Where do we go from here ??

Weedocbhoy60

This is a question that has been in my head for years. 11 titles in 12 years is, anyway you cut it, domination. So, where do we go from here.
For me the only answer is out of the SPFL., for while we remain we will not finances( transfer payments and wages) to threaten the best in Europe. Or, is it enough to dominate the Scottish game. Keeping our boot on the neck of "that other lot" till they got under.
Leaving the SPFL is probably a pipe dream anyway, certainly for the foreseeable future. So should we break our wage structure to try and obtain European glory, which could result in spending our way into insolvency, OR, should we keep the status quo and stick to Hunskelping, and will sticking to the status quo force managers to look elsewhere for Euro success.
For me a real conundrum...... As always bhoys and ghirls your thoughts please......

This is a question that has been in my head for years. 11 titles in 12 years is, anyway you cut it, domination. So, where do we go from here.
For me the only answer is out of the SPFL., for while we remain we will not finances( transfer payments and wages) to threaten the best in Europe. Or, is it enough to dominate the Scottish game. Keeping our boot on the neck of "that other lot" till they got under.
Leaving the SPFL is probably a pipe dream anyway, certainly for the foreseeable future. So should we break our wage structure to try and obtain European glory, which could result in spending our way into insolvency, OR, should we keep the status quo and stick to Hunskelping, and will sticking to the status quo force managers to look elsewhere for Euro success.
For me a real conundrum...... As always bhoys and ghirls your thoughts please......
It’s a bit pish watching us play the nasty nasties 6 times a year and the rest 4 but it’s well better than watching us play the same old Alloa and Elgin City week in week out and playing for cups named after whoever has 50 quid spare to sponsor them,much as I’d love to see European glory it’s not worth being called The Celtic International Football Club With Bugger All History

For me a real conundrum...... As always bhoys and ghirls your
Scotland is a country steeped in football history, but it's that history that has crippled our game and has blinkered many provincial clubs from making sensible footballing decisions.

The problem isn't Celtic's, we have worldwide recognition and a marketable appeal. The problem lies with having too many clubs that cling to the threads of a long gone history that will never be repeated.

Being a Dundonian, I can respect and acknowledge both Dundee clubs reaching the European Cup semi-final, but between them - they have the grand total of 2 league titles, 3 Scottish cups and 5 league cups. More and more folk in Dundee are wearing Celtic and hun taps and I see more EPL team taps than either Dundee or United. A city of this size can only really sustain one professional club and perhaps both sets of owners and fans have to put their pride on the back-burner and plan for the future.

Fife has Raith Rovers, Dunfermline, East Fife, Cowdenbeath and Kelty. In spite of some great moments, can Fife really sustain that amount of teams.

Central Scotland has Falkirk, Stirling, Alloa, Stenny, East Stirling, Livi and others.....what sense does it make?

Angus has four sides......why?

Years ago, when Scotland produced top players with incredible frequency, then all the aforementioned clubs would be relevant because that's the places where these top players would break through and get their chance. Scotland just doesn't produce these players anymore, so this many clubs serve no practical purpose.

I don't expect it to be an overly popular opinion, many of us in the boondocks have soft spots for some of our local sides, but if Celtic are to improve and if Scottish football wants to remain relevant, then many of these clubs have to take a long hard look at themselves and start planning ahead.

The sad fact of the matter is, is that in 10-20 years time - many of these clubs will go the way of Third Lanark, Clydebank and Rangers due to the financial implications of 21st century football. Would it not be better to have fond memories of old local heroes, while still be going to watch new local heroes competing with Celtic?

To answer your question, Weedoc.....perhaps there still is a future in Scotland for Celtic if some of the provincial clubs can let go of their past.

I was getting ribbed on Thursday for celebrating a remarkable achievement in 1967. I got told that I was: "living in the past". I guess irony might be lost on some of my fellow Dundonians.

