It's that time of year again.

Apparently Irish actor Paul Mescal was on the Graham Norton show at the weekend and caused 'outrage' by not wearing a poppy. All those people dying in the world wars so modern era people could have the 'freedom' to be forced to wear a poppy.

27751563_1617446958344226_8335479578415109958_n.jpg

Original poppy day

Image result for earl haig

Field Marshal Sir Douglas Haig has had the unenviable reputation of being the worst British general of all time, a bone-headed “donkey” who threw away the lives of his men in futile attacks
The only way that ratbag Haig should be remembered each year is by an effigy of him being placed on top of a bonfire, hopefully snuggled up to one of Thatcher.
When his generals at Verdun told him the battle was costing 10,000 of their mens lives a day his reply was to tell them to get in touch with Blighty and order an extra ten thousand recruits a day 😡
Utter monster of a man 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

I'm having fish and chips tonight. Breaking news🤣
It would surprise u the amount of fannies who say no to fish on Friday in the jail its the best meal of the week and these clowns are giving it wee don't eat pape steak oh is that rite well have yours aswell then ya muppet I mean not like we get well fed in there ffs beggars and choosers springs to mind but no these arseholes want to starve over something they don't give a shit about apart fay looking all staunch and fuckin starving😁

The only way that ratbag Haig should be remembered each year is by an effigy of him being placed on top of a bonfire, hopefully snuggled up to one of Thatcher.
When his generals at Verdun told him the battle was costing 10,000 of their mens lives a day his reply was to tell them to get in touch with Blighty and order an extra ten thousand recruits a day 😡
Utter monster of a man 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡
Aye just kept sending guys over the top to get slaughtered 🤬🤬

A friend of mine sent me this poem today.

Wear your poppy with pride,
If you think that is best.

But let me explain why,
It won't adorn my chest.

I'll start with Annette McGavigan.
She was just 14 years old.

Shot by your murderous army,
The bravest and the bold.

Manus Deery (15),
An innocent child it's said.

Shot while playing with his friends,
Shot in the back of the head.

Jackie Duddy is another,
He barely threw a stone.

Who'd have known that fateful Sunday,
He wouldn't venture home.

Gerald Donaghy marched for civil rights, internment and the right to vote.

Your lying bastard soldiers said,
"he carried bombs in his coat."

17 years old he was,
He'd barely cut his teeth.

But on this special remembrance day,
Will you remember his mother's grief?

The bullet holes are still clear to see,
Even to this day.

The blood still stains the streets,
Children's lives taken away.

So wear your poppy with pride,
If you think that it's best.

These are reasons why,
It won't be on my chest.

12 other souls followed that Sunday,
They even shot a priest.

Tending to the wounded kids,
While the paratroopers had their feast.

"Now is there anyone amongst you dares to blame this on the kids?
Not a soldier boy was bleeding when they nailed the coffin lids."

Ballymurphy, Loughinisland,
Greysteel and all the rest.

Some more reasons why you won't see that blood-soaked poppy on my chest...

So wear a lily on Remembrance day,
Honour Ireland's children brave.

Our revenge will be their laughter,
As Britain hangs its head in shame
Very touching 26+ , I was torn between a sad emoji or an angry emoji , chose sad though I'm equally as angry. 😡

This should be rolled out everytime the club are castigated for not wearing the imperialistic poppy.

Also while were on about poppys , let's not mention the ' empire ' and the war for control of the poppy/opium with China
( conveniently forgotten) .

The Qing dynasty, ceded Hong Kong 1842 to the British Empire through the signing of the Chuenpi Convention to end the first opium war making Hong Kong a British colony.

For The British Empire of course this wasnt enough, and so began a second opium war, forcing the Qing dynasty once more to cede more territory in 1860, Kowloon, which led to the new territories being leased to the empire for the next 99 years.

No one wants to talk about that though do they?
No , how many Chinese people lost their lives?, how many families lost loved ones for the empires insatiable desire to control the opium route?
Oh we dont talk about that 🤫

The absolute brass neck to choose the poppy as the flower of remembrance is typically pathetic.

Here’s an interesting tweet about football during the war years, as this time of the year the Huns go overboard with their “poppy porn” and their quest of have the “war” titles awarded to the imaginary 55 titles, the most stunning statement…. out of the Huns 1939 squad only 3 joined the armed forces with only “one” yes just the one out of a squad of around 30 saw active service overseas the rest hid like shirking cowards in the shipyards next to ibrox 😡

For aw the hun lurkers, you have no shame, you couldn’t gie them a rid next wi a blowtorch

Follow the link for a real eye opener 🤷‍♂️

Here’s an interesting tweet about football during the was years, as as this time of the year the Huns go overboard with their “poppy porn” and their quest of have the “war” titles awarded to the imaginary 55 titles, the most stunning statement…. out of the Huns 1939 squad only 3 joined the armed forces with only “one” yes just the one out of a squad of around 30 saw active service overseas the rest hid like shirking cowards in the shipyards next to ibrox 😡

For aw the hun lurkers, you have no shame, you couldn’t gie them a rid next wi a blowtorch

Follow the link for a real eye opener 🤷‍♂️

👏👏👏 well done BB, good work mhate.
No doubt being in the ludge meant they were medically exempt or some pish.

Wheres that tar and they white feathers noo?

They have no shame , it's for the rest of the country to be ashamed for them.
Bang on mhate , blow torch wouldnt singe their necks.

This is a truly awesome post by Daniel O'Connell and a superb find by your good self ma friend.

It shows them up for what they were , and what they aspire to be once more , cowards.
Odds on the ludge getting them joabs in the yards or mines would likely be 1/500 on.
That's £1 for every half a grand bet.
Enough to buy the old original rangers matchday lotto ticket or the club itself as both had the same value.

