We have a winner
Has anyone ever taken what Frank McAvennue seriously about any subject? He was a fantastic striker who descended into a joke character. I'm sure he is a lovely guy and probably a great laugh on a night out, but his views on football are as relevant as Kris Boyd's, Alex Rae, Andy Walker or my dog. Why do the media pay money to these gobshites to spout their nonsensical crap that nobody cares about? No wonder this industry has gone down the tubes.Frank McAvennie was slating calmac because he said in interview that league was priority so frank said champions league should be priority even tho we won’t win it but getting to last 16 and if we get beat then we fall into Europa league ….
Someone needs to tell frank that you no longer fall into Europa league and even in the past when that was the case it was never if you got beat in last 16 it was if you finished 3rd in group or if you got beat in the play off qualification….
Listened to frank for past few years and he has not got a clue about football regardless if he was a good player or not but my wee sister knows more about football than him
I was going to ask, who was Frank talking to?? , I'll bet it wasn't the Celtic View... File it under a pile of pish if its the main stream media.... I'd like to see him in may if Hearts win the league and Celtic reach the last 16 of the CL..... My god can you imagine the carnage ... Stick to chasing the burds Frankie awe you could dae was score back in the dayHas anyone ever taken what Frank McAvennue seriously about any subject? He was a fantastic striker who descended into a joke character. I'm sure he is a lovely guy and probably a great laugh on a night out, but his views on football are as relevant as Kris Boyd's, Alex Rae, Andy Walker or my dog. Why do the media pay money to these gobshites to spout their nonsensical crap that nobody cares about? No wonder this industry has gone down the tubes.
Frank was probably havering his nonsense to a Durex machine in the bogs of his local winebar.I was going to ask, who was Frank talking to?? , I'll bet it wasn't the Celtic View... File it under a pile of pish if its the main stream media.... I'd like to see him in may if Hearts win the league and Celtic reach the last 16 of the CL..... My god can you imagine the carnage ... Stick to chasing the burds Frankie awe you could dae was score back in the day
Nuff said... Embarrassing site more like..Celtic idol slaughters Callum McGregor after 'embarrassing' claim
Celtic captain Callum McGregor's recent comments about aspirations this season have been labelled as an "embarrassment" by Frank McAvennie.www.footballinsider247.com
Wow ambitious... you should apply for a role on the Celtic Board ...... .....an extracurricular nuisance ......the 'CHAMPS LEAGUE!'Maybe, but maybe not. Bear in mind that I've only been a fan since the 2016 season, so I may have missed better transfer windows, but overall I think we do all right every time, despite a tight-fisted board who needs to lighten up and spend some money. Even now, despite the wailing and gnashing of teeth every transfer window brings when we don't end up with -- oh, I don't know -- Messi or Neymar or the-flavor-of-the-month -- the fact of the matter is when the window closes, we do OK.
Not great, but not bad as everyone seems to make it out to be either.
Remember, it's sad but true, but players are not rushing to Scotland. Any player worth a damn knows that the league is a haven for hammerthrowing troglodytes, and those we may be trying to get to play here realize that. One only has to see how slammed Jeremie Frimpong got while playing for us before playing, quite successfully, at Bayer Leverkusen. So whomever Celtic has on its radar is going to want a lot of money to come to not-so-greener pastures, so to speak.
Regardless, this window doesn't look too bad honestly. Two goalkeepers to bolster an already adequate staff of Messrs. Bain and Siegrist (unless the latter has buggered off unbeknownst to me), it looks like Bernardo is coming back, and I have a feeling Norwich City will finally let go of Idah. But even if the Idah plan doesn't work out, we don't really know what Rodgers and/or the board has up the collective sleeves. I personally will wait until the window closes to make an assessment.
Is that as fun as bitching and moaning about who we're getting and who we're not getting? Admittedly, no. But it is what it is.
More to the point of this topic, however, success to me is winning the league, getting trebles if possible, and exiting the Champions League as late as possible, because as much as it could be lucrative to win the league every year and go on to the Champions League -- that UEFA money is really nice -- the Champions League and Europa League are, in my opinion, an extracurricular nuisance.
Yes, I said it. And I meant it. As long as we finish first in the SPFL and collect the money from Europe, I don't really give a damn what happens in Europe. Bear in mind that Scotland has about 5 million people -- less than the San Francisco Bay Area -- and any absolutely remote shot of European domination is sadly a thing of the past.Wow ambitious... you should apply for a role on the Celtic Board ...... .....an extracurricular nuisance ......the 'CHAMPS LEAGUE!'
I think we will win at least a double, and we will most likely not be playing European football after Christmas if we don't make some serious improvements.What would make a successful season?
4th league title in a row?
Winning both cups?
Doing well in Europe?
I predict a treble and last 16 in CL
Make your prediction below before we start the season
I guarantee we will be playing European Football after Christmas.I think we will win at least a double, and we will most likely not be playing European football after Christmas if we don't make some serious improvements.
We will get our arse handed to us in Europe if our backline had scales & Taylor in the starting 11.
I Don't think our board measures success as we do.. success to them will be coming out the transfer window with a profit and hopefully a reduction on the wage bill
With our current squad, we will finish in the bottom 3 of the new champions league group. We have no chance with our current backline. If kyogo picks up an injury we are fucked as things stand. Last summers transfer business is looking better than this years. I suppose it doesn't really matter, the league doesn't start for 2 weeksI guarantee we will be playing European Football after Christmas.
Unless we forfeit the last couple of matches which now take place in January.
If we stand still or regress again in this window, then success in Europe for me will not be finishing bottom of the new league format!
Yip. We'll maybe bring in one or two last minute signings on the 31st August and they will get their cronies in the media to leak that there were another couple of incredible signings that we just couldn't get over the line (same as every fecking window - maybe learn a lesson for once and start earlier???). But of course, that means they will arrive too late for the Glasgow Derby, then everyone fecks off for 2 weeks of international matches, we reconvene to play a tough match against Hearts and then we batter into the Champions League matches.With our current squad, we will finish in the bottom 3 of the new champions league group. We have no chance with our current backline. If kyogo picks up an injury we are fucked as things stand. Last summers transfer business is looking better than this years. I suppose it doesn't really matter, the league doesn't start for 2 weeks