So sorry to hear that bridie.I hope everyone is doing OK.
Sadly my Mum passed away this afternoon. She hadn't been keeping too well and overnight was terrible watching her in agony. But she calmed down this morning and slipped away just after lunchtime.
We got a bonus year with her after it looked really bad for her last spring. She is finally at peace now.
Give all your loved ones an extra cuddle tonight and tell them that you love them.![]()
Nice words mate…So sorry to hear that bridie.
This is the loss im dreading one day, the backbone of any family and most kids life's.
Be sure to remember her strength and what she inspired you to be.
I've talked through this event with my maw recently
Her answer om the subject as ever is philisophical and says it all
'First thing, youll get about 4 hours a week of your life back save listening to ma shite son. Anyway, ive tried my best by you all, whether I got it right or wrang is another thing, but if you think for a minute you miss me, just look in the mirror. They shoes you walk in are hand me downs. I put my heart and soul into creating them. Don't ever look on me as a loss, everything we've went through over the years has made you the man you are. If you ever look on me as anything other than a gain al fucking haunt you when im finally bored haunting your faither.
Remember, dont be sad. Celebrate what you were fortunate enough to have, be grateful it was more than most could wish for.
I womt mourning my maw, all good th8ngs come to an end at some point, nah ill just be thankful I had her in my corner
God bless you and yours.
Shes the one m8Nice words mate…..losing your maws horrendous no matter how much you prepare,she’s our first true love
….
Beautiful words, pal. As always.So sorry to hear that bridie.
This is the loss im dreading one day, the backbone of any family and most kids life's.
Be sure to remember her strength and what she inspired you to be.
I've talked through this event with my maw recently
Her answer om the subject as ever is philisophical and says it all
'First thing, youll get about 4 hours a week of your life back save listening to ma shite son. Anyway, ive tried my best by you all, whether I got it right or wrang is another thing, but if you think for a minute you miss me, just look in the mirror. They shoes you walk in are hand me downs. I put my heart and soul into creating them. Don't ever look on me as a loss, everything we've went through over the years has made you the man you are. If you ever look on me as anything other than a gain al fucking haunt you when im finally bored haunting your faither.
Remember, dont be sad. Celebrate what you were fortunate enough to have, be grateful it was more than most could wish for.
I womt mourning my maw, all good th8ngs come to an end at some point, nah ill just be thankful I had her in my corner
God bless you and yours.
Your understating it m8.Beautiful words, pal. As always.
Yes, I have been dreading this but after her last night it was a relief that it was so peaceful in the end. She was a quiet and very kind person - but what a fighter she proved to be over the last few years as osteoporosis and arthritis took its toll on her body, then other illnesses affected her. She stayed mostly cheerful and content with her lot no matter how much pain she was in.
Everyone's kindness is much appreciated. Even though I would walk past you in the street oblivious to your real identities your friendship on here means a lot. I know there are many regulars on here going through much worse than I am so I hope they realise they have our support and best wishes at all times.![]()
My Mum was quite wee and had tiny size 5 feet before she started shrinking in her old age.Your understating it m8.
It doesn't get worse. but your correct there are many similar keyboard warriors with you.
Here's to Mrs b, size 12 feet an all
Keep the chin up fellaMy Mum was quite wee and had tiny size 5 feet before she started shrinking in her old age.
Thanks for the laugh.
I trump your mum with my size 3.My Mum was quite wee and had tiny size 5 feet before she started shrinking in her old age.
Thanks for the laugh.
But size 15 hockey racket nawI trump your mum with my size 3.
Am back on it tonight ffs and came back to bridies mawBeautiful words, pal. As always.
Yes, I have been dreading this but after her last night it was a relief that it was so peaceful in the end. She was a quiet and very kind person - but what a fighter she proved to be over the last few years as osteoporosis and arthritis took its toll on her body, then other illnesses affected her. She stayed mostly cheerful and content with her lot no matter how much pain she was in.
Everyone's kindness is much appreciated. Even though I would walk past you in the street oblivious to your real identities your friendship on here means a lot. I know there are many regulars on here going through much worse than I am so I hope they realise they have our support and best wishes at all times.![]()
Am back on it tonight ffs and came back to bridies maw
I think when women have children they grow an invisible set of baws internally. They are ferocious when it comes to their brood.
