Guard of honour

Jinky1962

I don't know if thiers been a thread on this Guard of honour thing but apparently John hughes has said celtic should give the dead club a guard of honour.I say no way that's just another thing that they stopped along with cutting our fans into thier ground to only 800.so if celtic isn't half of anything they should start by buying a couple of coaches and driving to the other grounds themselves and banning all dead club fans from our ground.this isn't sour grapes because they won thier first title because iv been saying this long before that happened.it will say loud and clear we our doing what's best for our club now never mind the silly rules that only apply to every club but one.

My biggest gripe with this is the fact they have never given us one or us them before so why all the fuss now?

Also I remember a game in a cup final being bossed by them and winning 1-0 mostly thanks to our goalkeeper and the same club that we are being asked to give a guard of honour to walked off the pitch without even shaking hands and acted like petulant spoiled children.

So fuck John Hughes, fuck anyone else who wants Celtic to give a club that has no respect for any other team in the league and can build up so much debt without even being looked into also the only club in Britain who have, from their xenophobic mutant supporters to their criminally backed boardroom, an unjustified sense of entitlement that they should be winning and 'back where they belong.

The only thing I would give them a guard of honour for is if they were to share their watertight Covid protocols to the rest of the world and we might get rid of this pandemic without even having to rely on vaccinations......😏🤐

It has been an un-written mark of respect, but the huns broke with tradition in 2018 or was it 2019🤔 when they didn’t do it for us, so why should we show them the respect they didn’t show us any?

the only guard of honour I’d want to give them is the 460 creditors they bumped when they got liquidated, they could all line up from when they get of the bus in the car park, right though the main stand, to the dressing room, then out to the pitch, there more than enough of the face painters, news agents etc to do both sides and form a wee corridor and make them do a walk of shame, they could all put their hands out, palm up and ask for their money 😡😡

There was an argument for us taking the higher ground and setting better standards , but we dont need to do that to have the higher ground and better standards, we have always had those anyway. If anyone is still unsure about it just look at what happened last weekend, we had umpteen buses to tannadice and they were out destroying everything in their way in Glasgow city centre, their fans, attacking everything including each other and their players, management team throwing protocols out the window while the polis stood by and watched. We owe them nothing , they owe us the fact they have a club at all. Wherever they go , the trash trashes everything in sight be it Glasgow or Manchester or anywhere else. They are disgusting people, not all of them but a large majority, whereas other clubs have their own idiots it's always a minority but the powers that be across the city actively encourage their horrible hoards to break the law and anything else they can break in the name of ' celebration' and wont be punished for it. It will happen again I've no doubt and again they wont be punished for it . They know nothing about honour a guard of honour is completely wasted on them oldco or new. They deserve punishment not accolades .

My biggest gripe with this is the fact they have never given us one or us them before so why all the fuss now?

Also I remember a game in a cup final being bossed by them and winning 1-0 mostly thanks to our goalkeeper and the same club that we are being asked to give a guard of honour to walked off the pitch without even shaking hands and acted like petulant spoiled children.

So fuck John Hughes, fuck anyone else who wants Celtic to give a club that has no respect for any other team in the league and can build up so much debt without even being looked into also the only club in Britain who have, from their xenophobic mutant supporters to their criminally backed boardroom, an unjustified sense of entitlement that they should be winning and 'back where they belong.

The only thing I would give them a guard of honour for is if they were to share their watertight Covid protocols to the rest of the world and we might get rid of this pandemic without even having to rely on vaccinations......😏🤐
Well said Tbohy. HH

There was an argument for us taking the higher ground and setting better standards , but we dont need to do that to have the higher ground and better standards, we have always had those anyway. If anyone is still unsure about it just look at what happened last weekend, we had umpteen buses to tannadice and they were out destroying everything in their way in Glasgow city centre, their fans, attacking everything including each other and their players, management team throwing protocols out the window while the polis stood by and watched. We owe them nothing , they owe us the fact they have a club at all. Wherever they go , the trash trashes everything in sight be it Glasgow or Manchester or anywhere else. They are disgusting people, not all of them but a large majority, whereas other clubs have their own idiots it's always a minority but the powers that be across the city actively encourage their horrible hoards to break the law and anything else they can break in the name of ' celebration' and wont be punished for it. It will happen again I've no doubt and again they wont be punished for it . They know nothing about honour a guard of honour is completely wasted on them oldco or new. They deserve punishment not accolades .
Well said Winter, that lot and so called fans just cause trouble wherever they go. We disgraced ourselves only once in South America and our players were riled due to being kicked and spat at through out the game. John Hughes was sent off for using their goalkeeper as a punchbag this and other players actions caused Jock Stein a knighthood. So Yogi should think on regarding the Huns. After the Ibroke disaster were Celtic players and officials attended many a funeral you would have thought their players and fans would have become more friendly towards us. No way, its getting worse and the SFA and government do nothing. HH

