Lille v Celtic - Match Thread

Personally, this one is a write off for me. We take anything from it, it's simply seen as a bonus. I hope to see a fight from the team though. Something that the players can take confidence from going into the Aberdeen game. I see that game as a clean slate, fresh start. Expect the ball to start rolling from there, rack up the wins, pick up form. The Aberdeen game is where the season for us really needs to start. I'm nervous that it won't though and we might keep slogging along, but having given some good thought into it, I really believe in this squad to come good and deliver 10iar.
On the other hand, a heavy defeat will do nobody any good connected with our club. Morale is fragile to say the least. I prefer us to look for a win. That's the Celtic i remember.

Definitely, Steviebhoy. Never want to see us just roll over. I'm just not going into it expecting anything. I'm sure that won be the case in the dressing room though. The bhoys will be quietly confident.

Remember Barcelona put seven by us with Rodgers in charge we groaned and thought man we are shite , then Bayern put same past spurs and we thought ah well Spurs must be struggling maybe, then they did it to Barcelona with 8 and we though that was a turn up for the books, thats football the unexpected is always around the corner, we go into battle setup to win, we go in with the mentality right and we leave with our heads held high, giving it your all in a game to me is the same as winning, its the manner in which you lose that determines your future.

No matter all of our concerns recently i still have that hope, belief in our club. We've lost nothing yet. Won every domestic trophy for years. Why shouldn't i expect that to continue? Because we may end up 3 points behind our rivals by winning our game in hand against St. Mirren? It's sevco who have the track record of imploding. Our record speaks for itself.

We all, a few years ago, hoped we would become a CL team under the deposed messiah, several arse skelpings later, home and away, that kind of faded. We then embarked upon a descent we're still on, leaving the competition a round earlier each season. The last two years by playing a midfielder at left back, leaving £10m of new defenders on the bench, only to be topped this year by going in without a striker. I cant for the life of me think why it didn't work, but, football is a funny game after all. Our decline has been consistent at least. We are now in the Europa, after scraping our way in after shit performances, that have also continued like the descent out of the CL. We lost our first game, wholly down to kamikaze defending and the wrong formation. Tomorrow we face the team that sits atop of the French league and an arse handing outcome would be seized upon to hopefully add more doom to our current situation. Well, fuck that, is what I say. We need to put up a fight and good show and as far as possible, take the game to them, rather than our disastrous tactics up until now, of trying to hang on, before we even get off the fucking bus.

Its all down to who we field. A good performance will hopefully ignite our fire, and a hiding the reverse. Lenny needs to get it right. The players, probably for the first time the season, need to turn up with the ability to beat a player and pass the baw more than five fucking yards in a forward direction, to a guy wearing our top. Too ambitious you crazy optimistic fool, I hear you shout. Well, there is no choice, and every single cunt in our travelling party need to realise that. I wish them well and hopefully, the journey there passes by a shop that sells spines. Get fucking stuck in from the off, and if we are to fall, at least go down fighting like fuck. Ta

We all, a few years ago, hoped we would become a CL team under the deposed messiah, several arse skelpings later, home and away, that kind of faded. We then embarked upon a descent we're still on, leaving the competition a round earlier each season. The last two years by playing a midfielder at left back, leaving £10m of new defenders on the bench, only to be topped this year by going in without a striker. I cant for the life of me think why it didn't work, but, football is a funny game after all. Our decline has been consistent at least. We are now in the Europa, after scraping our way in after shit performances, that have also continued like the descent out of the CL. We lost our first game, wholly down to kamikaze defending and the wrong formation. Tomorrow we face the team that sits atop of the French league and an arse handing outcome would be seized upon to hopefully add more doom to our current situation. Well, fuck that, is what I say. We need to put up a fight and good show and as far as possible, take the game to them, rather than our disastrous tactics up until now, of trying to hang on, before we even get off the fucking bus.

Its all down to who we field. A good performance will hopefully ignite our fire, and a hiding the reverse. Lenny needs to get it right. The players, probably for the first time the season, need to turn up with the ability to beat a player and pass the baw more than five fucking yards in a forward direction, to a guy wearing our top. Too ambitious you crazy optimistic fool, I hear you shout. Well, there is no choice, and every single cunt in our travelling party need to realise that. I wish them well and hopefully, the journey there passes by a shop that sells spines. Get fucking stuck in from the off, and if we are to fall, at least go down fighting like fuck. Ta
We've proved beyond doubt recently that our defence has been our weak point. Therefore as you rightly say we should try to impose OUR game plan on them and that means going on the front foot. To do so we pray Lenny feels the same and sets us up accordingly. No excuses. Show us the Celtic we love again guys. Stand off them and we're screwed. Play for the jersey you hope to wear in the semi at the weekend.

We need to select a team who can go forward at speed. Or, as you say, screwed is the outcome. I have decided to wear my mask during the game and to pull it up every time they get near our goal. That could mean seeing only about ten minutes of the game if we try and contain, but, Im willing to take that risk.

Remember Barcelona put seven by us with Rodgers in charge we groaned and thought man we are shite , then Bayern put same past spurs and we thought ah well Spurs must be struggling maybe then did it to Barcelona with 8 and we though that was a turn up for the books, thats football the unexpected is always around the corner, we go into battle setup to win, we go in with the mentality right and we leave with our heads held high, giving it your all in a game to me is the same as winning, its the manner in which you lose that determines your future.

And Shaktar reserves beat Real Madrid away from home only last week

We need to select a team who can go forward at speed. Or, as you say, screwed is the outcome. I have decided to wear my mask during the game and to pull it up every time they get near our goal. That could mean seeing only about ten minutes of the game if we try and contain, but, Im willing to take that risk.
maybe select a team that the French cannot beat 4 5 1 after all a point away is a victory

Not looking forward tae this match at all, if I'm being truth full.

I would go 4-3-1-2, calmac sitting MF,

Bain

Ajer
Derry Diddy
Bitton
Taylor

Frimpong
Calmac
Lax

Turnball

Ajeti
Eddie or Griff

Nitcham, Broon on bench, both have been off the pace last few matches & have contributed fuck all. Imo, go for 2-1 bhoys
☘️COYBIG☘️

Good team there boab.
How many permatations can we have even though a few players are missing we have a good depth, albeit we cannot expect some to be fully up to match pace albeit they are back and slowly making an impac, Rogic and Griffiths at the weekend was a breath of fresh air Ally and good to see, look forward to Bitton and El Hammad coming back, as i believe Julien might be a wee bit further behind.

I'm afraid if Ralston is the answer I didn't understand the question!
If the team have been getting bad reviews and players getting stick then Ralston has a chance to show what category he will fall into, besides if our ambition is to win the domestic title as the priority then lets use whos on the books and allow recovery time to others, stranger things have happened with fringe players. sometimes something just clicks with them and they go for it in a tangent,