Who Next??? 🤔

There's exceptions to every rule Marky
Flattery gets you everywhere 😂😂 ,any other BMW drivers out there ? Just asking as I've got a wee lever on the left side of the steering column and if I push it down a green arrow appears on the left hand side of the instrument cluster and if I push it up a green arrow on the right hand side 😂 I'm only asking as I know from watching other BMW drivers that these cars are not fitted with indicators.

i've an e30 touring .but e30s are exempt from the dickhead status if they drive a touring

mines is in bits getting rebuilt ,,,,hopefully

Drive a ford focus maself. Mk 4 . Better than all Ur fancy cars.😂

it is Rodgers

celtic star polishing the turd

video celts polishing the turd

kds polishing the turd

just waiting on Cqn and someone on the

celtic noise to start a

Rodgers turd is now polished welcome back in brendan we trust thread

feck me i thought the huns were the gullible crowd
Hopefully won't see any more 'in <manager's name> we trust' unless he takes us to 10 in a row and throws in a bunch of trebles while he is at it.

Not in the city as much as i used to but i don't think there's any other cycle lanes built like this and were not talking painted lines , actual concrete bollards and kerbings from Celtic park outwards to the M73/74 junction ,,,,just incase you want tro cycle on the motorway

All othere roads leading to Celtic park or around Celtic park footprint have none at all ,,,,,strange that
They wee things are called armadillo traffic calmers, if you clip them they wipe out your full suspension and wishbones 😡😡😡

Aye , I agree with that STG , I remember Potter on MOTD however many years ago it was.

He was a P.E teacher or something similar 6/7 years ago , knew he'd no chance of getting any job at home so upped sticks to the sticks in the middle of absolutely nowhere, Ostersunds.

Won them promotion THREE times and the Swedish Cup in 5 seasons ( no mean feat in any country).

He took the tiny wee club, Stirling Albion size into Europe and were drawn against Arsenal In the ko stage of the Europa league.

Lost 1st leg 0-3 in lapland, but beat Arsenal 1-2 in London incredible achievement, won him the Brighton job, made them a top 10 side.

Personally I see 0.0001% chance if this happening I believe he has another big club move left in him( still young ) whether its a fake big club like Brighton or similar but what do I know ( apart from everything).

Ange and Rodgers have made us a far more lucrative club for managers looking for the stepping stone that doesn't wobble ( like spurs stadium).

The fact that we really went all out for Howe was imo a huge mentality change, culture change even, that hadn't been seen since MON.

The board messed up big time and it appeared to me at least they were intent on making up for it.

Potters wages makes it so unrealistic to me that he'd come here because he doesn't have a reputation to rebuild, Chelsea do but his is intact, he was never given a fair chance there.

I will watch with great interest Pochettinho and can he produce the results with those players and ego's .

Good manager , but that's a club where the players genuinely believe that they are bigger than the club.

Soz, tangent alert ⚠️

Next Celtic manager must continue the process Ange began, in his own way of course but we cannot spend two seasons on this approach to football , the approach that's led to one of the worlds biggest financially doped clubs pinxhbour manager and likely more than that.

We simply must continue to build upon the foundations and success Ange has set in motion,

If we go back to tiki taka Rodgers style football that's not good enough by miles.

"The best in Scotland " is no longer good enough imho for us now.

How many world records at domestic level must we set until it sinks in that it counts for little outside Scotland?

Playing devil's advocate or silly beggars for a moment here but, let's say the champions league draw is very favourable for once and we, in pot 3 btw which means nothing more than prestige as pot 4 clubs will be as tough as any outside pots 1and 2 .

So for talking sake , what do we want? Our wishlist?

Bearing in mind 6 clubs have yet to qualify through the play offs ( which could or could not put us down into pot 4 ) depending upon who gets through.

Do we want a powerhouse seed like Manchester City and hope they run riot and away with the group, max pts therefore leaving it tighter between the other 3 including us to fight it out?

Or do we want clubs we are closer to so it's impossible to guess which way it'll go?

