Pre Season Games

tommybhoy ...with respect you are in danger of mentioning the epl in comparison to the Scottish league in your every post. We are well aware of their ridiculous riches and their reach in other countries.
Let's just focus on what we can acheive within our facility.
Noted mate but I've mentioned it on this post and also about the TV deal but fair enough ....decent performance today 🍀
tommybhoy ...with respect you are in danger of mentioning the epl in comparison to the Scottish league in your every post. We are well aware of their ridiculous riches and their reach in other countries.
Let's just focus on what we can acheive within our facility.
Aye your actually right mate that's me just noticed (work at sea with them so it boils my blood sometimes)🤣....anyway we played good today for a friendly ☘️roll on Tuesday ....not been negative (and not because he's ENGLISH🤣)Joking......but think it could be time to maybe look at a replacement for hart (good servant and good back up tho) and calmac was class today and a few others played well (scales and Welsh especially)

28,000 at today's game is a decent attendance for a friendly.
Have to be happy with how we outplayed wolves , never a penalty and they know it.

Scales, Yang looked decent enough , still to see what Holm brings though very early days.

When maeda and kyogo come off we lose the higlingpress and that allowed wolves more time to work from the back.

Decent work out in a game that should've really finished more like 7-3 Yokohoma style but in our favour.
Wolves tackling was shocking lamina made about 5 yellow card challenges before being subbed .

Decent enough but we definatly require more than we have HH
Well put Winter.
Only got to see 2nd half live but watched highlights of 1st.
I'd say many positives.
The new guys(I'm meaning no disrespect when I say I'm struggling to get the Japanese and Korean guys names).
I thought we looked quite sharp up front before changes were made. We're only gonnae get better.

Good workout today when you consider that in the backline only Taylor was a regular and he was the poorest of them,Wolves Lord of late tackles and a few flying elbows which the ref let a lot of it go. Hatate loo!ed as if he had run out of energy when he was subjected have been a bit sharper in front of goal today
I thought Hatate had a good game His shot off the post was hard lines not to go in

That was only a friendly but I'm still raging about that penalty decision.
Seen some shockers go against us this pre season but that takes the biscuit.
Feels like the spl mibs have been on tour with us at times.

I shouldn't really be bothered as it's about fitness, was great to see Kyogo back scoring again and Maeda is a handful for any side to deal with he's just getting better and better.

Result says 1-1 but we looked the side with the better quality.
Once we have a settled defence with CCV back in the side we'll be a far tougher nut to crack.

The bhoys at the back done well especially scales and Welsh, thought we looked a lot shakier when Welsh went off can see why so many clubs are after him , hope he stays with us for a good while yet , plenty of experience for his age.

Two Koreans, Yang especially had a decent run out and he looks ready for us now.
Jamesys testimonial left to go expecting a big attendance for him , would be great to see another season of him at his best under Rodgers if he can stay fit.

That was only a friendly but I'm still raging about that penalty decision.
Seen some shockers go against us this pre season but that takes the biscuit.
Feels like the spl mibs have been on tour with us at times.

I shouldn't really be bothered as it's about fitness, was great to see Kyogo back scoring again and Maeda is a handful for any side to deal with he's just getting better and better.

Result says 1-1 but we looked the side with the better quality.
Once we have a settled defence with CCV back in the side we'll be a far tougher nut to crack.

The bhoys at the back done well especially scales and Welsh, thought we looked a lot shakier when Welsh went off can see why so many clubs are after him , hope he stays with us for a good while yet , plenty of experience for his age.

Two Koreans, Yang especially had a decent run out and he looks ready for us now.
Jamesys testimonial left to go expecting a big attendance for him , would be great to see another season of him at his best under Rodgers if he can stay fit.
We might start next week with Welsh which ironically was exactly the same scenario the opening game last year when the boy scored the opener against the dandys.
Out of the two who played yesterday I would keep Welsh as I feel one or the other will leave in some capacity.

Yes Winter very encouraging performance yesterday and even more so as you say given the makeshift back line.

We can't get away from the fact big Joe as much as I like him is an accident waiting to happen and that can't be good for any of the defenders....needs addressed.

