May election

Why is the SNP banging on about oil when we should be moving away from that. According to Boris the UK (mainly scotland) can become the saudi Arabia of windpower.
The snp should be looking at that instead of oil where prices fluctuates too much
Have a drive in the country side wind turbines every where they’re even out at Sea all ooer Bonnie Racist Scotia.
And outside Trumps Gowf Course Scotia is one of the World’s leading Fu o wind cuntries in da world. Usually the 12th thurs aload o windy clarty bastards blowin sum shite aboot Sashes thur Sister/das wear

HH 😱

Why is the SNP banging on about oil when we should be moving away from that. According to Boris the UK (mainly scotland) can become the saudi Arabia of windpower.
The snp should be looking at that instead of oil where prices fluctuates too much
Not heard them banging on about it but like any other country you'll talk about the assets you have oil ,wind ,wave turbines , seafood ,whiskey and on and on it's called fighting there corner

These assets are what westminster are desperate to hold onto because there worth billions to the treasurey ,,,,but tell us there worth nothing

every country that has oil fields in the world they still explore them ,,,oil won't ever go away

In actual fact it was a certain Alex Salmond who first used that statement regarding wind power. As usual Boris is late to catch on. As for oil nobody is "banging on" about it; but I think it would be foolish not to acknowledge the fact that it's there.
The world should be moving away from fossil fuels. Its small minded to be taking about oil as this great thing. Last year America were paying $36 a barrel to people who would take it off their hands.
We should be more forward thinking, we could have all houses in Scotland running on wind power, with bills much lower than they currently are

The world should be moving away from fossil fuels. Its small minded to be taking about oil as this great thing. Last year America were paying $36 a barrel to people who would take it off their hands.
We should be more forward thinking, we could have all houses in Scotland running on wind power, with bills much lower than they currently are
I agree with you 100% Glasbhoy81, but there's not one of the major parties would entertain that at present. That's exactly why I'll probably change my allegiance if Scotland votes yes. I believe the environment will sooner, rather than later, become the major issue in world politics. Only by taking such decisions out of the hands of Westminster can we make it happen.

The oil prices crashed because opec and Russia had agreed to pump more while America dropped production going with reserves instead that and the start of the pandemic helped crash the price ,,,over supply not enough demand ,,,just sayin like

Just as a PS to this thread, the Westminster government has announced only this week that they intend to drill in the north sea again. Only my opinion, but their rhetoric about the environment is purely lip service. No more than tokenism. Sadly, that applies to all the major parties. As I said before, sometimes you have to be pragmatic and cut your cloth; even when you don't agree with things.

I agree with you 100% Glasbhoy81, but there's not one of the major parties would entertain that at present. That's exactly why I'll probably change my allegiance if Scotland votes yes. I believe the environment will sooner, rather than later, become the major issue in world politics. Only by taking such decisions out of the hands of Westminster can we make it happen.
It just makes sense, Scotland is windy as fuck and we have the technology. We also should be looking at tidal energy, tidal turbines are 80% efficient, which is more then wind turbines.
I just don't think now during a global pandemic and just after Brexit is the time to be holding a 2nd referendum. I think if they did hold the vote to early we could miss out on independence again

How Screaming Lord Sutch wiz NEVER Prime Minister wiz a Fukin DISGRACE 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.. Honestly thank Fuk I never need tae work agane so as I say cdn't give a Flying Fuk!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
This having to work is a pain in the arse mate. I’ve been tied up with crap for the last couple of weeks. It gets in the way of reading the Noise and other mair enjoyable activities.
😩☹️

It just makes sense, Scotland is windy as fuck and we have the technology. We also should be looking at tidal energy, tidal turbines are 80% efficient, which is more then wind turbines.
I just don't think now during a global pandemic and just after Brexit is the time to be holding a 2nd referendum. I think if they did hold the vote to early we could miss out on independence again
Already doing Tidal energy wind power
They shut the pits in the 80’s mate it wiz oan aw the news programming and in the papers. Hoose builders are putting solar panels on new Hoose’s we even burn our household waste in EFW plants (energy from waste) although not enough evidence that they’re as energy efficient as they should be. That’s the cooncil I work for Edinburgh oh I worked at Bilston Glen Scab central during the miners strike cleanest coal in the Uk if not the world was used to sweeten imports from abroad which were dirty as Donald Duck. But funnily Scotia is seen as a progressive country for its Green credentials just sayin

