to get better and better, I'd be really disappointed if we sell now.
He kept lot of very talented left backs out side. He couldd run like wind and rarely got injured. His height was probably my only gripe. And he doesnt suit attacking wing/ wing back and our onus on extreme attack often left him looking rotten against fast counter wingers with loads of space to exploit. But thats same issue every left back gonna have in our set up.

our keepers and defenders get too much grief when its really our system that makes them look rotten against fast wingers who can do winger job well.

I wish him well. Might be a hard guy to replace without spending large chunk of cash and even then they might not be as fit and injury free.

Quite a lot of chat on KDS about the possibility of us getting Evan Ferguson on loan from Brighton. Brighton want to loan him out for the season, he wants to come to Celtic, BR wants him but so to do Everton who are willing to pay a bigger %age of wages.
For me I hope its another silly season rumour as I don't see the point of loan deals without any options to buy (and we couldn't afford Ferguson so there will be no option to buy).

He kept lot of very talented left backs out side. He couldd run like wind and rarely got injured. His height was probably my only gripe. And he doesnt suit attacking wing/ wing back and our onus on extreme attack often left him looking rotten against fast counter wingers with loads of space to exploit. But thats same issue every left back gonna have in our set up.

our keepers and defenders get too much grief when its really our system that makes them look rotten against fast wingers who can do winger job well.

I wish him well. Might be a hard guy to replace without spending large chunk of cash and even then they might not be as fit and injury free.
Hi TET how's you bud? All good I hope.
Just to clarify ( in case , as it appears you're speaking of Taylor?) I was on about Engels.
I agree with your opinions on GT, a very unsung hero who from LB/inverted LB, LCM won plenty motm awards.

Since I've already made my thoughts, forum public knowledge anyways why not speak of Taylor.
I cannot remember a player who has come in at Celtic from a club in such a lowly position for many moons if ever at all and made us forget a player with the abilities of KT in the way GT did.
Taylor's signing on the back of losing KT was nothing short of inspired.
He was sensational for Celtic and had we signed him on an extension a season , season and a bit ago wed be looking at comfortably over £10-£13 million for a guy who cost £3 million.
Of this ive no doubts.
I'd even go as far as saying that Greg Taylor has been one of Celtic's best signings of the last 10 years I rate him so highly, and wish him all the success in the world.
Looking at those he's seen off for that LB jersey he has blown them away, all of them. From the Argentinian Bernabei to Boli Bolingoli to all the rest and we know who they are/were and they weren't projects they were internationals.
I'm gutted to lose GT as he and KT would've or couldve been the beginning of a very special squad with like for like quality replacements.
I know many say that's unfeasible in Scotland but that's nonsense knowing the fixture list we face annually.

For me , GT and his adaptability, willingness and just happy to play anywhere asked to do .
Not only that , can he fulfill the role he's asked to do? - Not a problem.
LB, inverted LB , LCM, add goalscoring defender to that list, the bhoys talents seemed unlimited and for his size in defence or MF confounded pundits and fans alike including our own, the truth is we don't have another like that , not at his level, not at this time so much so I fear we will struggle to replace his drive, determination and simply his will to win.

We could say AJ but he's never been asked to do what GT does which is control the game regardless of his starting position and this he's done brilliantly.
AJ is another who'd never played RB in the manner required at Celtic though he's learning superbly.

Though AJ has been magnificent for Celtic, mirroring GT's performances on the opposite side at times.
If GT wasn't Scottish ( jmopo) we'd have spent £10 million on him without batting an eyelid.

Is GT a KT? No of course not different styles and players but I've no doubt that GT could play EPL football or big 5 leagues well.
His height may be a problem as we discovered in CL campaigns he was targeted but it should also be considered that was sides like PSG, Real Madrid, Atletico etc targeted him but he stood up to all of it very well and those are no ordinary sides I'm on about they're the best in the world.
Perhaps had the managers rerealised this then they couldve planned accordingly and given him more support at crosses , its not as though we didn't know he'd not be targeted we all did, it was a failure of management, we all remember when Kyogo was the last man on the wall 🙈 again poor management.

KT is perhaps the highest profile incoming transfer since Engels, more so I'd say and a truly magnificent signing, one that hopefully shows a determination from the board to get this window right and the windows yet to open.
We simply must get this one right given they will have at least money to burn on the back of the takeover if not as much as they hoped for, I cannot see that mob signing anyone over £4 million we have to hammer home our ascendancy in all departments and be ready for the CL qualifiers.

