Herald back page - Decision on Lennon's future

I think that the current pandemic situation might be decisive in the Celtic Boards thinking.

If its Martin and Roy they are going to want money spent in January, wee Gordon maybe not as much, most other managers would be asking how much am I getting, but with no match day income and profits way down I think the board will caw canny and stick with Neil, In the long term I've a sneaky suspicion that next season win or lose Neil will walk and the Barca assistant coach will be available to take over by then solving the Boards conundrum.

P.s I've been wrong before. 👉🙄👈

Lennon stating and has board backing for now. Time to get behind him and the team and win every domestic game remaining this season...

No, it most certainly is not!

If Celtic supporters of the past had that attitude we'd still have the Kellys in charge.

I'll support the team as always but don't ask me to turn a blind eye to the shambles that NL is as a modern-day manager.

:cautious:

Rock and a hard place for Celtic. In the aftermath of Martins reign we HAD to cut costs and get back to living within our means and WGS achieved that brilliantly . I believe coronavirus has left us with a much deadlier fiscal dilemma this time. I have less interest in the ten than I have in next season going forward. I believe if Celtic get good offers for Eddie, Ollie, Big Kris and Ryan that they will be compelled to let them go ( I think that's why we've stockpiled Soro, Turnbull, Taylor, Connell, Robertson, O'Connor and Welsh etc ), I may be wrong but this virus has brought the economies of every business to its knees and we would be naive to think bailing out football clubs would take precedence over peoples Jobs, Mortgages and the were withal to feed their families. The club are not daft they know we are in a rage with everyone about the ten but they also know we have to become CELTIC SUPPORTERS again and get behind Lenny and the team 🍀 🍀 🍀

Rather than leak his story to favoured journalists, should our obscenely paid CEO not come out and communicate with the support and explain why he thinks the manager should remain in his position and discuss the consequences of such a decision.
Put it on Celtic TV season ticket pass, that could be part of our added value we’ve yet to see!

Rock and a hard place for Celtic. In the aftermath of Martins reign we HAD to cut costs and get back to living within our means and WGS achieved that brilliantly . I believe coronavirus has left us with a much deadlier fiscal dilemma this time. I have less interest in the ten than I have in next season going forward. I believe if Celtic get good offers for Eddie, Ollie, Big Kris and Ryan that they will be compelled to let them go ( I think that's why we've stockpiled Soro, Turnbull, Taylor, Connell, Robertson, O'Connor and Welsh etc ), I may be wrong but this virus has brought the economies of every business to its knees and we would be naive to think bailing out football clubs would take precedence over peoples Jobs, Mortgages and the were withal to feed their families. The club are not daft they know we are in a rage with everyone about the ten but they also know we have to become CELTIC SUPPORTERS again and get behind Lenny and the team 🍀 🍀 🍀
I’d say the board have a bigger problem getting Celtic players behind the manager than Celtic supporters.
Also, it’s pointless stockpiling young promising players if you don’t give them game time. You can’t sell all your best players then replace them with what is effectively a reserve team, no matter how good they may become.

IF it's true that Lenny has the boards backing then we're in a worse place than i could imagine. The 10 is already over. The title is theirs to throw away. Give me any solid reason why I'm wrong? The fekn board better be ready for a huge backlash as many won't renew ST's. Merchandise will also suffer. WE give our club our hard earned cash at a time when many are strugling. The board side with Lenny. Furious😡

I don't know how the west coast media circus spins. I assume that there are certain Celtic-facing journalists that have a direct line to members of the board and then use that information to put out the feelers in a wee headline before collating the feedback.

I really don't know, good sports journalism stopped being an actual thing in Scotland a long time ago and it seems that most writers pluck their bylines from an unsuspecting blog or site and then run it as 'a source close to the club'.

This is not about headlines in newspapers though, this is about the best way forward for Celtic and the decisions that have to be made that will ensure we remain competitive throughout this season.

Although I have backed the board and don't necessarily want to see or hear from them on a regular basis - this is one of those times when their silence is deafening and their anonymity is almost a dereliction of their duties.

We've watched how Donald Trump has retreated to his bunker after the American election and refused to participate in his presidential duties. This appears to be exactly what the senior executives of our club have also been doing in the wake of our poor form.

Hiding from the problem doesn't make it go away.

I personally think that Lenny should be given the opportunity to decide himself how he wants to proceed, but he needs to be honest with himself, and us, in his decision making process. He expects honesty and commitment from the players and the board - the very least he can do is to extend that same loyalty and commitment to the fans.

