January Transfer Window Thread

CalMac, doesn't get the credit he deserves
It'a all about Broony, Christie, the forwards, but he's the mani in charge of the engine room, and the way he came back and scored from the spot after gifting them their goal, is a measure of his character
My favourite player is CalMac
Never any theatrics, or petulance, and has scored some big goals, in big games
That is all ;-)
Calmac is a legend and deployed with confidence in those around him to do their jobs so he only has to do his he is a weapon of mass destruction. Teams should be built around such a man

Tell you another thing I noticed tonight, I've never been keen on Calmac as a captain, for us or Scotland, never looked much of a leader even when hes playing well, but tonight he was organising, being vocal, looked every inch the captain.

Got to say Hoopy wisnae keen on him as a captain either. Always think captains need a bit of bite about them and that's not in CalMacs make up but I was impressed with the way he stepped up, took responsibility for his earlier mistake by demanding the ball for the penalty.

Thought Laxalt was Laxalt, 100% commited. Ffs I'd make him captain if the rest could understand him lol. The midfield with Sorrro and Turnbull did what most of us expected it to do. Be more positive. Sorro's reading of the game was great. Always in the danger hole.(nae sniggering from the back row🤣). Read the game well. Speaking of "Well". Turnbull put in a great shift. Stick or twist? Either way much happier with the players appetite tonight 😁
Said to my son during the game that Laxalt must be one of the best one on one defenders we've had. He rarely loses a battle for the ball. He can get caught out of position but his pace gets him back more often than not. If only he could cross the ball then he would be a genuine KT replacement.

Thought CalMac has hidden a wee bit this season and he could have lost his head after the first goal, but he looked like he relished the responsibility and never hid throughout the game.

Not a classic CalMac performance, but certainly a courageous one.
Bodes well for the captaincy if nothing else. Thought after half an hour he trusted Soro and went about his game.

Thought Laxalt was Laxalt, 100% commited. Ffs I'd make him captain if the rest could understand him lol. The midfield with Sorrro and Turnbull did what most of us expected it to do. Be more positive. Sorro's reading of the game was great. Always in the danger hole.(nae sniggering from the back row🤣). Read the game well. Speaking of "Well". Turnbull put in a great shift. Stick or twist? Either way much happier with the players appetite tonight 😁
I remember that song from top gun mate, fly me to the danger hole!
Kenny Loggins I think ?

Got to say Hoopy wisnae keen on him as a captain either. Always think captains need a bit of bite about them and that's not in CalMacs make up but I was impressed with the way he stepped up, took responsibility for his earlier mistake by demanding the ball for the penalty.
Maestro approach to captaincy. Lead by example (conveniently ignorning the brain fart pass back of course)

Said to my son during the game that Laxalt must be one of the best one on one defenders we've had. He rarely loses a battle for the ball. He can get caught out of position but his pace gets him back more often than not. If only he could cross the ball then he would be a genuine KT replacement.
I don't think his crossing is all that bad, it's just that we're feckin awful at getting bodies in the box from open play.

Jonny Hayes had exactly the same problem, so I don't think it's a coincidence, mate

I don't think his crossing is all that bad, it's just that we're feckin awful at getting bodies in the box from open play.

Jonny Hayes had exactly the same problem, so I don't think it's a coincidence, mate
Spot on. Crossing from deep is almost pointless without a target man. Both he and ajer made strides hitting the ball flat and getting behind and cutting back. less need for accuracy when defenders face their own goal. We need to encourage more of that.

Bit more shape there too...........would have still been interesting to see a second striker.

Few interesting breaks fizzled oot because there was no support. Minor quibble, I'll take the win any way it comes

Certainly still got plenty to work on SP, defence still a mess and we seriously need to work on keeping our shape as we were still a bit erratic at times but it was a breath of fresh air seeing those bhoys come in and put in a performance like that after months of watching mostly monotonous, half arsed, gutless displays.

CalMac, doesn't get the credit he deserves
It'a all about Broony, Christie, the forwards, but he's the mani in charge of the engine room, and the way he came back and scored from the spot after gifting them their goal, is a measure of his character
My favourite player is CalMac
Never any theatrics, or petulance, and has scored some big goals, in big games
That is all ;-)
When interviewed ,by Simon Ferry, KT said that Calmac was one o the main organisers and more vocal motivators in the Celtic dressing room.
It was good to see the younger players go to him at the end of the game.
Soro motm for me, a miniature Victor Wanyama, what a shift he put in tonight.
Reasons to be cheerful....

Certainly still got plenty to work on SP, defence still a mess and we seriously need to work on keeping our shape as we were still a bit erratic at times but it was a breath of fresh air seeing those bhoys come in and put in a performance like that after months of watching mostly monotonous, half arsed, gutless displays.
Think Soro offers genuine protection. We looked not bad when we lost posession for the first time in god knows how long. Totally agree shape is a bit off to say the least, but if we settle on that back four we can work on that (if we actually do shape!) Plus Ajer at right back is the future :)

Spot on. Crossing from deep is almost pointless without a target man. Both he and ajer made strides hitting the ball flat and getting behind and cutting back. less need for accuracy when defenders face their own goal. We need to encourage more of that.
Wee Taylor got a bit of a hard rub for not being the flying full-back hitting the byline after shimmying past the entire opposition defence, but he also knew he couldn't cross a road; however - he did deliver some decent flat square passes into the box that caused a bit of damage.

I think we were ruined wie KT prepared to hit the byline and ping in decent balls. Defenders love facing the ball so anything from 25 yards out is bread and butter to them, that's why actual wingers who play wie chalk on their boots are worth their weight in gold.