My biggest concern TET is that , sure no one certainly not i is suggesting we shouldn't have gone for KT but KT as far as we've/I've seen KT cannot play the game like GT can , the different positions and the utility player GT is.
To clarify again, just because we haven't seen it doesn't mean KT cannot play this way though if he can why have we never seen it I wonder.

Under Lennon, Ange, Rodgers its unusual for a player to stay as an essential first pick player under so many different multiple winning managers, yet he did and saw off many pretenders along the way.
We could add Steve Clarke to that list.

I believe that we may possibly move away from the inverted LB now we've lost/losing his services unless we bring in a player with the same ability and spacial awareness. Something I hope we do for its suited us well this formation tweak.

It's a gamble for us to let him go but we left it far too late so I for one don't blame him for wanting to try pastures new.

Hi TET how's you bud? All good I hope.
Just to clarify ( in case , as it appears you're speaking of Taylor?) I was on about Engels.
I agree with your opinions on GT, a very unsung hero who from LB/inverted LB, LCM won plenty motm awards.

Since I've already made my thoughts, forum public knowledge anyways why not speak of Taylor.
I cannot remember a player who has come in at Celtic from a club in such a lowly position for many moons if ever at all and made us forget a player with the abilities of KT in the way GT did.
Taylor's signing on the back of losing KT was nothing short of inspired.
He was sensational for Celtic and had we signed him on an extension a season , season and a bit ago wed be looking at comfortably over £10-£13 million for a guy who cost £3 million.
Of this ive no doubts.
I'd even go as far as saying that Greg Taylor has been one of Celtic's best signings of the last 10 years I rate him so highly, and wish him all the success in the world.
Looking at those he's seen off for that LB jersey he has blown them away, all of them. From the Argentinian Bernabei to Boli Bolingoli to all the rest and we know who they are/were and they weren't projects they were internationals.
I'm gutted to lose GT as he and KT would've or couldve been the beginning of a very special squad with like for like quality replacements.
I know many say that's unfeasible in Scotland but that's nonsense knowing the fixture list we face annually.

For me , GT and his adaptability, willingness and just happy to play anywhere asked to do .
Not only that , can he fulfill the role he's asked to do? - Not a problem.
LB, inverted LB , LCM, add goalscoring defender to that list, the bhoys talents seemed unlimited and for his size in defence or MF confounded pundits and fans alike including our own, the truth is we don't have another like that , not at his level, not at this time so much so I fear we will struggle to replace his drive, determination and simply his will to win.

We could say AJ but he's never been asked to do what GT does which is control the game regardless of his starting position and this he's done brilliantly.
AJ is another who'd never played RB in the manner required at Celtic though he's learning superbly.

Though AJ has been magnificent for Celtic, mirroring GT's performances on the opposite side at times.
If GT wasn't Scottish ( jmopo) we'd have spent £10 million on him without batting an eyelid.

Is GT a KT? No of course not different styles and players but I've no doubt that GT could play EPL football or big 5 leagues well.
His height may be a problem as we discovered in CL campaigns he was targeted but it should also be considered that was sides like PSG, Real Madrid, Atletico etc targeted him but he stood up to all of it very well and those are no ordinary sides I'm on about they're the best in the world.
Perhaps had the managers rerealised this then they couldve planned accordingly and given him more support at crosses , its not as though we didn't know he'd not be targeted we all did, it was a failure of management, we all remember when Kyogo was the last man on the wall 🙈 again poor management.

KT is perhaps the highest profile incoming transfer since Engels, more so I'd say and a truly magnificent signing, one that hopefully shows a determination from the board to get this window right and the windows yet to open.
We simply must get this one right given they will have at least money to burn on the back of the takeover if not as much as they hoped for, I cannot see that mob signing anyone over £4 million we have to hammer home our ascendancy in all departments and be ready for the CL qualifiers.

My biggest concern TET is that , sure no one certainly not i is suggesting we shouldn't have gone for KT but KT as far as we've/I've seen KT cannot play the game like GT can , the different positions and the utility player GT is.
To clarify again, just because we haven't seen it doesn't mean KT cannot play this way though if he can why have we never seen it I wonder.

