The nags.

When I was a Young apprentice one of the older boys Willie whose dad was a bookie,. and the older tradesmen were always asking him for tips ,inside knowledge etc , willie said to me one day 'never bet , why do you think my dad drives a Bentley and they are all subbing their wages until Friday?' Easy lesson learnt early

When I was a Young apprentice one of the older boys Willie whose dad was a bookie,. and the older tradesmen were always asking him for tips ,inside knowledge etc , willie said to me one day 'never bet , why do you think my dad drives a Bentley and they are all subbing their wages until Friday?' Easy lesson learnt early
Ma dad was a bookie mate!!!how fuckin dumb am I??🤪

You're not a bookie then ?
They'd disagree with that I'm sure , call it a gut instinct 😅
It's from a Genesis song ;)

But I remembered a voice from the past
"Gambling only pays when you're winning"
Had to thank old Miss Mort for schooling a failure
Keep them mowing blades sharp

Very good advice Marky.

Having had my fair share of experience and problems with various addictions in my younger years, though thank the lord never gambling. Not on any scale that would cripple me, always been low stakes.

I've always been of the belief that gambling , or specifically those with a gambling addiction are landed sadly with the worst of addictions.

I've known some heavy gamblers in my time and it is imo the most terrible one a person could have.

By that what I'm getting at is people might be alcoholic, it might be heroin or some other drug, prescription or otherwise that has hold of them .

Those addicts at least get something in return for their misuse, in terms of a high but gambling?
Might win, get a buzz but can't stop so any winnings go straight back on again.

When all is lost then they must wait what must be an eternity for the next time they have any cash to gamble away.

So the 'return' is minimal and short lived.