Not sure I get your point here.
You may have a point about Dundee, and I suspect an amalgamation may be a little closer than anyone dares to admit. Watch what happens the next time either of them goes bust! Nor would it necessarily be a bad thing. Look at Inverness. Amalgamations can work.
But I'm not sure I see the rest of your argument.
Angus, as you say, has four teams, (well, only three in the Scottish League) and that is because someone is prepared to make them work. But what do you expect them to do? Fold up? And if they did so, how would that help Celtic?
Every country has lower Leagues, and they need to have them. People love football, Scotland clearly so, if we can believe the latest figures. So what is the problem here?
Celtic's problem (if I can use the word "problem" for a Club that had won the League 11 out of the last 12 seasons) is how to raise their game in Europe. A team with the support of Celtic (and if you were there yesterday you will know what I mean) really should be doing better in Europe. And don't let anyone tell me that it is only because of money. The team of 1967 were similarly "out budgeted" but their counterparts in Italy, England, Spain and Germany, and yet they came through it. So don't tell me that is not possible, or that it is all the fault of other Scottish teams.

Not sure I get your point here.
You may have a point about Dundee, and I suspect an amalgamation may be a little closer than anyone dares to admit. Watch what happens the next time either of them goes bust! Nor would it necessarily be a bad thing. Look at Inverness. Amalgamations can work.
But I'm not sure I see the rest of your argument.
Angus, as you say, has four teams, (well, only three in the Scottish League) and that is because someone is prepared to make them work. But what do you expect them to do? Fold up? And if they did so, how would that help Celtic?
Every country has lower Leagues, and they need to have them. People love football, Scotland clearly so, if we can believe the latest figures. So what is the problem here?
Celtic's problem (if I can use the word "problem" for a Club that had won the League 11 out of the last 12 seasons) is how to raise their game in Europe. A team with the support of Celtic (and if you were there yesterday you will know what I mean) really should be doing better in Europe. And don't let anyone tell me that it is only because of money. The team of 1967 were similarly "out budgeted" but their counterparts in Italy, England, Spain and Germany, and yet they came through it. So don't tell me that is not possible, or that it is all the fault of other Scottish teams.
David, there are plenty of avenues for football to continue within Scotland that can extend beyond the senior level.

There is a relatively strong Highland League, Junior football has a grand tradition and there were other strong leagues which can appeal to football lovers.

The point is, is that football in this country has to sell itself beyond it's own shores. Many of the new media outlets need 'filler' to supplement their main events, but it still needs to appeal beyond just four or five teams who have their own grievances with each other to air. One of the attractions to these broadcasters is to have at least half to three-quarter full stadiums to generate some kind of buzz. The other point is, is that clubs in Scotland are clinging to mediocrity by paying not insignificant wages for players in the hope of getting a wee sniff of the very insignificant dough that SKY pass our way. Fear is everywhere in SPFL and it doesn't always make for a pleasant spectacle.

Just by the by, it's an opinion and only an opinion. I doubt the powerbrokers in Scottish football will be appointing me to reinvent the game up here and I hasten to add, I stated previously that it wouldn't be a popular opinion.

I take the wee dig there, bud......As a Farfarian and Celtic man, you've earned that right, but Scandinavian, Swiss and other minor countries sides have managed to punch above their weight at European level and much of that can be directly attributed to decent competition at domestic level. That is NOT opinion, that is fact borne out by results.

How many times did Celtic seriously have to extend themselves in games domestically this season?

Would you not attribute at least a portion of the Lions success to the fact that they played in an extremely competitive league?

As a noted historian of the game, you should also consider that many of the clubs I'm referring to were amalgams of other clubs at their inception. I like the quirky nature of Scottish football as much as the next person, but I also like it to be competitive too.

I often wonder how the population of this wee country can support and sustain so many football teams especially when the largest percentage of fans nail their flags to the Celtic or sevco masts.
It's got worse in the last 40-years too, Shammy. Can't much declare for anywhere else, but in Dundee - Celtic garnered their support from the 'traditional' routes (as did the huns from theirs). However - that was still a (significant) minority in a city and surrounding area (including Forfar) that mainly followed Dundee or United.

I'm guessing that right now, the number of Celtic (or hun) fans in Dundee wouldn't be a kick in the arse away from the hard-core support that follow either of those two clubs. True - there may be a larger latent support that will show up for a cup final, but it's still way less than it was back in the not so dim and distant past.

Weedocbhoy asks the question that dare not be asked, but it's about time it was...Again.

Per head of capita, Scotland has the most enthusiastic football support in Europe.
It's an interesting stat, often thrown about, but it's skewed in favour of Celtic and the Klan.

I think Scottish football would be much healthier - but not wealthier; at least in the short-term
- without the big two. The competitiveness of the leagues would increase tenfold and the crowds too, I'd imagine, as a chance at proper glory scents the air of the provinces.