With the clubs in it this season stronger than ever I'm leaning towards the former giving us a better chance of 2nd or 3rd place.

I say this because it's what we all thought would happen last season, I did, Real Madrid P6 W6 L0 but that's not what happened though we were closer than we couldve imagined in individual games, honestly who saw shakhtar beating leipzig 4-1 or drawing with Madrid?
Not i no way.

Perhaps we're best getting something similar ( not Ukrainians please please please ) they aren't just playing football they're playing to remind the world they are a sovereign nation and that's a very powerful motivation one I'd rather avoid.

How about a strong group winning favourite say Bayern Munich/Manchester City e.g , and then a 3 way fight but this time we capitalise on the many many chances we create and don't fall apart when things go wrong which they will at that level.

There were times last campaign where we looked like a stereotypical champions league club , that first hour against Madrid was fantastic to see us go do that to them, the away draw to shakhtar etc and then the games we looked like fish out-of water, stereotypical Celtic style collapse from a position of strength to humiliation in the blink of an eye and lack of belief in our ability.

For the first time since the lenny#1, WGS, MON times we looked a real threat ( because we were) and not just at CP but away as well.

Clubs didn't want us as opponents, too unpredictable and we threw away the 3rd place no disrespect to shakhtar who took their chances against Leipzig and Madrid but we had them over a barrel with a weaker squad than we have now.

Your guesses about our squad come this CL campaign like mine is impossible to predict , when Ange said we'd lose key players I didn't envisage them being lost to his new side and I do expect that now I just hope the board play real hardball and settle for true value on reflection of our players abilities.

We CAN afford to do that for a season or two at least especially when we are raking in the equivalent of champions league cash from our tours of Australia and Asia.

We will never be taken seriously until we take ourselves seriously, by that I mean that whilst Ange unearthed incredible gems of players they are CELTIC players and therefore whatever we paid for them under him means nothing for as soon as they became Celtic players their value quadrupled and ten folded etc just the same though less as becoming an EPL player increases a players value.

I expect Ange to be straight back for Iwata and Maeda especially and may even try an audacious swoop for our captain Calmac.
It would be lax of him not to try given he's seen it first hand.

Celtic must stand firm , In our faith in our players abilities and talents.

Kyogo is a £20-£25 million player at 28.
Anyone who doubts that should take a look at the type of goals he scores, especially against the Europa league final runners up in recent times.

That club lost a European title by a penalty taken by an overrated player , just because of the leagues he's played in, but couldn't hack it here, why not?

Our level is underrated that's why not.

Anyone with a love for the game and an eye for a player can see already Iwata is going all the way to the top VVD style just without the route taken by Virgil via the fake big club Southampton, incidentally they earned at least £80 million for coming 20th from 20 with parachute fee included, laughable if not true.

Are we an automatic champions league club just because.....?
No we are not we are there on merit .

Some may think I've lost my mind because I.......what was I saying again 🙂

Seriously Iwata is a £35-£40 million player , as is CCV as is Johnstone, Calmac and until we as a club point blank refuse to entertain clubs who cherry pick our best players for pennies , yes £20 million is pennies to the likes of Everton, Newcastle, Arsenal for these guys we will continue to rob ourselves and blame the big bad mean rich clubs for not paying the proper value.

Look at the clubs we are in with in pot 3

We , Scotland, are ranked higher than Ukraine, higher than Belgium Switzerland, Norway, Denmark etc so why are their players more valuable than ours?
Simple answer ? They aren't.

They just play in the most overrated division ever known.
Therefore players are valued like a Banksy at sothebys, falsely.

Mudric, Ukraine £70 million, Haaland, Norway probably £200 million plus.

View attachment 22909

No one else will back us so we must back ourselves and hold firm on 'our' valuations.
Pub league?
See above , see you're wrong if you think this.

If we can pay £9 million for a project kid player named Odsonne Edouard seasons ago we can pay for the proper quality of manager.

Remember we haven't spent much in comparison to what we have sold if both incoming and outgoings are included our only losses are from the previous regime.

