Herald back page - Decision on Lennon's future

I don't know how the west coast media circus spins. I assume that there are certain Celtic-facing journalists that have a direct line to members of the board and then use that information to put out the feelers in a wee headline before collating the feedback.

I really don't know, good sports journalism stopped being an actual thing in Scotland a long time ago and it seems that most writers pluck their bylines from an unsuspecting blog or site and then run it as 'a source close to the club'.

This is not about headlines in newspapers though, this is about the best way forward for Celtic and the decisions that have to be made that will ensure we remain competitive throughout this season.

Although I have backed the board and don't necessarily want to see or hear from them on a regular basis - this is one of those times when their silence is deafening and their anonymity is almost a dereliction of their duties.

We've watched how Donald Trump has retreated to his bunker after the American election and refused to participate in his presidential duties. This appears to be exactly what the senior executives of our club have also been doing in the wake of our poor form.

Hiding from the problem doesn't make it go away.

I personally think that Lenny should be given the opportunity to decide himself how he wants to proceed, but he needs to be honest with himself, and us, in his decision making process. He expects honesty and commitment from the players and the board - the very least he can do is to extend that same loyalty and commitment to the fans.

If there are other reasons for our performances that we are not aware of - then Lenny has to present his case.

If there are working relationships that are impacting upon our results - then Lenny has to present his case.

If he is struggling with the burden and the responsibility and needs some real assistance - then Lenny has to present his case.

Thus far - Lenny's immediate responses after matches directly conflicts from what we've just witnessed on the pitch. We may not all be quantum physicists, but neither are we shiteswallowing fools like that other mob who would swallow swallow any pish that's presented to them.

Lenny has also thrown a few rocks at players without providing full context and that is not a comforting image of what goes on behind the scenes.

As it currently stands, Lenny himself appears to be in a similar predicament to the aforementioned American president. He is a lame duck manager as it stands. It looks like he knows he's on the outs and it seems at times as if he's half past giving a shit.

His demeanour in the dugout doesn't fill me with confidence. He looks detached from the events unfolding before him and doesn't seem to have the necessary responses to change the situation when it slips out of our control. The problem we have as fans regarding his capabilities is in how we measure his first stint in the job and then compare it to his track record since he first called time at Parkhead. It's now looking ever more likely the case that Lenny might have been more reliant on Johan Mjallby, Alan Thompson and Garry Parker than we initially thought. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but he needs to be forthright with the fans if this is the case.

I believe in Neil Lennon, but I also need to be able to believe him too.

As for the board. Stop hiding behind headlines and come out and do the jobs that you are all handsomely rewarded for. They're all front and centre on prizegiving days - then have a tendency to hide in dark corners when the shit hits the fan........it's the fans that hit the shits that they are that they should be worried aboot though.

I think we are in the eye of the perfect storm.....when the Celtic Board were compliant in the secret 5 way agreement and in the stitch up of Res 12.....it should be apparent to all imo, where their priorities lay.....I think most of us will agree there’s a huge disconnect at play at our Club presently.....the players appear to have lost their edge and their winning mentality.....it’s obvious to me some would rather be somewhere else and it shows.....the manager is not inspiring us by his demeanour, his tactics and his team selections are questionable, and he appears to be withdrawn, without energy and lacking in motivation.....I think he is personally carrying the weight of the 10 on his shoulders......and I do not believe he is mentally strong enough of successfully seeing it through on his own without serious assistance.....and that we don’t currently have.....so it has to be fixed pronto imo if Lenny is to continue and turn things around...

All in all it’s currently a clusterf**k.....it can be fixed though if the right decisions are made.....and that lies with Dermot Desmond and the Celtic Board...

The big question to me though, is.....are we being set up to fail?

I did say in a previous post that Lennon would be here till end of season. I believed if there were to be a change it would have been made during intl break. Now he has a vote of confidence from the board it gives them time 5o get the next appointment right. God help them if they don't. Now I will give any celtic manager my support hell I even supported Mowbray, Macari, Brady and even Delia but with Lennon I feel he should do the right thing and go. The club comes first. As fans we are always here, but managers come and go. If the board don't get the new manager right next time then they surely must sell up and let us move on with a new board. HH🍀🍀

What I'm saying is that we may have no choice in selling off players and we'd still have the core of Elhamed, Bition, Julienne, Broony, McGregor, Forrest, Griff, Ajeti, Rogic etc. We've lost three great youngsters to the Bundesliga this season alone and sooner or later we will have to cut our wage bill drastically 🍀

But we have to remember that the board backed the manager to the tune of 17 million Stevie - its not as though we went back to the biscuit tin philosophy 🍀
Yes they did and for best part Lenny fekd that up too so to back him to take us forward after this seasons performances is downright irresponsible.

