CHRISTY MOORE

went tae see Christy in the Point in Dublin years ago, love his stuff but he's a miserable bastaart! the crowd started clappin and joined in when he started playin Lisdoonvarna, he stopped singin, put his guitar doon,said yeez are here tae here me, so clap when the song finishes!!!!! concert experience nosedive! great singer songwriter, but arrogant prick!

Bet he's not as bad as Van Morrison 😅😅

Loved his version of Back Home in Derry.

In 1803 we sailed out to sea
Out from the sweet town Derry
For Australia bound
If we didn't all drown
The marks of the fetters we carried
In rusty iron chains
We cried for our weans
Our good women we left sorrow
As the mainsails unfurled, our curses we hurled
On the English and thoughts of tomorrow
At the mouth of the Foyle, bid farewell to the soil
As down below decks we were lying
O' Doherty screamed, woken out of a dream
By a vision of Bold Robert dying
The sun burned cruel as we dished out the gruel
Dan O Connor was down with a fever
Sixty rebels today bound for Botany Bay
How many will reach their receiver

oooohhhh
I wish I was back home Derry

I cursed them to hell as her bow fought the swell
Our ship danced like a moth in the firelight
White horses rode high, as the devil passed by
Taking souls to Hades by twilight
Five weeks out to sea
We were now forty three
We buried our comrades each morning
In our slime lost in a time
endless night without dawning

Oh ooh ooh I wish I was back home Derry

Van Diemans land is a hell for a man
To end out his life in slavery
Where the climate is raw
And the gun makes the law
Neither wind or rain care for bravery
Twenty years have gone by
I've ended my bond
My comrades ghosts walk behind me
A rebel I came, I'm still the same
On cold winters night you will find me

Ooooohhhh ooohhhh ooohhhh
I wish I was back home in Derry

Loved his version of Back Home in Derry.

In 1803 we sailed out to sea
Out from the sweet town Derry
For Australia bound
If we didn't all drown
The marks of the fetters we carried
In rusty iron chains
We cried for our weans
Our good women we left sorrow
As the mainsails unfurled, our curses we hurled
On the English and thoughts of tomorrow
At the mouth of the Foyle, bid farewell to the soil
As down below decks we were lying
O' Doherty screamed, woken out of a dream
By a vision of Bold Robert dying
The sun burned cruel as we dished out the gruel
Dan O Connor was down with a fever
Sixty rebels today bound for Botany Bay
How many will reach their receiver

oooohhhh
I wish I was back home Derry

I cursed them to hell as her bow fought the swell
Our ship danced like a moth in the firelight
White horses rode high, as the devil passed by
Taking souls to Hades by twilight
Five weeks out to sea
We were now forty three
We buried our comrades each morning
In our slime lost in a time
endless night without dawning

Oh ooh ooh I wish I was back home Derry

Van Diemans land is a hell for a man
To end out his life in slavery
Where the climate is raw
And the gun makes the law
Neither wind or rain care for bravery
Twenty years have gone by
I've ended my bond
My comrades ghosts walk behind me
A rebel I came, I'm still the same
On cold winters night you will find me

Ooooohhhh ooohhhh ooohhhh
I wish I was back home in Derry
god bless Bobby Sands!
Tiocfaidh ár lá

He'd have got his baws kicked with an attitude like in Glesga