But for Celtic... The romance of playing the 'wee teams' has long gone for me. And for the quality of players we can, in these modern days, deploy - 90% of games become a training exercise in breaking down a stoical low block. And that gets boring. For everyone.

The imblance is not just in the footballing populous, but has tipped the scales on the pitch too.
It now works against us in the long-term planning as we struggle to keep good staff beyond 2 or 3 years of domination. This makes competing in Europe a poisoned chalice for managers who might welcome the opportunity but feel they may damage their reputations by taking hidings. Step forward, Gio...

So unless there's some kind of positive upheaval in the works, the future appears stagnant; simply us slugging it out with an increasing number of variable Hun incarnations for the main prize of CL money to maintain domination.

And, realistically, another few seasons of us winning the lot will kill them off again; eventually they'll just be a recurring AI programme churning out some sort of compendium of blue-shirted fascist avatars ready to get pumped again and milk their bigotry buck for the latest owners to skedaddle with.

So what do we do? My preference would be the quarter-of-a-century-and-more angle of going south to the English leagues. They accomodate the Welsh, so why not us? Trouble is, they'd want the Glasgow duo package to sell the idea to every team below mid-prem status and have to line their pockets to force the deal through.

Simplistic narratives like that always throw up legalities that take time and effort to appease/circumvent. However... Money talks, ultimately, and moreso every day - it's the reason the EPL is what it is; some find it hollow, mercenary, corrupt. My contention is that having us in there authenticates it somewhat and we'd be able to sell 80,000 seasons on the back of it, finishing the stadium all the way round, and have the very best players queueing up to wear the Hoops and play in that atmosphere.

All dreams are pipe dreams until someone steps forward and tries to make things happen. That's one commodity the Celtic executive don't lack - there's plenty of sharp-suited men in there who know how to push levers and oil wheels; I'd be surprised and disappointed if future planning doesn't envisage some sort of historical metamorphosis of Celtic's competitive domestic state of play.

Weedocbhoy asks the question that dare not be asked, but it's about time it was...Again.

Per head of capita, Scotland has the most enthusiastic football support in Europe.
It's an interesting stat, often thrown about, but it's skewed in favour of Celtic and the Klan.

I think Scottish football would be much healthier - but not wealthier; at least in the short-term
- without the big two. The competitiveness of the leagues would increase tenfold and the crowds too, I'd imagine, as a chance at proper glory scents the air of the provinces.

But for Celtic... The romance of playing the 'wee teams' has long gone for me. And for the quality of players we can, in these modern days, deploy - 90% of games become a training exercise in breaking down a stoical low block. And that gets boring. For everyone.

The imblance is not just in the footballing populous, but has tipped the scales on the pitch too.
It now works against us in the long-term planning as we struggle to keep good staff beyond 2 or 3 years of domination. This makes competing in Europe a poisoned chalice for managers who might welcome the opportunity but feel they may damage their reputations by taking hidings. Step forward, Gio...

So unless there's some kind of positive upheaval in the works, the future appears stagnant; simply us slugging it out with an increasing number of variable Hun incarnations for the main prize of CL money to maintain domination.

And, realistically, another few seasons of us winning the lot will kill them off again; eventually they'll just be a recurring AI programme churning out some sort of compendium of blue-shirted fascist avatars ready to get pumped again and milk their bigotry buck for the latest owners to skedaddle with.

So what do we do? My preference would be the quarter-of-a-century-and-more angle of going south to the English leagues. They accomodate the Welsh, so why not us? Trouble is, they'd want the Glasgow duo package to sell the idea to every team below mid-prem status and have to line their pockets to force the deal through.

Simplistic narratives like that always throw up legalities that take time and effort to appease/circumvent. However... Money talks, ultimately, and moreso every day - it's the reason the EPL is what it is; some find it hollow, mercenary, corrupt. My contention is that having us in there authenticates it somewhat and we'd be able to sell 80,000 seasons on the back of it, finishing the stadium all the way round, and have the very best players queueing up to wear the Hoops and play in that atmosphere.

All dreams are pipe dreams until someone steps forward and tries to make things happen. That's one commodity the Celtic executive don't lack - there's plenty of sharp-suited men in there who know how to push levers and oil wheels; I'd be surprised and disappointed if future planning doesn't envisage some sort of historical metamorphosis of Celtic's competitive domestic state of play.
Sandman, I cannot find anything in that post to disagree with. The only thing that would truly terrify me about the unlikely prospect of Celtic ever being invited to play in the South - would be the inevitability that some middle-eastern/far-eastern/American conglomerate would find us an extremely attractive vehicle to wash their clatty currency in and end up eroding some of that substance which makes Celtic so unique.

