Missing threads

Sorry CR but it's all down to political correctness. Can't critise someone now without being taken to task. 😞

It's WC's site, it's entirely his prerogative whether a thread should be pulled or not and I fully respect that mate but there has been other threads filled with language that some would've considered not only offensive or containing language that could be viewed as crossing the line but by the letter of the law would've been considered a hate crime yet they remained up.

I suppose what I'm getting at is where do we draw the line on what's considered offensive but acceptable and what's offensive to the point it's crossed the line, aye some stuff said on here might sometimes be considered shitty behaviour and/or in poor taste but it's not illegal so should that thread remain up and if there is language used that would be considered illegal then should those threads be pulled?

Talk about a minefield!

Off to the Tower then is it?

😂😂😂 👑 Orf with their heads!

Nah I don't think WC/Admin are gonnae go that far CR.

It's WC's site, it's entirely his prerogative whether a thread should be pulled or not and I fully respect that mate but there has been other threads filled with language that some would've considered not only offensive or containing language that could be viewed as crossing the line but by the letter of the law would've been considered a hate crime yet they remained up.

I suppose what I'm getting at is where do we draw the line on what's considered offensive but acceptable and what's offensive to the point it's crossed the line, aye some stuff said on here might sometimes be considered shitty behaviour and/or in poor taste but it's not illegal so should that thread remain up and if there is language used that would be considered illegal then should those threads be pulled?

Talk about a minefield!

my thoughts are that it’s coming down to speaking ill of the dead being more disrespectful than hate speech against the living - not sure just guessing tbh as I didn’t see the threads.

I seen the threads and I dunno either CR. 🤷‍♂️

Just think policing people's language (that the law doesn't define as illegal) is probably no a good idea but on the flip side this isnae my site it's WC's and it's him that ultimately bears the responsibility of what gets said on here. So if he's uncomfortable with certain things being said then it's rightly his call on whether it gets pulled or not but I would say if these 2 threads were worthy of being pulled then a few others were as well.

I certainly don't envy him CR put it that way, like I said this sort of thing is a minefield.

Talk about a minefield!

I can’t speak for WC but I’m sure he’d say it’s our site. The members make it what it is and he moderates. He’s obviously made a decision in what he believes is in the best interests of the site and it’s members

I think your on the right track rose
While he was living there was no issue with having a go at him. I just think at this precise moment in time it’s not a good look for the site to be humouring and celebrating the guy dropping.
As a fellow member said earlier screenshots appearing in the wrong place right now would not reflect well on us all

There was nothing liable in any of the threads, distasteful, yes, but you won’t find many royalists on this forum, the postings were nothing more than I expected, I’m past caring what the SMSM thinks of us, Celtic supporters, they make us there own hate fill articles anyway,

as it was stated in the now deleted threads, the man was a racist entitled buffoon, and I for one won’t morn his passing, nor Lizzie’s when her time comes.....they mean NOTHING to me ......

There was nothing liable in any of the threads, distasteful, yes, but you won’t find many royalists on this forum, the postings were nothing more than I expected, I’m past caring what the SMSM thinks of us, Celtic supporters, they make us there own hate fill articles anyway,

as it was stated in the now deleted threads, the man was a racist entitled buffoon, and I for one won’t morn his passing, nor Lizzie’s when her time comes.....they mean NOTHING to me ......
I think a large majority of the members on here would agree with almost every word you say.
It’s one thing thinking things or holding a view which is everybody’s right but it’s another posting it onto a public forum where it could be used to draw unwanted attention and people to our site
A screenshot on swallow swallow or any of the other hun sites and pretty soon we’d find ourselves under attack
A screenshot in the media would bring about a different animal

I can’t speak for WC but I’m sure he’d say it’s our site. The members make it what it is and he moderates. He’s obviously made a decision in what he believes is in the best interests of the site and it’s members

I get what yer saying STG but ultimately WC bears the responsibility as the guy who set-up and runs the Noise and like you said he obviously made a decision that he believes is in the best interests of it which I fully respect but if these 2 threads were deemed to have crossed the line and therefore pulled because of that then there has been plenty of other threads that should've been pulled but for whatever reason weren't.