If there are other reasons for our performances that we are not aware of - then Lenny has to present his case.

If there are working relationships that are impacting upon our results - then Lenny has to present his case.

If he is struggling with the burden and the responsibility and needs some real assistance - then Lenny has to present his case.

Thus far - Lenny's immediate responses after matches directly conflicts from what we've just witnessed on the pitch. We may not all be quantum physicists, but neither are we shiteswallowing fools like that other mob who would swallow swallow any pish that's presented to them.

Lenny has also thrown a few rocks at players without providing full context and that is not a comforting image of what goes on behind the scenes.

As it currently stands, Lenny himself appears to be in a similar predicament to the aforementioned American president. He is a lame duck manager as it stands. It looks like he knows he's on the outs and it seems at times as if he's half past giving a shit.

His demeanour in the dugout doesn't fill me with confidence. He looks detached from the events unfolding before him and doesn't seem to have the necessary responses to change the situation when it slips out of our control. The problem we have as fans regarding his capabilities is in how we measure his first stint in the job and then compare it to his track record since he first called time at Parkhead. It's now looking ever more likely the case that Lenny might have been more reliant on Johan Mjallby, Alan Thompson and Garry Parker than we initially thought. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but he needs to be forthright with the fans if this is the case.

I believe in Neil Lennon, but I also need to be able to believe him too.

As for the board. Stop hiding behind headlines and come out and do the jobs that you are all handsomely rewarded for. They're all front and centre on prizegiving days - then have a tendency to hide in dark corners when the shit hits the fan........it's the fans that hit the shits that they are that they should be worried aboot though.

Lennon has lost the dressing room. After every game, he’s naming players individually.
He’s also lost the majority of the fans.
The only people who still seem to be backing him are the board.
Can they not see, what’s in front of them every game?
The defence is a disgrace.
The midfielders are playing like a bunch of strangers.
The strikers are ALL unfit !!!.
WHY? The management!!!
They are playing players who are either unfit or just rubbish. It doesn’t matter how bad you play, your in the team for the next match.
There are players sitting in the stand, who were fit when they came to the club, but never get a game.
Please DD and PL get the management out and try and salvage something from this season.
It’s a good job that the fans aren’t getting into the matches just now, because after every game they’d be standing outside demanding the board and management get out!!!

I don't know how the west coast media circus spins. I assume that there are certain Celtic-facing journalists that have a direct line to members of the board and then use that information to put out the feelers in a wee headline before collating the feedback.

I really don't know, good sports journalism stopped being an actual thing in Scotland a long time ago and it seems that most writers pluck their bylines from an unsuspecting blog or site and then run it as 'a source close to the club'.

This is not about headlines in newspapers though, this is about the best way forward for Celtic and the decisions that have to be made that will ensure we remain competitive throughout this season.

Although I have backed the board and don't necessarily want to see or hear from them on a regular basis - this is one of those times when their silence is deafening and their anonymity is almost a dereliction of their duties.

We've watched how Donald Trump has retreated to his bunker after the American election and refused to participate in his presidential duties. This appears to be exactly what the senior executives of our club have also been doing in the wake of our poor form.

I personally think that Lenny should be given the opportunity to decide himself how he wants to proceed, but he needs to be honest with himself, and us, in his decision making process. He expects honesty and commitment from the players and the board - the very least he can do is to extend that same loyalty and commitment to the fans.

If there are other reasons for our performances that we are not aware of - then Lenny has to present his case.

If there are working relationships that are impacting upon our results - then Lenny has to present his case.

If he is struggling with the burden and the responsibility and needs some real assistance - then Lenny has to present his case.

Thus far - Lenny's immediate responses after matches directly conflicts from what we've just witnessed on the pitch. We may not all be quantum physicists, but neither are we shiteswallowing fools like that other mob who would swallow swallow any pish that's presented to them.

Lenny has also thrown a few rocks at players without providing full context and that is not a comforting image of what goes on behind the scenes.

As it currently stands, Lenny himself appears to be in a similar predicament to the aforementioned American president. He is a lame duck manager as it stands. It looks like he knows he's on the outs and it seems at times as if he's half past giving a shit.

His demeanour in the dugout doesn't fill me with confidence. He looks detached from the events unfolding before him and doesn't seem to have the necessary responses to change the situation when it slips out of our control. The problem we have as fans regarding his capabilities is in how we measure his first stint in the job and then compare it to his track record since he first called time at Parkhead. It's now looking ever more likely the case that Lenny might have been more reliant on Johan Mjallby, Alan Thompson and Garry Parker than we initially thought. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but he needs to be forthright with the fans if this is the case.

