Where is our ruthless streak?

CelticForever

I celebrated our 9 in a row and saw the back end of the era of Jinky and Bobby Lennox; I despaired during the Murray/Souness/EBT years, rode the roller coaster of the O’Neil, Lennon and Strachan eras, and I rejoiced in the dominance of Brendan Rogers.

The thing that galls me though, since wee Fergus through to Peter Lawell, is that when we’ve had the chance to bury these Huns basturts, we continue to let them off the hook. BR has more power and influence than any manager since big Jock and this is (I think) his 5th transfer window. Surely to f@ck he’ll get this one right!!

I’ve said before I fear that his arrogance and unwillingness to admit mistakes will hurt us and I truly fear that I’m being proved right.

I ask 3 things of you
1. FFS Brendan we all make mistakes at our work; grow the f&ck up, admit your mistakes and put them right!!!!
2. Move on those who expect the shirt to shrink to their level, even if it means a free transfer
3. Knock Lawwell’s f@ckng door down and spend the money that we the fans have raised.

Rant over! Phew! Hail Hail
???

This season so far has been up and down the same as you mentioned in other era's and this is probably down to what you could call arrogance or complacency in the club thinking they are so far ahead of every other team that they can't be stopped

Some of the Bhoys appear to have bought their own hype.

Boyata has done OK recently by just simply doing his job. On Saturday, he thought he was a footballer again.

It might not be a classy league in terms of quality, but it is a physical league - particularly when the opposition are getting at least a dozen free hits on our players.

Ruthless is as good a word as any, CF. The Bhoys have to find their killer instinct figuratively and metaphorically (maybe killer is too harsh, I'll go for maiming instead).

I totally agree,time and time again we’ve gave the old rangers encouragement and especially this season against sevco.We should be out of sight and looking to bring in players to strengthen the squad for the champions league qualifiers.I don’t agree with BR not admitting mistakes,I’ve definitely heard him on a few occasions this season admitting he got things wrong and I do feel sometimes other mistakes should be sorted behind closed doors as if it’s made public,well we all know what happens with the SMSM.I’m not holding out for any major signings,I hope I’m wrong.We will sign players but of what quality? Teams always have a cycle but to keep the cycle going you need good players coming that are readyto step in to older players shoes and at the moment we don’t have that.HH

Look lets just get one thing straight. WE were diabolically bad on saturday. That doesn't mean Sevco have all of a sudden become good. We are unlikely to play that bad again this season, or ever hopefully. Iv'e not watched the game again so I'm going from memory. Our passing was absolutely shocking, everyone CG apart, had a mare of a day. All Sevco did was manage to get a deflected goal. Our 'goal' was adjudged to be offside, fractionally maybe. Sevco have not all of a sudden become a great team, they are far from it. No need to panic just yet.

I respect your opinion there Brimc,if it was a one off then fair enough but it’s been going on since the tail end of last season.Our away form all season
as everyone knows has been terrible,like night and day to our home form.The main thing that annoys me about it is that away from home we can’t do the basics and I don’t want to be negative but it remains to be seen it any of these players has the mental strength to get through this.I think we were lucky it was only one on Saturday against a team that are probably as bad as the sevco from last season.Now’s the time our manager really needs to earn his pay,but not just him,the rest of the coaching staff.HH

Wee need to develop a mean streak.

Make no mistake - the one thing Slippy G is good at is creating a nasty attitude among an inferior set of players; they turn it into a war, gives them a shout.

Our players have softened with their dominance. They appeared on Saturday to have forgotten desire, will to win at all costs; they simply looked like they didn't want it enough - a cardinal sin for any player wearing the Hoops.

I celebrated our 9 in a row and saw the back end of the era of Jinky and Bobby Lennox; I despaired during the Murray/Souness/EBT years, rode the roller coaster of the O’Neil, Lennon and Strachan eras, and I rejoiced in the dominance of Brendan Rogers.

The thing that galls me though, since wee Fergus through to Peter Lawell, is that when we’ve had the chance to bury these Huns basturts, we continue to let them off the hook. BR has more power and influence than any manager since big Jock and this is (I think) his 5th transfer window. Surely to f@ck he’ll get this one right!!

I’ve said before I fear that his arrogance and unwillingness to admit mistakes will hurt us and I truly fear that I’m being proved right.

I ask 3 things of you
1. FFS Brendan we all make mistakes at our work; grow the f&ck up, admit your mistakes and put them right!!!!
2. Move on those who expect the shirt to shrink to their level, even if it means a free transfer
3. Knock Lawwell’s f@ckng door down and spend the money that we the fans have raised.

???

To be fair, you must have seen a lot given your honour call there.

I look forward with interest at the knowledge you can impart with me and others.

Good post. HH ☘️

Wee need to develop a mean streak.

Make no mistake - the one thing Slippy G is good at is creating a nasty attitude among an inferior set of players; they turn it into a war, gives them a shout.

