Scottish words.

The Krankies Janate and husband Ian a comedy due from the 70/80 mostly Kids programs she was 4ft nothing and was dressed as a young school boy they appeared in lots of shows and had a wonderful sense of fun which went down well with all ages Fan...Dabba......Dozie was thier tag line

Also self-confessed swingers. They boasted about it in their autobiographies so you can imagine how much ribbing they took when they appeared on "On The Ball" a couple of years later!

So had a wee chat with my little ghirls as I was putting them to bed tonight. They are 9 and 5 year old. My 5 year old asks...."apart from wee and aye what are other Scottish words daddy" and I must have been down here to long cos for the life of me I couldnt think of any!!! Had them saying words like girl and world and curly wurly and bless them they attempted to speak like me...rolling their r's. My little ones are proper Surrey 😂😂 so it was hilarious in their wee English accents.....anyway can anyone give me some scottish slang words to teach them...even old, not used much words. Just a bit of fun folks and keep it clean...they're only babies 😂😂😂
My partner is NIrish and always winces in dislike whenever I use the word 'oaksters' strangely enough I'd always assumed that we scots and irish use pretty similar words but that one I had to explain was a word we use for 'armpits ' haha she hates it. Also tumble yer 'wulkies ' meaning a forward roll basically though I'm unsure of the origins of that one , it could be from the swimmer David wilkie or not , anyone else heard of tumble yer wulkies?

Aye!

And joogly wulkies as well...

My Maw always referred to her chest as her Kist, tumble yer wulkies was around when I was a wean and that was way before David Wilkie was born don't know where it came from mind?? The first time my wife came up to Scotland to meet the family,my sister said to her your piece is on the brace hen,she look around trying to work out what had been said I told her her sandwich was on the mantelpiece 52 years later she still tells the story

1599500533936.png