Where we see strength, they have just acquired something worth swinging for. And they do it with an indescribable passion. Its the purest form of love. Ask Shakespeare to sum up his love for his children and he simply doesn't have the words to justify it.
I may have given off signs im quite philosophical at times. I love being fucking high. I think random things without fear. I dint need to be high to express myself. It just comes in a different light.
Many times ive been asked the meaning of life question. I never had an answer until i had kids. My ex said to me one day, the way you look at the wean, thats love, you dint love me. My answer, yes thats love, having the weans made me realise two things. First I dont love you like I do her. Second. I dont even fucking think o like you to tell a truth.
Almost everything on earth shares one thing in common and thats reproduction.
Genetic facts, only I and her maw could create the DNA mix that became my kids.
Given the odds of generations meeting before us, maw and dads, maws and dad's, their great granny's and grandad going back centuries. If any of the players were dufferent everything that follows would have changed as the gene pool changed.
So we're all fucking living through impossible odds. So life's a gift. The odds of bridie being bridie and my kids being who they are, so ridiculous its hard to think anything other than things happen for a reason.
So through life ill complain, gripe and hope for the best. But I know that me sitting typing this is a fucking miracle of chance against crazy odds. Fuck theres mer chance the huns will win the league next year..
Be thankful you exist peeps and embrace life and the painful shit that comes our way.
Its better to have lived with consequences than not lived at all
Love will tear us apart again.... and again
Sorry to hear of the passing of your mother bridie or as we say here "mammy". Unfortunately I know what it feels like. While it leaves a huge void, you were blessed to have her.I hope everyone is doing OK.
Sadly my Mum passed away this afternoon. She hadn't been keeping too well and overnight was terrible watching her in agony. But she calmed down this morning and slipped away just after lunchtime.
We got a bonus year with her after it looked really bad for her last spring. She is finally at peace now.
Give all your loved ones an extra cuddle tonight and tell them that you love them.![]()
As someone who is into ancestry and family history in general, after reading your post it reminded me of this. Something I discovered a while back.Am back on it tonight ffs and came back to bridies maw
I think when women have children they grow an invisible set of baws internally. They are ferocious when it comes to their brood.
Where we see strength, they have just acquired something worth swinging for. And they do it with an indescribable passion. Its the purest form of love. Ask Shakespeare to sum up his love for his children and he simply doesn't have the words to justify it.
I may have given off signs im quite philosophical at times. I love being fucking high. I think random things without fear. I dint need to be high to express myself. It just comes in a different light.
Many times ive been asked the meaning of life question. I never had an answer until i had kids. My ex said to me one day, the way you look at the wean, thats love, you dint love me. My answer, yes thats love, having the weans made me realise two things. First I dont love you like I do her. Second. I dont even fucking think o like you to tell a truth.
Given the odds of generations meeting before us, maw and dads, maws and dad's, their great granny's and grandad going back centuries. If any of the players were dufferent everything that follows would have changed as the gene pool changed.
So we're all fucking living through impossible odds. So life's a gift. The odds of bridie being bridie and my kids being who they are, so ridiculous its hard to think anything other than things happen for a reason.
So through life ill complain, gripe and hope for the best. But I know that me sitting typing this is a fucking miracle of chance against crazy odds. Fuck theres mer chance the huns will win the league next year..
Be thankful you exist peeps and embrace life and the painful shit that comes our way.

"Am back on it tonight". My first thought when I read that was this will be good. I was wrong, it was absolutely brilliant. I actually started to type a response, then I realised the futility of my efforts.I think when women have children they grow an invisible set of baws internally. They are ferocious when it comes to their brood.
I’ve thought o that kind of stuff tae D. I’m constantly amazed about different DNA strands mixing and how they came to pair. The bizarre shit that has to happen for DNA to meet n mix.As someone who is into ancestry and family history in general, after reading your post it reminded me of this. Something I discovered a while back.
View attachment 30600
It is thought provoking. Not only did these people have to meet but that specific sperms had to fertilise that egg otherwise each person would have been slightly different.As someone who is into ancestry and family history in general, after reading your post it reminded me of this. Something I discovered a while back.
View attachment 30600