CFR Cluj v Celtic - Champions League Qualifier 3rd Round 1st Leg - Wed 7 August

Tried not to listen to Sutton negatives but Boli really was poor tonight.
Good result though

If anybody thinks Sutton wasn’t telling the absolute fucking truth about Boli? Please do me a favour and never take a jog as one of our scouts.

I called it from the start, he’s a fucking absolute turkey.

I cannot believe Lenny left him on. That’s not the judgement we need in our manager. He was a bombscare from the kick off.

Morgan tried hard but did Fuck all. Calmac was invisible. Total empty jersey. Christie tried hard too did some great runs, but again final touch and pass not great. Big Eddy had no service mostly down to Calmac being awol and we couldn’t get to grips with the midfield. Forrest, even with thatbgreat goal, final baw not good enough too often. Hatem, was good. Caught watching the ball a couple of times, but overall solid.

We got away with that tonight. Once again our fuckibg defence looked shite, mainly Boli, but in the centre too. They should have scored from a header we should have cut out. Defence is not up to CL level. It’s hasnt been for years, but we need to invest heavily.

If I didn’t watch the game I would be delighted with the result. But that fucking defence? A new LB ASAP. A back up for that LB sooner. A RB. A centre half and a goalie. Fuck the other areas of the team. Lawell won’t spend. SORT THAT FUCKING DEFENCE LAWELL.

And sack the scout who thought Boli was a left back.

Don't care what anyone says that was a really good result for us tonight, aye our play was erratic and we were our own worst enemy at times but like I said earlier they're nobody's mugs, they're a very capable side. Their movement and positioning on and off the ball meant they always had someone available to take a pass to either break forward or get themselves out of bother and they can switch the play from one side to the other in a heartbeat. A good result against a good team but they are most definitely beatable and I fancy us to see this one through.

As for the performance well like I said......erratic! Played some good stuff in patches but anytime we play a team who enjoy a decent amount of possession we seem to get the fear and lose our focus and shape. It's become both a tactical and psychological barrier for us now and we seriously need to work on this as it's happened under Strachan, Deila, Rodgers and in both of Lenny's stints as manager. Problem seems to stem from the fact that domestically we're so used to having the bulk of possession that when faced with an opposition who see more of the ball we don't know how to react, we don't know where to position ourselves, we don't seem to have the ability to read and anticipate the play and this then leads to loss of shape then all out panic. They gave us a lesson on positioning and movement tonight.

Player wise......well I've defended Boli since he came in because I think some of the initial criticism was out of order for a guy who was just in the door, he'd had a bit of a mixed bag with a couple of dodgy moments as well as wee flashes that gave me hope that he just needed to settle in and get used to playing for a new team in a new set-up and I still hold out hope that's the case but he had an absolute nightmare tonight. He just looked lost and out of his depth to the point Lenny really should've taken him off for his own sake and Morgan's poor performance didnae exactly help in that regard. That bhoy, who's looked half decent up until tonight, needs to learn how to go round a player instead of just running into them all the time and hoping for a free kick.

Again we got caught cold at the back far too often. Ajer and Simo got turned too easily and seemed to get caught in no man's land a couple of times because they didn't get back quick enough after corners/set pieces (which along with Boli getting caught on the wrong side of their attacker and Bain not getting out quick enough to shut him down lead to their goal) but to be fair to big Ajer he recovered well and went on to have a good game along with Elhamed who looks a player btw. Calm on the ball doesn't get flustered when under pressure, neat passer and knows when to get forward and when to hang back (everything Boli wasn't tonight). The rest of the bhoys done really well especially wee Forrest. They worked hard, played some nice stuff in patches and caused them enough problems that will have them rattled for the return leg.

Mixed bag performance wise but make no mistake this was a good result against a good team and I think we'll see a different Celtic in the return leg. Early days people but I think we'll be ok.

Don't care what anyone says that was a really good result for us tonight, aye our play was erratic and we were our own worst enemy at times but like I said earlier they're nobody's mugs, they're a very capable side. Their movement and positioning on and off the ball meant they always had someone available to take a pass to either break forward or get themselves out of bother and they can switch the play from one side to the other in a heartbeat. A good result against a good team but they are most definitely beatable and I fancy us to see this one through.

