James Anderson,Philanthropist.

Was going to write about this tomorrow so apologies if it get repeated later.

Scottish football is as badly run and as undevalued and underinvested as you can get. It's also run by 42 member clubs who can't agree on the colour of shite and with a CEO who couldn't even get a league sponsor. This philanthropy approach makes sense but I'm not buying a no strings attached just like many of you.

Now look at Pro 14 Rugby. Think this was around mid may it was announced

Private equity firm and experienced sports backer CVC Capital Partners has completed an investment into the Guinness PRO14 league. CVC Fund VII will acquire a 28 per cent share of PRO14 Rugby from Celtic Rugby DAC, the unions will retain the 72 per cent majority share.
The partnership commitment will allow both PRO14 Rugby and the Irish, Italian, Scottish & Welsh rugby unions to continue to invest in the sport, both professional and amateur, to achieve its potential over the long term.
A portion of the investment will also be held centrally at PRO14 Rugby, for the board to invest in further capabilities for the business and in upgrading league operations in line with its growth ambitions.

The reason I mention it is Scottish football needs saving to even be a going concern, it clearly needs investment. Our main backer is a TV company who pay us whatever they fancy because all they value is the Glasgow Derby.

These sort of investors know just like Pro 14 Rugby, they can invest, improve from the backward marketing we have in the game and then sell the improved product to a far greater international audience of backers and investment than the SPFL can access by themselves, and as such help sell future broadcasting rights to a far bigger choice of broadcasters, and thus increase the return on the initial investment they put in (which they get at rock bottom prices as we are on our knees).

Stick a few quid in now to make sure we stay affloat and soon there will be an open door for future 'investment' via a wee introduction from a philanthropist from one of the biggest fund managers.

Personally I'm not against this approach, we are too beholden to TV companies and unable to be governed well with a bowling club approach at SPFL level. A middle man who can at least see potential and improve the product is more than needed, but as much as this initial 'gift' is welcome I'm fairly sure there's a long game here.

Baillie Gifford are probably building up a bit of trust without getting the adverse publicity of looking like vultures, likely to be sent away by the 42 clubs as a threat to them. Once they get in though I'm sure they'll build up some trust, or pave the way for an introduction or two.

Scottish football is as badly run and as undevalued and underinvested as you can get. It's also run by 42 member clubs who can't agree on the colour of shite and with a CEO who couldn't even get a league sponsor. This philanthropy approach makes sense but I'm not buying a no strings attached just like many of you.

Private equity firm and experienced sports backer CVC Capital Partners has completed an investment into the Guinness PRO14 league. CVC Fund VII will acquire a 28 per cent share of PRO14 Rugby from Celtic Rugby DAC, the unions will retain the 72 per cent majority share.
The partnership commitment will allow both PRO14 Rugby and the Irish, Italian, Scottish & Welsh rugby unions to continue to invest in the sport, both professional and amateur, to achieve its potential over the long term.
A portion of the investment will also be held centrally at PRO14 Rugby, for the board to invest in further capabilities for the business and in upgrading league operations in line with its growth ambitions.

The reason I mention it is Scottish football needs saving to even be a going concern, it clearly needs investment. Our main backer is a TV company who pay us whatever they fancy because all they value is the Glasgow Derby.

These sort of investors know just like Pro 14 Rugby, they can invest, improve from the backward marketing we have in the game and then sell the improved product to a far greater international audience of backers and investment than the SPFL can access by themselves, and as such help sell future broadcasting rights to a far bigger choice of broadcasters, and thus increase the return on the initial investment they put in (which they get at rock bottom prices as we are on our knees).

Stick a few quid in now to make sure we stay affloat and soon there will be an open door for future 'investment' via a wee introduction from a philanthropist from one of the biggest fund managers.

Personally I'm not against this approach, we are too beholden to TV companies and unable to be governed well with a bowling club approach at SPFL level. A middle man who can at least see potential and improve the product is more than needed, but as much as this initial 'gift' is welcome I'm fairly sure there's a long game here.

Baillie Gifford are probably building up a bit of trust without getting the adverse publicity of looking like vultures, likely to be sent away by the 42 clubs as a threat to them. Once they get in though I'm sure they'll build up some trust, or pave the way for an introduction or two.
Strange they have appeared at the same time as the new sky deal kicks in

Phase one failed for the BBC dignity trip, roll out mysterious billioniare and wealth off the radar guy. Is this the guy the NHS have been dreaming off to help in the fight to get the world up and running let alone football.

BBC stating Celtic desperate and want fixture list (which does not happen ever to late June) and some teams might not make it for closed door fixtures yet unless testing moneyis made available (Mr Anderson) Celtic are desperate to get European Qualifier fixtures sorted, seems to have escaped the medias attention there is no planes in the sky.

View attachment 9737
That suit's a minger,diz he go tae Frankie Boyles tailor :rolleyes: 🍺🥳

A wee sweetener to get their foot in the door,long game right enough Niall.

Niall J is totally on the money. Doncaster will bite their hand off for the money and will show his eternal gratitude when told to do so. Club Chairpersons are not going to look a gift horse in the mouth. Next step being Budge as Chairperson of the SFA. Peter Lawell will welcome it for the good of Scottish football. Ibrox will be opportunistic and cut an 'arms length, inside deal' with a business investor contact of the 'Philanthropist. All the ducks in a row. Why can't they just be honest and upfront and tell supporters instead of this charade?

No - I think you are all just far too cynical and he really is doing with no agenda whatsoever!!! 😉

Seriously though, why pump millions of £s into Hearts and then when they are in severe financial trouble instead of bail them out decide to spread his next investment around every senior club, leaving the Jambos in deep 💩?

Just been behind enemy lines,the orc's are going mental! they believe that an unconditional donation to save Scotlands 42 clubs is,too keep Hearts in the league,he's best buddies with DD and PL, so he's 'obviously' buying Celtic the title,oh and of course, they went on to their favourite subject,child abuse, on the third post on the thread!
Jeezus, warped disnae even come close, am away tae disinfect!
It actually took them 3 posts, that's a record.