We are a huge club , time we acted like one, our players are real quality and its why we lose them at a very young age.

Not to Watford or Coventry, to Bayern Munich and Liverpool and other top clubs like them.

Sky still hold a grudge from the time we tried to go it without them.

Who messed that up ?
Oh surprise surprise it was Celtic and rangers original.

Real businessmen could negotiate a far far better deal even than that Luton just won over 3 years, just for the sale of 12 derbies over 3 seasons and possibly more .

Neil Doncaster is no real businessman and I'm praying he gets the boot not a golden handshake.

For what?
Underselling our game for years?
Allowing one club to dictate to the SPFL/SFA.

As much as I hate to say it the zombies were right on tha

I considered replying to this sensational effort pal,

apparently i inspired the reply... but it seems like i do, pick a post, hit reply, mention the name and write an paper on something else entirely .......

There was probably a lot of Jd and weed went into that

Similar to me it seems your finest contributions come when you've operating with one eye, one finger and nae cunt else to talk to..... and i'll bet it took hours to finish :)

Keep up the good work m8, water those plants and keep plenty ice handy........

These posts are my favourite, a lot of effort goes in and in a sense it clears whats on your mind
but dripping passion and making sense, thats where the similarities end

I'll drink to you and smoke to me.

Eeek am half canned awready, i miss Hoopy on nights like this

PS i had to delete half your post, seems there's a 10,000 character limit on a post FFS

In some respects Rodgers may be a longer term appointment. Surely even he wouldn't feck us over so badly a second tine? Would he???

The other managers mentioned will all have one eye on a move to eng-ger-lund asap so there is a chance they will sod off mid-season.

Then in a year or two's time, the unemployed Ange will be desperate to return to Parkhead to rebuild his reputation before retiring.
A think we over estimate Rodgers standing in England bb,he was at the helm for three parts of the season that saw Leicester get relegated eventually!!!dont See a raft a clubs chasing him down,,,he might be a wee bit sheepish now maybe’s something to prove?which is the ideal time to get these guys,there born winners and see relegation as a stain….we defo need a calm head just now at the club,,reassure players of the road ahead think Rodgers fits that description 🤷‍♂️

So how many ‘possibles’ have we got now? 12, 15, 20? What’s the betting odds it’s none of them?
The other thing getting on my tits is DD this, DD that, DD has an open mind, blah blah blah. This guy doesn’t fkn own the club, he’s only a big shareholder and could be outvoted by the other shareholders. Somebody needs to remind him of that fact.
In all honesty BB, i've kinda got over my annoyance at DD somewhat of late.

When Fergus sold up, DD underwrote the share sale, us fans had the opportunity to buy all of wee Fergus shares, didn't buy much and as underwriter, DD scooped them up. If you obtain an external underwriter, they take a huge fee for the risk (would have been 4-5 million/10-15%). So for eg. if it was a venture capital company instead of DD, the majority shareholder in our club would have been a faceless hedge fund.

The beginning of the end for Murrays time at the huns was when he tried to raise money, after all those years of success, we were hitting back and in order to keep the 'fiver for a tenner' going (no laughing at the back) he did something like a 70 million share issue, underwritten by the Murray Group. It was a couple of years after our share issues and we raised nigh on 100 million.
So he thought i'll have some of that. The huns fans took less than 5 million worth of shares, that landed him with a 65 million bill. All that did was tidy up Deidco's debt situation and passed it onto the Murray Group. He was beeling, but not as much as the bank. He took his sabattical shortly thereafter, in a mood as he realised the huns weren't willing to pony up at all and it also put the
Murray group in the shit. The EBT's followed shortly thereafter and the rest they say is history. He chased success still, but couldn't fund it.

So DD, he ended up majority shareholder because Fergus share sale was a flop with the fans. No dig at the fans, they'd put in 60-70 million over 2 or 3 previous share issues. But that is why we ended up with him in charge.

I think back to the MON days, he backed him to the hilt. The season of Seville, we lost 29 million quid, a third of our turnover that year. DD quickly realised that pushing the boat out that far was chasing a football trophy at great risk to the club.

