Well Being

A wee update on my condition......As I said earlier they discovered I had Giant Cell Arteritis which caused the artery leading to my brain to be blocked, which prevented blood and oxygen getting to the brain.....This illness cannot be cured and no one yet knows much about it, or why it happens esp to over 50's.........I was prescribed steroids, which I am still taking 7 a day....The steroids control the illness.....A couple of weeks ago I went for a deep scan at Dundee Royal Infirmary where they discovered two of my main arteries, one in the chest and one in the abdomen......were also partially blocked.......According to the Consultant the steroids will take care of this aswell......

Long time steroid use is not recommended, apart from eating like feck, there are a lot more side effects......So now they have given me injections to take,,,,I do this once a week in the house...And by taking the injections it sould get me off the steroids....I take one less every week......When down to four a day, and after testing my blood.....they will know if the steroid reduction is working.....Hope so.....a canny stop eating......But, they reckon, once off the steroids, the weight comes back off........

I must say the aftercare from the hospital is really good.....The consultant who discovered my illness, phones me every couple of weeks, to see how I am doing........

Thanks to RichieBhoy and you Bridie. Had a tough few months. Got a bit of bad news on the health front and been plodding through scans and waiting lists for consultants and procedures. Still not done yet but prognosis is currently far more positive than it was even just a few weeks ago. Probably why I hadn't posted on here or written much for TCS of late as ended up in a bit of a confidence spiral with everything going on. Once I'm straight I'll be back.
All the best to all on the Noise. I'll check in more often, it can only do me good......possibly :)
Really sorry to read this Niall. Hope it's only good news you get from here on.

A wee update on my condition......As I said earlier they discovered I had Giant Cell Arteritis which caused the artery leading to my brain to be blocked, which prevented blood and oxygen getting to the brain.....This illness cannot be cured and no one yet knows much about it, or why it happens esp to over 50's.........I was prescribed steroids, which I am still taking 7 a day....The steroids control the illness.....A couple of weeks ago I went for a deep scan at Dundee Royal Infirmary where they discovered two of my main arteries, one in the chest and one in the abdomen......were also partially blocked.......According to the Consultant the steroids will take care of this aswell......

Long time steroid use is not recommended, apart from eating like feck, there are a lot more side effects......So now they have given me injections to take,,,,I do this once a week in the house...And by taking the injections it sould get me off the steroids....I take one less every week......When down to four a day, and after testing my blood.....they will know if the steroid reduction is working.....Hope so.....a canny stop eating......But, they reckon, once off the steroids, the weight comes back off........

I must say the aftercare from the hospital is really good.....The consultant who discovered my illness, phones me every couple of weeks, to see how I am doing........
Goes without saying lennono, I hope everything works out for you.

Take care fella. Hope this all works out for you.

Really saddened and sorry to hear about your struggles Lennono and thank you for sharing it with us.
Positive I can say for all of us you have the support, prayers and best wishes of all on the noise in wishing you a speedy recovery.
Very best wishes to you and yours Lennono and dont forget I still want that piece of bacon and eggs and
Dilligaf wants toast with his ( chancer)
God bless mhate 🙏🏻

Thanks to RichieBhoy and you Bridie. Had a tough few months. Got a bit of bad news on the health front and been plodding through scans and waiting lists for consultants and procedures. Still not done yet but prognosis is currently far more positive than it was even just a few weeks ago. Probably why I hadn't posted on here or written much for TCS of late as ended up in a bit of a confidence spiral with everything going on. Once I'm straight I'll be back.
All the best to all on the Noise. I'll check in more often, it can only do me good......possibly :)
As with Lennono , Nial ..best wishes prayers and the best of positive thoughts to you and your loved ones.
Love to read your articles in the CS and always get a wee feeling of pride reading them knowing that was written by one of our own and read by many worldwide.
Speedy recovery bhuddy 🙏🏻

This wee note to Lennono, Nial J, Marky, 26+ and any other who are having a bit of a tough times.
Love, prayers, Support , well wishes and positive thoughts to you all and your loved ones .
You all make great contributions to the noise and( not for that reason alone) I hope and wish you all the very best in your recovery HH 💚

Sending positive thoughts to you Niall
Concentrate on you, and don't sweat the small stuff
Best to you and your family

