transfer window

I don't know what point you're lost on its a post on player recruitment not a paper on rocket science, what pish?
It's pish because I've called our your pish seems to me.
Disagree on what exactly?
When did i say its ok to have 1 player in each position?You said we are covered in the CB area and its enough to win the league?Are you Pistols mate?What about Europe?You then talk about Scales playing at left-back?Who even mentioned Scales at LB?Away and have a lie down Winter im guessing you have sun stroke.

You never know what's true and what's made up but the latest is Norwich now looking for £11m for Idah ....apparently we've went to £4.5m so there doesn't look like a deal can be done hear if that's their position.
Can we really afford to wait until the last week of the window to test their resolve....I would say make a final bid of 5.5 to 6m with a sell on clause....if that's not agreeable move on to next target. Norwich are taking the piss but they are entitled to as he's their player

Can't get enough quality in all positions. The more vying for places the more the competition. We will need more than we have for Europe.
If by some miracle Ally, MOR stays on until the winter window and we still the have the Calmac, MOR, Hatate MF for this season ( ik mt it's a stretch) but if that happened then we're very strong in MF with Bernardo ( looks likely he'll sign) and Iwata , who's getting better as back up. Still another attacking MF would be great.

The 2 signings we have completed look like a great signing and a good signing in Schmeichel and Sinisalo.

Ideally should we manage to get Idah on board , he and kyogo would represent a strong frontline and both would play, though Norwich I read are taking the piss putting £11 million price tag allegedly on a player who couldn't get a game for them a few months ago, not surprising Idah spat the dummy.
That leaves a position for us to either promote or sign another young striker as 3rd striker, think it was Glasbhoy who mentioned Johnny Kenny as an option for that position and I think that's a really good shout.
Kenny has been involved in the champions league qualifiers with Shamrock Rovers recently and 3 appearances 2 goals in CLQ .
Transfer- market showing his ' by club ' stats are pretty impressive.

Screenshot_20240731_154850_Chrome.jpg
18 goals 5 assists this season from 61 appearances . So aye Kenny for that 3rd striker I wouldn't be against that one.

Regarding wingers , we have Forrest, Maeda, Kuhn , Palma , Johnston and Yang.
The first 4 have a part to play I think they're good enough personally, Kuhn and Palma are still settling in to a certain extent and hopefully both can be even better this season though Palma had a very decent first season 10 goals and a few assists from his 36 appearances many from the bench.
Johnston if he stays fit might play a part but not a starter , sounded like Rodgers was saying exactly that.

At risk of repeating myself every post, still moving onto the defence.
RB is covered in AJ and Ralston, CB we have CCV head and shoulders above the rest. Scales played the season of his life last time out, can he do it again? Hope so, Nawrocki has had troubles of late with injuries stalling his progression.
If he stays fit I'd not be surprised if he displaced scales , it's still early days for Maik at Celtic hopefully he can show why we bought him this time out.
LB, oh LB can wait we have one fit LB in Taylor who was probably the one Celt happy to see the back of the recent tour as he spent most of it chasing shadows but its not a priority 😅
Seriously though a quality LB to challenge even displace Taylor is a must.

A lot of " if, hope, and fingers crossed " there but fook it if you bhoys want to crowdfund me I'll do it myself 😆

Don't know if this is true, but I wouldn't be surprised.

Celtic are stepping up their pursuit of 28-year-old Heart of Midlothian striker Lawrence Shankland as an agreement with Norwich City over a return to Glasgow for Adam Idah continues to prove elusive.

The huns willnae be happy
What , to be our 3rd choice striker?
He might score goals, but the amount of times he gives the ball away is shocking

If by some miracle Ally, MOR stays on until the winter window and we still the have the Calmac, MOR, Hatate MF for this season ( ik mt it's a stretch) but if that happened then we're very strong in MF with Bernardo ( looks likely he'll sign) and Iwata , who's getting better as back up. Still another attacking MF would be great.

The 2 signings we have completed look like a great signing and a good signing in Schmeichel and Sinisalo.

