Turnbull's Greedy Agent knocks back ‘Magnificent’ Celtic offer

Meanwhile, back on the original topic . . . if the guy (or his agent) doesn't want the boy to play for the Hoops, move on.

It brings up another topic, probably meant for another thread, but to me I think the club appears to be in good shape, and all the talk of acquisitions a little overboard (and it seems to me that some people want to acquire players just to acquire players).

Up front with Leigh Griffiths back joining Eddy and with wee Dembele (and Johnstone may come into his own next season), midfield we might be losing Ntcham but we still have Christie, CalMac, Sinclair (who, yeah, ran out of gas at the end of the season, but could recharge), Shved and Forrest, anchored by Broony (and hopefully -- or at least I hope this -- Tom Rogic stays), and even the backfield anchored by Ajer, Jozo and Tierney -- and maybe someone else -- seems like a solid team for 9 in a row.

Correct. But I still think we will add quality. We have taken a sore one as I thought this lad could be good for us, but that’s gone. The impetus to sign him or someone like him remains and I’m sure we will get someone. The greatest neeed was for a RB and a CB. That’s isn’t affected by this.

As you said Shved is also coming who I think will be a star and we also have young Arzani coming back fit and needing to prove himself. Which suits us.

I woke up this morning not all depressed. Shit happens and I’m hearing we offered him £12k a week but his agent wanted £20k.

We move on and the board get back to getting the main players our team needs in defence. And as I said help for the midfield is also a cert. and if I’m wrong, I will drink all michaels Stella as a punishment. Fuck the sevconians, let them laugh, they won’t be laughing long. Of that, for the first time in years, I know we will spend to move forward, leaving they cunts reeling. It’s already happened, for it is written. Just there, by me. HH

It has come out that he is demanding wages of £20,000 from Celtic. It's pure greed - this isn't looking out for the interests of your client, it's using good press to try and make you and your client as rich as possible. This tells me that these jokers have been having us on from the beginning. They can all fuck off. We want players who want to play for Celtic. But this is a sign of things to come. A semi-decent, good prospect for Motherwell who has had one good season now believes he's worth £20,000 per week. He should fuck off to the Chinese League. Mercenary. Clearly not a Celtic fan.

I really hope Turnbull gets a move to Southampton. A club that will almost certainly be fighting relegation next season and a club for which he'll almost certainly get extremely limited game time. He's not Andrea Pirlo. He's not going to be walking into that team or any team - he obviously wouldn't have walked into our team. This kid is either a fucking raging egoist or his agents are absolute hucksters. Good luck getting 20 grand a week bench-warming - if that. He'll be lucky to make the bench.

People are constantly wondering what's wrong with young players in Scottish fitba. Could it possibly be that they look at superstar young footballers (not even just those superstar names, but even mid-range EPL players who are on 65-80 grand a week). on Instagram (or whatever the fuck it's called - the photo one) with their $75,000 watches, their 16 motors, their 12 mansions and their lives of fairy tale luxury and it's this base, crude and evil materialism that motivates them in life more than the actual romance and beauty that used to be football?

I really hope Turnbull gets a move to Southampton. A club that will almost certainly be fighting relegation next season and a club for which he'll almost certainly get extremely limited game time. He's not Andrea Pirlo. He's not going to be walking into that team or any team - he obviously wouldn't have walked into our team. This kid is either a fucking raging egoist or his agents are absolute hucksters. Good luck getting 20 grand a week bench-warming - if that. He'll be lucky to make the bench.

People are constantly wondering what's wrong with young players in Scottish fitba. Could it possibly be that they look at Mbappe, Neymar etc (not even just those superstar names, but even mid-range EPL players who are on 65 grand a week). on Instagram (or whatever the fuck it's called - the photo one) with their $75,000 watches, their 16 motors, their 12 mansions and their lives of fairy tale luxury and it's this base, crude and evil materialism that motivates them in life more than the actual romance and beauty that used to be football?

