transfer window

At this precise point in the window which 2 positions in your opinion are the most in dire need of reinforcements of all positions ?

If you're lost on nothing Marti then
Why say you were lost then?
You're lost but not lost?
Sounds lost to me.
Contradiction at least.

And I'm not talking nonsense, you threw an insult at me , by saying my posts are pish and you get lost on my points ( but you're not lost) but still answer them anyway.
Pistol Pete would love me, I doubt that btw , and i should go lay down because i must have been in the sun too long?
Nah you don't throw shite or insults at all eh?
They're just wee sarcastic jokes and I've to take them as such is that it?
Well i dont and id appreciate if you reply to my posts to show some respect, then it will be reciprocated.
Are you capable of taking a differing opinion without spitting the dummy cos if no get a string on that dummy you'll be spitting it a lot more.

Actually some of the shit thats been thrown in this thread especially is pathetic and fkn sad af especially with TET, who does this same thing every seasons close windows and every season someone falls for it.
Glasbhoy whom I've no problem with myself calling TET a prick etc is out of order, are folk incapable of disagreeing with another without resorting to shit stirring or throwing insults?
Perhaps not.

It's pathetic in my eyes anyway as we're all Tim's here and it's utterly uncalled for disgraceful no wonder well known member Tim's have left this forum recently if that's what they're faced with for putting an opinion forward fs.

I also did NOT say Welsh and Nawrocki were good enough to win us the league , my point was they as back ups are not the worst CBs when it comes to the spfl and It wouldn't surprise me if those 2 alone were good enough to win In Scotland but we want more.

On this LB and striker thing, once again, does it not make sense to bring in one of each so we have more than one of each in both positions?
Aye we need a solid CB but the point is at this time we have other CBs, who can cover and thats something that we don't have that in the 2 other positions, ergo I believe its a matter of urgency we get reinforced in both positions, we can add hopefully another CB but shirley right this second those 2 positions must take precedent no?
Every time i have criticised a player or performance you have jumped on it calling me unfair.I've a right to an opinion like everyone else on here!I think Tarzan can stick up for himself Winter but i have no sympathy for him.I'm sure the majority of folk on this forum are great people in the real world away from their keyboards .

I also thought we'd have idah before now but at least by the end of the window which has another month to run.
Then it looked less likely until despite Thorrups pressers Idah has given them the finger and suddenly it looks likely again but not at £11 million, I like the bhoy but he's no £11 million striker, how could he be, not starting at Norwich, loaned to Celtic and then things are happening for him , international call up.
£4 million plus add ons is Idahs value in today's market I believe and before his loan to us even lower than that.
Thorrup/Thurrop whatever is now going to have to assert his authority and hopefully we get him, and tbf he hadn't played much football when he came on loan either.

I know how fanciful this is but if we kept Oriley, and our main men , got Idah in the door, Bernardo, that LB somebody keeps going on about 🤷‍♂️, one with the ability to displace Taylor not just compete and a CB and winger.

That's actually 4 players we require , striker, LB, CB, winger, assuming ( an awful lot) we convince Oriley to stay until January window and the Bernardo deal is soon to be announced ( I heard 3 weeks ago) if my wee dream scenario was to come to bear we'd be looking really strong.
I don't get too hung up on how much we pay for players, as frankly there is no benefit to me as a fan in us having an extra few £million festering away in our bank account. And no, I am not saying chuch stupid money around and go bust like Deadco FC before anyone says it - there is a huge middle ground between their suicidal extravagance and our ultra-cautious frugalness.

Norwich are pissed off with the situation and have now stated a stupidly high value which no one will pay. If we'd sorted this out properly in January instead of waiting until the last few hours (but we did not trust Rodgers' judgement, who had worked with him before, to spend an afgordable fee to but him permanently), or had gone in with a more realistic price last month, then we could have closed this deal out or else moved on if it was clear they wouldn't deal sensibly in a timeframe that suited us.

But we took the piss and now they are reciprocating. This is how it goes sometimes in negotiations when stubborn pigheaded negotiators go much too far in trying to get a bargain - all goodwill goes out the window. I do this for a living so don't understand how every negotiation we are involved in is so painfully slow. Plus it appears we cannot multi-task and do several at the same time.

