STRATHCLYDE PARK ‘over weekend’

During a phone call to NHS24, I was asked if I had travelled abroad, or been in contact with someone who had travelled abroad within the last 6 months?

Seemed a reasonable question.

They then asked if I had displayed similar symptoms or knew anyone who had displayed similar symptoms within the last 6 months?

Again - it seemed a reasonable enough question on the face of it.

I appreciate the fact that I am quite cynical and also appear slightly paranoid, but that second series of questions later struck me as being quite strange. It's as if they might be of the opinion that the infection can be contracted and display signs of itself before going dormant again and reoccurring at some time later.

It may simply be the case that they are trying to determine if a person is prone to seasonal cold symptoms; however - they were quick to determine that my girlfriend was positive and they did not ask her the same questions.

Something doesn't quite fit? I don't think this has anything to do with the NHS in any way, shape or form, but I think persons unknown within the NHS are obviously puzzled and are perhaps dubious of the government front.

It would seem that they are trying to collate a database to see if there is another emerging pattern about repeat cases. This would be difficult due to folk not being alarmed enough to contact NHS24 in previous instances, but they didn't seem overly surprised when I mentioned that I have displayed similar symptoms on two separate instanced since early January.

As I said, I don't get called Paddynoid by my friends for nothing, but there's still an itch at the back of my mind that's needing a good scratch.

Hey SP, everything good mate? You haven't caught this fucking thing have you?

Sorry Docco but how are these people selfish cunts?

If they are observing the social distancing guidelines, which is pretty easy to do in a large park, then they are NO risk to anyone. Many of these people will be people walking their dogs, pensioners who've been in lockdown for weeks needing fresh air and activity to keep themselves fit and healthy and people with young kids who need to get outdoors to de-stress and maintain their's and their kids sanity. As long as theses people are not displaying symptoms and are keeping their distance from those of different households then they are no risk to anyone.

The last thing any of us wants or needs is a nation of people feeling like caged animals, the fallout from that could be a million times worse! Push people too far with overzealous and unnecessary curbs on their freedoms over a long period of time and many will lose patience and go on to ignore ALL guidelines including the sensible ones or worse still we could end up with serious civil unrest resulting in not only a greater spread of the virus but our NHS and emergency services being stretched beyond breaking point leading to anarchy on the streets.

Sensible and measured is the name of the game here and fining people who are walking in a wide open park observing the social distancing guidelines is a step too far! The coppers should be more concerned with the selfish brainless fuckwits who are still (after everything they've seen and heard about this virus) putting others at risk by coughing and spluttering their way through supermarkets ignoring every social distancing guideline going when they KNOW they should be self-isolating. It's these fucking idiots who are a danger and should be getting slapped around the head with a fine!

HH Docco (y)

What makes them special? What if the whole of the population decided to do it? That is where it all breaks down... selfish people who flaunt rules so they can play out their first world problems...so I stand by my comment
I live 50m from a beautiful beach, there is nobody here however everyone is accepting that we cannot go on there as it is our social responsibility not to do so

Hey SP, everything good mate? You haven't caught this fucking thing have you?
Guys chill out ,damned if you do damned if you don’t ,we never asked for this ,not a lot we can do about it it ,the human being was never meant to be ‘caged’ up ( for want of a better definition,! We WILL get beyond this ,it is NOT our fault ,blame the powers that be for this ,we are all Celtic at heart ,remember this first and foremost ,there will be light at the end of the tunnel ,ok ,I am an old fart ,74 next birthday ,if it is my time to leave the turf ,so be it ,nowt I can do about it ,but remember we are all in this together ,there ,have had my feckin rant ,cause am still pissed from earlier today ,👍hh

Yayyyy! ah'm jist a youngster Ray,66,ah'll be 67 on May 24th, what a present ah got the day after ma birthday in 1967! HH ☘ 🍺

What makes them special? What if the whole of the population decided to do it? That is where it all breaks down... selfish people who flaunt rules so they can play out their first world problems...so I stand by my comment
I live 50m from a beautiful beach, there is nobody here however everyone is accepting that we cannot go on there as it is our social responsibility not to do so

Nothing makes them special but you can't turn a country into a police state overnight and not expect the eventual blow-back from it!

The coppers are risking making the situation a whole lot worse than it already is with that kind of approach. The Police need to adopt a more measured, sensible approach and get people to work with them on this and they won't get that by slapping ordinary decent responsible people, many of whom will already be having financial worries given what's going on, with financial penalties and acting in an overly authoritarian manner with people!