I liked both the Korean boys for a first impression. Yang looks capable and ready but I think big Kwon might just be a bit of a character... he has plenty about him and I get the feeling from his interviews he is a tad crazy bat shit mental 🤪 ....All in all once the injuries clear up with a few more in and a few going the other way we should be in a pretty decent place hopefully.

I think if Abada stays fit then he will be one of our most effective players this season. Like a faster Scott Sinclair who was so brilliant for us in his first season up here under Rodgers.

If it does play out like this then I would be astonished if he wasn't poached by a richer club down in England, but sadly that is the way football is - for just now at least (changes are coming). At least the Jewish Israeli is highly unlikely to abscond to the riches of Saudi Arabia!

I love Joe Hart but I'm grudgingly accepting what so many fans have been saying and think we need a younger upgrade who is better with their feet.

I still want an out and out striker. Someone who can score goals in packed penalty boxes. We are going to be horribly exposed early 2024 when we are likely to lose most of our attacking talent for weeks due to the Asian Cup.

This MUST be planned for now. It is no use moaning that all our strikers (Kyogo, Oh & Maeda) are missing when we have known for months that this is a probable outcome.

Plus Kyogo can - and will - dislocate his shoulder at any time so our options will be reduced for a few weeks at a time. This is tough when we play so many high intensity and high pressure games in a congested fixture list. Oh and Maeda will pick up bookings for feck all too from the MIBs so risk suspension.

I think if Abada stays fit then he will be one of our most effective players this season. Like a faster Scott Sinclair who was so brilliant for us in his first season up here under Rodgers.

If it does play out like this then I would be astonished if he wasn't poached by a richer club down in England, but sadly that is the way football is - for just now at least (changes are coming). At least the Jewish Israeli is highly unlikely to abscond to the riches of Saudi Arabia!

I love Joe Hart but I'm grudgingly accepting what so many fans have been saying and think we need a younger upgrade who is better with their feet.

I still want an out and out striker. Someone who can score goals in packed penalty boxes. We are going to be horribly exposed early 2024 when we are likely to lose most of our attacking talent for weeks due to the Asian Cup.

This MUST be planned for now. It is no use moaning that all our strikers (Kyogo, Oh & Maeda) are missing when we have known for months that this is a probable outcome.

Plus Kyogo can - and will - dislocate his shoulder at any time so our options will be reduced for a few weeks at a time. This is tough when we play so many high intensity and high pressure games in a congested fixture list. Oh and Maeda will pick up bookings for feck all too from the MIBs so risk suspension.
Can't see us signing another striker when we have 3 internationalists for that position. If one of them leaves then we'll sign one but don't see that happening. Oh looks like 3rd choice under BR with Maeda back up to Kyogo. Fitness allowing I would bet that all three will be in double figures for goals in the league, as will Abada. We have plenty of firepower, it's the defence that requires looking at. When everyone if fit we have a strong back 4 in Johnston CCV Starfelt and Taylor. Don't know about Nawrocki yet but the back up to the starting 4 is an alarming drop off in quality. Ralston, Welsh, Bernabei, Scales, Kobayashi don't look good enough for games when we will come under any pressure, Europe, Huns, difficult away games domestically, they're ok for run of the mill SPFL games but nothing more.
I think we have the option of postponing league games if 3 or more players are away at the Asia Cup. The league games affected would be Ross C (h), Aberdeen (a) and Hibs (a). 2 Scottish Cup ties would also fall within the dates, not sure is we can cancel cup ties.