There are brilliant young players who are on a fortune. He isn’t anywhere near that level and should have taken our offer. I’m sure if he progressed his wages would have gone up. He would be playing on the CL stage to see if he could cope and if he did he moves for big money.

Fucking Barnsley? Who is going to be watching him there?

No cunt. A huge mistake for him career wise. One day he will realise that.

Whilst the PR is on Celtic’s side, we should walk away if offer hasn’t been accepted.

Now that this has became so public, nothing good will come of it if he signs.

Doubts of commitment of the player to the jersey will almost be instant amongst fans, other youngsters at club will no doubt resent him if he walks into a £10k contract that they are all desperate to get to. Is he genuinely better than what we have in this position!!!!

There are brilliant young players who are on a fortune. He isn’t anywhere near that level and should have taken our offer. I’m sure if he progressed his wages would have gone up. He would be playing on the CL stage to see if he could cope and if he did he moves for big money.

Fucking Barnsley? Who is going to be watching him there?

No cunt. A huge mistake for him career wise. One day he will realise that.

The ethos in football back in the day was that talent came before money - you earned money through your talent and proving yourself. This lad, or whoever is advising him (or a mixture of the two), genuinely thinks 30-odd games for Motherwell and 16 goals means he ought to be one of Celtic's highest earners.

Whilst the PR is on Celtic’s side, we should walk away if offer hasn’t been accepted.

Now that this has became so public, nothing good will come of it if he signs.

Doubts of commitment of the player to the jersey will almost be instant amongst fans, other youngsters at club will no doubt resent him if he walks into a £10k contract that they are all desperate to get to. Is he genuinely better than what we have in this position!!!!

If he decides to accept it after realising his agent made acroaring cunt if it I would be ok. Who among us didn’t make an arse of things at 19? I definitely wouldn’t be in that queue.

The ethos in football back in the day was that talent came before money - you earned money through your talent and proving yourself. This lad, or whoever is advising him (or a mixture of the two), genuinely thinks 30-odd games for Motherwell and 16 goals means he ought to be one of Celtic's highest earners.

There was a time when even great players were paid a relative pittance with most ex players opening pubs to get by. I’m all for players gettting a good wage if their club make big money. It has gone a bit mental though. He has ini jed back £640k a year, minus bonuses. Daft

People are constantly wondering what's wrong with young players in Scottish fitba. Could it possibly be that they look at superstar young footballers (not even just those superstar names, but even mid-range EPL players who are on 65-80 grand a week). on Instagram (or whatever the fuck it's called - the photo one) with their $75,000 watches, their 16 motors, their 12 mansions and their lives of fairy tale luxury and it's this base, crude and evil materialism that motivates them in life more than the actual romance and beauty that used to be football?
Suppose its real though when the footballers post pics of their expensive possessions,its the delusional people that make me laugh ,the ones that like to pretend theyre living these luxury lifestyles?the ones that save up a months wages for a pair of Gucci trainers or a LV bag ,im sure we all know 1 or 2 ?

As a recovering socialist, and I'm not endorsing Hugo Chavez in any meaningful way or trying to initiate a debate about him, there's a quote of his about how most people just want to live happy lives where they don't have to worry about money. Not mansions. No yachts. Not 15 cars. Not designer this, that and the next thing. But just financial stability in society - being able to have moments of luxury or fun and all things that make life worth living (beyond family). So I get a bit moralistic when it comes to this horrific materialism. It's perhaps an influence of Sufis Islamic and Catholic values when it comes to materialism and its false dawns and superficial horizons. Or I could just be a jealous fucker.

People are constantly wondering what's wrong with young players in Scottish fitba. Could it possibly be that they look at Mbappe, Neymar etc (not even just those superstar names, but even mid-range EPL players who are on 65 grand a week). on Instagram (or whatever the fuck it's called - the photo one) with their $75,000 watches, their 16 motors, their 12 mansions and their lives of fairy tale luxury and it's this base, crude and evil materialism that motivates them in life more than the actual romance and beauty that used to be football?