Over the years the landscape has changed and we're cutting our cloth. I've read quite a bit on DD these last few years. Every company he owns, he put in a guy, pays top dollar for the best, expects results and with results provided, they get his loyalty. He hired PL shortly after Seville, get the finances in order, he did and he was rewarded well. PL original package was around 600k per annum. By the end, he was earning more money that the snake, thats how highly DD rated PL.
As supporters, we should really have no course to moan at PL/DD given their stewardship. I am sure if you put the trophy record together since PL was CEO, its unmatched throughout history.
There are those out there that may say aye but they were deed...... but the very fact we were the opposite of them shows they had a level of intelligence. I'm sure its been said that we were minutes from receivership before Fergus, it never happened, but i don't think people realise we were minutes away from a bank (run by same Murray pal, Gavin Masterton) owning Celtic Park.
These guys have been frustrating as fuck but by god, they've delivered success at no risk. They have also alienated the support with their arrogance and ivory tower behaviousr, but they have delivered.

Post MON, wee Gordon, took a 1/3rd off the wage bill, bought players with less vowels and delivered European success that the messiah MON couldn't with the most expensively assembled team ever. MON was revered, history tells me McLeish won more trophies v MON with freebies and a huns team in decline. Wee Gordon was never taken to.

Tony Mowbray was a balls up, but he was welcomed at the time. Lennon delivered and left. Ronny was a free hit, why pay 2.5 million to win a league when this guy could do it for 500k. They then got the snake, despite the end, they got the top guy, paid the bucks and got the rewards. left in the lurch, got Lenny who delivered that season and the next. Then that year happened,. The Howe thing ended up a disaster, but you can see now why the went all out. The job Eddie Howe has done this year is the job Ange would love to acheive at them this year. So they got Ange.

My rambling rewrite of history is really to show that they have hardly put a foot wrong in regards to getting the biggest decision correct. Mowbray was a disaster but there was no real opposition. Say what you want about that year, but i think the mistakes made were above Lennons i.e. the signings made and keeping players that wanted to leave.

So in the main, they've fucking smashed it really. A thing i note is DD has really always been the man front and centre when selecting a manager. Every manager has spoken of this, he does the interview and makes the decisions on that front, i.e. DD knows, if we get this right, the rest will take care of itself. Every manager has also spoken of the support he has given.

Now there are a ton of things that have pissed me off over time, the Tories, Resolution 12, signings, lack of a cohesive preparations etc.

But in the main, we have a fucking cheek to complain given the success and the domestic success we have achieved. We have smashed the huns to the point of another extinction events, have a stadium to be proud of, the only standing section in UK and a squad that is worth more than than the rest of the clubs in Scotland combined.

But again, we're a fickle bunch us Celtic supporters...... Lenny villified, Ange welcomed, wee GS never taken to, MON revered, ffs theres even people that would take the snake back.

My point being, a large element of the Celtic support are always going to find excuses to be unhappy and find people to dislike. I remember people questioning McGregor, i've seen the apathy for James Forrest, the player not the mouthpiece. Its the way of life.
Sack the board was heard for months until Ange came in. Hasn't been heard for months, until now and they're front and centre.

I'd ditch the lot of the Tory cunts now, for that reason, but thats personal. I remember a kid and the sack the board movement had a reason to thrive, they were fucking hopeless. i remember a time when each and every one of us would settle for the league every year ....end of.
if DD's stewardship was rated on sporting achievements he would win most successful club owner ever, but even with a 90% trophy win rate over the last decade, within our family there are those that will never be happy despite that record.

But as it stands, we have 35 million in the bank, a squad worth what...every domestic trophy in the bag and a free pass into the CL. Whats not to like...

