Celtic in English league system.

Would you accept Celtic starting at the bottom in England?

• I'd accept starting in the Conference

Votes: 8 24.2%
  • I'd accept starting in league 2

Votes: 4 12.1%
  • I'd only accept Celtic starting at championship level or straight into the EPL.

Votes: 2 6.1%
  • I'd rather Celtic remain in Scotland.

Votes: 5 15.2%
  • I'd rather see a multi nation league with clubs from Holland, Belgium, Portugal

Votes: 14 42.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Winter

This conversation with my father in law comes up every time I visit.
We watched the hearts game and he said " I cannot for the life of me understand why Celtic, (the)Rangers, Aberdeen and the two Edinburgh clubs still don't play in the English league system".
Of course this has many sides to it and there's many points that can be made as to why not and why it shouldn't etc.

Personally I'd like to see certainly Celtic in that system, and that's because of how badly run our own system is, both financially and competitively each having a part to play in the topic.
Anyway I was asked "would I accept Celtic and sevco starting at the bottom?"
To which I replied yes, we may miss out on Europe for perhaps half a decade or more but it would make us stronger in the long run.

So my wee poll today is would you accept Celtic starting at the bottom?
If so what is the lowest you'd go, conference? League 2?
Many clubs outside league 2 who want that place badly , what think you the noise?

It’s a good idea but they don’t want Celtic
After the Funeral of the Queen
Poppy Porn
Palestine 🇵🇸
And the Establishment down Sooff (and in Scotia) still have issues with Catholics.
But the pan or plain breed Euro one could work.

Aye, we spoke about this,( one of many many obstacles), if the SFA don't like what Celtic supporters have to say and sing then the F.A certainly won't.

I've said it many times before, but I'd prefer us playing in a North-Western European league along with the best of the Dutch, Belgian and Scandinavian clubs. There are some large and historic clubs in the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Sweden & Scotland.

You could even make up a second league with lower clubs from these countries plus Finland and Iceland - and possibly sides from Dublin & Belfast?

UEFA would have to sanction a cross-border league so that these clubs could play in the UCL and Europa League/Conference, but it would make their qualification process more streamlined.

Remember too that UEFA actually agreed to Russia and the Ukraine merging their top leagues a few seasons ago, but this never materialised due to the pandemic and the ongoing war. This decision encouraged the Dutch and Belgian leagues to investigate merging their top leagues but this was also put on hold and never went beyond the initial hypothetical discussion.

I've said it many times before, but I'd prefer us playing in a North-Western European league along with the best of the Dutch, Belgian and Scandinavian clubs. There are some large and historic clubs in the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Sweden & Scotland.

You could even make up a second league with lower clubs from these countries plus Finland and Iceland - and possibly sides from Dublin & Belfast?

UEFA would have to sanction a cross-border league so that these clubs could play in the UCL and Europa League/Conference, but it would make their qualification process more streamlined.

Remember too that UEFA actually agreed to Russia and the Ukraine merging their top leagues a few seasons ago, but this never materialised due to the pandemic and the ongoing war. This decision encouraged the Dutch and Belgian leagues to investigate merging their top leagues but this was also put on hold and never went beyond the initial hypothetical discussion.
I like this idea of the North western European clubs and the second tier to go with it.
My scepticism says UEFA would see it as competition for the Europa&Conference leagues , if however it did get off the ground I could only see it get bigger each season.
Clubs like Celtic, Sevco, the top 3 or 4 Dutch , Anderlecht, Gent, Antwerp, Gothenburg, Rosenborg, Helsinki, Legia Warsaw some other Polish sides etc .
This would attract more clubs in time I'm sure , relegation and promotion, it's an attractive idea.
Only problem with it UEFA aside is that mostly all of those leagues are already receiving better financial packages than Scotland as is. So it would have to be an improvement on what those countries recieve now but there would definately be interest in it, throw in Croatian, Hungarian, Romanian clubs it's a decent idea

Not interested in playing in the English league pyramid, we're not English. Would rather stay in Scotland than play down there. Preference would be a regional European league, sanctioned by UEFA, where the top teams would play in a league system with promotion/relegation to domestic leagues. 2 or 3 regional leagues across the continent (excluding teams from the big 5 leagues), the best in Scotland could be in with Scandinavian and Benelux countries, Ireland, Switzerland and Portugal.