I remember Andrea Pirlo (pronounced Ann-dray-yaa) when he was just a six year old at Atalanta's training ground in Bergamo in 1985 while on holiday visiting my sister.
All the talk was about him and the uncanny skill he had, which I said to my brother in law, reminded me of Jimmy Johnstone.

It seems nuts to say this way back then (July '85) but his outstanding dribbling skill and concentration... staring down at the ball for long seconds before he kicked it....that everyone watching (about 40 people) would not deny a seemingly 'stupid' statement that this little boy (and he was a very small 6 year old) was going to play for Italy in a world cup final....and win it.

Make no mistake, there was something more about this boy, he was different, he was more committed, he was supremely concentrated, but more than anything he looked like he loved doing what he was doing.
This was a rare, cold and soaking wet July in Milan in Lombardy and Tuscany was no better, but it seemed no amount of rain would put this little whizz kid off....At the end of his 30 minutes we were all in the lounge warming up, drying off, having an expresso, watching this little brat doing Formula 1 doughnuts, all the while STILL trying to hold the ball up at the end of his toe.....in torrential rain !!!!

Honestly, I don't think Andrea even noticed it WAS raining,.....Glasgow AND Scotland could have learned something about rain that day.......and no more moaning for the rest of the summer....

If any other Celtic fan ever witnessed this particular afternoon they would do as I did and approach this laddie and ask him if he had a Scottish grannie, and wanted to play for Scotland.
I even suggested to his Dad Sandro, that Italy are brilliant, they always will be, and the then current world champions full of star quality players, may never call on his son to play for them.....so..... if I could organise Andrea a Scottish grannie or blood connection would you let him and encourage him to play international football.....with us!!!!

His dad, a statuesque and tall man, of Giacinto Facchetti film star looks, looked at me for a few seconds, then leaned back in his chair with hands in his pockets, while Andrea's mum was stripping off his soaking wet clothes, bent down low towelling his back and legs dry...went wide eyed staring at me while Andrea (still not letting this filthy wet ball go from under his arms) was stretching over a table snatching at a cream bun, AND didn't even afford me the respect of looking at me when he answered me saying emphatically "I'm GOING.........to play for Italy".
And that was that!

But it wasn't what he said that hit me, it was the intensity in the way he said it, and the forced broken spacing between his words. This boy knew, even at six, of his own brilliant capabilities, and did it with a confidence and verve that didn't need a word from his own parents. The rest of Pirlo's story is legend. often being described as the best midfielder in the world in his day.

Everything about this little guy screamed a fabulous footballing future beckoned..... way, way back then, where even I couldn't fail to see that.
He, and his parents had travelled all the way from Fiero
(Lombardy, Italy) to be there that day, and I think only to showcase his abilities. (about a 150 mile round trip)
They knew that even then, their son had out of this world skill......one in only tens of millions of other peoples sons....and THEY knew that Andrea knew that!

Nowadays I think back to that shitty summer in Italy '85, and remember everything about that time and feel privileged to have had a few minutes in his life, the only 'sunshine' I had during the whole time there that year.

The soon to be Great Franco Baresi was an onlooker that day and was I assume there to see what everyone was on about regarding Pirlo. I unfortunately was too late to have a word with him and maybe an autograph although I think he had only just started to hit the big time with AC Milan.

My brother in law joked that one day he might play against Scotland and "beat you lot all on his own", and how this came back to haunt us in 2007.
I do recall however suggesting then, that our own great Maestro Paul McStay may have a rival and said Pirlo himself might be called the Italian Maestro........as he is known by today.

However, Serie A team Brescia came for Pirlo at 7 years old, (1987) and at 14 (4'11") he played for Italy under 15's helping them beat Belgium 9 - 1, Austria 5 - 0 and USA 14 - 1... where Gazzetta Della Sport raved, described him as a genius, instrumental in assisting in 22 of the 28 goals Italy scored, scoring 4 himself.
Often misused, and yes an unchangeable, intrinsic ipse dixit from myself.... maybe, but Andrea Pirlo was a true footballing genius of the day.