Ideally should we manage to get Idah on board , he and kyogo would represent a strong frontline and both would play, though Norwich I read are taking the piss putting £11 million price tag allegedly on a player who couldn't get a game for them a few months ago, not surprising Idah spat the dummy.
That leaves a position for us to either promote or sign another young striker as 3rd striker, think it was Glasbhoy who mentioned Johnny Kenny as an option for that position and I think that's a really good shout.
Kenny has been involved in the champions league qualifiers with Shamrock Rovers recently and 3 appearances 2 goals in CLQ .

View attachment 26306
18 goals 5 assists this season from 61 appearances . So aye Kenny for that 3rd striker I wouldn't be against that one.

The first 4 have a part to play I think they're good enough personally, Kuhn and Palma are still settling in to a certain extent and hopefully both can be even better this season though Palma had a very decent first season 10 goals and a few assists from his 36 appearances many from the bench.
Johnston if he stays fit might play a part but not a starter , sounded like Rodgers was saying exactly that.

RB is covered in AJ and Ralston, CB we have CCV head and shoulders above the rest. Scales played the season of his life last time out, can he do it again? Hope so, Nawrocki has had troubles of late with injuries stalling his progression.
If he stays fit I'd not be surprised if he displaced scales , it's still early days for Maik at Celtic hopefully he can show why we bought him this time out.
LB, oh LB can wait we have one fit LB in Taylor who was probably the one Celt happy to see the back of the recent tour as he spent most of it chasing shadows but its not a priority 😅

A lot of " if, hope, and fingers crossed " there but fook it if you bhoys want to crowdfund me I'll do it myself 😆
Agree with that post Winter. As for crowdfund 50p on the way🤣

View attachment 26306

I agree with the majority of what you said although I don't think scales should be anything more than a backup, definitely not a player you want in the heart of your defence forCL games, same with Taylor. We get away with them in the team for domestic games because the standard in the SPFL is poor and we dominate every game.
If MOR leaves is Bernardo his replacement?
Domestically we should be OK but with the decline in our first team squad from 18 months will get shown up big time in the CL. I think we will be back get fucking shagged 7-0 with the state of our defence

You never know what's true and what's made up but the latest is Norwich now looking for £11m for Idah ....apparently we've went to £4.5m so there doesn't look like a deal can be done hear if that's their position.
Can we really afford to wait until the last week of the window to test their resolve....I would say make a final bid of 5.5 to 6m with a sell on clause....if that's not agreeable move on to next target. Norwich are taking the piss but they are entitled to as he's their player
I think celtic are the team taking the piss. We put 1 bid in 2 months ago that was not accepted. We have done nothing else since. Just vague stories in the paper to try and unsettle the player.
If it was Norwich doi g it to 1 of our players we wouldn't be happy about it.
We lucky they haven't told us to fuck off

When did i say its ok to have 1 player in each position?You said we are covered in the CB area and its enough to win the league?Are you Pistols mate?What about Europe?You then talk about Scales playing at left-back?Who even mentioned Scales at LB?Away and have a lie down Winter im guessing you have sun stroke.
It was mentioned by someone in this thread that scales can play LB, something I'd be against like many others do you just post and not read the thread?
You come across Marti as just stirring shite for the sake of it and happy to throw insults at fellow Tim's as well.
Something that has never gone down well on this forum.

On the CB situation, if you even understood the post you should've been able to deduce I was saying that LB and striker at this time is more important to get players of quality in those positions first, why? There's back up at present in the CB position which there isn't in the other 2. Heysus it's like explaining over and over the same point.
You're lost on those points?

It was mentioned by someone in this thread that scales can play LB, something I'd be against like many others do you just post and not read the thread?
You come across Marti as just stirring shite for the sake of it and happy to throw insults at fellow Tim's as well.
Something that has never gone down well on this forum.

On the CB situation, if you even understood the post you should've been able to deduce I was saying that LB and striker at this time is more important to get players of quality in those positions first, why? There's back up at present in the CB position which there isn't in the other 2. Heysus it's like explaining over and over the same point.
You're lost on those points?
I am well aware we need a CF and a LB but a CH is a must .You posted Welsh and Nawrocki were both enough to win us the league..2 injury prone bang average players.I'm lost on nothing mate i think you like to make stuff up.As for throwing insults and stirring shite you are talking nonsense.