The other slant to take is it could have been an Ashley type, utterly dis-interested.
The other example is the Glazers. These guys bought Man U for roughly £800 million. Put up £200 million of their own money and saddled the club with a debt of £600 million. Straight away, the club had to cover £60-£80 million per annum in interest payments on their loan. In a non CL year, our turnover is roughly the level of those annual interest payment. Imagine, the first £60-£80 million your club makes, no matter how big, is paying interest on the owners buying it. 15 years later, the cost is over a billion, thats a billion that the football club has lost to them buying the club. Now they'll make 4-5 billion and sell to a fucking Arab......

I'll take the Irish guy, thats grand

A think we over estimate Rodgers standing in England bb,he was at the helm for three parts of the season that saw Leicester get relegated eventually!!!dont See a raft a clubs chasing him down,,,he might be a wee bit sheepish now maybe’s something to prove?which is the ideal time to get these guys,there born winners and see relegation as a stain….we defo need a calm head just now at the club,,reassure players of the road ahead think Rodgers fits that description 🤷‍♂️
I think a lot of folk down in England will give Rodgers the benefit of some doubt as Leicester's owners lost interest (the father who died in the helicopter crash was very involved) and did not invest in the playing side. He led the to 5th place twice and then an FA Cup win.

I have always felt Rodgers is an excellent manager for 2 or 3 seasons only. He prepares his players well and boosts the confidence of his favourites.

But then he starts to fail by playing his favourites into the ground, refusing to adapt his style of play against bigger sides (see a couple of massive losses for us in Europe), trying to be too clever to prove he is a master tactician (e.g. playing Liverpool's Raheem Sterling and CalMac against sevco both at left back) and when it comes to bringing in his own signings, as unlike Ange he doesn't have a great eye for spotting talent.

I think his stock is OK down south. He would probably do well for us for a couple of seasons too - IF he were to rejoin us. But too many fans think he is toxic and he wouldn't be my choice, unless it was to mentor Broony to take over from him.

Aye , I agree with that STG , I remember Potter on MOTD however many years ago it was.

He was a P.E teacher or something similar 6/7 years ago , knew he'd no chance of getting any job at home so upped sticks to the sticks in the middle of absolutely nowhere, Ostersunds.

Won them promotion THREE times and the Swedish Cup in 5 seasons ( no mean feat in any country).

He took the tiny wee club, Stirling Albion size into Europe and were drawn against Arsenal In the ko stage of the Europa league.

Lost 1st leg 0-3 in lapland, but beat Arsenal 1-2 in London incredible achievement, won him the Brighton job, made them a top 10 side.

Personally I see 0.0001% chance if this happening I believe he has another big club move left in him( still young ) whether its a fake big club like Brighton or similar but what do I know ( apart from everything).

Ange and Rodgers have made us a far more lucrative club for managers looking for the stepping stone that doesn't wobble ( like spurs stadium).

The fact that we really went all out for Howe was imo a huge mentality change, culture change even, that hadn't been seen since MON.

The board messed up big time and it appeared to me at least they were intent on making up for it.

Potters wages makes it so unrealistic to me that he'd come here because he doesn't have a reputation to rebuild, Chelsea do but his is intact, he was never given a fair chance there.

I will watch with great interest Pochettinho and can he produce the results with those players and ego's .

Good manager , but that's a club where the players genuinely believe that they are bigger than the club.

Soz, tangent alert ⚠️

Next Celtic manager must continue the process Ange began, in his own way of course but we cannot spend two seasons on this approach to football , the approach that's led to one of the worlds biggest financially doped clubs pinxhbour manager and likely more than that.

We simply must continue to build upon the foundations and success Ange has set in motion,

If we go back to tiki taka Rodgers style football that's not good enough by miles.

"The best in Scotland " is no longer good enough imho for us now.

How many world records at domestic level must we set until it sinks in that it counts for little outside Scotland?

Playing devil's advocate or silly beggars for a moment here but, let's say the champions league draw is very favourable for once and we, in pot 3 btw which means nothing more than prestige as pot 4 clubs will be as tough as any outside pots 1and 2 .

So for talking sake , what do we want? Our wishlist?

Bearing in mind 6 clubs have yet to qualify through the play offs ( which could or could not put us down into pot 4 ) depending upon who gets through.