I guess Man City fans might argue the toss, but from being a big 'provincial' club with a significant enough history relative to England - they now appear (to me anyway) to be a soulless plastic club with plenty of silver pots and pans, but no real identity. I guess we also have to consider some of the 'questionable' origins of where that money eminates (or should that be emirates?) from and no one can possibly argue that a club with the global appeal of Celtic wouldn't be the ideal investment opportunity for those types?

I know the klan would sell their grannypaws for that kind of deal, but even they would eventually rue the day when Sheik Maboabie turns their crumbling shitadel into the Abu Dhabi Money Grabbie Arena. In saying that - it might be kinda humorous when they have their army porn day and the brave servicemen see all those Al-Qaeda looky-likies sitting up in the directors box while they're playing with their wee cannons?

C'mon asking for double cream when 🐄 are monitored, I'm going with keep the foot firm and spend the money 💰 as we have an actual account. Spending the overdraft will not happen at Celtic1888

If the English FA were to wake up this morning and decide to send an invitation, to Celtic, to join their league.....the Scottish FA would do everything in their power to stop it....the same way FAs around Europe mobilised to prevent the Super League from happening.
They hate us, that's obvious, but we are their main income, and I include sevco in that as without hanging onto our coat tails, they'd quickly turn into a wee bitter, racist club from Glasgow....we make them relevant.
Without Celtic, the league would shrink, the sponsorships and TVs deal would dry up. Yes, it's possible that smaller teams could grow along with their fan base. But the people running the Scottish game have already shown that they have absolutely no idea how to market Scottish football as a desirable product. At the moment....they sit on their arses and wait for scraps and crumbs to fall on the floor...their only sales pitch is "4 old firm games a season to the lowest bidder"
Without Celtic, the Scottish set up dies a death.....the blazers would never allow us to leave.

It's perfectly valid to ask this question, so a hat tip to Weedocbhoy for resurrecting it. It wouldn't be the first resurrection in Scottish football. Sorry, that bloody tangent thing again !
Seriously though, when I read Sandman's post on this topic, my reaction was to post my thoughts on the danger of our club falling into the hand (s) of some unscrupulous vulture (s).
Don't really have to bother with that as SP has made that point with his usual clarity and eloquence.

However, there are many more questions we would have to honestly consider; much soul searching to be done. The first big ask, as far as I can see, is, would there be enough of a majority down south to get this monumental change over the line?
I know money ( for me very sadly ) talks. I know the clout sponsors such as Sky have in the game. It's very difficult to dispute Sandman's point on that fact. In truth though, I don't think it carries enough weight at the present time to achieve sufficient change of heart to make it happen. They are doin' quite nicely without us thanks.

There are, of course, other considerations in this discussion: I honestly don't think it's all about filthy lucre. Celtic and sevco, in the eyes of many, carry a baggage which is unacceptable to the majority of folk who either don't follow football, or support other clubs. I think it's fair to say this applies more down south than in our parochial, sometimes poison, neck of the woods. Would they really want that foisted on them ?

We also have to acknowledge the difficulty in winning trophies. We have to ask the question, is it the drive to beat sevco into finishing below us that drivers us on ? Sad to say, but I feel the rather sinister symbiotic relationship which undoubtedly exists between ourselves and sevco is what drives many on both sides. We are consumed by a dislike ( some would say hatred ) of each other. Not nice for sure, but it sure as hell creates a source of revenue.

Just as an aside; would it lead to calls for our international team to be scrapped ? Would we be relegated, in the eyes of the world, to being just another region of England?

Just for the record, personally, I would love it to happen. You see, I couldn't care less if we never played sevco again. Ever .

A good topic for a blether. Again, well done Weedocbhoy.