HH 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

We also spread human shite on fields and call it biosolids ,and see some of them lovely forests we have , some of them have large pits dug in them and filled with all human sludge from the sewerage works ,it's smeared in lime before being dumped and then filled over and the guy standin operating the conveyor belt eaten his piece while the stench would drop an army says he canny smell a thing

going green ain't so great ,,,be careful what you pish for

My experience of being a young adult in the late 60’s was quite good my husband Pat had a job as an electrician in Glasgow Corporation. And through that we managed to get a mortgage to buy our first flat for the sum of £1450. But in the early 70’s Pat got made redundant from the shipyards and we emigrated to South Africa. I hated it there because of the Apartheid system and the many injustices of their country. We left just over a year later. When we arrived back in Glasgow we had enough money left to get a deposit for a flat in Dennistoun. Pat managed to get back into Govan shipbuilders. But it was tough under Thatcher government, we had the poll tax and the area wher Pat grew up Garthamlock was in a right state of deprivation. Life wasn’t easy either in the 80’s when our first daughter was born and there was no work here and Pat was forced to go and work in London. He got a job on Canary Wharf he wasn’t employed by the company it was self employed now so no sick pay or holiday pay. At the same time the oil was flowing and the money was going straight into Thatchers coffers. And with that money they built Canary Whatf, M5 ring road, Blachwall tunnel and many other projects I don’t know about as London was booming. So it was both Labour and the Tories who hid from the Scottish people the amount of money they were stealing from us by stamping the McCrone report as top secret. It was a FOI in 1985/6 that they released what had been done. There was a policy during this time of a managed decline in both Glasgow and Liverpool.
im still angry that £13trillion has been taken from Scotland. Now just yesterday there is a report that the U.K. government have granted licenses for drilling up in Shetland. Now what do you think they will use that money for? Brexit fiasco and Covid fiasco maybe.
Labour had their chance to help Scotland and failed us. Tories hate working poor and will always want to keep us begging for scraps.
I will be voting SNP for independence not obviously for me at my age but for my Grandchildren to hope they will have the opportunity to live in a country where they will get the government they vote for in an independent Scotland. And by that time I hope new parties will have come into play and not based on ‘right or left’ but progressive parties there for the citizens of the country like Norway for example.
as for those not voting that is your choice but remember working people had to fight tooth and nail to get the vote.

Cameron and the rest of the tories were looking at ways of metering oil of the coast of shetland so it technicaly wasn't landed on Scottish shore and were also looking at shetland being independant of Scots law ,if i mind right the biggest oil field found was just off the coast of Shetland maybe that's the one there going to drill

I just vaguely remember before the 2014 referendum they told us that there wasn’t any oil left in the fields, and then just after the referendum it came out that there was two fields in Shetland.

yes I heard that the Shetlands would like to be independent and I don’t see why they won’t be once Scotland gets out of the U.K. Union as that’s democracy if they want it.

Listen its clearly this simple snp both votes then we decide who we want ffs grasp the moment Lets get rid of outside influences then we go forward its a no brainer. Alba go bragh
Why not vote greens, they want independence too.
They also want a 4 day working week for the same wages

My experience of being a young adult in the late 60’s was quite good my husband Pat had a job as an electrician in Glasgow Corporation. And through that we managed to get a mortgage to buy our first flat for the sum of £1450. But in the early 70’s Pat got made redundant from the shipyards and we emigrated to South Africa. I hated it there because of the Apartheid system and the many injustices of their country. We left just over a year later. When we arrived back in Glasgow we had enough money left to get a deposit for a flat in Dennistoun. Pat managed to get back into Govan shipbuilders. But it was tough under Thatcher government, we had the poll tax and the area wher Pat grew up Garthamlock was in a right state of deprivation. Life wasn’t easy either in the 80’s when our first daughter was born and there was no work here and Pat was forced to go and work in London. He got a job on Canary Wharf he wasn’t employed by the company it was self employed now so no sick pay or holiday pay. At the same time the oil was flowing and the money was going straight into Thatchers coffers. And with that money they built Canary Whatf, M5 ring road, Blachwall tunnel and many other projects I don’t know about as London was booming. So it was both Labour and the Tories who hid from the Scottish people the amount of money they were stealing from us by stamping the McCrone report as top secret. It was a FOI in 1985/6 that they released what had been done. There was a policy during this time of a managed decline in both Glasgow and Liverpool.
im still angry that £13trillion has been taken from Scotland. Now just yesterday there is a report that the U.K. government have granted licenses for drilling up in Shetland. Now what do you think they will use that money for? Brexit fiasco and Covid fiasco maybe.
Labour had their chance to help Scotland and failed us. Tories hate working poor and will always want to keep us begging for scraps.
I will be voting SNP for independence not obviously for me at my age but for my Grandchildren to hope they will have the opportunity to live in a country where they will get the government they vote for in an independent Scotland. And by that time I hope new parties will have come into play and not based on ‘right or left’ but progressive parties there for the citizens of the country like Norway for example.
as for those not voting that is your choice but remember working people had to fight tooth and nail to get the vote.
The greens want independence too

I just vaguely remember before the 2014 referendum they told us that there wasn’t any oil left in the fields, and then just after the referendum it came out that there was two fields in Shetland.

yes I heard that the Shetlands would like to be independent and I don’t see why they won’t be once Scotland gets out of the U.K. Union as that’s democracy if they want it.
The oil projections changed overnight funny that and then the morning after the result the ones doing the figures all received fracking licenses for multiple ares of Scotland

Must have been coincidence right enough or even a reward , the two fields they announced were the largest found

When the SNP get voted in again and yet again ask people to vote for a referendum that Westminster has already frequently said they will not give permission for , what do you do?