Do we want a powerhouse seed like Manchester City and hope they run riot and away with the group, max pts therefore leaving it tighter between the other 3 including us to fight it out?

Or do we want clubs we are closer to so it's impossible to guess which way it'll go?

With the clubs in it this season stronger than ever I'm leaning towards the former giving us a better chance of 2nd or 3rd place.

I say this because it's what we all thought would happen last season, I did, Real Madrid P6 W6 L0 but that's not what happened though we were closer than we couldve imagined in individual games, honestly who saw shakhtar beating leipzig 4-1 or drawing with Madrid?
Not i no way.

Perhaps we're best getting something similar ( not Ukrainians please please please ) they aren't just playing football they're playing to remind the world they are a sovereign nation and that's a very powerful motivation one I'd rather avoid.

How about a strong group winning favourite say Bayern Munich/Manchester City e.g , and then a 3 way fight but this time we capitalise on the many many chances we create and don't fall apart when things go wrong which they will at that level.

There were times last campaign where we looked like a stereotypical champions league club , that first hour against Madrid was fantastic to see us go do that to them, the away draw to shakhtar etc and then the games we looked like fish out-of water, stereotypical Celtic style collapse from a position of strength to humiliation in the blink of an eye and lack of belief in our ability.

For the first time since the lenny#1, WGS, MON times we looked a real threat ( because we were) and not just at CP but away as well.

Clubs didn't want us as opponents, too unpredictable and we threw away the 3rd place no disrespect to shakhtar who took their chances against Leipzig and Madrid but we had them over a barrel with a weaker squad than we have now.

Your guesses about our squad come this CL campaign like mine is impossible to predict , when Ange said we'd lose key players I didn't envisage them being lost to his new side and I do expect that now I just hope the board play real hardball and settle for true value on reflection of our players abilities.

We CAN afford to do that for a season or two at least especially when we are raking in the equivalent of champions league cash from our tours of Australia and Asia.

We will never be taken seriously until we take ourselves seriously, by that I mean that whilst Ange unearthed incredible gems of players they are CELTIC players and therefore whatever we paid for them under him means nothing for as soon as they became Celtic players their value quadrupled and ten folded etc just the same though less as becoming an EPL player increases a players value.

I expect Ange to be straight back for Iwata and Maeda especially and may even try an audacious swoop for our captain Calmac.
It would be lax of him not to try given he's seen it first hand.

Celtic must stand firm , In our faith in our players abilities and talents.

Kyogo is a £20-£25 million player at 28.
Anyone who doubts that should take a look at the type of goals he scores, especially against the Europa league final runners up in recent times.

That club lost a European title by a penalty taken by an overrated player , just because of the leagues he's played in, but couldn't hack it here, why not?

Our level is underrated that's why not.

Anyone with a love for the game and an eye for a player can see already Iwata is going all the way to the top VVD style just without the route taken by Virgil via the fake big club Southampton, incidentally they earned at least £80 million for coming 20th from 20 with parachute fee included, laughable if not true.

Are we an automatic champions league club just because.....?
No we are not we are there on merit .

Some may think I've lost my mind because I.......what was I saying again 🙂

Seriously Iwata is a £35-£40 million player , as is CCV as is Johnstone, Calmac and until we as a club point blank refuse to entertain clubs who cherry pick our best players for pennies , yes £20 million is pennies to the likes of Everton, Newcastle, Arsenal for these guys we will continue to rob ourselves and blame the big bad mean rich clubs for not paying the proper value.

Look at the clubs we are in with in pot 3

We , Scotland, are ranked higher than Ukraine, higher than Belgium Switzerland, Norway, Denmark etc so why are their players more valuable than ours?
Simple answer ? They aren't.

They just play in the most overrated division ever known.
Therefore players are valued like a Banksy at sothebys, falsely.

Mudric, Ukraine £70 million, Haaland, Norway probably £200 million plus.

View attachment 22909

No one else will back us so we must back ourselves and hold firm on 'our' valuations.
Pub league?
See above , see you're wrong if you think this.