Leave guards of honor to the military. We don't need them in football, some players will applaud you others won't. It's just a token gesture imo.☘️☘️
Aye well said Ally it's a token gesture all right and a meaningless one at that, nothing heroic has been done here, just a game of fitba played in front of empty stadiums. The same can be said for taking the knee in " a show of unity " against what happened to George Floyd and the BLM. Another useless token gesture , FIFA/UEFA shout about "show racism the red card" etc but not long before it , there was a player whose name escapes me was sent off in a french league game for bringing to the refs attention the racial abuse he was receiving from the stands. He was told to " get on with it" and sent off for refusing to do so, how can fifa and UEFA claim to be against inequalities and award the world cup to Qatar one of the most bigoted and backwards cultures on the planet. It's ok for ordinary folk to show unity/equality but it doesnt really exist in football or life in general. Taking the knee will change nothing anywhere on God's green Earth. Those players whove stopped it now and f1 drivers, being lambasted for not doing it is a joke. Show racism the red card, stand up to racism, take the knee etc etc , how is this going to change peoples attitudes? It wont as those people are racist and always have been always will be. The old saying "Black or Irish" , take your pick and anyone will see the inequalities of racism and sectarian prejudice in the UK and the USA is as true today as it was a hundred years ago. Clap for carers and they are offered a humiliating 1%pay rise for putting their lives on the line so the rest of us stay healthy. Kneeling in an empty stadium wont change that, wearing wee badges in your lapel wont change it either, nor will fitba teams with anti -racism armbands, all token gestures by corrupt, racist and prejudiced organisations and countless countries and " institutions" . The same scum that trashed memorial benches in George square with no thought given to the risk to the general public's health are the very same scum and thugs that stood on their balconies , doorsteps and clapped for carers every Thursday but it means nothing when it comes to them beating us for once. Any of us with Irish or mixed race heritage know this all too well. Before the pandemic struck when thousands of Tim's gathered on the road from hampden to the saltmarket to celebrate the treble treble and watch the bus parade didnt cause damage to property and you have that midden of a stank , the louden bar saying theyve raised the money for any damages. Well that's ok then smash what you want as long as you pay for it afterwards? Nah doesnt work like that and the fact they think it does shows what kind of 'peepul ' they are, the dregs of society. I dont like to carry hatred within but the emotion within me for them is very close to it. When they were first promoted to the premier league my brother said to me that it was the worst thing that could happen to our good city and country and he was right 100% right. Weve all seen the disgusting images of a guy standing naked with his teeny wee badgers tadger oot , I would be embarrassed to show it to my doctor never mind in a crowd, fighting amongst themselves in the streets, stabbing foreign supporters the list is endless , it's an affront to the dregs of society to tar them with the same brush as the 'peepul' . They are still living in the 17th century, it's all the identity they have and it's not even a real one. They chant sectarian bile from the dark ages whilst our supporters highlight the injustices the Palestinian people suffer from a country which isnt as old as the number of years my son and I have been alive combined, and the fascist neo-nazi lazio supporters. Guard of honour? The only guard or honour that rotten mob know is the turn-key who escorts them up from the cells to sit in front of 'your honour' waiting to be sentenced for charges against society.

Well said Winter, that lot and so called fans just cause trouble wherever they go. We disgraced ourselves only once in South America and our players were riled due to being kicked and spat at through out the game. John Hughes was sent off for using their goalkeeper as a punchbag this and other players actions caused Jock Stein a knighthood. So Yogi should think on regarding the Huns. After the Ibroke disaster were Celtic players and officials attended many a funeral you would have thought their players and fans would have become more friendly towards us. No way, its getting worse and the SFA and government do nothing. HH
TBH we did cause a bit of damage at Burney in 78, "I know cause I was there".

It has been an un-written mark of respect, but the huns broke with tradition in 2018 or was it 2019🤔 when they didn’t do it for us, so why should we show them the respect they didn’t show us any?

the only guard of honour I’d want to give them is the 460 creditors they bumped when they got liquidated, they could all line up from when they get of the bus in the car park, right though the main stand, to the dressing room, then out to the pitch, there more than enough of the face painters, news agents etc to do both sides and form a wee corridor and make them do a walk of shame, they could all put their hands out, palm up and ask for their money 😡😡
What about the game at crumble dome when slippys scum won and the celtic players had been over thanking the fans and when walking off slippy turned his back on the celtic players walking off facing the rancid Copeland. As soon as our players went down the tunnel he turned round and lapped up the applause. Grow a set celtic and tell to fuck off and when they get there tell them to fuck off again! John Hughes another arse licker on a subject that has SFA to do with him