I don't believe Idah is worth close to £11m, but if we can get £4m for Oh, then he iis definitely worth a lot more than that.

Remember that we are the big boys in this discussion. We are in the Champions League, our turnover was more than double Norwich's and the gap will increase this season. And yet we always appear to be reacting on the back foot in negotiations rather than using our power to our advantage.

I think celtic are the team taking the piss. We put 1 bid in 2 months ago that was not accepted. We have done nothing else since. Just vague stories in the paper to try and unsettle the player.
If it was Norwich doi g it to 1 of our players we wouldn't be happy about it.
We lucky they haven't told us to fuck off
The truth is none of know what bid we have put in ....unfortunately due to our lack of activity in the transfer market to put it mildly that just leaves us with speculation and continued frustration where we are all desperate to see decent business been done.

The ideal scenario is to come out of the transfer window stronger than when it opened then along comes the Celtic power brokers to throw a spanner in the works, yes we know we agreed a loan spell with a 6 mill option to buy but can we change that I mean 6 mill is slightly above what we think he is worth and so it drags on for weeks.

As I said a while ago, we bought several £6m players in 2000/01 when Martin O’Neill was here. Why can we not buy them now, when I would say that the club has more money now, than it ever has.😡
6 million and maybe 25k a week or so for a top player in europe in those days.

Im not so sure Sutton today would play here for 25k a week when he could probably get north of 150K a week elsewhere.

Im pretty certain that if we could sustain a signing of Sutton calibre and experience for 40 or 50k per week with signing fee of 10-20 million then club would sign them. But 40/50 k per week aint likely to get a player of that calibre with that experience even if he aint first choice at chelsea.

Thanks Sky tv deals

That was not sustainable...those players were some of the highest paid in the UK at that time...WGS bore the brunt of that with his need for downscaling
Those salaries were unsustainable for the annual turnovers we were creating back then. But our revenue has increased significantly so we can afford to pay some of our better players salaries we were paying back then. We have to be smarter in our outlays and instead of stockpiling so many projects pay the same amount on transfers and wages but on fewer higher quality players.

That was not sustainable...those players were some of the highest paid in the UK at that time...WGS bore the brunt of that with his need for downscaling
It might not have been sustainable then, but it's 20 years. £6m in 2001 is the equivalent of £3.2m now.
Our turnover hs more than doubled compared to what it was back then , yet we seem to be only interested in people who tick these 3 boxes
1- aged between 19-23
2- cost under £3m
4- wages less than £20k

We are just a business that runs a football team to make money for the shareholders and directors

6 million and maybe 25k a year or so for a top player in europe in those days.

Im not so sure Sutton today would play here for 25k a week when he could probably get north of 150K a week elsewhere.

Im pretty certain that if we could sustain a signing of Sutton calibre and experience for 40 or 50k per week with signing fee of 10-20 million then club would sign them. But 40/50 k per week aint likely to get a player of that calibre with that experience even if he aint first choice at chelsea.

Thanks Sky tv deals
No chance we would give a player £50k a week. Even if we could get Haaland on a free and he was willing to come on 45k a week, the people in our boardroom would try and get him yo take less before walking away from the deal. The would say his wage demands were outwith the clubs pay structure

Im not so sure thats case. But for 50k i think he would need to have some tremendous talent thats for sure.

I suspect haaland would say no even if you offered him 100K

And thats problem in a nutshell.

50K per week players are usually no much better if indeed they are than our first team players, imo.

just ask chelsea squad what they would ditch chelsea for to come here? And tbh Im no so sure they have much better quality than us atm despite spending absolute fortune on transfers and wages.

I watched a youtbe highlights of our preseason game. it was from a chelsea fan site.

All the comments were these players we have are pure shite and no good enough to play for Chelsea. Board must go cause they are just running club with young players with no experience to try make a profit.

Weirdly they do spend 25million and much larger wages and tbh I thought they looked worse than us.

Getting good enough players to wear Celtic shirt is getting harder even if our board do have some funds available.

