Jonny Hayes-a-new-deal-now-would-be-a-knee-jerk-reaction-to-a-short-burst-of-form

Cyprus were going to take a corner but there was an extra ball lying in the box. CalMac kicked it off the pitch and it hit the ball already placed in the corner kick arc. So the 🤡 ref then booked an incredulous CalMac!

Very fair points fella. Is there scope for a coaching role at Celtic? Never heard he was doing badges like Broony. If it was a split contract between coaching and playing and not just jobs for the boys I could back that idea. Be a good influence on kids.
No idea Niall if there are any jobs going with the kids,but I did hear he was going for his badges but whether that is before he hangs his boots up or after I dont know..Definitely Broony first in line for anything at Parkhead..I just like to see genuine people taken care of and if possible that would have been my way..but I also realise we cannot give everybody a coaching job when they decide enough is enough..

Considering how many headed south with Rodgers I'm sure we have scope for a few more :)

I think Hayes is a top professional with good attitude and decent ability, can play a number of positions and doesn't appear to be very expensive.

As a utility squad player I think he is as good as you will get.

Does he want to be bit part sub?

Dunno but if you wants to stay rather than leave I think he still has decent levels in him.

Might not be first team regular.

But personally he would be in my squad regularly but as a sub, sadly

I think he has lot to offer football and he is one of the good guy grafters who doesn't appear to complain and just gives you as much as he can.

can play left side anywhere and maybe even right wing at times?

In the economic world that football has become, he really is good value for his costs.

And he even had a really bad injury that I thought was end of his Celtic career.

Is he first choice?

no.

Is he second choice?

His utility, work rate, experience and general upbeat character and professional determination make me think he is good back up in several positions.

I dont think Hayes is over earning and under contributing.

he is culturally acclimatised and adds value to the squad even when he aint playing often.

value for money I think its hard to get much better on less wages than Hayes.

But he may well want to play first team football somewhere and maybe he would want to leave.

Good point, Niall. As an aside, we should have kept Lustig for the same reason (yes, I'm still bitter about that), as he may not have started, but he could have helped in developing the youngsters.
think his wage demands where part of the problem. no idea tbh but I suspect he was high earner and not willing to drop wages since he was serial winner every season

I think Hayes is a top professional with good attitude and decent ability, can play a number of positions and doesn't appear to be very expensive.

Dunno but if you wants to stay rather than leave I think he still has decent levels in him.

I think he has lot to offer football and he is one of the good guy grafters who doesn't appear to complain and just gives you as much as he can.

In the economic world that football has become, he really is good value for his costs.

And he even had a really bad injury that I thought was end of his Celtic career.

Is he first choice?

no.

Is he second choice?

His utility, work rate, experience and general upbeat character and professional determination make me think he is good back up in several positions.

he is culturally acclimatised and adds value to the squad even when he aint playing often.

But he may well want to play first team football somewhere and maybe he would want to leave.
Good post TET agree wee oopsadaisy Hayes is worth a contract he’s no oan mega money the wee guy gives it all and nae cunt wants tae sit oan the bench but fuck that’s celtics bench hardly gonna bankrupt us unlike some others that come to mind 😂😂😂

Is he first choice?

no.

Is he second choice?

Hi TET, Excuse me for cutting and pasting from the article TET but regards the Utility argument but it covers my view without having to re-write it. Hope you don't mind-

Celtic have 32 first team squad members not counting the four out on loan. There is no real requirement for versatility in such a squad. Versatility is for clubs with lower squad numbers and utilising their wage structure. At St Johnstone for instance 30 plus squad players would be crippling. Two or three players who can slot in to position is squad gold when you’re working at the margins. Celtic are not operating with such fine balance.
Neil Lennon has more than enough quality for every position bar support for Callum McGregor and Scott Brown. Hayes doesn’t cover those positions. Nir Bitton another utility player does. I see worth in keeping Bitton around until that position is covered given he can also cover the supporting central defensive role when Simunovic is injured-and he regularly is.
Jonny can play left back and left midfield and as a wing back, as well as right midfield.