Brescia paid him £7.50 a week at 15 years old (1994) (£375 a year) while at 19, (1998) with AC Milan, he was paid £195, 000 per week. (£9.75 million p.a). At Juventus in 2015 he was paid £255, 000 per week... (12.25 million p.a.) making him Juve's SECOND best paid player to goalkeeper Buffon!!!

Turnbull seems to want it all NOW without climbing the steady ladder to stardom.
If thats how it has to be, then I hope there's some one holding the ladder for him when he leaps up the rungs AND holding on tightly, because I don't think Motherwell or Celtic will be at the bottom waiting on him.... to cushion his fall... one bad injury and the sidelines of a forgotten man may be the best he can hope for.

Karamoko Dembele....... humility......enough said.

I remember Andrea Pirlo (pronounced Ann-dray-yaa) when he was just a six year old at Atalanta's training ground in Bergamo in 1985 while on holiday visiting my sister.
All the talk was about him and the uncanny skill he had, which I said to my brother in law, reminded me of Jimmy Johnstone.

It seems nuts to say this way back then (July '85) but his outstanding dribbling skill and concentration... staring down at the ball for long seconds before he kicked it....that everyone watching (about 40 people) would not deny a seemingly 'stupid' statement that this little boy (and he was a very small 6 year old) was going to play for Italy in a world cup final....and win it.

Make no mistake, there was something more about this boy, he was different, he was more committed, he was supremely concentrated, but more than anything he looked like he loved doing what he was doing.
This was a rare, cold and soaking wet July in Milan in Lombardy and Tuscany was no better, but it seemed no amount of rain would put this little whizz kid off....At the end of his 30 minutes we were all in the lounge warming up, drying off, having an expresso, watching this little brat doing Formula 1 doughnuts, all the while STILL trying to hold the ball up at the end of his toe.....in torrential rain !!!!

Honestly, I don't think Andrea even noticed it WAS raining,.....Glasgow AND Scotland could have learned something about rain that day.......and no more moaning for the rest of the summer....

If any other Celtic fan ever witnessed this particular afternoon they would do as I did and approach this laddie and ask him if he had a Scottish grannie, and wanted to play for Scotland.
I even suggested to his Dad Sandro, that Italy are brilliant, they always will be, and the then current world champions full of star quality players, may never call on his son to play for them.....so..... if I could organise Andrea a Scottish grannie or blood connection would you let him and encourage him to play international football.....with us!!!!

His dad, a statuesque and tall man, of Giacinto Facchetti film star looks, looked at me for a few seconds, then leaned back in his chair with hands in his pockets, while Andrea's mum was stripping off his soaking wet clothes, bent down low towelling his back and legs dry...went wide eyed staring at me while Andrea (still not letting this filthy wet ball go from under his arms) was stretching over a table snatching at a cream bun, AND didn't even afford me the respect of looking at me when he answered me saying emphatically "I'm GOING.........to play for Italy".
And that was that!

But it wasn't what he said that hit me, it was the intensity in the way he said it, and the forced broken spacing between his words. This boy knew, even at six, of his own brilliant capabilities, and did it with a confidence and verve that didn't need a word from his own parents. The rest of Pirlo's story is legend. often being described as the best midfielder in the world in his day.

Everything about this little guy screamed a fabulous footballing future beckoned..... way, way back then, where even I couldn't fail to see that.
He, and his parents had travelled all the way from Fiero
(Lombardy, Italy) to be there that day, and I think only to showcase his abilities. (about a 150 mile round trip)
They knew that even then, their son had out of this world skill......one in only tens of millions of other peoples sons....and THEY knew that Andrea knew that!

Nowadays I think back to that shitty summer in Italy '85, and remember everything about that time and feel privileged to have had a few minutes in his life, the only 'sunshine' I had during the whole time there that year.