I have had this conversation with a lot of fans who support EPL clubs over the years. Many think it would be good considering Welsh Clubs can play in it

Nephew spoke too some director at Liverpool, only way Celtic would get in EPL if they stopped RA chants/Rebel songs & that's not gonnie happen

Would love to play in England but choose the European league against some historic clubs from Holland and Portugal etc (traveling to away games would cost a fortune tho and the airlines would have a field day putting the prices up).....letting us and them into the English League cup would be good (also gives other teams in Scotland a good chance of winning a major trophy)and would give us a few tasty ties in England so everyone would be a winner

I have had this conversation with a lot of fans who support EPL clubs over the years. Many think it would be good considering Welsh Clubs can play in it

Nephew spoke too some director at Liverpool, only way Celtic would get in EPL if they stopped RA chants/Rebel songs & that's not gonnie happen
The director should worry about his own fans chanting about Munich etc....few guys from England I work with said the same about it been good too and would enjoy visits to Glasgow rather than away days In Sheffield and Burnley etc

Aye, I get down too maybe 4 games at Liverpool each season, would like too get down for more, but everytime I go down it's a 3 day bender with nephew & niece. It's a great away was down for the game on the road to Seville.

As for the Munich chant, mibbie the Mancwanks shouldn't have chanted Hillsborough

We will always be mediocre in European terms unless England or one of the big 5 takes us...an Atlantic league would be ok for a year or two then attendances would drop after the novelty wore off

Aye, I get down too maybe 4 games at Liverpool each season, would like too get down for more, but everytime I go down it's a 3 day bender with nephew & niece. It's a great away was down for the game on the road to Seville.

As for the Munich chant, mibbie the Mancwanks shouldn't have chanted Hillsborough
That wasn't a dig at the Liverpool fans mate just saying all clubs sing songs they shouldn't.....for example man utd fans about Hillsborough 👌....aye that's class you get to a few games every year

Aye, I blame King Kenny he fucked off to Liverpool, I pestered ma da too take me & with Liverpool being his home City he took me & twin sis, we were both hooked, sis moved down south & inherited a couple of season tickets.

Her kids have them now, plus nephews, a rehab physio at the club. But just canny handle 3 days of partying, getting auld😂😂

Aye, I blame King Kenny he fucked off to Liverpool, I pestered ma da too take me & with Liverpool being his home City he took me & twin sis, we were both hooked, sis moved down south & inherited a couple of season tickets.

Her kids have them now, plus nephews, a rehab physio at the club. But just canny handle 3 days of partying, getting auld😂😂
I'm good mates with guy from Liverpool that I met offshore we actually went to new York on holiday years ago and took him to the parlour bar for Celtic game (now Celtic is his second team)😂😂😂

This is a difficult thread. We all have our own opinions on where we'd like to see Celtic playing. But do the EPL want or need us.As for a league comprising other clubs from Europe I don't no. But I will say this change has to happen whether that be a super league or something different I don't know. Celtic should be at the forefront of change. If it benefits our club then 😃 Things can't go on status quo what with the Sky deal, no one is going to benefit from that. Sky treat us as second class to the E P L . The money is going south. It's the same in Europe the elite clubs rake in the money Scottish football clubs are left behind. There is never a level playing Field. The best at this moment in time is we are stuck in SPFL. Oh if we only had change.

The thread was easy it's the question that's difficult though I tried to make it as easy as possible 😛

That's the worst argument I've ever heard.

The Scousers had been singing it for over 30 years before Hillsborough actually happened.

BTW, I am not a Man It's supporter.