Stevie, I know you lads have your ear closer to the ground, but I just don't see where Lenny has a whole lot of influence in making signings.

The evidence doesn't seem to back that up either, as none of them can get a fucking kick o' a ba' just now.

If he was party to those decisions, then he needs to be sacked on that fact alone.

Stevie, I know you lads have your ear closer to the ground, but I just don't see where Lenny has a whole lot of influence in making signings.

The evidence doesn't seem to back that up either, as none of them can get a fucking kick o' a ba' just now.

If he was party to those decisions, then he needs to be sacked on that fact alone.
Even if his decision wasn't final he surely could have said no. Who then has the final say?

What if NFL really thinks its the players fault,what if he believes he can turn things round even if that’s not the case but he thinks it is then he wouldn’t walk or what if he did know the game was up and he had reached the end of the line how many of us would pack up your tool bag and walk off the job without a pay off when you could sit tight until you get the shove with a pay off , I do know that a couple of years ago I had to stop working through I’ll health I was off on the sick and knew I wasn’t getting back did I hand in my notice? Like fuck I did,I waited till the bastards had to pay me off with a weeks pay for every year I’d been there why wouldn’t Lenny do the same after all it might be a fans dream to manage your team but to the pro’s it’s just a job and for all we know it might be a shit job with PL looking over your shoulder its all very well saying Lenny should do the decent thing and walk but he will do what’s best for himself and his family as we all would and if he does go it’s up to the board to draw the line and give him the shove ye canny blame a guy for holding on to his well paid job whether he thinks he can do it or not

Nobody sussed yet that the media are basically feeding of bloggers opinions as no-one is phoning their shows anymore who are manned with as hosts who are the media, Keevins, Hannah, Boyd,Sutton,Commons,Walker et al, every call is data analysis into mood swings and thats the story, put lipstick on the pig that is Keith Jackson and he will sign it.
They dip in here from time to time, there is no story in the hearld thast came from Celtic, and how do we know this, for a start they are told to get stories up or down, and made to deny facts or lies when taken to task either by courts or the Brethren, always after they have printed and made sales first.

Charles Green compensation
Administrators compensation
Warburton
Ashley
McAvennie

1606223932011.png

I support Neil....the vultures are hovering around him though and he is getting it from everywhere..some of it justified but the majority of it is just Hun MSM driven garbage....As fans , we should back our own through thick and thin..win ,lose or draw if you like however such is the new nature of modern day football, everyone is an expert and it's win at all cost...there is very little enjoyment in the game anymore

Docco respect to you and your posts. Your loyalty to Lennon is commenable. On this particular subject I can't agree with you on this one. I've supported Lennon through his time as a player manager of our club from the beginning. Unfortunately I've come to a sense reason that his time is up. Hate saying that but once you have lost the dressing room it's time to move on. Can't sack the players it's all down to the manager. 🍀🍀🍀

There is very little enjoyment watching Celtic this season.

People say we won't make the 10 if Lennon goes. I say we won't make it if he stays.

As always, I will support the team, but the Board should be ashamed of themselves and Lennon really needs to do something special NOW.

I fear for us now. I personally cannot see Lennon turning things around, and we need a massive about turn immediately.

Could be a long winter......

Brilliant post SP. If Lenny is in his final days (and let's be honest, it looks like he will be unless there is a massive change) then I'd rather he went down fighting - but not with players via in press conferences. Where is the tenacity for which he was famed and loved? Get your players fired up so they give a shite. Stop playing the folk who are "lazy" and clearly don't care. All our squad have a huge amount of skill but at the moment they have lost the heart for a battle.

And if you can't do this any more Neil then please admit this and walk away.
Lenny is known for his passion so it baffles me that some of the players cannot get themselves up for a fight although we do have spine (or lack of) which includes 3 frenchmen. They are not known for their cajones as a nation.
Then we have Lenny who, in my opinion adds to the problem in his search for consistency by persevering with the likes of Duffy, Broony and Ajeti. We have no width with Johnstone and Forrest missing and yet we leave Griffiths on the bench.