As for the performance well like I said......erratic! Played some good stuff in patches but anytime we play a team who enjoy a decent amount of possession we seem to get the fear and lose our focus and shape. It's become both a tactical and psychological barrier for us now and we seriously need to work on this as it's happened under Strachan, Deila, Rodgers and in both of Lenny's stints as manager. Problem seems to stem from the fact that domestically we're so used to having the bulk of possession that when faced with an opposition who see more of the ball we don't know how to react, we don't know where to position ourselves, we don't seem to have the ability to read and anticipate the play and this then leads to loss of shape then all out panic. They gave us a lesson on positioning and movement tonight.

Player wise......well I've defended Boli since he came in because I think some of the initial criticism was out of order for a guy who was just in the door, he'd had a bit of a mixed bag with a couple of dodgy moments as well as wee flashes that gave me hope that he just needed to settle in and get used to playing for a new team in a new set-up and I still hold out hope that's the case but he had an absolute nightmare tonight. He just looked lost and out of his depth to the point Lenny really should've taken him off for his own sake and Morgan's poor performance didnae exactly help in that regard. That bhoy, who's looked half decent up until tonight, needs to learn how to go round a player instead of just running into them all the time and hoping for a free kick.

Again we got caught cold at the back far too often. Ajer and Simo got turned too easily and seemed to get caught in no man's land a couple of times because they didn't get back quick enough after corners/set pieces (which along with Boli getting caught on the wrong side of their attacker and Bain not getting out quick enough to shut him down lead to their goal) but to be fair to big Ajer he recovered well and went on to have a good game along with Elhamed who looks a player btw. Calm on the ball doesn't get flustered when under pressure, neat passer and knows when to get forward and when to hang back (everything Boli wasn't tonight). The rest of the bhoys done really well especially wee Forrest. They worked hard, played some nice stuff in patches and caused them enough problems that will have them rattled for the return leg.

Mixed bag performance wise but make no mistake this was a good result against a good team and I think we'll see a different Celtic in the return leg. Early days people but I think we'll be ok.
I have to agree with pretty much all of this. Result is good away to a decent opponent, but including some dodgy performances too. I think we are going to have to adopt more cagey conservative tactics away from home in Europe.

I know we all love the swashbuckling attacking football played "the Celtic way" but how often have we seen that in recent years? Lets play it tighter then batter them at Fortress Parkhead (unless it is one of the very top teams when going toe-to-toe with them results in humiliating results).

The initial criticism of Boli was right on the money. You knew it was true but chose to try and ignore the evidence your own eyes saw. I don’t do that. If we accept shite, we will be shite.

Kidding ourselves on is the road to mediocrity. The shirt shouldn’t shrink. To say the King has no clothes is always better than lying to yourself.

He’s a fucking dud. We all knew it. And people who jumped to his defence, if you are really slow on the uptake about players, you do now.

Let’s not get all sentimental. You either cut it or you fuck off. Boli can fuck off. We need so much better. We deserve so much better. If we say shit is gold how will we ever get gold?

We won’t. Anyway, we hopefully will go through and Lawell might get his fucking finger out.

I have to agree with pretty much all of this. Result is good away to a decent opponent, but including some dodgy performances too. I think we are going to have to adopt more cagey conservative tactics away from home in Europe.

I know we all love the swashbuckling attacking football played "the Celtic way" but how often have we seen that in recent years? Lets play it tighter then batter them at Fortress Parkhead (unless it is one of the very top teams when going toe-to-toe with them results in humiliating results).

Spot on Bridie Bhoy, when the occasion allows we should always try to play our own game but we need to learn to adapt when that's not possible. Think we really need to work on what we do when we're not in possession as our positioning and movement is all over the shop and just looks like a disjointed mess at times. We just can't seem to read or anticipate any opposition who can hold possession for decent spells, it's like we switch off when we don't have the ball. We're our own worst enemy at times.

It's still a good result though and I still fancy us to go through, a draw against a good team and an away goal will do for me.

HH mate (y)

The initial criticism of Boli was right on the money. You knew it was true but chose to try and ignore the evidence your own eyes saw. I don’t do that. If we accept shite, we will be shite.

Kidding ourselves on is the road to mediocrity. The shirt shouldn’t shrink. To say the King has no clothes is always better than lying to yourself.

He’s a fucking dud. We all knew it. And people who jumped to his defence, if you are really slow on the uptake about players, you do now.

Let’s not get all sentimental. You either cut it or you fuck off. Boli can fuck off. We need so much better. We deserve so much better. If we say shit is gold how will we ever get gold?

We won’t. Anyway, we hopefully will go through and Lawell might get his fucking finger out.