If we can pay £9 million for a project kid player named Odsonne Edouard seasons ago we can pay for the proper quality of manager.

Remember we haven't spent much in comparison to what we have sold if both incoming and outgoings are included our only losses are from the previous regime.

We are a huge club , time we acted like one, our players are real quality and its why we lose them at a very young age.

Not to Watford or Coventry, to Bayern Munich and Liverpool and other top clubs like them.

Sky still hold a grudge from the time we tried to go it without them.

Who messed that up ?
Oh surprise surprise it was Celtic and rangers original.

Real businessmen could negotiate a far far better deal even than that Luton just won over 3 years, just for the sale of 12 derbies over 3 seasons and possibly more .

Neil Doncaster is no real businessman and I'm praying he gets the boot not a golden handshake.

For what?
Underselling our game for years?
Allowing one club to dictate to the SPFL/SFA.

As much as I hate to say it the zombies were right on that and we caved again like cowards £150 million for 7 seasons or something utterly ridiculous.

Ok I've made my point , I'm raging at many things " what you say ya ******** *******" 🤬

I know when it's time to quit , so just a few dozen more paragraphs and COAT 🧥

Just kidding about the coat......no kidding about the dozen more paragraphs.

Right ! Rant over ( collective murmuring thank fek)

I may spout a lot but its from the heart 💚 and no-one else will listen 😟

No idea why, perhaps its because this one time when I was about 15 I was just about to ........JOKE fs getting it now 🧥

Ah! That sweet smell of a good fn whinge in the morning

It's like the end of lord of the rings

IMO Rodgers is a great manager,theres no denying his quality proven at SPL and the highest level.
The downsides though, at Celtic/Leicester/Liverpool, he came in and took what was there to the next level. No problem giving him that but, almost every penny he has spent on players, he'd have been as well not.

In all honesty BB, i've kinda got over my annoyance at DD somewhat of late.

When Fergus sold up, DD underwrote the share sale, us fans had the opportunity to buy all of wee Fergus shares, didn't buy much and as underwriter, DD scooped them up. If you obtain an external underwriter, they take a huge fee for the risk (would have been 4-5 million/10-15%). So for eg. if it was a venture capital company instead of DD, the majority shareholder in our club would have been a faceless hedge fund.

The beginning of the end for Murrays time at the huns was when he tried to raise money, after all those years of success, we were hitting back and in order to keep the 'fiver for a tenner' going (no laughing at the back) he did something like a 70 million share issue, underwritten by the Murray Group. It was a couple of years after our share issues and we raised nigh on 100 million.
So he thought i'll have some of that. The huns fans took less than 5 million worth of shares, that landed him with a 65 million bill. All that did was tidy up Deidco's debt situation and passed it onto the Murray Group. He was beeling, but not as much as the bank. He took his sabattical shortly thereafter, in a mood as he realised the huns weren't willing to pony up at all and it also put the
Murray group in the shit. The EBT's followed shortly thereafter and the rest they say is history. He chased success still, but couldn't fund it.

So DD, he ended up majority shareholder because Fergus share sale was a flop with the fans. No dig at the fans, they'd put in 60-70 million over 2 or 3 previous share issues. But that is why we ended up with him in charge.

I think back to the MON days, he backed him to the hilt. The season of Seville, we lost 29 million quid, a third of our turnover that year. DD quickly realised that pushing the boat out that far was chasing a football trophy, not financial success.

Over the years the landscape has changed and we're cutting our cloth. I've read quite a bit on DD these last few years. Every company he owns, he put in a guy, pays top dollar for the best, expects results and with results provided, they get his loyalty. He hired PL shortly after Seville, get the finances in order, he did and he was rewarded well. PL original package was around 600k per annum. By the end, he was earning more money that the snake, thats how highly DD rated PL.
As supporters, we should really have no course to moan at PL/DD given their stewardship. I am sure if you put the trophy record together since PL was CEO, its unmatched throughout history.
There are those out there that may say aye but they were deed...... but the very fact we were the opposite of them shows they had a level of intelligence. I'm sure its been said that we were minutes from receivership before Fergus, it never happened, but i don't think people realise we were minutes away from a bank (run by same Murray pal, Gavin Masterton) owning Celtic Park.
These guys have been frustrating as fuck but by god, they've delivered success at no risk. They have also alienated the support with their arrogance and ivory tower behaviousr, but they have delivered.