I agree with the majority of what you said although I don't think scales should be anything more than a backup, definitely not a player you want in the heart of your defence forCL games, same with Taylor. We get away with them in the team for domestic games because the standard in the SPFL is poor and we dominate every game.
If MOR leaves is Bernardo his replacement?
Domestically we should be OK but with the decline in our first team squad from 18 months will get shown up big time in the CL. I think we will be back get fucking shagged 7-0 with the state of our defence
I agree on Scales, like I said I thought he played the season of his life last season in the spfl, expecting him to repeat that is asking a lot from him, we all know his limitations, and in Europe he's targeted for those very obvious limitations and teams get joy for targeting him.

I was posting in regards to those players that we do have at present on the books.
For domestic football he's adequate enough though id guess a fully fit Nawrocki could be ahead of him.
Adequate for the domestic game is just not good enough , not even close when the CL comes around.
We need a CB no question.
How easy that will be to get one of CCV stature might be problematic but possible definately we're not short of cash we banked what...£8 million for Abada, another £2-£4 mill for Oh.
When it comes to profits the board have met that target already.

100% require a solid CB, however my concern still is LB and striker because never mind the CL, should anything happen to either then we're in soapy bubble even for domestic game.
Good shout on Kenny though 👍

I've thought all along that Idah will sign in the last couple of days of the window. Norwich have set an unrealistic valuation that no one will match, Idah has thrown his toys out the pram and is now persona non grata amongst the Norwich support so he will definitely move this window.
Idah is obviously BR's number one target and he is willing to wait until the 30th August if necessary to get him. The issue that leaves is Kyogo is our only striker and 4 games before the window closes. The manager has said that he wants three strikers, the third one being a younger, development player. Should we not now be accelerating this transfer and get the third striker in now whilst waiting on Norwich to come to their senses. The young guy may even get some minutes during the first month of the season.
Either that or its MJ as back up striker.
If only we had a recruitment department worthy of the name. A shambles.

I've thought all along that Idah will sign in the last couple of days of the window. Norwich have set an unrealistic valuation that no one will match, Idah has thrown his toys out the pram and is now persona non grata amongst the Norwich support so he will definitely move this window.
Idah is obviously BR's number one target and he is willing to wait until the 30th August if necessary to get him. The issue that leaves is Kyogo is our only striker and 4 games before the window closes. The manager has said that he wants three strikers, the third one being a younger, development player. Should we not now be accelerating this transfer and get the third striker in now whilst waiting on Norwich to come to their senses. The young guy may even get some minutes during the first month of the season.
Hear Hear

Exactly Gary the need is urgent and has been for weeks but we’re stick in head in the sand mode still 30 days to go till his baw heid pops oot and we go for everyone available and get no one extra it’s hard you know to get these players in 3 hoors
Same auld Celtic

HH😮‍💨

I am well aware we need a CF and a LB but a CH is a must .You posted Welsh and Nawrocki were both enough to win us the league..2 injury prone bang average players.I'm lost on nothing mate i think you like to make stuff up.As for throwing insults and stirring shite you are talking nonsense.
At this precise point in the window which 2 positions in your opinion are the most in dire need of reinforcements of all positions ?

If you're lost on nothing Marti then
Why say you were lost then?
You're lost but not lost?
Sounds lost to me.
Contradiction at least.

And I'm not talking nonsense, you threw an insult at me , by saying my posts are pish and you get lost on my points ( but you're not lost) but still answer them anyway.
Pistol Pete would love me, I doubt that btw , and i should go lay down because i must have been in the sun too long?
Nah you don't throw shite or insults at all eh?
They're just wee sarcastic jokes and I've to take them as such is that it?
Well i dont and id appreciate if you reply to my posts to show some respect, then it will be reciprocated.
Are you capable of taking a differing opinion without spitting the dummy cos if no get a string on that dummy you'll be spitting it a lot more.

Actually some of the shit thats been thrown in this thread especially is pathetic and fkn sad af especially with TET, who does this same thing every seasons close windows and every season someone falls for it.
Glasbhoy whom I've no problem with myself calling TET a prick etc is out of order, are folk incapable of disagreeing with another without resorting to shit stirring or throwing insults?
Perhaps not.

It's pathetic in my eyes anyway as we're all Tim's here and it's utterly uncalled for disgraceful no wonder well known member Tim's have left this forum recently if that's what they're faced with for putting an opinion forward fs.