Reality noisers. We cannot afford 10million pounds players. Sad but true . Wages would be astronomical for our club. IMHO sky TV has ruined football for the so lesser clubs and I include us in that. Meagre TV deals for Scottish Football is sky's way of saying we are not worth the money. So the ? Is we're do we go to get on a level playing Field re finances. We have to get out of Scotland to another league. We cannot compete with Europe on the finances that other leagues enjoy. I love my club as we all do but the finances other leagues are receiving from sky blows us out the water. I know we have ex amount of millions in the bank but not enough to compete with Europes elite.

CELTIC are edging closer to a deal for Norwich City striker Adam Idah.

Canaries chiefs have already turfed out a £4million Hoops bid for last season’s Parkhead loan star.

But Norwich sources believe a deal could soon be struck to bring Idah back to Celtic - potentially in time for Sunday’s Premiership opener against Kilmarnock.

The Irishman is set to be disciplined by the Championship club after failing to make a flight to Austria for a pre-season training camp.

The 23-year-old is understood to be keen on a Celtic return and further talks are expected between the clubs in the coming days.

Idah was an instant hit after joining the Hoops in January and boss Brendan Rodgers wants him tied down on a permanent deal.

Carrow Road boss Johannes Hoff Thorup revealed he will take internal action on Idah for "not following rules" ahead of the squad's trip to Austria.

The Canaries faced German outfit Hoffenheim in a friendly on Monday but the Republic of Ireland striker did not feature and sat in the stand instead.

Hoff Thorup said: “With Adam, there are some internal issues where he reported late for the flight on Sunday going to Austria.

“We decided he should come as quickly as possible.

“But of course he could not be part of this game because there are some things we can accept and there are some things we cannot accept.

Idah has hinted at a desire to return to Parkhead all summer.

Most notably when he was spotted on holiday with Hoops pal James Forrest and then last week when he posted a love heart emoji on social media after Celts’ friendly win over Chelsea in the USA.

Reality noisers. We cannot afford 10million pounds players. Sad but true . Wages would be astronomical for our club. IMHO sky TV has ruined football for the so lesser clubs and I include us in that. Meagre TV deals for Scottish Football is sky's way of saying we are not worth the money. So the ? Is we're do we go to get on a level playing Field re finances. We have to get out of Scotland to another league. We cannot compete with Europe on the finances that other leagues enjoy. I love my club as we all do but the finances other leagues are receiving from sky blows us out the water. I know we have ex amount of millions in the bank but not enough to compete with Europes elite.
There are plenty of players out there that we could afford and would enhance our starting 11.
We would rather keep the money in the bank. The club is run by Lawyers and Accountants

I wouldn't agree with this Ally. 6 years ago we paid £9m for Eduoard and his wages were £19K/week. Now I agree that the wage for a £10m player will be a bit higher than that, but last season we paid Nat Phillips, Siegrist, McCarthy, Nawrocki & Lagerbielke a combined ~£72K/week.

So yes, we can afford a couple of £10m or 3 x £8m players to Improve our squad based on our incoming revenue, never mind the huge chunk of cash in the bank. But we have to spend more wisely and quit wasting so much on projects or old crocks.

I’m pretty sure that rag had the same headline 4 weeks ago and they were wrong then

The thing with these fucking media puppets in this country is they are trying to build expectations up for us to then be let down
They’ve been doing it all summer.

Even Celtic bloggers are copying and pasting this shite these days

I don’t understand why there’s no broken 2012 club crest all over the back pages calling them out for the shambles unfolding across the city.
Fucking heads should roll over yonder but …. Silence

Honest, folks, I'm as cheesed off as anybody else at the lack of signings. However, there's one way to keep the blood pressure down; just don't read the clickbait being disgorged by the MSM.

" Keeping tabs on "...."Slapped a transfer request on desk"...." Signing imminent "......" Done deal"...."Edging closer"....." Other clubs interested"......" Sources say"

It's not even lazy journalism... it's pure and utter crap.

Honest, folks, I'm as cheesed off as anybody else at the lack of signings. However, there's one way to keep the blood pressure down; just don't read the clickbait being discouraged by the MSM.

" Keeping tabs on "...."Slapped a transfer request on desk"...." Signing imminent "......" Done deal"...."Edging closer"....." Other clubs interested"......" Sources say"

It's not even lazy journalism... it's pure and utter crap.
🔝🔝THIS ⬆️⬆️🍀