Under Lennon, Ange, Rodgers its unusual for a player to stay as an essential first pick player under so many different multiple winning managers, yet he did and saw off many pretenders along the way.
We could add Steve Clarke to that list.

I believe that we may possibly move away from the inverted LB now we've lost/losing his services unless we bring in a player with the same ability and spacial awareness. Something I hope we do for its suited us well this formation tweak.

It's a gamble for us to let him go but we left it far too late so I for one don't blame him for wanting to try pastures new.
Love the paragraphs.😂 However you say GT was versatile. So it KT. He can play CB. He's proved it. At a higher level.
So yes, he's been great but he had his faults mainly as you said concerning his height. Targeted as you said. KT hopefully will improve that. Yes we still require another quality LB. KT won't play every game but we need to keep improving.

A summary of incoming transfer rumours by position as of today

Goalkeeper - Ross Doohan expected to sign in the next few days
Right Back - nothing
Left Back - KT signed. Linked with Josh Doig, James Penrice, Harley Mills, Keita Kosugi
Centre Half - nothing
Midfield - Linked with Lennon Miller, Demir Tiknaz, Andy Irving
Left Wing - Linked with Michel-Ange Balikwisha, Sondre Orjasaeter, Nilson Angulo
Right Wing - Linked with Benjamin Nygren
Striker - Callum Osmand, signing expected to be confirmed in next few days

One in, two as good as in and the window doesn't open until Monday. Very un-Celtic like.
Looking at this linked with the club that LW, RW, LB & CM are the recruitment team's areas of priority.
Given the fact that we already have 5 first team ready CMF at the club in Calmac, Engels, Hatate, Bernardo, McCowan albeit Bernardo and McCowan would've been hoping for more game time , Bernardo more than McCowan upon arrival I'd have guessed.
Should we splash the cash on Miller then I'd have to think that someone's about to head in the other direction.
Hatate or Bernardo would be my uneducated guesstimate.
There's also Turley, McArdle, Bonnar, Kwon and Schluup is still on our books I believe, Jeffrey signed as a midfielder.
The two latter Kwon and Schluup I'd be surprised if they've not played their last games for Celtic.

Wingers , we have at this time Kuhn, Maeda, Forrest , Yang who are first teamers, the others namely Jota, we might see hi near the seasons end.
We must bring someone in as 4 just isn't enough for the rigours of the game here.
There are possibilities perhaps for Tillio who didn't get a crack at it due to THAT injury, he's been doing well down under but well enough ? Idk Rodgers didn't seem keen in the first place, he gives a Klimala vibe off, decent enough isn't good enough for Celtic bit he could prove us all wrong hopefully as it appears there is a player there.
Palma is also still on the books and tbf to him hos numbers are far from poor in a Celtic jersey I noticed he's still playing internationally for Honduras but he must do a lot more if he's got any chance.

Strikers, if Daizen is to continue as no1 striker and he deserves to be, causes problems itself by leaving us down a winger, more reason to see what Tilio has or Balikwisha is inbound?
Having lost Cummings to West Ham it leaves Idah and Kenny as out and out strikers, my long winded way of saying that our very strong squad with depth suddenly isn't as strong certainly doesn't have the same depth.

We need reinforcements badly , quite incredible and hopefully both Bernardo and McCowan can step up to the levels we know they hold and can be consistent.
This could be a nervy window folks and watching which type of players arrive may hold the secret to those who may be leaving.
I really hope we get to see young McArdle this season a very accomplished young player he appears to be but keep on playing 26+ year olds and I fear he will head the same way as Cummings.
We simply must start giving our own youth players more games and more than last 10 minutes of a game were 5up in we mustvsee these bhoys play under pressure.

Love the paragraphs.😂 However you say GT was versatile. So it KT. He can play CB. He's proved it. At a higher level.
So yes, he's been great but he had his faults mainly as you said concerning his height. Targeted as you said. KT hopefully will improve that. Yes we still require another quality LB. KT won't play every game but we need to keep improving.
Aye Steviebhoy I agree , I have been practicing with my paragraphs 😁
Of course KT is another level but one man.
I'm not convinced that Schluup is the back up we require though , he started well, faded then had a reasonable run in but nothing that suggested he's worthy of a Celtic contract I'd like to see a younger player get that contract.

