THE GOOD OLD DAYS

BILLCOWIE1958

Just been talking to some of my wife's family as you do and someone recounted a wonderful story I'd forgotten all about

My wife's family came from Maryhill in the 1970s and her youngest brother was and still is a Celtic fan He was 10 years old but had never been taken to a game My father in law was a HUN

Anyway Celtic were playing Thistle at Firhill this particular Saturday so Ian asked his father if he'd take him to see Celtic
The old man agreed and said that he'd lift the boy over
Ian enquired what that entailed and was intrigued by what he was told

He asked his father if his workmate who was a Tim might lift his wee pal over and this was duly arranged

So on the Saturday the 3 of them left for Firhill having arranged to meet the other wee lad there

When they got there my father in law and his mate were dumbstruck

The other wee fella was Indian Turban and all

Big Grant my father in law's pal said 'How the fuck can I say to the guy on the turnstile that he's my boy'?

It worked out fine in the end

It was just the innocence of the 2 kids thinking nobody would notice that the wee Indian lad wasn't Big Grant's son

Just been talking to some of my wife's family as you do and someone recounted a wonderful story I'd forgotten all about

My wife's family came from Maryhill in the 1970s and her youngest brother was and still is a Celtic fan He was 10 years old but had never been taken to a game My father in law was a HUN

Anyway Celtic were playing Thistle at Firhill this particular Saturday so Ian asked his father if he'd take him to see Celtic

He asked his father if his workmate who was a Tim might lift his wee pal over and this was duly arranged

So on the Saturday the 3 of them left for Firhill having arranged to meet the other wee lad there

Big Grant my father in law's pal said 'How the fuck can I say to the guy on the turnstile that he's my boy'?

It was just the innocence of the 2 kids thinking nobody would notice that the wee Indian lad wasn't Big Grant's son

Thats a lovely story Bill. ???

Aw Bill, thats brilliant mate, memories coming flooding back of scores of youngsters hanging around the queues outside turnstiles asking for a lift over, the funniest one I ever seen, possibly about 40 years ago, outside Dens Park, was a couple of young lads asking for a lift over, I kid you not Bill one of the boys was defo not shy in asking for second helpings and the poor guy who struggled to get him over must have been 9 stone wearing a wet duffle coat, I'll never forget the guys face as eveyone in hysterics watching his face go red with the strain.
Tell you what else sticks in my mind, and you'll know this well, Roy Aitken put us in front and we ended up getting horsed 5-1, we blew the league to Aberdeen that year.

I was at that game at Dens too mate, I think it was the early 80s. I could be wrong, but I think it was big Tam McAdam that scored early on. I remember thinking, ya dancer, we're gaun tae get a barrowload the night! Turned out I was right! 5 for Dundee! HH

Ah well Dundee did us a turn a few years later but the game in question was in 1980 and Roy Aitken DID put Celtic in front

Aw Bill, thats brilliant mate, memories coming flooding back of scores of youngsters hanging around the queues outside turnstiles asking for a lift over, the funniest one I ever seen, possibly about 40 years ago, outside Dens Park, was a couple of young lads asking for a lift over, I kid you not Bill one of the boys was defo not shy in asking for second helpings and the poor guy who struggled to get him over must have been 9 stone wearing a wet duffle coat, I'll never forget the guys face as eveyone in hysterics watching his face go red with the strain.
Tell you what else sticks in my mind, and you'll know this well, Roy Aitken put us in front and we ended up getting horsed 5-1, we blew the league to Aberdeen that year.
That game is etched like claw marks on my heart, B........Ironically, I was 9-years-old and got a sneaky-in under the turnstiles.

Big Tam managed DFC and they had Peter Mackie who they got from Celtic the season before. Jimmy Murphy was also on DFC's books and he was a mad, rabid Celtic fan.

Being only 9, that was the first time I had that gut-wrenching trauma of a defeat like that, even worse because it was on my home turf and Dundee were rank-feckin-rotten.

I posted on another thread about the draw at Parkhead against the sheep, but it was this game that hammered the last nails in the title coffin that season.

That game is etched like claw marks on my heart, B........Ironically, I was 9-years-old and got a sneaky-in under the turnstiles.

Big Tam managed DFC and they had Peter Mackie who they got from Celtic the season before. Jimmy Murphy was also on DFC's books and he was a mad, rabid Celtic fan.

Being only 9, that was the first time I had that gut-wrenching trauma of a defeat like that, even worse because it was on my home turf and Dundee were rank-feckin-rotten.

I posted on another thread about the draw at Parkhead against the sheep, but it was this game that hammered the last nails in the title coffin that season.
Thanks for clearing that one up, I just replied to you on that other thread and I wasn't 100 % if it was the 79/80 season or if it was later, but the Dens Park game is one I'll never forget for all the wrong reasons.

