January Transfer Window Thread

Wee Taylor got a bit of a hard rub for not being the flying full-back hitting the byline after shimmying past the entire opposition defence, but he also knew he couldn't cross a road; however - he did deliver some decent flat square passes into the box that caused a bit of damage.

I think we were ruined wie KT prepared to hit the byline and ping in decent balls. Defenders love facing the ball so anything from 25 yards out is bread and butter to them, that's why actual wingers who play wie chalk on their boots are worth their weight in gold.
Totally agree. Taylor wanted to give and go and hit the byline. Seemed to be under instruction to deliver early, he certainly can't drop the shoulder and do it for himself due to the lack of acceleration.
Mikey likes the chalk and he's in the post (y)

Totally agree. Taylor wanted to give and go and hit the byline. Seemed to be under instruction to deliver early, he certainly can't drop the shoulder and do it for himself due to the lack of acceleration.
Mikey likes the chalk and he's in the post (y)
Niall, I'm a bit old-fashioned. I like predominantly lefties playing on the left and the righties on the right. I like them going outside their man because it automatically creates space in the middle.

There's nothing wrong with coming inside, but we were really predictable because Ely and Corpus were both playing on their 'wrong' sides and coming inside ALL the time.

It gets to be like rush hour at spaghetti junction when you have that many bodies converging in the middle of the park and it's not difficult to defend against.

As long as Lenny remembers that MJ is a winger and no a centre forward then he's effectively a new player for us when he's fit.

Niall, I'm a bit old-fashioned. I like predominantly lefties playing on the left and the righties on the right. I like them going outside their man because it automatically creates space in the middle.

There's nothing wrong with coming inside, but we were really predictable because Ely and Corpus were both playing on their 'wrong' sides and coming inside ALL the time.

It gets to be like rush hour at spaghetti junction when you have that many bodies converging in the middle of the park and it's not difficult to defend against.

As long as Lenny remembers that MJ is a winger and no a centre forward then he's effectively a new player for us when he's fit.
As a limited striker myself I fully agree. The lines of the box are mine! the touchlines are for wingers to supply me. This inverted wingers and number 10's becoming second strikers would have done my nut in. I just wanted a brute beside me to take the hits and knock the ball on and wingers to play the ball to the front post or low to the back. Simple game overcomplicated these days.

Think Soro offers genuine protection. We looked not bad when we lost posession for the first time in god knows how long. Totally agree shape is a bit off to say the least, but if we settle on that back four we can work on that (if we actually do shape!) Plus Ajer at right back is the future :)
For the first 15-20 mins I thought we looked a bit shaky. Not pressing or covering well and were having problems finding space in possession. But it got better as the game went on and they got into their stride.
Lenny would be crazy to change this at the weekend. If he does and anything goes wrong he’ll get crucified.

For the first 15-20 mins I thought we looked a bit shaky. Not pressing or covering well and were having problems finding space in possession. But it got better as the game went on and they got into their stride.
Lenny would be crazy to change this at the weekend. If he does and anything goes wrong he’ll get crucified.
I'll be doing some of the nailing mate :ROFLMAO:

Loved Lennys interview, kept a lid on it, not getting carried away and batted away the questions of pressure and stress. Come on Lenny we're behind you, mostly!

That's the thing Hoopy even us lot who weren't keen on having Lenny back still wanted to get behind him and see him smash the 10 when he got the gig permanently......still have a lot of love and respect for the man for his contribution to Celtic over the last 20 years but when you look at what happened tonight for example, his refusal to play these bhoys earlier and his stubborn resistance to drop under-performing favourites, then you can't help but question his judgement and ability as a manager.

I agree with that SP. I like a player going outside. A lefty on the right, and vice versa , is very predictable cutting inside. Not too hard too stop if you have a defender who can tackle. If a winger with pace can go either way then the options are open to exploit defenders . Mikey Johnson is a real talent in that regard but injury record is poor. Would love to see him back to full fitness.

As a limited striker myself I fully agree. The lines of the box are mine! the touchlines are for wingers to supply me. This inverted wingers and number 10's becoming second strikers would have done my nut in. I just wanted a brute beside me to take the hits and knock the ball on and wingers to play the ball to the front post or low to the back. Simple game overcomplicated these days.
You twa are like the offspring coaches of Brian Clough.
You defender win it then....give the ball to someone who can play, a midfielder probably, midfielder pass it to winger....you run up the wing and cross it....you striker get on that cross and score, got that? Go then.

Don't know if you have seen the Marc Crossly interviews about his Notts Forrest days under Clough, check them oot it's pretty funny.

Think Soro offers genuine protection. We looked not bad when we lost posession for the first time in god knows how long. Totally agree shape is a bit off to say the least, but if we settle on that back four we can work on that (if we actually do shape!) Plus Ajer at right back is the future :)

You know whit I'll give Ajer the thumbs up at right back......even if it's just to stop you going on and on about it! Oh and told ye a back 3 was a bag o shite! 😂(y)

Aye I thought Soro was immense mate, Julien especially looked more settled with Soro in front of him breaking up their attacks and getting the early blocks in.

Tell you another thing I noticed tonight, I've never been keen on Calmac as a captain, for us or Scotland, never looked much of a leader even when hes playing well, but tonight he was organising, being vocal, looked every inch the captain.
Great wee player but hes still being plyd out of position, Calmacs never a defensive or a central holding midfielder.
We have plenty good final third midfielders, but lacking in genuine defensive midfielders & thats been obvious for seasons now.
Being hit for cheap goals will continue until a core defensive midfield partnership is established.

Concern is how NFL has missed the obvious? Overlooked Sorro!

Was NFL being enouraged / or told to play Ntcham ( for the shop window)?
We know NFL was being told to forget Rogic, as Pistol had done the math & offloaded, but we only know because Rogic said no thanks and NFL soon enough started picking him.