Time for Celtic Board and Management to review the past and future.

Derry Bhoy

As a new year approaches its time to review for the future. The leagues and cup victories are now all in the past,it was great to have enjoyed them. After the winter break we get down to the serious part of this season.
Firstly Peter Lawell and Brendan Rogers need to start earning their big salaries and bonuses they have been receiving.
Peter Lawell and Brendan Rogers need to get together and decide what money is available and the players they want. When the window closes there is no point blaming each other when they have not delivered the players that are required to take us forward.
Both men have made major errors over the last few years, you just have to look at the mess recently at the Rangers and Hibs games nobody to blame there but team management who could not get there tactics right or change them when they got them wrong.
Peter Lawell made a complete shambles of the John McGinn transfer. Its time they started to justify their big salaries .
There is nobody bigger than the club and that includes players/managers/or chief executives.
So lets all move forward together to ten in a row the only people who can stop us are ourselves.

The players also need to remember that they are playing for Celtic ",Where the shirt does not shrink to fit inferior players." Which Neil Lennon always reminded the players. H.H.

As a new year approaches its time to review for the future. The leagues and cup victories are now all in the past,it was great to have enjoyed them. After the winter break we get down to the serious part of this season.
Firstly Peter Lawell and Brendan Rogers need to start earning their big salaries and bonuses they have been receiving.
Peter Lawell and Brendan Rogers need to get together and decide what money is available and the players they want. When the window closes there is no point blaming each other when they have not delivered the players that are required to take us forward.
Both men have made major errors over the last few years, you just have to look at the mess recently at the Rangers and Hibs games nobody to blame there but team management who could not get there tactics right or change them when they got them wrong.
Peter Lawell made a complete shambles of the John McGinn transfer. Its time they started to justify their big salaries .
There is nobody bigger than the club and that includes players/managers/or chief executives.
So lets all move forward together to ten in a row the only people who can stop us are ourselves.

The players also need to remember that they are playing for Celtic ",Where the shirt does not shrink to fit inferior players." Which Neil Lennon always reminded the players. H.H.
Great post Derry Bhoy agree 100% Time to regroup or reset. And get the job finished.
And show the rest that when the real Celtic show up. We WIN. So Mon the Hoops.

You make some good points Derry Bhoy, sorry to get political here but as a lifelong socialist my stomach churns at the wages in football, and when I read about PL bonus schemes im absolutely raging, some people put money into the club (thats us fans btw) and everybody else takes our hard earned corn out of it, when was the last freebie/bonus any of us had from the club, rant over, what they should be discussing is with a 59 million wage bill, do they think we should have kicked on a lot more, I mentioned on another thread that 2 or 3 years with no champions league or no europa league after Christmas and we have a major problem on our hands, I think PL and BR seem to be on a different page to the scouting set up, we spend a lot of money on the scouting set up and I feel our wage bill is to high for a scottish club, if we qualify 2 out of every 3 years for CL then I wont worry about it but it's only going to get harder each year.

2018 has seen us firstly stall, then regress from BR’s first 18 months. We needed an overhaul in the squad to rid us of non contributors and replace quantity with quality. We failed in January and the summer window was an unmitigated disaster with us considerably weaker than we were when the previous season ended.
We are now where we were 12 months ago but in a considerably weaker position. A weaker squad, poorer results, leading the league only on goal difference and an eye watering wage bill with at least a dozen non contributors in our first team squad.
Next month and the summer needs a massive overhaul with the need to get 12+ out of the door and 4 or 5 first team ready, better quality than we have players signed.
Another bugbear of mine, given our best players this season are academy graduates, maybe we should try giving a few more game time than short term loan deals from academies down south. Just a thought.
An interesting month ahead, it could determine whether or not we are looking for a new manager in the summer and will definitely determine if we will be in a strong position to push for 10.

2018 has seen us firstly stall, then regress from BR’s first 18 months. We needed an overhaul in the squad to rid us of non contributors and replace quantity with quality. We failed in January and the summer window was an unmitigated disaster with us considerably weaker than we were when the previous season ended.
We are now where we were 12 months ago but in a considerably weaker position. A weaker squad, poorer results, leading the league only on goal difference and an eye watering wage bill with at least a dozen non contributors in our first team squad.
Next month and the summer needs a massive overhaul with the need to get 12+ out of the door and 4 or 5 first team ready, better quality than we have players signed.
Another bugbear of mine, given our best players this season are academy graduates, maybe we should try giving a few more game time than short term loan deals from academies down south. Just a thought.
An interesting month ahead, it could determine whether or not we are looking for a new manager in the summer and will definitely determine if we will be in a strong position to push for 10.
well said Gary,this Weah,who's he gonnae keep oot the team,developin players for other teams,gettin rid of the deadwood and the wage thiefs out could be problematic,we need a good january,but totally agree,brendan and pistol pete better get their finger's out,hope DD witnessed that pish and bangs some heads together!!!!! HH