I also did NOT say Welsh and Nawrocki were good enough to win us the league , my point was they as back ups are not the worst CBs when it comes to the spfl and It wouldn't surprise me if those 2 alone were good enough to win In Scotland but we want more.

On this LB and striker thing, once again, does it not make sense to bring in one of each so we have more than one of each in both positions?
Aye we need a solid CB but the point is at this time we have other CBs, who can cover and thats something that we don't have that in the 2 other positions, ergo I believe its a matter of urgency we get reinforced in both positions, we can add hopefully another CB but shirley right this second those 2 positions must take precedent no?

Assuming we do get Idah just before the transfer window closes then that would mean our 2nd senior striker will only have played 30 minutes of knockabout friendly football in nearly 14 weeks as we play the important Glasgow derby on 1st September. That is a ridiculously shambolic way to run a professional football club.

Let's hope Kyogo doesn't get an injury as he is forced to play as our only striker in 4 potentially combative matches against Killie, Hibs, Hibs & St Mirren.

Never mind though, we MAY well have as back-up by then a cheap inexperienced teenage project who has not had a chance to gel with his new teammates, may not have had a great pre-season and who has to get to grips with overly-physical domestic fitba, all while settling in a new country.

The only conclusion I can come to is that our board are sacrificing any potential improvement in Europe to ensure that we do NOT pull too far away in front of sevco in the league. They are fixated on 1 business model only and it revolves around an Old Firm brand that no Celtic fans want.

The reasons we are in front of that lot and the Oldco died is not because of the brilliance of Lawwell, Nicholson, Desmond, etc, but because we are still benefiting from the advantages bequeathed to us by the wonderful visionary, Fergus McCann, who took a calculated gamble in providing us with the foundations for a generation of dominance. If Lawwell & Co had been appointed after the rebels had won to save us then we would have been playing in a ramshankle 30000 seated stadium with seats placed in the old stands, thus securing our position in 2nd place in Scotland ahead of the rest, for the last 30 years.

Assuming we do get Idah just before the transfer window closes then that would mean our 2nd senior striker will only have played 30 minutes of knockabout friendly football in nearly 14 weeks as we play the important Glasgow derby on 1st September. That is a ridiculously shambolic way to run a professional football club.

Let's hope Kyogo doesn't get an injury as he is forced to play as our only striker in 4 potentially combative matches against Killie, Hibs, Hibs & St Mirren.

Never mind though, we MAY well have as back-up by then a cheap inexperienced teenage project who has not had a chance to gel with his new teammates, may not have had a great pre-season and who has to get to grips with overly-physical domestic fitba, all while settling in a new country.

The only conclusion I can come to is that our board are sacrificing any potential improvement in Europe to ensure that we do NOT pull too far away in front of sevco in the league. They are fixated on 1 business model only and it revolves around an Old Firm brand that no Celtic fans want.

The reasons we are in front of that lot and the Oldco died is not because of the brilliance of Lawwell, Nicholson, Desmond, etc, but because we are still benefiting from the advantages bequeathed to us by the wonderful visionary, Fergus McCann, who took a calculated gamble in providing us with the foundations for a generation of dominance. If Lawwell & Co had been appointed after the rebels had won to save us then we would have been playing in a ramshankle 30000 seated stadium with seats placed in the old stands, thus securing our position in 2nd place in Scotland ahead of the rest, for the last 30 years.
I also thought we'd have idah before now but at least by the end of the window which has another month to run.
Then it looked less likely until despite Thorrups pressers Idah has given them the finger and suddenly it looks likely again but not at £11 million, I like the bhoy but he's no £11 million striker, how could he be, not starting at Norwich, loaned to Celtic and then things are happening for him , international call up.
£4 million plus add ons is Idahs value in today's market I believe and before his loan to us even lower than that.
Thorrup/Thurrop whatever is now going to have to assert his authority and hopefully we get him, and tbf he hadn't played much football when he came on loan either.

I know how fanciful this is but if we kept Oriley, and our main men , got Idah in the door, Bernardo, that LB somebody keeps going on about 🤷‍♂️, one with the ability to displace Taylor not just compete and a CB and winger.

That's actually 4 players we require , striker, LB, CB, winger, assuming ( an awful lot) we convince Oriley to stay until January window and the Bernardo deal is soon to be announced ( I heard 3 weeks ago) if my wee dream scenario was to come to bear we'd be looking really strong.