May election

Or to put it another way, if Westminster once again ignore the Scottish people do we just stand back and accept it ? Only my opinion, but the current talk from the tories is nothing more than playing politics. if Scotland votes for a second referendum it will happen. To deny the Scottish people their wish,is to deny democracy. That's a risk I'm sure even they would step back from.

This argument regarding Westminster telling us what we'll get and what we don't get is at the heart of my desire for Scottish independence. If Scotland was merely a region of the UK, then fine, it could be argued that we were just witnessing democracy at work. But here's the crux of the matter; Scotland is NOT a region of the UK. Scotland is a sovereign nation in its own right. Therein lies the difference.
I think the Northern counties in Englandshire are pretty pissed off at how London centric the Government is and know they have no chance of self-determination like us.

But Scotland had a once in a generation referendum Frank, and the people of Scotland voted to stay in the UK. Nationalists seem to completely ignore that chapter of democracy. As soon as that result came in the SNP were working on the next once in a generation referendum and they'll keep doing that until they get what they want. They clearly don't give a hoot about democracy or they'd respect the 2014 result. Additionally I don't believe brexit was a catalyst for another referendum, thats just an excuse.
Scotland demanded devolution and gained it, has it improved Scotland in any way? Drug deaths the highest in Europe, education standards plummeting, childhood poverty increasing, sectarianism rife on our streets, if the Scottish Parliament started addressing those issues successfully I'd maybe think it was capable of running an independent country.

Baith fur me

HH 🤔
I'm sorry but any celtic supporter who votes for the snp should think seriously about this, they may want an independent Scotland but they are willing to sell their souls to the huns just on the off chance it gets them a few more votes. They also claim that they want to be a part of the EU. Sorry but the klan don't like this idea, too many Catholic countries, Eire, Italy, Spain, Poland, just to name a few. What's the alternative? I wish I knew the answer to that. Sorry but wee Jimmy isn't to be trusted. HH.

Or to put it another way, if Westminster once again ignore the Scottish people do we just stand back and accept it ? Only my opinion, but the current talk from the tories is nothing more than playing politics. if Scotland votes for a second referendum it will happen. To deny the Scottish people their wish,is to deny democracy. That's a risk I'm sure even they would step back from.

This argument regarding Westminster telling us what we'll get and what we don't get is at the heart of my desire for Scottish independence. If Scotland was merely a region of the UK, then fine, it could be argued that we were just witnessing democracy at work. But here's the crux of the matter; Scotland is NOT a region of the UK. Scotland is a sovereign nation in its own right. Therein lies the difference.
We ARE a region of the UK with devolved powers in certain legislative areas pal. Wee Jimmy will have to ask permission which as I've previously stated will be refused. We're legally bound.

If the 2014 referendum had returned a yes vote, and independence turned into a shambles (no need to have a vivid imagination to picture that) how many nationalists here would support a second referendum to rejoin the UK?

Honest answers only please....

Christ now sex pest Salmond has announced he'll be standing as an msp again, this time as leader of the Alba party.
He'll want an even more independent Scotland than wee Jimmy, build a canal along the border so we can be an island, every bugger must speak gaelic because English is an offence to our Scottishness, but we'll keep the £ thanks. 🙄

Christ now sex pest Salmond has announced he'll be standing as an msp again, this time as leader of the Alba party.
He'll want an even more independent Scotland than wee Jimmy, build a canal along the border so we can be an island, every bugger must speak gaelic because English is an offence to our Scottishness, but we'll keep the £ thanks. 🙄
Naw!! the currency will be called bawbees I think.

We had our chance and voted NO. Some like democracy when it suits them.
I would be happy to go along with that except for one very important factor. If someone makes me a promise, and on taking that promise as being true, I then make a decision in good conscience only to find out I was lied to; I absolutely reserve the right to reverse my decision. I've spoken to a fair number of no voters who feel they were lied to and are going to vote yes next time.

If the 2014 referendum had returned a yes vote, and independence turned into a shambles (no need to have a vivid imagination to picture that) how many nationalists here would support a second referendum to rejoin the UK?

Honest answers only please....
Not a nationalist

but any vote that breaks the union is fine by me so no need for another referendum

This shambles you keep harkin on about which you seem to constantly throw up gonnae tell us what it looks like ?