I agree with you that it would be a more competitive league if the hoops and zombies left for greener pastures. At the start of every season every team would think they would have a chance of winning it, instead of just hoping to survive and maybe a top six finish

If the English FA were to wake up this morning and decide to send an invitation, to Celtic, to join their league.....the Scottish FA would do everything in their power to stop it....the same way FAs around Europe mobilised to prevent the Super League from happening.
They hate us, that's obvious, but we are their main income, and I include sevco in that as without hanging onto our coat tails, they'd quickly turn into a wee bitter, racist club from Glasgow....we make them relevant.
Without Celtic, the league would shrink, the sponsorships and TVs deal would dry up. Yes, it's possible that smaller teams could grow along with their fan base. But the people running the Scottish game have already shown that they have absolutely no idea how to market Scottish football as a desirable product. At the moment....they sit on their arses and wait for scraps and crumbs to fall on the floor...their only sales pitch is "4 old firm games a season to the lowest bidder"
Without Celtic, the Scottish set up dies a death.....the blazers would never allow us to leave.
Terrific and valid points, Lubo. but I think for the sponsors, it would have to be both us and them.

David, there are plenty of avenues for football to continue within Scotland that can extend beyond the senior level.

There is a relatively strong Highland League, Junior football has a grand tradition and there were other strong leagues which can appeal to football lovers.

The point is, is that football in this country has to sell itself beyond it's own shores. Many of the new media outlets need 'filler' to supplement their main events, but it still needs to appeal beyond just four or five teams who have their own grievances with each other to air. One of the attractions to these broadcasters is to have at least half to three-quarter full stadiums to generate some kind of buzz. The other point is, is that clubs in Scotland are clinging to mediocrity by paying not insignificant wages for players in the hope of getting a wee sniff of the very insignificant dough that SKY pass our way. Fear is everywhere in SPFL and it doesn't always make for a pleasant spectacle.

Just by the by, it's an opinion and only an opinion. I doubt the powerbrokers in Scottish football will be appointing me to reinvent the game up here and I hasten to add, I stated previously that it wouldn't be a popular opinion.

I take the wee dig there, bud......As a Farfarian and Celtic man, you've earned that right, but Scandinavian, Swiss and other minor countries sides have managed to punch above their weight at European level and much of that can be directly attributed to decent competition at domestic level. That is NOT opinion, that is fact borne out by results.

How many times did Celtic seriously have to extend themselves in games domestically this season?

Would you not attribute at least a portion of the Lions success to the fact that they played in an extremely competitive league?

As a noted historian of the game, you should also consider that many of the clubs I'm referring to were amalgams of other clubs at their inception. I like the quirky nature of Scottish football as much as the next person, but I also like it to be competitive too.
Obviously like David Potter, I share my love with Forfar Athletic. Also, my brother-in-law is the Chairman of a HighlNd League side as well and so I follow them as well (I know many on here will not understand how you can support more than one club, but that is what I do).

The truth is that amalgamations won't work. For example, if the 4 Angus clubs merged and they were situated in say Arbroath, then the fans of Forfar, Montrose & Brechin would not support Angus United. This would be the same in Fife, Ayrshire, Central belt, etc. Remember too that Aberdeen now has 2 clubs (Cove Rangers) and Edinburgh will have 4 (Kelty & Spartans).

Many of these small clubs are very well run financially and structure their budgets according to their incomes. It is many of the clubs that are bottom half of the Premiership & Championship that are actually the leaches who want their snouts in the Celtic/theRangers related money trough.

I think many people agree that there are too many senior clubs in Scottish fitba, but rather than have clubs merge (which would not work in most cases IMO) I would be a strong advocate of having a complete restructure. I would have two main leagues of 16 reducing the number of league matches to 30. This reduces/eliminates midweek league matches, reduces the physical strain on players and gets rid of the very boring 3 or 4 league games (plus cup games) every single season (if Sky insist on more OF matches, then introduce televised one-off derby cups at New Year at alternating grounds, Celtic/theRangers, Hearts/Hibs, Dundee/Utd, Aberdeen/Inverness, Ayshire select/Glasgow non-"OF" select, Highland select/Lowland select, etc, etc - these would be big crowd pleasers too and guarantee annual derbies even if one side is relegated).

Then below the senior leagues have 3 or 4 regional leagues (again to reduce travelling costs and increase crowds) all of 16 clubs with feeder leagues below as appropriate. This way if a local businessman wants to invest heavily in a club (e.g. Darvel, Cove, etc) then they could reach the senior league much quicker, which may encourage more investment into local clubs. Unless they adapt then some of the smaller clubs who have been coasting for far too many years will die, but there are some very ambitious junior clubs who will have a much more positive impact by taking their place.