Looking through the replies, I came across some belters that deserve to be posted like these

Screenshot_20221111-045205_Chrome.jpg

11pence!! 11pence !!
50,000 supporters and a collection bucket for armed forces day and the total sum is £4836 , divvied between 50,000 on average that works out to 11pence per head.

God save the Queen/King , singing the anthem etc ..all bs when it comes down to putting their hands in their pockets.
Miserable cnuts.
I'd be embarrassed to give that to a ham n egger oan Argyle st.

Meanwhile just this week over at paradise , the original and true reason for the formation of our beloved Celtic was once more repeated , a football club to help the poor.
Food banks before the game.
We know who we are, what we are, why we are and have and always will stay true to our origins and unbroken 135 years of that historical fact ☘

This other one deserves to be posted as well

Screenshot_20221111-045324_Chrome.jpg

The ultimate embarrassment, Pathe News covered EVERYTHING all over the world but too ashamed to show the news from home because they knew what kind of reaction it would generate.

Eternal thanks to my Da for giving me the gift of Celtic ive been forever blessed and grateful since
HH YNWA ☘

B.A Baraccuss haha mind he was always scared of flying so they had to keep coming up with different ways to drug him, his coffee, sneak up behind him and jab him, then he'd wake up either in the air or another country wanting to kill Murdoch 😂
Aw loving it when a plan comes together

Yes, it is that time of year again. A time that brings, for me, many mixed; and conflicting, thoughts and emotions. Those emotions include sadness, anger, gratitude,....and bewilderment. You see, as someone who feels not a jot of loyalty to the British crown, or indeed the ruling classes, I am also aware of the wider picture. I ask myself if I can forget, for a day, the indisputable evidence of atrocities committed against many of the world's peoples in the name of The British Crown. I think Samuel Johnson summed it up best when he said " patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel ". But, occasionally, wars simply have to be fought.

I'm not pacifist: although I know the terrible cost war inflicts on humanity; I also know how fortunate I am to be of a generation which didn't have to endure the unimaginable horrors of war. That's where both the sorro and the gratitude comes in. I don't think we'll ever really be able to quantify how much we owe to those who perished.

The vermin who hijack the feelings of predominantly decent folk in order to weaponise this time of year are beneath contempt. No more to be said about them.

Could go on: but I'll spare you good folk the burden of reading my thoughts.

As mentioned previously, it's your personal choice, wear a poppy, don't wear a poppy, makes absolutely no difference to yours truly
I wear one to honour the memory of my family members who served in WW1 and WW2, some gave the ultimate sacrifice, and never returned
The wee guy in the middle is my Dad, who would have faced Goliath
So, have your own thoughts, and respect who you like, hate who you like
On this day, I remember my family members, who are no longer with us and who did their duty when called upon, in the fight against the Nazis
Have a pleasant weekend
HHDad in his army days .jpg

As mentioned previously, it's your personal choice, wear a poppy, don't wear a poppy, makes absolutely no difference to yours truly
I wear one to honour the memory of my family members who served in WW1 and WW2, some gave the ultimate sacrifice, and never returned
The wee guy in the middle is my Dad, who would have faced Goliath
So, have your own thoughts, and respect who you like, hate who you like
On this day, I remember my family members, who are no longer with us and who did their duty when called upon, in the fight against the Nazis
Have a pleasant weekend
HHView attachment 20863
I don’t wear a poppy, whilst I’m full of admiration for the brave men that were conscripted and fought and died in ww1 and ww2, at to an extent those who fought in the Korea as those were on national service….but EVERY other war/conflict since have be fought by “professional“ soldiers, they signed up to serve, fight and die, they took the queens shilling, they aw knew what they signed up for……

Perhaps the wrong thread; but since it's that time of year, I thought it might be ok to post what for me is perhaps the best anti-war song ever written.

Eric Bogle composed the song after visiting various burial sites in France. It was a riposte to what he considered the unacceptable anti-Irish racism in British society.
He found the grave of Willie Mc Bride, who was a young Irishman, ( County Armagh ).
The lyrics ,especially in the closing couple of verses, are particularly poignant .

A poem from the trenches

Don't leave me in this dark cauld place
I'd like to go back hame
This country is alien tae me
And jist isnae quite the same
I'd like tae see ma mammy now
and sit here for an hour
Tae talk tae me as a her wee boy
And mibbe leave a flower
Ano I'm surrounded here
with boys who met their fate
But I'd like tae know ye visit me
But fear noo it's too late
Mibbe wan day mammy
You'll find money and a plane
And come and sit beside me here
I'll always be yer wean
A don't suppose it matters
Where ma body lies wherever
All always be the same boy ma
And be yer wee boy forever
ANON

A poem from the trenches

Don't leave me in this dark cauld place
I'd like to go back hame
This country is alien tae me
And jist isnae quite the same
I'd like tae see ma mammy now
and sit here for an hour
Tae talk tae me as a her wee boy
And mibbe leave a flower
Ano I'm surrounded here
with boys who met their fate
But I'd like tae know ye visit me
But fear noo it's too late
Mibbe wan day mammy
You'll find money and a plane
And come and sit beside me here
I'll always be yer wean
A don't suppose it matters
Where ma body lies wherever
All always be the same boy ma
And be yer wee boy forever
ANON
That's is Heart breaking DILL, Politicians done the lying and young men they sent done the dying, Am not without humanity far from it. But a refuse to wear one to appease any Country that sends young men & women to die for a political end that has ultimately hee-haw to do with me.. and mine no buying into "National interest" nosense.