Looking to future seasons, at left back Celtic have Bolingoli and Greg Taylor while Hayes would be third choice. In reserve there is young Luca Connell who played admirably for Bolton in the wing back role and could well fit in as that third player for cover.

We also know recent Irish debutant Lee O’Connor signed from Manchester United can fill in right along the backline. Would another year for Hayes at 32 years of age already send out the right message? Would it instead block a route to the first team for Taylor, Connel and O’Connor who themselves would only be covering for Bolingoli?

Further forward we have Mikey Johnston and Mohamed Elyounoussi as first pick at present. Scotty Sinclair is side-lined yet I’d argue as an advanced player Scott’s goals and assists would bring more to the party, although Peter Lawwell would tell you that he costs more than Jonny Hayes. Even if you argue Sinclair and Elyounoussi won’t be around next year are we really saying Lennon doesn’t already have Nick Hammond scouting for that eventuality? Why would he have Elyounoussi this season and settle with Hayes as cover next.

On the right Hayes is rarely used as James Forrest has that slot nailed down and in reserve another young signing has yet to really see the light of day, due in the main to James Forrest’s outstanding contribution and consistent availability for selection.

Maryan Shved was brought in as cover and even when he’s not been available Lennon has shifted Christie wide right and played Ntcham or Rogic in the number ten role. Hardly makes me think Lennon thinks Hayes is really a consideration on the right.

Is he first choice?

no.

Is he second choice?

You widni get a joab wi the Scottish Tourist Board TET as you really fear the problem of players not being culturally acclimatised. 😂 Is Scotland so bad these days? My hope is that the real folk will always beat that big bad lodge and all its followers.

Niall - I'd still argue that versatility is needed by Celtic as we can only have 7 subs for a game, so you can't cover 11 positions with specialists for each position.

In our usual 4231 formation, Hayes & Bitton provide cover for 6 or 7 players which means you can have 4 all-out attacking options with the other 4 outfield subs.

Not sure I'd be comparing squad size with St Johnstone as we are playing about 20 games more per season than them (and almost every other Scottish team) most at a higher standard, plus our players have a lot more internationals to play, with only a 2 week break each summer. Fatigue and injuries means we need a bigger squad than them.

I do get your point about stifling youth development but Lennon has proved that he will give youth a chance if they are good enough. HH

You widni get a joab wi the Scottish Tourist Board TET as you really fear the problem of players not being culturally acclimatised. 😂 Is Scotland so bad these days? My hope is that the real folk will always beat that big bad lodge and all its followers.
The new Celtic minded. Now does anyone know a T-Shirt printer?? Love it.

the Scottish game takes certain personality in my opinion

and its hard to imagine the culture shock of coming to play here for a team that must win.

some players fold

Niall - I'd still argue that versatility is needed by Celtic as we can only have 7 subs for a game, so you can't cover 11 positions with specialists for each position.

In our usual 4231 formation, Hayes & Bitton provide cover for 6 or 7 players which means you can have 4 all-out attacking options with the other 4 outfield subs.

Not sure I'd be comparing squad size with St Johnstone as we are playing about 20 games more per season than them (and almost every other Scottish team) most at a higher standard, plus our players have a lot more internationals to play, with only a 2 week break each summer. Fatigue and injuries means we need a bigger squad than them.

I do get your point about stifling youth development but Lennon has proved that he will give youth a chance if they are good enough. HH
But we have that bigger sqaud Bridie. 32 players, 4 on loan negates the balance between St Johnstone and Celtic and the imbalance in games played. We must have 3 players for every position. We can have 7 of them on the bench. Bearing in mind this is next season's contract rather than this.
We have Connel who can cover left side and has played holding midfielder,. We have O'Connor who can play any part of the defensive line. We have Bain in goal. Johnston can play wide left or right. Bayo or Griffiths as a striker and Ntcham who covers midield centrally. Even with that we still have room for the likes of Bitton.