Of course, none of this will happen unless the useless blazers ruining/running Scottish fitba are removed from power. They are still operating with a local bowling club mentality and their self-interest & self importance coupled with their love of having authority has held our national sport back for decades. They have shown no ambition or imagination to change, develop and improve the game here as they are more interested in running their wee empires than doing what they are paid handsomely to do.

Of course, much of these changes need to be voted for by the clubs too and again too many of them are only interested in the very short-term impact on their own clubs. Rather than what would be better for them and everyone else in the longer term they desperately cling onto the hope of getting 3 or 4 matches each season against two clubs that their fans mostly despise with a passion and who their managers will only attempt anti-football tactics against.

Until enough people waken up and try something innovative to reinvigorate fitba through redevelopment and reorganisation then I'm afraid we are stuck in this quicksand that is Scottish football.

Personally I'd prefer Celtic to be in a Northern European league along with the biggest clubs from Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark & Scandinavia, but that is for another rant.

Obviously like David Potter, I share my love with Forfar Athletic. Also, my brother-in-law is the Chairman of a HighlNd League side as well and so I follow them as well (I know many on here will not understand how you can support more than one club, but that is what I do).

The truth is that amalgamations won't work. For example, if the 4 Angus clubs merged and they were situated in say Arbroath, then the fans of Forfar, Montrose & Brechin would not support Angus United. This would be the same in Fife, Ayrshire, Central belt, etc. Remember too that Aberdeen now has 2 clubs (Cove Rangers) and Edinburgh will have 4 (Kelty & Spartans).

Many of these small clubs are very well run financially and structure their budgets according to their incomes. It is many of the clubs that are bottom half of the Premiership & Championship that are actually the leaches who want their snouts in the Celtic/theRangers related money trough.

I think many people agree that there are too many senior clubs in Scottish fitba, but rather than have clubs merge (which would not work in most cases IMO) I would be a strong advocate of having a complete restructure. I would have two main leagues of 16 reducing the number of league matches to 30. This reduces/eliminates midweek league matches, reduces the physical strain on players and gets rid of the very boring 3 or 4 league games (plus cup games) every single season (if Sky insist on more OF matches, then introduce televised one-off derby cups at New Year at alternating grounds, Celtic/theRangers, Hearts/Hibs, Dundee/Utd, Aberdeen/Inverness, Ayshire select/Glasgow non-"OF" select, Highland select/Lowland select, etc, etc - these would be big crowd pleasers too and guarantee annual derbies even if one side is relegated).

Then below the senior leagues have 3 or 4 regional leagues (again to reduce travelling costs and increase crowds) all of 16 clubs with feeder leagues below as appropriate. This way if a local businessman wants to invest heavily in a club (e.g. Darvel, Cove, etc) then they could reach the senior league much quicker, which may encourage more investment into local clubs. Unless they adapt then some of the smaller clubs who have been coasting for far too many years will die, but there are some very ambitious junior clubs who will have a much more positive impact by taking their place.

Of course, none of this will happen unless the useless blazers ruining/running Scottish fitba are removed from power. They are still operating with a local bowling club mentality and their self-interest & self importance coupled with their love of having authority has held our national sport back for decades. They have shown no ambition or imagination to change, develop and improve the game here as they are more interested in running their wee empires than doing what they are paid handsomely to do.

Of course, much of these changes need to be voted for by the clubs too and again too many of them are only interested in the very short-term impact on their own clubs. Rather than what would be better for them and everyone else in the longer term they desperately cling onto the hope of getting 3 or 4 matches each season against two clubs that their fans mostly despise with a passion and who their managers will only attempt anti-football tactics against.

Until enough people waken up and try something innovative to reinvigorate fitba through redevelopment and reorganisation then I'm afraid we are stuck in this quicksand that is Scottish football.

Personally I'd prefer Celtic to be in a Northern European league along with the biggest clubs from Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark & Scandinavia, but that is for another rant.
BB, you're absolutely right in saying that the devoted fans of each separate Angus team will not follow a union club; however - these folk will still want their football fix and they'll divert their attention to the sheep or Dundee sides

The union club will take some bedding in, as it did in Inverness, but the next generation might get the bug and nail their colours to a county club. When you consider the plans they have to develop Kingennie, then there's your site right there. Bang on the doorstep of the Angus gateway. Feck.....you could fill that stadium wie 5,000 coos if the punters don't want to go.