I was at that game too, and when big Roy scored in the 7th minute......I thought this was gonna be a cakewalk............then the roof fell in!

Ian Ferguson equalised about 10 mins later and scored again on the half hour after a swallow dive from Dundee's Mr Useless...Peter Miller, leaping over Danny McGrain's foot! Penalty! 2-1.
It got worse after Peter Fleming .....a brilliant wee player by the way...scored right on half time putting Dundee 3-1 in front.
Eric Sinclair then added in the second half, before Peter Latchford kicked the ball out..... STRAIGHT to Sinclair who passed easily around Danny Mac for Peter Mackie.....(yes three Peter's in the Dundee team) to make it 5- 1 and finish a totally miserable March in 1980, effectively handing the league to Aberdeen.

Peter Latchford was rank rotten that day along with an unusually poor Danny McGrain.
I couldn't get a ticket to watch in either of the Celtic ends behind the goals.
Instead I was with Dundee supporting pals standing in the 'Derry' or Dundee end at Dens Rd, with my Celtic scarf on....yes you could do that then..... although most Celtic fans occupying the Provost Rd end, had left after 4 -1.

However about 3 thousand of them congregated at the bottom of the road picking up stones, cassie's and anything else they could find around to lob at the Dundee fans leaving at the end of the game.

We were cornered and though the Police were in attendance they did nothing to protect the Dundee fans from the barrage of stones and 'dockeys' raining down, thrown by the disappointed Celtic support.

Quite scarey at the time, but there were not many casualties and I escaped by heading via the backies through the closies next to the ground.

Oh I remember it well.

I was at that game too, and when big Roy scored in the 7th minute......I thought this was gonna be a cakewalk............then the roof fell in!

Ian Ferguson equalised about 10 mins later and scored again on the half hour after a swallow dive from Dundee's Mr Useless...Peter Miller, leaping over Danny McGrain's foot! Penalty! 2-1.
It got worse after Peter Fleming .....a brilliant wee player by the way...scored right on half time putting Dundee 3-1 in front.
Eric Sinclair then added in the second half, before Peter Latchford kicked the ball out..... STRAIGHT to Sinclair who passed easily around Danny Mac for Peter Mackie.....(yes three Peter's in the Dundee team) to make it 5- 1 and finish a totally miserable March in 1980, effectively handing the league to Aberdeen.

Peter Latchford was rank rotten that day along with an unusually poor Danny McGrain.
I couldn't get a ticket to watch in either of the Celtic ends behind the goals.
Instead I was with Dundee supporting pals standing in the 'Derry' or Dundee end at Dens Rd, with my Celtic scarf on....yes you could do that then..... although most Celtic fans occupying the Provost Rd end, had left after 4 -1.

However about 3 thousand of them congregated at the bottom of the road picking up stones, cassie's and anything else they could find around to lob at the Dundee fans leaving at the end of the game.

We were cornered and though the Police were in attendance they did nothing to protect the Dundee fans from the barrage of stones and 'dockeys' raining down, thrown by the disappointed Celtic support.

Quite scarey at the time, but there were not many casualties and I escaped by heading via the backies through the closies next to the ground.

Oh I remember it well.
I knew Sandeman Street backies like the backies of my hands, JC.

Same with Arklay Street too, that's a result of getting chased home every night from the "Carney" when it came to Gussie Park.

I remember you telling me that SP, when we met up, and it was so disappointing, because Celtic only lost the league to Aberdeen by 2 points that year!
After going 1 up, we should have locked the back door 'cos Dundee were so bad that day......it shows you just how bad Celtic were!!!.

But the thing that done it for me was right at the end when Dundee manager, Tam Gemmell walked straight up to the 'tunnel' leaving the pitchside........almost as if to say;

"FFS lads, I wanted you to give Celtic a game.......BUT NOT TO BATTER THEM!"
HH mate.

Hahaha.......I remember him shaking his head in disbelief. The story goes that he ripped right into them in the dressing room and when Gellately tried to take them out for a meal, Big Tam put the kaibosh on it.

Dundee were virtually relegated at that point and I think that result hastened Big Tam's departure fae the scene of the crime.

Do you remember they done it again after the Centenary season?

1-0 up at half-time then DFC went all Real Madrid and finished up winning 4-1

To the Great jc, to say im impressed with your memory would be an understatement, you must be banned from every casino on earth mate. Memories came flooding back with your post mate.
Awww, he is an absolute goldmine, B!!!

Had the pleasure of sharing a few pints with JC and if you ever get the opportunity, grab it with both hands.

Font of knowledge and wisdom along with being a great raconteur.

Not shy at putting his hands in his pocket either, which is a rarity in Dundee.