A few comparisons as we scream for new signings

Celtic Ghostie

:unsure::unsure: From what I've seen ( I admit its not totally comprehensive ) Ismalia Soro = Broonie on speed Kerr Mac Inroy = Joe Ledley Luca Connell = Alan Thompson Cameron Harper = Frank Mc Avennie Scott Robertson = Lambo. Pure dig with skill Stephen Welsh = Just a smashing young centre back . I'm not saying that's where these boys are at but their skill sets remind me of those legends and sadly we will discard them because this season is TOOOOoooooo Important to give them opportunities. Because of our demands for the ten do you think ???? :unsure::unsure: See ma' Pep Guardiola 3,5,2 midfield Frimpong , Turnbull, Soro, McGregor, Connell :love::love::love:

The fact that some of our skilled youngsters aren't getting the opportunity to play even just a little first team football hurts. We shouldn't really be having to look at the foreign markets when we invest so much in the academy.....................that's the whole point of having an academy, Shirley.

But what do I know.

The fact that some of our skilled youngsters aren't getting the opportunity to play even just a little first team football hurts. We shouldn't really be having to look at the foreign markets when we invest so much in the academy.....................that's the whole point of having an academy, Shirley.

But what do I know.
Maybe a lot of the reason is during this pandemic Insurance risks are higher now that Europe and travelling etc is back and there is added cost to clubs if they increase their numbers in the protection bubble zones for testing etc, young players making their mark may not be in the same bubble as first team members and may pose a bigger threat.
I am sure there is a reason as before lockdown we were watching the likes of Henderson and co having games, why stop. Only an opinion.

Maybe a lot of the reason is during this pandemic Insurance risks are higher now that Europe and travelling etc is back and there is added cost to clubs if they increase their numbers in the protection bubble zones for testing etc, young players making their mark may not be in the same bubble as first team members and may pose a bigger threat.
I am sure there is a reason as before lockdown we were watching the likes of Henderson and co having games, why stop. Only an opinion.

All are acceptable reasons Boab but I don't think think any of them are the real one.

Would be very disappointed if our young players like those mentioned were not given a chance to shine in the league Cup for starters or is our quest of winning trophies to big to take that chance?
2 or three youngster should get games in cup competitions, see how they fare,if they step up to the plate,what a confidence boost it would give them,it would also give others on the periphary some hope that, if they put the work in, they too could get their chance,it must be demoralising,feeling their never going to get a game! 🍺 🥳

There might be a bit of 'Chelsea syndrome' of a few years ago where you sign up any young player available without a real prospect of breaking through, then sell them off at a profit after a successful loan period elsewhere.

Feckin Chelsea had aboot 400 players oot on loan a few years back and sold on quite a few at decent profit. They ballsed it up with De Bruyne and Lukaku though and that's something Celtic have to take heed of.

:unsure::unsure: From what I've seen ( I admit its not totally comprehensive ) Ismalia Soro = Broonie on speed Kerr Mac Inroy = Joe Ledley Luca Connell = Alan Thompson Cameron Harper = Frank Mc Avennie Scott Robertson = Lambo. Pure dig with skill Stephen Welsh = Just a smashing young centre back . I'm not saying that's where these boys are at but their skill sets remind me of those legends and sadly we will discard them because this season is TOOOOoooooo Important to give them opportunities. Because of our demands for the ten do you think ???? :unsure::unsure: See ma' Pep Guardiola 3,5,2 midfield Frimpong , Turnbull, Soro, McGregor, Connell :love::love::love:
Fkn right this season's too important. No time to be experimenting HH

I'm pretty sure most of the Bhoys mentioned above would have got a run or two out last season, the league was wrapped up and imho Lenny would have been of a mind to bring them into the team in the remaining fixtures. But as we all know Covid put a halt to that, and as we are now playing catch up in the league ( thanks Boli ya selfish prick ye) there is more pressure to win our games, perhaps after Christmas when the pack have shot their load we might see a few of them step forward. But for now its experience Neil needs.

Now waits patiently for the old enough yir good enough quotes to arrive 🤭🤭🤭🤭🤭

2 or three youngster should get games in cup competitions, see how they fare,if they step up to the plate,what a confidence boost it would give them,it would also give others on the periphary some hope that, if they put the work in, they too could get their chance,it must be demoralising,feeling their never going to get a game! 🍺 🥳
1. Got to be difficult to break into a championship winning side where do many names are guaranteed starters.
2. Do we hoover up young talent just to sell on for a profit??
3. If you are good enough you will get a game? Frimpong as an example or examples from the academy Forrest, Calmac and KT.