Benjamin Nygren, 23 y.o. Swedish international right winger (other wingers we've been linked with are left wingers), plays in Denmark for Nordsjaelland, available at a cut price due to contract being up in December. Now being touted by a few chip wrapper sources as someone we have been scouting.

The volume of players linked in the last few days hopefully means that we are active and ready to make moves when the window opens on Monday.
Hearing noises that Nygren has chosen Celtic. Hope its accurate I like the look.of this bhoy.

Screenshot_20250613-194944_WhatsApp.jpg

I'm hearing that Nygen deal is done, subject to a medical. So it should be closed out on Monday when the transfer window reopens after this stupid 1 week mini-closure. He is supposedly Brendan's number 1 target for this window.

I have long vented my frustrations at us waiting too long before doing transfer business, so fair play if we finally realise it makes sense.

Has someone checked on Peter Lawwell to see if he is OK? It is most unlikely him to allow business to be done early. On second thoughts, don't bother as I'd love us to get our new recruits in early long before European qualifiers.

2025-06-14-02-04-25-207.jpg

Is the lad Anderson not a left back? From the little i have seen of him he looked a real prospect.
Aye mt he is and if I remember correctly ( big if ) with my memory so googles been utilized just to jog my head n that).
In 23/24 season in the Austrian 2nd division, he made 21 league appearances scoring 1 assisting 6 times, loaned out to Admira Wacker were he performed more than admirably.
He was 20 at the time, think Wacker finished 6th.
He was then loaned back to Wacker the following season and while it may be Austrian second tier its well above the levels of the lowland league.
Doubt many if any would disagree?
Mathew Anderson is 21 and fits all the profiles of a Celtic project signing.
Personally I'd like to see him mentored by KT much like the Sinisalo/Kasper situation. That's a frame of mind we should use more often.

In his second season he had another 22 league appearances scoring 1 assisting 2.
With Wacker finishing 2nd narrowly missing out on promotion 6pts or so short of reaching the Bundesliga AUT.

Taking Andersons combined Admira performances and stats (credit: Transfermarket, site on tinterweb ) and his numbers begin to show his story in a better light.
44 appearances 2 goals 8 assists, the bhoys doing well and having just missed out on promotion to the Austrian Bundesliga he's doing it at a very decent level that is where Kuhn was discovered.
He has 6 UEFA youth league appearances 1 assist in the season prior to his Austrian loan and has represented Scotland at all levels up to u21s.
He continues to progress.

In our recent fantastic tour of the US he started in the 4-0 victory over DC Utd, came on in the 4-3 win over Man City and also got minutes in the final 4-1 win Vs Chelsea.
He showed up really well in those games.

Recent seasons have been slightly alarming with the lack of young Scottish talent breaking through into the side , the lack of youngsters breaking through at all has been alarming never mind Scottish.
Mathew Anderson, already valued at €350k in the Austrian 2nd tier is definately worth a place on the squad.
Sure it's a huge step up but he's faced and overcome each fresh challenge very well.
Going from Lowland League to UEFAs youth league, climbing up the internationals age teams ladder , to narrowly missing out on promotion.

He is a LB first and foremost, what's even more interesting about this young bhoy is that he's played CB 2,1 assist, RM 4, 1 goal, 2 assists,
LB 12, 2goals 2 assists, and LM 28, 1 goal, 4 assists.
Suggesting he can play anywhere a utility player.

Given we've just lost or are about to lose GT, that type of player seems tailor made for us right now ( pardon the pun)
We must return to bringing through our academy players its something we have been extremely good at doing previously , we need only look at past and present legends of the club but that's been lost some in recent times , the gap we had with dead rubber derby's etc last season would've been ideal to see some of them for more than 5 minutes , instead that's really all we got along with Kenny getting some minutes, we must do better guys like Anderson are the way forward we cannot , should not need to spend around £3-6 million every time we have an opening in the matchday squad or what is the point in an academy at all.