Our players have softened with their dominance. They appeared on Saturday to have forgotten desire, will to win at all costs; they simply looked like they didn't want it enough - a cardinal sin for any player wearing the Hoops.

100%. Sandman. He has got them fighting.

We can be ruthless the bhoys have shown it but just don’t show it consistently enough for me.

If the game is over at 3-0 but theres time on the clock don’t slow down get 7-0.

There’s not a team out there that does not wish to punish us.

We need to put the marker down that when Celtics in town then we’re right up for it to the fat lady sings with her whistle.

100%. Sandman. He has got them fighting.

We can be ruthless the bhoys have shown it but just don’t show it consistently enough for me.

If the game is over at 3-0 but theres time on the clock don’t slow down get 7-0.

There’s not a team out there that does not wish to punish us.

We need to put the marker down that when Celtics in town then we’re right up for it to the fat lady sings with her whistle.

I agree that there is no point in getting to 3 (as we have in the first half several times) and then easing off. Go for 7, 8 or whatever. Demoralise the opposition. When we ease off they think we are soft... we gave them reason to believe it on Saturday.

Exactly Neil. We leave a door open for big fat gubs to resume their pish.

Its time we terrorised opponents all over the shop all the time.

I just don’t understand the mentality that does not wish to terrorise.

Get in get the job done then hammer it home

In March/April last year- 5-0 up at home v Them. Half an hour to play.

Our players slack off, perhaps feeling sorry - in a professional way - for a shambolic Hun team, Halliday getting the pish ripped out of him by 60,000.

Looked like our bhoys eased out of game-mode and settled for the five.

Now we go to Mordor and a Halliday-inspired Hun side pap us 1-0, going on five.

You think if their chances had gone in, they'd have slackened off?

Sleekit bastards would have gone full-pelt to humiliate and destroy our confidence.

Niceties are something Celtic players must learn to leave at home.

Those Huns should have been terrified of facing us, not determined and up for a scrap.

We need to annihilate them next time, and the next after that. Back in their dirtbox, cowering, blitzed, out-played and out-fought.

Fed up giving them and their hordes, hope - one thing we've specialised in recently, just when they're on the brink of civil war, we provide a lifeline.

Enough, Celtic, just do them.

PS If we get to seven, go for eight, if we get to eight, go for nine... never ease up.

In March/April last year- 5-0 up at home v Them. Half an hour to play.

Our players slack off, perhaps feeling sorry - in a professional way - for a shambolic Hun team, Halliday getting the pish ripped out of him by 60,000.

Looked like our bhoys eased out of game-mode and settled for the five.

Now we go to Mordor and a Halliday-inspired Hun side pap us 1-0, going on five.

You think if their chances had gone in, they'd have slackened off?

Sleekit bastards would have gone full-pelt to humiliate and destroy our confidence.

Niceties are something Celtic players must learn to leave at home.

Those Huns should have been terrified of facing us, not determined and up for a scrap.

We need to annihilate them next time, and the next after that. Back in their dirtbox, cowering, blitzed, out-played and out-fought.

Fed up giving them and their hordes, hope - one thing we've specialised in recently, just when they're on the brink of civil war, we provide a lifeline.

Enough, Celtic, just do them.

Exactly. Every time our bhoys get on a pitch in our colours they should feel like their going to war and winning is a must hammering it home is mental warfare.

Fk preserving stamina these are professional footballers.

Wonder how many hours of tennis andy murray partakes mentally and physically remaining alert and uber focussed.

We should be breaking down minds as well as games.

I ask 3 things of you

???
Ok my rant. Get Lawwell out the door. His only job seems to be hindering BR, and getting rewarded for the privilege. IT RIPS MA KNITTING.

Cant stand it but he is a good money man.

Until we get someone who is equally adept or better at bringing in swag and looking after team and club grudgingly he needs to stay.

We need a swag man with great networking skills.

Networking but yeah. Grudgingly he is a very clever and astute man. I just wish he would loosen the purse strings on our team.

Or be just as ruthless in removing wage patrons that are not up to mustard then plough it into quality.

But hey im not that clever and dont hold myself up as a law man and accountant like he actually is neither am i a footie manager these people are qualified and have relevant skills.

Me im just a fan that wants my club as stratospheric in the universe as they are in my ?

Networking but yeah. Grudgingly he is a very clever and astute man. I just wish he would loosen the purse strings on our team.

Or be just as ruthless in removing wage patrons that are not up to mustard then plough it into quality.

But hey im not that clever and dont hold myself up as a law man and accountant like he actually is neither am i a footie manager these people are qualified and have relevant skills.

Me im just a fan that wants my club as stratospheric in the universe as they are in my ?

I don't claim to out-qualify PL either but I just have an idea that success on the pitch brings in CL money and maximises the yield from sponsorship deals.