Verdict I like you're straight talking so you'll appreciate some straight talking back......do me a favour and don't presume you know what I think or know my reasoning for what I say eh as apart from the fact that it's fucking annoying and your way off the mark I also don't need anybody else to explain my own thinking and reasoning to me......I know already ;)

I chose to give the guy the benefit of the doubt instead of just slaughtering him and righting him off as a dud after 2 games in because he was just in the door at a new club, in a new country, playing with a new team and adapting to a new set-up as well as trying to get up to match sharpness like all the rest. It wasn't about kidding myself on or ignoring the evidence of my own eyes it was about giving the guy a chance ffs. If that's not your bag then fine but don't presume others are slow on the uptake just because they don't make an instant judgement.

If we wrote every player off after a couple of games then the likes of Larsson, Petrov, Lubo and fuck knows how many others wouldn't have been there to secure titles, cups or those memorable CL nights that seen us beating some of the best teams in Europe and reaching the final in Seville.

Anyway we're definitely still in the mix and have a great chance of getting to the groups so cheer the fuck up ;):LOL::LOL:

HH TV (y)

If anybody thinks Sutton wasn’t telling the absolute fucking truth about Boli? Please do me a favour and never take a jog as one of our scouts.

I called it from the start, he’s a fucking absolute turkey.

I cannot believe Lenny left him on. That’s not the judgement we need in our manager. He was a bombscare from the kick off.

Morgan tried hard but did Fuck all. Calmac was invisible. Total empty jersey. Christie tried hard too did some great runs, but again final touch and pass not great. Big Eddy had no service mostly down to Calmac being awol and we couldn’t get to grips with the midfield. Forrest, even with thatbgreat goal, final baw not good enough too often. Hatem, was good. Caught watching the ball a couple of times, but overall solid.

We got away with that tonight. Once again our fuckibg defence looked shite, mainly Boli, but in the centre too. They should have scored from a header we should have cut out. Defence is not up to CL level. It’s hasnt been for years, but we need to invest heavily.

If I didn’t watch the game I would be delighted with the result. But that fucking defence? A new LB ASAP. A back up for that LB sooner. A RB. A centre half and a goalie. Fuck the other areas of the team. Lawell won’t spend. SORT THAT FUCKING DEFENCE LAWELL.

And sack the scout who thought Boli was a left back.
A half decent team would have destroyed us tonight and not through lack of ability but through lack of belief and consentration.Totally agree on Bolingoli and Morgan.Whats our scouting network doing? If we don’t replace quality with quality then let’s accept the Europa League.

Verdict I like you're straight talking so you'll appreciate some straight talking back......do me a favour and don't presume you know what I think or know my reasoning for what I say eh as apart from the fact that it's fucking annoying and your way off the mark I also don't need anybody else to explain my own thinking and reasoning to me......I know already ;)

I chose to give the guy the benefit of the doubt instead of just slaughtering him and righting him off as a dud after 2 games in because he was just in the door at a new club, in a new country, playing with a new team and adapting to a new set-up as well as trying to get up to match sharpness like all the rest. It wasn't about kidding myself on or ignoring the evidence of my own eyes it was about giving the guy a chance ffs. If that's not your bag then fine but don't presume others are slow on the uptake just because they don't make an instant judgement.

If we wrote every player off after a couple of games then the likes of Larsson, Petrov, Lubo and fuck knows how many others wouldn't have been there to secure titles, cups or those memorable CL nights that seen us beating some of the best teams in Europe and reaching the final in Seville.

Anyway we're definitely still in the mix and have a great chance of getting to the groups so cheer the fuck up ;):LOL::LOL:

HH TV (y)

You too. But, you knew he was Shite. :)

A half decent team would have destroyed us tonight and not through lack of ability but through lack of believe and consentration.Totally agree on Bolingoli and Morgan.Whats our scouting network doing? If we don’t replace quality with quality then let’s accept the Europa League.
consentration!!!! ya warmer,slaggin people for their spelling,glass phuqin houses!

The window doesn't close until 5 o'clock. Maybe Mbombo still has time to move back to Rapid Vienna. They miss him so much. I'll pay for an economy flight,

At the end of the day our team came back with a good result,yes at times we got it wrong but at other times we were sorely wronged with tackles going in to stop players,thier obstruction tactics to stop players going forward And back to defence was blatant,yes they were a fair team but they set out to stop Celtic playing regardless of how many yellow cards they got to them and teams like them it's just part of the game It will be even harder next week when they know they need to score but at the same time stop us from doing the same,hopefully we will learn from this game