Can't see us signing another striker when we have 3 internationalists for that position. If one of them leaves then we'll sign one but don't see that happening. Oh looks like 3rd choice under BR with Maeda back up to Kyogo. Fitness allowing I would bet that all three will be in double figures for goals in the league, as will Abada. We have plenty of firepower, it's the defence that requires looking at. When everyone if fit we have a strong back 4 in Johnston CCV Starfelt and Taylor. Don't know about Nawrocki yet but the back up to the starting 4 is an alarming drop off in quality. Ralston, Welsh, Bernabei, Scales, Kobayashi don't look good enough for games when we will come under any pressure, Europe, Huns, difficult away games domestically, they're ok for run of the mill SPFL games but nothing more.
I think we have the option of postponing league games if 3 or more players are away at the Asia Cup. The league games affected would be Ross C (h), Aberdeen (a) and Hibs (a). 2 Scottish Cup ties would also fall within the dates, not sure is we can cancel cup ties.
Would a loan be in order for a striker in January given the Aisan tournament ? Just thinking out loud.
I've been shouting it for a while we need a physical versatile full back capable of covering the back line in addition to NawRocki.
On the cancellation of games I think only one game can be cancelled according to SPFL rules ...I might be wrong.

We might start next week with Welsh which ironically was exactly the same scenario the opening game last year when the boy scored the opener against the dandys.
Out of the two who played yesterday I would keep Welsh as I feel one or the other will leave in some capacity.

Yes Winter very encouraging performance yesterday and even more so as you say given the makeshift back line.

We can't get away from the fact big Joe as much as I like him is an accident waiting to happen and that can't be good for any of the defenders....needs addressed.

I liked both the Korean boys for a first impression. Yang looks capable and ready but I think big Kwon might just be a bit of a character... he has plenty about him and I get the feeling from his interviews he is a tad crazy bat shit mental 🤪 ....All in all once the injuries clear up with a few more in and a few going the other way we should be in a pretty decent place hopefully.
Aye unfortunately I'm thinking the same, big Joe and his moments are occurring just too often. Like everyone else I love the guy he's a leader with the passion to go with that but it's not going to cut it in big games those mistakes.

He always redeems himself with some great saves but nothing that wouldnt be expected from him.
A sharper striker would've put that away.
Was also disappointed with the wolves player sneaking the ball under him to hit the post from the by-line.

We know he's being asked to play a game that's not his usual style but it is the style of today's game and he's had plenty of time to adapt at various clubs.

Joe Hart has been good for Celtic there's no question about that and vice versa but aye you're right we need better.
With our back line as it is at the moment it's a cause for concern and he's the one marshaling them in the absence of CCV/Starfelt.

Tomoki Iwata has really impressed me wherever he's been asked to play he's been excellent and would be easy to think he's been here for years.

I don't think we will sign another striker either. But I would still like us to. Kyogo will be injured at some point, and Oh & Maeda have the potential to get suspended. If two of these happen at the same time, then we would be done to just one striker! Let's hope he is on form and not needing subbed.

Of course, it is very likely that all 3 will be selected for the Asia Cup - along with the other Japanese, Koreans and Aussie players. Yes, we can ask for games to be postponed but that means falling behind and trying to squeeze in extra matches into a busy schedule before the league split in April!

Abada can score us goals but I find that whenever we play a non-striker as our main attacker they - and us - are never so effective, as they are not used to being the main focal point spearheading our attack.

Aye unfortunately I'm thinking the same, big Joe and his moments are occurring just too often. Like everyone else I love the guy he's a leader with the passion to go with that but it's not going to cut it in big games those mistakes.

He always redeems himself with some great saves but nothing that wouldnt be expected from him.
A sharper striker would've put that away.
Was also disappointed with the wolves player sneaking the ball under him to hit the post from the by-line.

We know he's being asked to play a game that's not his usual style but it is the style of today's game and he's had plenty of time to adapt at various clubs.

Joe Hart has been good for Celtic there's no question about that and vice versa but aye you're right we need better.
With our back line as it is at the moment it's a cause for concern and he's the one marshaling them in the absence of CCV/Starfelt.

Tomoki Iwata has really impressed me wherever he's been asked to play he's been excellent and would be easy to think he's been here for years.
FFS...just found out that big Joe has been borrowing Barkas gloves
He's still got a seaon or two in him, and would be a great addition to the staff, once he hangs up his gloves
Wonder what the deal is with big Benji and injuries ?
I think the Scottish weather plays a part in some players decisions, when being linked with us
They'd rather play in a country where the money is better and the location is warm, sunny, and more laid back
It is a factor and can't say I wouldn't do the same if given the opportunity
Nae borra the morra...the season starts next week, and I've already made my predictions