How was the 10 stopped??

My recollection is a total collapse in the second half of the season when we only won 4 games out of 15ish. Reasons are many, complacency certainly played a large part. We kept too many of the old guard (McNeill, Johnstone, Brogan, Hood) too long and from 73 started selling the next generation to England too soon (Macari, Hay). 74/75 was also when Connolly started to go walkabout so when he did that, and with McNeill was past his best it made our defence a lot weaker than it had been. We won both cups so could still rise to the occasion but over a run of games the ruthlessness of the previous 9 year had gone.

The quality Fader in the 60s and 70s was completely different from what it is today.
Fotballers nowadays are like athletes,a comparison between the 70s and the present can be made by looking at a guy called Colin Bell a midfield player for Man City.
This guy was considered to be one of the fittest players around so they put a tag on his ankle which would tell the club how far he was running during each game,so they did this for 3 games and he averaged 3500 metres for each game lasting the full 90 minutes.
When Sky introduced all the stats on players and clubs they commented one time that Stillian Petrov was taken of after 79 minutes and had covered just over 11000 meters before he was taken off..
Training in the 60s lasted about 2...2.5 hours then the Bhoys went home,,bookies,,snooker etc, now training can be all day with a break for something to eat probably prepared by a nutritionist like everything they eat wiil have been advised for them..
Skill is a different ball game completely,you have heard the saying,,when will we see the likes again,,for me here in Scotland,NEVER,we had Jinky,Murdoch,Dalgleish,McGrain,Lennox, Caesar,,etc,I know this will be difficult for the Younger Bhoys and Ghirls to understand but the older guy,s like myself will realise we were not watching 11 players we were watching 11 entertainers,..
I remember Jim Baxter telling Wullie Johnstone that he was waiting to give Puskas his autograph,he was joking obviously,,But 100000 people in the Bernabeu refused to go home after Celtic had played Real Madrid in De Stefano,s testimonial until Jinky came back out for the crowd to applaud him for the display he put on that night,and best of all De Stefano would not have his photograph taken until Jinky turned up,,class sheer class..
How can we possibly call nowadays 11 men behind the ball entertainment..
👏👏👏👏👏

Funnily enough Lubo,a touched on this very thing last night/ this morning,cannae remember which thread,somethin tae dae wi' auld age,inebriation or a combination of both! but generally, it was a feeling of shrugged shoulders,it had to end sometime,but in those nine years,we went from being a romantic club sprinkled with legend, my grandfather would talk about Patsy Gallagher,Jimmy McGrory,etc, My auld man would rave about Charlie Tully,i first supported Celtic pre Jock Stein,which i call the 'gash years'! but during the first nine,we slapped a strong,competitive Scottish league stupid,dominated in europe,destroyed 'catenaccio' unleashed a new brand of football, (adopted by many clubs, including Holland!), became respected and feared,throughout Europe, became world renowned,the foundation of what we are todayHail Hail Celtic,YNWA ☘ ☘☘🍺🥳 jeez need a beer noo!
It's all true, I wiz wae him.HH