Hi TET, Excuse me for cutting and pasting from the article TET but regards the Utility argument but it covers my view without having to re-write it. Hope you don't mind-

Celtic have 32 first team squad members not counting the four out on loan. There is no real requirement for versatility in such a squad. Versatility is for clubs with lower squad numbers and utilising their wage structure. At St Johnstone for instance 30 plus squad players would be crippling. Two or three players who can slot in to position is squad gold when you’re working at the margins. Celtic are not operating with such fine balance.
Neil Lennon has more than enough quality for every position bar support for Callum McGregor and Scott Brown. Hayes doesn’t cover those positions. Nir Bitton another utility player does. I see worth in keeping Bitton around until that position is covered given he can also cover the supporting central defensive role when Simunovic is injured-and he regularly is.
Jonny can play left back and left midfield and as a wing back, as well as right midfield.

Looking to future seasons, at left back Celtic have Bolingoli and Greg Taylor while Hayes would be third choice. In reserve there is young Luca Connell who played admirably for Bolton in the wing back role and could well fit in as that third player for cover.

We also know recent Irish debutant Lee O’Connor signed from Manchester United can fill in right along the backline. Would another year for Hayes at 32 years of age already send out the right message? Would it instead block a route to the first team for Taylor, Connel and O’Connor who themselves would only be covering for Bolingoli?

Further forward we have Mikey Johnston and Mohamed Elyounoussi as first pick at present. Scotty Sinclair is side-lined yet I’d argue as an advanced player Scott’s goals and assists would bring more to the party, although Peter Lawwell would tell you that he costs more than Jonny Hayes. Even if you argue Sinclair and Elyounoussi won’t be around next year are we really saying Lennon doesn’t already have Nick Hammond scouting for that eventuality? Why would he have Elyounoussi this season and settle with Hayes as cover next.

On the right Hayes is rarely used as James Forrest has that slot nailed down and in reserve another young signing has yet to really see the light of day, due in the main to James Forrest’s outstanding contribution and consistent availability for selection.

Maryan Shved was brought in as cover and even when he’s not been available Lennon has shifted Christie wide right and played Ntcham or Rogic in the number ten role. Hardly makes me think Lennon thinks Hayes is really a consideration on the right.
I agree

but for me we should have around 25 players regularly playing first team

I think Hayes would be in my personal 25

some good wee players coming through but personally I think Hayes is good member of 25 man squad

But we have that bigger sqaud Bridie. 32 players, 4 on loan negates the balance between St Johnstone and Celtic and the imbalance in games played. We must have 3 players for every position. We can have 7 of them on the bench. Bearing in mind this is next season's contract rather than this.
We have Connel who can cover left side and has played holding midfielder,. We have O'Connor who can play any part of the defensive line. We have Bain in goal. Johnston can play wide left or right. Bayo or Griffiths as a striker and Ntcham who covers midield centrally. Even with that we still have room for the likes of Bitton.
Fair enough Niall, but I'd suggest it is foolhardy to be relying on Johnston, Bayo & Griffiths to remain fit for 60+ games. Along with Bain, that lot have missed so many matches through injury that I'd say the relatively small wage that Hayes is on makes it a no-brainer to keep him at Parkhead.

I agree

but for me we should have around 25 players regularly playing first team

I think Hayes would be in my personal 25

some good wee players coming through but personally I think Hayes is good member of 25 man squad
If we cut that squad to that figure I'm all for Bitton, Hayes etc hanging on. But we have 36. It would free up the route for the younger boys. 100% for that. In fact lenny said that's the figure he was after in pre-season. So here's a question for you then. say the 4 out on loan are out the picture. Of the 32 left who do we cut to get to the 25?