I'm sorry but any celtic supporter who votes for the snp should think seriously about this, they may want an independent Scotland but they are willing to sell their souls to the huns just on the off chance it gets them a few more votes. They also claim that they want to be a part of the EU. Sorry but the klan don't like this idea, too many Catholic countries, Eire, Italy, Spain, Poland, just to name a few. What's the alternative? I wish I knew the answer to that. Sorry but wee Jimmy isn't to be trusted. HH.
Still Baith fur me using your logic half or more of the Celtic board are Tory loving Wankstains imo does that mean all Celtic fans have to vote for Wee red Ross and Doris there’s a song in there Mm no fecking chance I know
They’ve made mistakes but then again ffs at it again
I vote for what I believe in, what’s right for my family what’s good for the Majority
And right now it’s the SNP
As Labour sold the Jerseys to get power
We’re nice soft Labour please vote fur us fuck the Workers things can only get fuck me I Did it again
So stop spinning around 😂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

HH 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

But Scotland had a once in a generation referendum Frank, and the people of Scotland voted to stay in the UK. Nationalists seem to completely ignore that chapter of democracy. As soon as that result came in the SNP were working on the next once in a generation referendum and they'll keep doing that until they get what they want. They clearly don't give a hoot about democracy or they'd respect the 2014 result. Additionally I don't believe brexit was a catalyst for another referendum, thats just an excuse.
Scotland demanded devolution and gained it, has it improved Scotland in any way? Drug deaths the highest in Europe, education standards plummeting, childhood poverty increasing, sectarianism rife on our streets, if the Scottish Parliament started addressing those issues successfully I'd maybe think it was capable of running an independent country.
Hi Hoopy, I think I've answered on another post regarding being lied to. As for the SNP keeping going until they get independence that's no different from any political party keeping going in their pursuit of their goal. The ONLY thing that can bring independence is the will of the Scottish people. I definitely don't agree with you as regards the leave/remain vote. Scotland was told the ONLY way to stay as member of the EU was to vote no. We were then dragged out against our will.

In the interest of clarity, let me say I did vote remain, however, even if I'd voted to leave, I would still say Scotland had every right to revisit the the question of independence simply because we were lied to. Fool me once ?

The fk up the snp made wa putting ''this was a once in a generation ''in there white paper and repeating it on the doorstep ,it wasn't in the edinburgh agreement signed off by westminster but they seized on it and for 2 legal minds that both snp leaders had the wording was a bit of a fk up

It definitely WAS mistake Kelly, it was a throw away remark which grew arms and legs and has returned to haunt them. However, the quest for independence is not purely down to the SNP. There are many who actually don't have time for the SNP, but still fervently support independence.

This thread is like listening to the MSM - a few facts , lots of misinformation and a cartload of prejudices.
It proves the old saying about avoiding talk about religion and politics while in mixed company .

I don't think anyone on here is going to really convince those with different opinions that they are wrong - so best stick to football as we are all experts on THAT ! LoL !

If I may, I would like to give some account of why I became a supporter of independence. In the run up to the vote in 2014 I was actually more likely to vote no than yes; more likely, but not set in stone. Still, something troubled me, the gravity of this vote was such I decided to fall back on a tried and trusted routine I used during my involvement with my trade union, ( AUEW as it was then ). I switched off from the rhetoric coming from both sides and did my own research; even to the point of speaking to two people with a degree in economics. After my self induced purgatory; reading as much as I could get my hands on, I came to the conclusion that not only was I voting yes, but also that I could see very little argument against it.

I was born with this terrible affliction.....I refuse to be told what to think, not by politicians, not by newspapers, not by anybody; so I'm definitely not going to tell anyone else what to think. All I would do is respectfully suggest you too do your research, and if you arrive at a different conclusion from me well, that's absolutely fine. At least your opinion will be your own, and not somebody elses.

Just a wee PS, in the interest of fairness I have to say both the folk with degrees in economics were, and are, yes voters.

If I may, I would like to give some account of why I became a supporter of independence. In the run up to the vote in 2014 I was actually more likely to vote no than yes; more likely, but not set in stone. Still, something troubled me, the gravity of this vote was such I decided to fall back on a tried and trusted routine I used during my involvement with my trade union, ( AUEW as it was then ). I switched off from the rhetoric coming from both sides and did my own research; even to the point of speaking to two people with a degree in economics. After my self induced purgatory; reading as much as I could get my hands on, I came to the conclusion that not only was I voting yes, but also that I could see very little argument against it.

I was born with this terrible affliction.....I refuse to be told what to think, not by politicians, not by newspapers, not by anybody; so I'm definitely not going to tell anyone else what to think. All I would do is respectfully suggest you too do your research, and if you arrive at a different conclusion from me well, that's absolutely fine. At least your opinion will be your own, and not somebody elses.

Just a wee PS, in the interest of fairness I have to say both the folk with degrees in economics were, and are, yes voters.
Compliments, Frank. You write so well and get to the point without the use of rhetoric. 👏👏👏