UK Government are saying people are allowed out once a day to get some daily exercise, so what do you want people to do? Walk up and down the streets where they'll all be in much closer proximity to one another or would you rather they all walked around a large park where it's easier for people to keep their distance from one another? Remember Docco not everybody is as lucky as yourself to live in quieter coastal areas with smaller populations where you don't bump into as many people when your strolling down the street. Like it or not short of ordering ALL people to stay in doors ALL of the time and bringing in the army to enforce it then you can't stop people from going outside so level heads are needed all round.

First world problems? 😕 Tell that to the pensioners who are left to rot away indoors for 8-10 weeks while their health deteriorates because they can't get out for that bit of fresh air and exercise that keeps them active and healthy!

Aye of course we all need to be responsible but the same goes for the polis and the state! If they act in an overly authoritarian way then they'll lose the people and a backlash is inevitable! Nobody needs or wants that!

Nothing makes them special but you can't turn a country into a police state overnight and not expect the eventual blow-back from it!

The coppers are risking making the situation a whole lot worse than it already is with that kind of approach. The Police need to adopt a more measured, sensible approach and get people to work with them on this and they won't get that by slapping ordinary decent responsible people, many of whom will already be having financial worries given what's going on, with financial penalties and acting in an overly authoritarian manner with people!

UK Government are saying people are allowed out once a day to get some daily exercise, so what do you want people to do? Walk up and down the streets where they'll all be in much closer proximity to one another or would you rather they all walked around a large park where it's easier for people to keep their distance from one another? Remember Docco not everybody is as lucky as yourself to live in quieter coastal areas with smaller populations where you don't bump into as many people when your strolling down the street. Like it or not short of ordering ALL people to stay in doors ALL of the time and bringing in the army to enforce it then you can't stop people from going outside so level heads are needed all round.

First world problems? 😕 Tell that to the pensioners who are left to rot away indoors for 8-10 weeks while their health deteriorates because they can't get out for that bit of fresh air and exercise that keeps them active and healthy!

Aye of course we all need to be responsible but the same goes for the polis and the state! If they act in an overly authoritarian way then they'll lose the people and a backlash is inevitable! Nobody needs or wants that!

People in the UK are not taking this seriously at all..this is the worrying thing... you have absolutely no idea what is coming..expect the next few weeks to become horrendous...sterner measures need to be put in place and if it authoritarian measures then by all means it will have to be...all the symptomless people have no idea if they are carrying it yet they folk still wander around fancy free and this is exactly what happened in spiking countries like US, Spain, Italy and France....if you don't move , the virus won't move..it's basic social measures which for the sake of a few weeks are not being followed..I am lucky to live in a quiet place but 99% of the population here get it, we stay indoors and follow the rules because if it spirals out of control, the healthcare here will not cope

Whit's the cops definition of 'essential shopping'? do they have a list of things the polis will allow you to buy,if ye buy 'essential goods' then throw in a bar of chocolate can ye get done, are they going to start searching folks shopping bag's on the off chance they might find a non essential item? will they stop van's to check theres only 'essential goods' being delivered! police phuqin state comin,give bastaart in a uniform more power,and they'll take it to the max 🍺

I can understand why the fines are there but 30quid doubling to 60 quid if not paid in 30 days or so is disgraceful. People haven't got full wages and this to me smacks of the govt using this as a means to recoup as many quids as possible because of the money they've guaranteed to workers. Yes people should be punished but I'm not convinced that this is the way. The polis ought to walk into the nearest co-op or morrisons if they are looking for people not following the social distancing rules.

If you dont pay will they take you out the house when they arrest you and will this count as been out again? And will they take you out again from the station to the court, at this rate you could be out more than you did at the park. might catch on getting took for wee runs about the city.

People in the UK are not taking this seriously at all..this is the worrying thing... you have absolutely no idea what is coming..expect the next few weeks to become horrendous...sterner measures need to be put in place and if it authoritarian measures then by all means it will have to be...all the symptomless people have no idea if they are carrying it yet they folk still wander around fancy free and this is exactly what happened in spiking countries like US, Spain, Italy and France....if you don't move , the virus won't move..it's basic social measures which for the sake of a few weeks are not being followed..I am lucky to live in a quiet place but 99% of the population here get it, we stay indoors and follow the rules because if it spirals out of control, the healthcare here will not cope
I think the vast majority in the UK do get it mate and are complying with the advice. The few who flaunt it will always get the headlines.
I too dont see any problem with a few people driving to a park for a walk if they respect social distancing, the issue is what if every bugger does the same thing, then we face a total fuck up.
We've been for a local walk twice, done a bit in the garden, went shopping once late at night when it was quiet and other than that had contact with nobody over the last week as such I'm confident we haven't contributed to spreading it, it's a bit of an inconvenience but it's hardly difficult for the majority of us.
If we all do it this will pass quicker and there will be fewer victims, putting lives on hold for a few weeks doesn't seem too much to ask to me when you consider how bad the outcome could be if we ignore the advice.

Good on ye pal👍