Lenny is known for his passion so it baffles me that some of the players cannot get themselves up for a fight although we do have spine (or lack of) which includes 3 frenchmen. They are not known for their cajones as a nation.
Then we have Lenny who, in my opinion adds to the problem in his search for consistency by persevering with the likes of Duffy, Broony and Ajeti. We have no width with Johnstone and Forrest missing and yet we leave Griffiths on the bench.
French have no cajones?

Never heard that before, what's it based upon?

French have no cajones?

Never heard that before, what's it based upon?
Brown cant cover 3 channels and neither can any replacement, and duffy is our most experienced cb

He wasn't on when we lost 2 to Hibs btw

Ajeti is lethal but christie and MO el shoot rather than pass

so Ajeti like every other striker we play with them on get no supply

I don't know how the west coast media circus spins. I assume that there are certain Celtic-facing journalists that have a direct line to members of the board and then use that information to put out the feelers in a wee headline before collating the feedback.

I really don't know, good sports journalism stopped being an actual thing in Scotland a long time ago and it seems that most writers pluck their bylines from an unsuspecting blog or site and then run it as 'a source close to the club'.

This is not about headlines in newspapers though, this is about the best way forward for Celtic and the decisions that have to be made that will ensure we remain competitive throughout this season.

Although I have backed the board and don't necessarily want to see or hear from them on a regular basis - this is one of those times when their silence is deafening and their anonymity is almost a dereliction of their duties.

We've watched how Donald Trump has retreated to his bunker after the American election and refused to participate in his presidential duties. This appears to be exactly what the senior executives of our club have also been doing in the wake of our poor form.

Hiding from the problem doesn't make it go away.

I personally think that Lenny should be given the opportunity to decide himself how he wants to proceed, but he needs to be honest with himself, and us, in his decision making process. He expects honesty and commitment from the players and the board - the very least he can do is to extend that same loyalty and commitment to the fans.

If there are other reasons for our performances that we are not aware of - then Lenny has to present his case.

If there are working relationships that are impacting upon our results - then Lenny has to present his case.

If he is struggling with the burden and the responsibility and needs some real assistance - then Lenny has to present his case.

Thus far - Lenny's immediate responses after matches directly conflicts from what we've just witnessed on the pitch. We may not all be quantum physicists, but neither are we shiteswallowing fools like that other mob who would swallow swallow any pish that's presented to them.

Lenny has also thrown a few rocks at players without providing full context and that is not a comforting image of what goes on behind the scenes.

As it currently stands, Lenny himself appears to be in a similar predicament to the aforementioned American president. He is a lame duck manager as it stands. It looks like he knows he's on the outs and it seems at times as if he's half past giving a shit.

His demeanour in the dugout doesn't fill me with confidence. He looks detached from the events unfolding before him and doesn't seem to have the necessary responses to change the situation when it slips out of our control. The problem we have as fans regarding his capabilities is in how we measure his first stint in the job and then compare it to his track record since he first called time at Parkhead. It's now looking ever more likely the case that Lenny might have been more reliant on Johan Mjallby, Alan Thompson and Garry Parker than we initially thought. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but he needs to be forthright with the fans if this is the case.

I believe in Neil Lennon, but I also need to be able to believe him too.

As for the board. Stop hiding behind headlines and come out and do the jobs that you are all handsomely rewarded for. They're all front and centre on prizegiving days - then have a tendency to hide in dark corners when the shit hits the fan........it's the fans that hit the shits that they are that they should be worried aboot though.
Terrific post (in my opinion)

Nobody sussed yet that the media are basically feeding of bloggers opinions as no-one is phoning their shows anymore who are manned with as hosts who are the media, Keevins, Hannah, Boyd,Sutton,Commons,Walker et al, every call is data analysis into mood swings and thats the story, put lipstick on the pig that is Keith Jackson and he will sign it.
They dip in here from time to time, there is no story in the hearld thast came from Celtic, and how do we know this, for a start they are told to get stories up or down, and made to deny facts or lies when taken to task either by courts or the Brethren, always after they have printed and made sales first.

Charles Green compensation
Administrators compensation
Warburton
Ashley
McAvennie

View attachment 12111

I’d like to see you expand on this Boab.....show how the SMSM try to manipulate things.....maybe start a thread on it and we can all wade in? 👍