transfer window

The devils advocate in me says mmm
Jota coming back great but his form since leaving has been pish.
So if he signs he’s behind Mikey J and he’s not at Celtic.
And I’ll be delighted if he comes home to us
Him Kuhn and Maeda through the middle or our new Striker who ever it is.
The new striker will be similar to Dembelle/ Edouard type of player as that’s the template that Brendan Rodgers looks for.
So Sayonara KF.
We move on.

You say Jotas form has been pish since leaving us. Have you watched the games that he's played in that period? Tbh mate I doubt it. I haven't. A good player doesn't turn bad overnight.

Agree but he’s struggling to get game time at Rennes and the Saudi club hardly played him wasn’t even in the main squad.
Maybe his time in Saudi hurt his confidence.
He’s a good player even said if the Jota that scored against the Huns is the one we get back then bring him home.

Naw I get that mate, the number of games played and injuries sustained are bound to take their toll but I just think we have slipped back into the same pattern that started creeping in during the 2nd season of BR's first stint....slipping into the comfort zone of overdoing the sideways and backward passing with no real intensity to our play or urgency to test opposition defences.

Heard someone describe it the other day as 'death by a thousand passes' and I thought it was a great analogy to describe how we're playing right now.

BR's probing possession football style only really works when you do it with pace and purpose, getting the ball forward quicker, quick sharp passages of play that pulls the opposition in all directions but we've only seen that in patches these last few months....we actually got a wee taste of it again first 45 against Young Boys the other night and were unfortunate not to capitalise on it a bit more.

Like I said earlier we've become ponderous on the ball we need to up the intensity of our play a bit more than what we've seen of late. (y)
All of what you say i agrtee with.
I think we have come off the boil since the Leipzig game.
We've had a few good games since then against SPL teams, but i take your point.
I wonder if the freshness of a few new players will gee things up.

I've often said, i just don't think Kyogo is suited to SPL football nor the way we have to play against these teams. I'm not criticising the wee man, but as soon as we come up against a better opposition that doesn't play like an SPL team, his movement gets the chance to shine like the other night.

I'm hoping big Idah and another will comer to the fore.

So, when Jota does arrive, who do we play on the left wing....Maeda or Jota....If Jota is at his best, and plays how he played before leaving us, do we play him every game...If we do, what about Maeda...I know its a great problem for Brendan to have, but we have to keep players happy...I know Maeda can play a striker through the middle, then that leaves us with the Idah situation, along with another striker, if we sign one.....Better to have too many players on form, than be short. But surely they need game time to come up to speed so to speak...

Thoughts....

Jota more than capable of playing either wing, which allows for quality in rotation something we dont have at the moment, with Yang and Palma falling short, although I still haven't given up on Yang, but he'll need to step it up before Jamsie gets back..

If we dont bring in another striker, then Maeda will be become second choice, perhaps 3rd if Kenny continues to improve.. But in all honesty another ready made striker is needed..

All of what you say i agrtee with.
I think we have come off the boil since the Leipzig game.
We've had a few good games since then against SPL teams, but i take your point.
I wonder if the freshness of a few new players will gee things up.

I've often said, i just don't think Kyogo is suited to SPL football nor the way we have to play against these teams. I'm not criticising the wee man, but as soon as we come up against a better opposition that doesn't play like an SPL team, his movement gets the chance to shine like the other night.

I'm hoping big Idah and another will comer to the fore.

We need to inject that hunger and intensity back into our performances and I agree mate I think freshening things up with a few new signings as well as maybe giving a few others an extended run in the team (McCowan for one) would go a long way to lifting us out of this stodgy period we find ourselves in right now.

We could also be doing with adding a bit more aggression into our game....a Broony 2.0 option would be a great addition and as well as his need to add goals Idah needs to develop a mean streak and start mixing it with opposition defenders....he's a big lump of a bhoy he needs to start using that to unsettle and bully his way to the back of the net.

You might want to give your own head a wobble. It’s not just about the balance sheet. You have your view and it’s not one I agree with.
I do take your point that the world is full of great players, and if that’s the case, our board’s repeated inability to identify them is surely a concern.

Yeah, I got a Thesaurus as a birthday present - I was delighted, glad, happy, joyful, thrilled, overjoyed, ecstatic, euphoric, elated, blissful…..🤣
So I take it you weren’t ‘Disappointed’ then like some.
😎🤓😎
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿
☘️☘️☘️

Just seen this on Born Celtic no idea the validity ?
From the guy who 1st told me about Louie Barry. “Celtic have approached Newcastle about their young striker Osula with loan and option to buy. Haven’t heard anything other than the initial approach”

Seemingly we have asked Newcastle about taking young Danish centre forward on loan with an option. Know nothing of him, quick google search shows he is 21, had a few minutes from the bench and is valued at €7m. William Osula