Really saddened and sorry to hear about your struggles Lennono and thank you for sharing it with us.
Positive I can say for all of us you have the support, prayers and best wishes of all on the noise in wishing you a speedy recovery.
Very best wishes to you and yours Lennono and dont forget I still want that piece of bacon and eggs and
Dilligaf wants toast with his ( chancer)
God bless mhate 🙏🏻
Firstly, Winter, let me say, hold the bacon, too much salt ;)
Lennono, I am dealing with something along the same lines, they haven't prescribed steroids, but the third arm growing out of my back would be handy for scratching my arse :p
I went to a Neurologist 2 years ago, the guy was checking me out for something else, when I mentioned that my balance was giving me issues, I look like I am continually turning left, I get up and walk towards the kitchen, and end up going sideways down the hall a bit...was weird at first, but now Kerry and the 'kids' just laugh, if I'm honest, so do I
I was sent for an MRI 18 months ago and as I hadn't heard anything by the October, I called my doctor to refill my usual prescriptions, (can never get through to the specialist and he never calls back) and after that he said "So, what's happening with the brain ?"
"Don't know, I haven't heard anything, so figured it was all good"
He said "The MRI shows there's occlusions in arteries in your brain, are you feeling OK ?"
I said "Yes, but I'm going to phone the specialist after this"
I tried for 3 days, leaving messages to get him to call me...no joy
I spoke to his receptionist and told her I was just going to show up, unless he called me back, to discuss what I'd found out..."
After a few days, I decide to give it one more try, and his receptionist puts me through
He says "Yes, everything's fine..."
"Excuse me ? What about the 'occlusions in the arteries ?"
"Hang on...I'll bring up your file..."
Me, in my head : WTAF ???"
Him: "I'm having trouble bringing up your file, computer is slow today..."
I said "I'm fine...but you can't bring up my file ?"
He cuts me off with it's best to come and see me in person, I'll have my receptionist set up an appointment"
To date, and it's now the one year Anniversary of that phone call, haven't heard a thing
I talked to my own doctor, who is trying to get me in to see another specialist, the wheels of our overworked healthcare system, turn slowly, but I have nothing but respect for nurses, and 'most' doctors
Anyway, apologies for the length of the post, but Lennono, you and the rest, are in my thoughts, for a positive outcome for all of you
Stay safe and best to all the 'oldies' and the rest, who are dealing with this thing called 'life'
I don't mind getting old, but the side effects, are brutal

Great news Lennono hate steroids I was in with the Doctor about 3 years ago with my daughter and the Doc said right to help you breathe your on Steroids a huge sigh came from daughter the doctor turns and says why the sigh oh when he’s on Steroids me and ma brother keep away from dad as I’m pretty sure he’s gonna eat the both of us the greedy barsteward So now don’t take them at all. makes the recovery last a bit longer but the side effects are a barsteward
Oh and has the consultant seen yir camera and he’s got first dibs on it if he cuts the wrong ball off 😱
😂soz bud hud ti
Great news Big man

HH Lennono 👏

Firstly, Winter, let me say, hold the bacon, too much salt ;)
Lennono, I am dealing with something along the same lines, they haven't prescribed steroids, but the third arm growing out of my back would be handy for scratching my arse :p
I went to a Neurologist 2 years ago, the guy was checking me out for something else, when I mentioned that my balance was giving me issues, I look like I am continually turning left, I get up and walk towards the kitchen, and end up going sideways down the hall a bit...was weird at first, but now Kerry and the 'kids' just laugh, if I'm honest, so do I
I was sent for an MRI 18 months ago and as I hadn't heard anything by the October, I called my doctor to refill my usual prescriptions, (can never get through to the specialist and he never calls back) and after that he said "So, what's happening with the brain ?"
"Don't know, I haven't heard anything, so figured it was all good"
He said "The MRI shows there's occlusions in arteries in your brain, are you feeling OK ?"
I said "Yes, but I'm going to phone the specialist after this"
I tried for 3 days, leaving messages to get him to call me...no joy
I spoke to his receptionist and told her I was just going to show up, unless he called me back, to discuss what I'd found out..."
After a few days, I decide to give it one more try, and his receptionist puts me through
He says "Yes, everything's fine..."
"Excuse me ? What about the 'occlusions in the arteries ?"
"Hang on...I'll bring up your file..."
Me, in my head : WTAF ???"
Him: "I'm having trouble bringing up your file, computer is slow today..."
I said "I'm fine...but you can't bring up my file ?"
He cuts me off with it's best to come and see me in person, I'll have my receptionist set up an appointment"
To date, and it's now the one year Anniversary of that phone call, haven't heard a thing
I talked to my own doctor, who is trying to get me in to see another specialist, the wheels of our overworked healthcare system, turn slowly, but I have nothing but respect for nurses, and 'most' doctors
Anyway, apologies for the length of the post, but Lennono, you and the rest, are in my thoughts, for a positive outcome for all of you
Stay safe and best to all the 'oldies' and the rest, who are dealing with this thing called 'life'
I don't mind getting old, but the side effects, are brutal

Sorry to hear that bud but he’s a dick the cuntsultant.
Hope it all works oot fur yi
But could yi jist check yir shoes especially the left ones I think you’ll find the lost 100 dollar 💵 bills you hid there. 😂
Seriously hope all goes well Dill

HH 👏