I'm pretty sure most of the Bhoys mentioned above would have got a run or two out last season, the league was wrapped up and imho Lenny would have been of a mind to bring them into the team in the remaining fixtures. But as we all know Covid put a halt to that, and as we are now playing catch up in the league ( thanks Boli ya selfish prick ye) there is more pressure to win our games, perhaps after Christmas when the pack have shot their load we might see a few of them step forward. But for now its experience Neil needs.

Now waits patiently for the old enough yir good enough quotes to arrive 🤭🤭🤭🤭🤭

Tried to trick us there, didn’t you 😛

1. Got to be difficult to break into a championship winning side where do many names are guaranteed starters.
2. Do we hoover up young talent just to sell on for a profit??
3. If you are good enough you will get a game? Frimpong as an example or examples from the academy Forrest, Calmac and KT.
You can only really sell on youngsters for a profit if they are playing regular first team football. If that isn't here then it needs to be at a decent level. Usually this is difficult for Celtic loanees to be at a good enough level to really cash in on them, as if they were that good then we'd want to keep them for our own first team.

Of the names you've mentioned I'd have to say that Welsh is the one who excites me the most , looks very accomplished and doesnt look out of place when hes been given his limited opportunities but I'm extremely hopeful that he is the next KT albeit a different position I've been mightily impressed by him.

You can only really sell on youngsters for a profit if they are playing regular first team football. If that isn't here then it needs to be at a decent level. Usually this is difficult for Celtic loanees to be at a good enough level to really cash in on them, as if they were that good then we'd want to keep them for our own first team.
Good post Amigo but how do we assess if they are good enough ? I've always been desperate to try our boys before we jettison them but even then I get it wrong. July 2014 v Reykjavik ( I think ) after he came back from a loan at Notts County the wee skinny guy McGregor scores and I turn to my daughters ( both ST holders) and say "The wee fella's a player alright but he's far too lightweight to survive in the SPL he'll never make it here 🤔🤔🤔 " ??? - Somehow we have to give these bhoys a shot even if its one at a time in meaningful games NOT the diddy cup

Agree with you there and the reluctance of the lower league clubs to allow Celtic, sevco, hibs or let's just say the top 4 is incredibly unbelievable for it would benefit those smaller clubs financially and also our youth players (not only celtics but Scottish youth players) experience. It has to be the way forward with regards to giving youth a chance to play as we cant loan them all out. If they can do this in other countries outside the big 5 leagues like portugal for example then we can definitely do it here. I'm at a loss as to why the lower league clubs dont want it as the colts could never be promoted to the premier league and youd think it would also be beneficial for the likes of Edinburgh city , Montrose, forfar etc to play against the best youth players in the country for their own players development. The SFA/SPFL should impose it . So backwards its unbelievable then you remember that we are talking about Scotland here. All the jokes of how the Irish are daft stupid and backwards should now be applied to Scotland not ireland. We do at present have one but only one opportunity to play a colts side and that's thanks to irn bru and the challenge cup. If it's acceptable for that then what's the problem? I thoroughly believe that since the scrapping of a European place for the winners of the league cup, that is where we should blood our youth. Let's face it , apart from being part of the treble that cup is no longer relevant to a club like Celtic. It is to the rest but we dont need it and should field our youngsters there. Many may and have disagreed with me on this point saying that this cup , being the first honour of the season gives the winners impetus and confidence to kick on to better things during the season. I cant disagree with that point , still for our club , what exactly other than bragging rights (we hardly need those) does this cup give us? I'm unsure of the 2019 season but the 2017 seasons league cup winners took home a whopping £250,000 !! So given the amount of cash that Celtic have ploughed into Lennoxtown and the money we have spent bringing youngsters to Celtic , I mean £350,000 we paid for Luca Connell £100k more than winning that trophy is worth , shirley it is in our interests to go it alone even if need be and give them a chance in that cup coupled with the challenge cup ? I believe the majority of our support would agree with that sentiment and we get to develop our colts at the club without having to farm them out. Methinks HH

(y)👏👏👏👏👏

I absolutely agree. I have been championing giving the youngsters a chance for years and it drives me mad that we are so poor at doing it. And I don't think this thing of making 9 changes for the first couple of rounds in the League Cup tells us anything either about the youngsters either. I'd rather that 1 or 2 of them were played alongside settled first teamers on a more regular basis - give them 25 minutes in games that are already won (especially this season with the extra subs).

I had posted earlier in the year that I thought Lenny would give the youngsters a lot more time on the pitch once the league was sewn up, but the bloody Covid put paid to that!

I really hope we change our strategy because otherwise there is a lot of amazing young talented wasting away which means we don't benefit from them and also it makes us less attractive to this young talent in the future.

I appreciate that these are minor complaints when set against us being 2 cup ties away from a 4th successive treble while going for 10IAR - we are obviously doing a lot more right than wrong with the way our club is being run.