The soon to be Great Franco Baresi was an onlooker that day and was I assume there to see what everyone was on about regarding Pirlo. I unfortunately was too late to have a word with him and maybe an autograph although I think he had only just started to hit the big time with AC Milan.

My brother in law joked that one day he might play against Scotland and "beat you lot all on his own", and how this came back to haunt us in 2007.
I do recall however suggesting then, that our own great Maestro Paul McStay may have a rival and said Pirlo himself might be called the Italian Maestro........as he is known by today.

However, Serie A team Brescia came for Pirlo at 7 years old, (1987) and at 14 (4'11") he played for Italy under 15's helping them beat Belgium 9 - 1, Austria 5 - 0 and USA 14 - 1... where Gazzetta Della Sport raved, described him as a genius, instrumental in assisting in 22 of the 28 goals Italy scored, scoring 4 himself.
Often misused, and yes an unchangeable, intrinsic ipse dixit from myself.... maybe, but Andrea Pirlo was a true footballing genius of the day.

Brescia paid him £7.50 a week at 15 years old (1994) (£375 a year) while at 19, (1998) with AC Milan, he was paid £195, 000 per week. (£9.75 million p.a). At Juventus in 2015 he was paid £255, 000 per week... (12.25 million p.a.) Juve's SECOND best paid player to goalkeeper Buffon!!!

Turnbull seems to want it all NOW without climbing the steady ladder to stardom.
If thats how it has to be, then I hope there's some one holding the ladder for him when he leaps up the rungs AND holding on tightly, because I don't think Motherwell or Celtic will be at the bottom waiting on him.... to cushion his fall... one bad injury and the sidelines of a forgotten man may be the best he can hope for.

Karamoko Dembele....... humility......enough said.
Great read tgjc always thought Pirlo "wiznae bad"! Hail Hail

If I REALLY was a bit smarter, then Michael, I should have offered his dad my skills (ahem) and the chance for son Andrea to have a good "agent" who will secure him great deals with great teams........like giving the late great Billy McNeill a quick call to grab his signature....(1987)......

The sleekit ones across the city......ok, your city......would still be going for one in a row, instead of being allowed to get nine!!
........I mean, Pirlo could have been a really great player!!!!!!!!!

The club met Motherwell's valuation, they offered this 19yr old kid terms that would see him earning more than TEN times his current wage and he had the opportunity to play for one of the world's most famous clubs who win trophies by the bucketload and play regularly in Europe, now if that's not enough for this boy then he can jog on.

As I've said previously I know nothing about this boy but what I do know is that our success next season isn't going to hinge on whether we sign a 19yr old kid from Motherwell.

He just looks like a greedy wee cunt.

I liked Kevin Kyles take on it. Don’t demand fkn earn it.

Yet monkey boys agent thinks Celtic are weird for putting it out there? Shut up you dick, its about time our club showed they won’t be held over a barrel and keep quiet.

You should concentrate on a fkn muzzle for the gromit you represent and keep your thick head on that chump.

Just read that Turnbull was apparently on a grand a week at Motherwell and his agant asked for a wage of 20 grand a week, from Celtic
Think of how that goes down in the dressing room among players who actually helped the Champions win the Treble Treble
If it were me, I'd have a face to face with my agent and inquire as to why I'm missing out on a massive opportunity, European nights and playing in front of 60,000 fans every other week
For the future, imagine him having 'Played for Glasgow Celtic' on his CV
He could then set big wage demands going forward
The kid is getting bad advice, otherwise, it's ta ta Mr T

Celtic have taken a bit of stick for the Twitter spat and the comparable figures being put out there.

I happen to make them right on that front, because any other side looking at Turnbull now know that the laddie's agents are bad actors on the negotiation stage.

Other clubs might put up better salary offers, but they'll only use that 20 grand as the top line figure, plus - no club will be overly happy at having to work with agents who are that loose-lipped in their deals.