Let's all take a step back and let Lawwell and Rodgers get on with their jobs during this break. Lawwell to do his bit in transfer window and Rodgers with the players in Dubai. Then when players are back transfer window closed we will see where we're at. I hope we will be stronger for second half of season. Happy New year to all the Celtic Family. HH ☘️

Its like Scrooge transfer window past.Would be a goos idea to take both of them back to the past to remind them of the importance of the traditions of our football club.Yes we are a plc and profit and residuals are important to safe guard the company.Before PL can withdraw cash from the Celtic ATM our manager needs to trim the squad because at present we have around 32 players.Punt at least 6 players in january n bring in 4 players who will enhance the team.They need the supporters behind them because without us they are nothing.The Desso pitch,lighting system,PL and BR and coaches including congerton/sport scientist probably amounts to just under 10 million.Let that sink in and here we are level with sevco.The fans dont ask for much but what we do want is our team to go down fighting and not weakly surrendering to mediocre opposition.Come on Celtic dont treat the supporters with contenpt.

First of all, I don't think we will see the transfer circus where every Celtic player is linked to pishy english clubs... I,m talking about all the click bait out there to destabilise the club...it will be about how the huns are gonna be the top team..
There may be other nonsense out there to try eff us up but generally I think we may get peace to get on with the transfer business.We must get it right...we must win the league and qualify for the CL...but this is a very important window now...we all know what we need.. It's staring us in the face.

First of all, I don't think we will see the transfer circus where every Celtic player is linked to pishy english clubs... I,m talking about all the click bait out there to destabilise the club...it will be about how the huns are gonna be the top team..
There may be other nonsense out there to try eff us up but generally I think we may get peace to get on with the transfer business.We must get it right...we must win the league and qualify for the CL...but this is a very important window now...we all know what we need.. It's staring us in the face.

But is it staring PL in the face, Frank. He's still pocketing £2m come what may.

Hi Shamrock...I know about the bonus...it goes against the Celtic grain and I am trying to get to grips with it...but PL MUST back Brendan..this is where they show us as custodians of the club why they are in these positions...they MUST get it right. There has been too much money wasted.Lets see what happens... But we are in a good position...we can destroy their hopes of a resurgence and get the Ten...if we do, they will melt like snow aff a dike.We could see the Huns push the boat out too far and self combust AGAIN!!!

I live in hope, Frank, I live in hope. ;)

You make some good points Derry Bhoy, sorry to get political here but as a lifelong socialist my stomach churns at the wages in football, and when I read about PL bonus schemes im absolutely raging, some people put money into the club (thats us fans btw) and everybody else takes our hard earned corn out of it, when was the last freebie/bonus any of us had from the club, rant over, what they should be discussing is with a 59 million wage bill, do they think we should have kicked on a lot more, I mentioned on another thread that 2 or 3 years with no champions league or no europa league after Christmas and we have a major problem on our hands, I think PL and BR seem to be on a different page to the scouting set up, we spend a lot of money on the scouting set up and I feel our wage bill is to high for a scottish club, if we qualify 2 out of every 3 years for CL then I wont worry about it but it's only going to get harder each year.
Aye, from a personal perspective, I still have to shake my head at the figures being quoted and think how that money could be better distributed.

The truth is, that this is what 21st century football is and we have to get on board or get left behind.

I will say though, that The Foundation does give something back and at least the spirit of charity is still alive. However - The Green Brigade and the fans as a whole need to get much more credit from the Club for the Christmas food-drive. That was an outstanding effort and an act of pure socialism in its base form.

The scouting set-up needs to be much more transparent and accountable. That level of investment needs to be reaping more rewards.

Aye, from a personal perspective, I still have to shake my head at the figures being quoted and think how that money could be better distributed.

The truth is, that this is what 21st century football is and we have to get on board or get left behind.

I will say though, that The Foundation does give something back and at least the spirit of charity is still alive. However - The Green Brigade and the fans as a whole need to get much more credit from the Club for the Christmas food-drive. That was an outstanding effort and an act of pure socialism in its base form.

The scouting set-up needs to be much more transparent and accountable. That level of investment needs to be reaping more rewards.
I couldnt agree more SP, I realise that we have to keep pushing the boat out, I just was shocked to find out how far we'd pushed it already, our charitable efforts are something we should be proud of, and I know some people knock the Green Brigade but their efforts should be applauded from the rooftops, the difference they have made to families who are struggling makes me proud to be a celtic fan

It was a tremendous effort, B. It also makes me proud to know that there are supporters like yourself who are prepared to acknowledge and pay tribute to those efforts.