As for the board. Stop hiding behind headlines and come out and do the jobs that you are all handsomely rewarded for. They're all front and centre on prizegiving days - then have a tendency to hide in dark corners when the shit hits the fan........it's the fans that hit the shits that they are that they should be worried aboot though.
Excellent post SP. 👏👏👏👏👏

Lennon has lost the dressing room. After every game, he’s naming players individually.
He’s also lost the majority of the fans.
The only people who still seem to be backing him are the board.
Can they not see, what’s in front of them every game?
The defence is a disgrace.
The midfielders are playing like a bunch of strangers.
The strikers are ALL unfit !!!.
WHY? The management!!!
They are playing players who are either unfit or just rubbish. It doesn’t matter how bad you play, your in the team for the next match.
There are players sitting in the stand, who were fit when they came to the club, but never get a game.
Please DD and PL get the management out and try and salvage something from this season.
It’s a good job that the fans aren’t getting into the matches just now, because after every game they’d be standing outside demanding the board and management get out!!!
what kind of manager picks players he thinks are lazy and no trying?

When he has biggest squad to pick from?

And if they dont want to be here and he knows they are trouble why he no got shot of them?

And why is he publicly announcing these things after he loses but they are all superstars when we win?

Is he bipolar?

I know he has periodic depression but does he also have periods of psychosis?

His interview style is erratic to say the least???

Rather than leak his story to favoured journalists, should our obscenely paid CEO not come out and communicate with the support and explain why he thinks the manager should remain in his position and discuss the consequences of such a decision.
Put it on Celtic TV season ticket pass, that could be part of our added value we’ve yet to see!

Peter Lawwell is not going to communicate directly with us any time soon imo.....he knows that we know.....that he was in on the 5 way stitch up and the stitch up of Res 12.....that’s the way he’s going to be remembered imo.....I’m betting he will be gone within 12 months...

Sorry WC but I can’t agree yes I’ll always support Celtic but I cannot follow NFL blindly we have too much at stake.
we supposedly have the best players in the SPL.
all we need imo is a manager who can get these wee Darlings to play fitba.
for the very handsome rewards they get now and if they play to there obvious talents the transfer to the obscenity of the EPL. Where they’ll become rich bench warmers. Love NFL for what he’s done what he’s had to suffer. But his Time Has come.
Just remember the the famous picture of Jock being replaced by Billy McNeill.
no one’s irreplaceable we move on
People and players come and go
But CELTIC FANS will always be here.

I’d say the board have a bigger problem getting Celtic players behind the manager than Celtic supporters.
Also, it’s pointless stockpiling young promising players if you don’t give them game time. You can’t sell all your best players then replace them with what is effectively a reserve team, no matter how good they may become.
What I'm saying is that we may have no choice in selling off players and we'd still have the core of Elhamed, Bition, Julienne, Broony, McGregor, Forrest, Griff, Ajeti, Rogic etc. We've lost three great youngsters to the Bundesliga this season alone and sooner or later we will have to cut our wage bill drastically 🍀
IF it's true that Lenny has the boards backing then we're in a worse place than i could imagine. The 10 is already over. The title is theirs to throw away. Give me any solid reason why I'm wrong? The fekn board better be ready for a huge backlash as many won't renew ST's. Merchandise will also suffer. WE give our club our hard earned cash at a time when many are strugling. The board side with Lenny. Furious😡
But we have to remember that the board backed the manager to the tune of 17 million Stevie - its not as though we went back to the biscuit tin philosophy 🍀

I think that the current pandemic situation might be decisive in the Celtic Boards thinking.

If its Martin and Roy they are going to want money spent in January, wee Gordon maybe not as much, most other managers would be asking how much am I getting, but with no match day income and profits way down I think the board will caw canny and stick with Neil, In the long term I've a sneaky suspicion that next season win or lose Neil will walk and the Barca assistant coach will be available to take over by then solving the Boards conundrum.

P.s I've been wrong before. 👉🙄👈
Sounds realistic to me 🍀

Great post - AS USUAL !! (y)(y)🍀

Brilliant post SP. If Lenny is in his final days (and let's be honest, it looks like he will be unless there is a massive change) then I'd rather he went down fighting - but not with players via in press conferences. Where is the tenacity for which he was famed and loved? Get your players fired up so they give a shite. Stop playing the folk who are "lazy" and clearly don't care. All our squad have a huge amount of skill but at the moment they have lost the heart for a battle.

And if you can't do this any more Neil then please admit this and walk away.