Post MON, wee Gordon, took a 1/3rd off the wage bill, bought players with less vowels and delivered European success that the messiah MON couldn't with the most expensively assembled team ever. MON was revered, history tells me McLeish won more trophies v MON with freebies and a huns team in decline. Wee Gordon was never taken to.

Tony Mowbray was a balls up, but he was welcomed at the time. Lennon delivered and left. Ronny was a free hit, why pay 2.5 million to win a league when this guy could do it for 500k. They then got the snake, despite the end, they got the top guy, paid the bucks and got the rewards. left in the lurch, got Lenny who delivered that season and the next. Then that year happened,. The Howe thing ended up a disaster, but you can see now why the went all out. The job Eddie Howe has done this year is the job Ange would love to acheive at them this year. So they got Ange.

My rambling rewrite of history is really to show that they have hardly put a foot wrong in regards to getting the biggest decision correct. Mowbray was a disaster but there was no real opposition. Say what you want about that year, but i think the mistakes made were above Lennons i.e. the signings made and keeping players that wanted to leave.

So in the main, they've fucking smashed it really. A thing i note is DD has really always been the man front and centre when selecting a manager. Every manager has spoken of this, he does the interview and makes the decisions on that front, i.e. DD knows, if we get this right, the rest will take care of itself. Every manager has also spoken of the support he has given.

Now there are a ton of things that have pissed me off over time, the Tories, Resolution 12, signings, lack of a cohesive preparations etc.

But in the main, we have a fucking cheek to complain given the success and the domestic success we have achieved. We have smashed the huns to the point of another extinction events, have a stadium to be proud of, the only standing section in UK and a squad that is worth more than than the rest of the clubs in Scotland combined.

But again, we're a fickle bunch us Celtic supporters...... Lenny villified, Ange welcomed, wee GS never taken to, MON revered, ffs theres even people that would take the snake back.

My point being, a large element of the Celtic support are always going to find excuses to be unhappy and find people to dislike. I remember people questioning McGregor, i've seen the apathy for James Forrest, the player not the mouthpiece. Its the way of life.
Sack the board was heard for months until Ange came in. Hasn't been heard for months, until now and they're front and centre.

I'd ditch the lot of the Tory cunts now, for that reason, but thats personal. I remember a kid and the sack the board movement had a reason to thrive, they were fucking hopeless. i remember a time when each and every one of us would settle for the league every year ....end of.
if DD's stewardship was rated on sporting achievements he would win most successful club owner ever, but even with a 90% trophy win rate over the last decade, within our family there are those that will never be happy despite that record.

The other slant to take is it could have been an Ashley type, utterly dis-interested.
The other example is the Glazers. These guys bought Man U for roughly £800 million. Put up £200 million of their own money and saddled the club with a debt of £600 million. Straight away, the club had to cover £60-£80 million per annum in interest payments on their loan. In a non CL year, our turnover is roughly the level of those annual interest payment. Imagine, the first £60-£80 million your club makes, no matter how big, is paying interest on the owners buying it. 15 years later, the cost is over a billion, thats a billion that the football club has lost to them buying the club. Now they'll make 4-5 billion and sell to a fucking Arab......

I'll take the Irish guy, thats grand
A sensible, level headed post STG. But, I'm still not a fan of DD - I'm sure he will lose a lot of sleep when someone breaks that piece of news to him!!! 😉

I believe DD funded MoN's Seville side so extravagantly running ip a massive debt because he really believed that the Old Firm (R.I.P.) was going to be asked to join the English Premiership. Of course that was a lot of bollocks and so he pulled the plug on any more unaffordable spending - hilariously Deadco carried on spending other people's money recklessly before committing suicide.