Ok away tae lay doon noo 🛌

Aye mt he is and if I remember correctly ( big if ) with my memory so googles been utilized just to jog my head n that).
In 23/24 season in the Austrian 2nd division, he made 21 league appearances scoring 1 assisting 6 times, loaned out to Admira Wacker were he performed more than admirably.
He was 20 at the time, think Wacker finished 6th.
He was then loaned back to Wacker the following season and while it may be Austrian second tier its well above the levels of the lowland league.
Doubt many if any would disagree?
Mathew Anderson is 21 and fits all the profiles of a Celtic project signing.
Personally I'd like to see him mentored by KT much like the Sinisalo/Kasper situation. That's a frame of mind we should use more often.

In his second season he had another 22 league appearances scoring 1 assisting 2.
With Wacker finishing 2nd narrowly missing out on promotion 6pts or so short of reaching the Bundesliga AUT.

Taking Andersons combined Admira performances and stats (credit: Transfermarket, site on tinterweb ) and his numbers begin to show his story in a better light.
44 appearances 2 goals 8 assists, the bhoys doing well and having just missed out on promotion to the Austrian Bundesliga he's doing it at a very decent level that is where Kuhn was discovered.
He has 6 UEFA youth league appearances 1 assist in the season prior to his Austrian loan and has represented Scotland at all levels up to u21s.
He continues to progress.

In our recent fantastic tour of the US he started in the 4-0 victory over DC Utd, came on in the 4-3 win over Man City and also got minutes in the final 4-1 win Vs Chelsea.
He showed up really well in those games.

Recent seasons have been slightly alarming with the lack of young Scottish talent breaking through into the side , the lack of youngsters breaking through at all has been alarming never mind Scottish.
Mathew Anderson, already valued at €350k in the Austrian 2nd tier is definately worth a place on the squad.
Sure it's a huge step up but he's faced and overcome each fresh challenge very well.
Going from Lowland League to UEFAs youth league, climbing up the internationals age teams ladder , to narrowly missing out on promotion.

He is a LB first and foremost, what's even more interesting about this young bhoy is that he's played CB 2,1 assist, RM 4, 1 goal, 2 assists,
LB 12, 2goals 2 assists, and LM 28, 1 goal, 4 assists.
Suggesting he can play anywhere a utility player.

Given we've just lost or are about to lose GT, that type of player seems tailor made for us right now ( pardon the pun)
We must return to bringing through our academy players its something we have been extremely good at doing previously , we need only look at past and present legends of the club but that's been lost some in recent times , the gap we had with dead rubber derby's etc last season would've been ideal to see some of them for more than 5 minutes , instead that's really all we got along with Kenny getting some minutes, we must do better guys like Anderson are the way forward we cannot , should not need to spend around £3-6 million every time we have an opening in the matchday squad or what is the point in an academy at all.

Ok away tae lay doon noo 🛌
A great wee piece from you there Winter with good insight into young Anderson's journey.
I agree whole heartedly it is now time to blood our young players.

I have no doubt we can make room for at least one academy player per week on the modern extended numbers on the subs bench to give them some mins and experience....... the supporters would get right behind it.....finally if this is not the perfect time for young Anderson to get his chance then when is.
What a difference it would make to our outlook as supporters.

Looks like business is getting done early for a change ..
I have long vented my frustrations at us waiting too long before doing transfer business, so fair play if we finally realise it makes sense.
We have all been critical of how we do transfer business in the past particularly when we have a CL qualifier coming up so if these reported early signings come to fruition as looks likely then its a much welcome change and credit where it is due.

Of course I don't think Peter will be losing too much sleep as we'd be getting KT, Ross Doohan, the boy Osmand and Nygren all for around the grand total of £2m .....that's still £3m left of the Frimpong money.

Plenty more business to be done with the inevitable sales as well but this is much more encouraging as it stands.

Hear Sunderland are offering 10 million for Lennon miller I’ve got a feeling we are going to lose out sadly
Hope I’m wrong tho
The Bhoy Nygren looks good and made the danish team of the year (a league that’s stronger than ours)
Got a wee feeling Kühn and Hatate may go but time will tell

Hear Sunderland are offering 10 million for Lennon miller I’ve got a feeling we are going to lose out sadly
Hope I’m wrong tho
The Bhoy Nygren looks good and made the danish team of the year (a league that’s stronger than ours)
Got a wee feeling Kühn and Hatate may go but time will tell
I think the £10m for Miller being bandied about is bluster Tommy.....is his contract not up at the end of the new season......Motherwell will be lucky to get £5m imo.
Doesn't look like we are interested or vice versa from the lad to us sadly.