My point is where do we draw the line with what's deemed acceptable and what's not as offence is in the eye of the beholder, what some people find offensive or distasteful others don't and there is no law that states you have a right not to be offended!

Easy excuse. Racism is racism. I've often said how funny it is when a horrible fucker dies then he all of sudden he becomes a saint. He was a horrible fucker when he was alive. Now he's a dead horrible fucker.
Always said that my brothers under strict instructions to let the 3 people at my funeral know that I was a pure prick of a guy incase they didnae know 🤣

I get what yer saying STG but ultimately WC bears the responsibility as the guy who set-up and runs the Noise and like you said he obviously made a decision that he believes is in the best interests of it which I fully respect but if these 2 threads were deemed to have crossed the line and therefore pulled because of that then there has been plenty of other threads that should've been pulled but for whatever reason weren't.

My point is where do we draw the line with what's deemed acceptable and what's not as offence is in the eye of the beholder, what some people find offensive or distasteful others don't and there is no law that states you have a right not to be offended!
It’s a very valid point you make shadow, spot on
Ive no doubt been baw deep in some of them myself but removing the morality of it all
I think the circumstances and timing play the biggest part and as moderator I’m sure he made his decision with that in mind for the good of the site. What people think of the man is only an issue on here now because it’s now sensitive.
Everybody’s different though
My mum had a great sense of humour and was the funniest person you could ever wish to grow up around.
But she always reminded us that what goes on in the house stays in the house and what we find funny others may not.

Always said that my brothers under strict instructions to let the 3 people at my funeral know that I was a pure prick of a guy incase they didnae know 🤣
I remember meetin my father's teacher years ago. He was in his late nineties and really frail. I was about 14 and had listened to all the stories about the beatings he gave my father when he was a child. He beat him senseless with a length of hosing on numerous occasions. I was gonna flatten the oul cunt, but my father wouldn't let me saying, he's and oul man leave him be. But my argument was he was the same bad fucker that beat children unconscious on a daily basis, he's just not fit to do it anymore

It’s a very valid point you make shadow, spot on
Ive no doubt been baw deep in some of them myself but removing the morality of it all
I think the circumstances and timing play the biggest part and as moderator I’m sure he made his decision with that in mind for the good of the site. What people think of the man is only an issue on here now because it’s now sensitive.
Everybody’s different though
My mum had a great sense of humour and was the funniest person you could ever wish to grow up around.
But she always reminded us that what goes on in the house stays in the house and what we find funny others may not.

I'm certainly no going to have a go at WC because at the end of the day he made a decision that he thought was right for the Noise, whether I agree with it or not is immaterial!

Also like I said in one of the threads that was pulled I'm personally no interested in celebrating anyone's death but we should also forgo the eulogising of this guy like he was some sort of force for good or excuse his rancid racist behaviour like it was harmless jovial banter either because that's what some were attempting to do.

I haven't and won't go out my way to speak ill of a dead man STG but neither will I berate those who have because much of what they say is accurate and in direct response to the ridiculous British media who have sunk to new lows in their 1984 style news output where Prince Philip's life and death has been concerned.

Btw just for the record this particular discussion about Prince Philip and the type of language being used isn't just happening on the Noise it's happening all over social media so if it's fair game on other platforms then why should it be any different for those on the Noise? Why should the people on here who choose to be critical of a divisive figure restrict their language on this when others on the likes of Twitter etc. aren't expected to do so?

Yer maw was a smart woman mate and spot on in what she said, suppose that's one of the curses of living in the age of social media what now goes on or gets said in the house can be beamed around the world in an instant and cause all sorts of issues. HH (y)

I'm certainly no going to have a go at WC because at the end of the day he made a decision that he thought was right for the Noise, whether I agree with it or not is immaterial!

Also like I said in one of the threads that was pulled I'm personally no interested in celebrating anyone's death but we should also forgo the eulogising of this guy like he was some sort of force for good or excuse his rancid racist behaviour like it was harmless jovial banter either because that's what some were attempting to do.

I haven't and won't go out my way to speak ill of a dead man STG but neither will I berate those who have because much of what they say is accurate and in direct response to the ridiculous British media who have sunk to new lows in their 1984 style news output where Prince Philip's life and death has been concerned.

Btw just for the record this particular discussion about Prince Philip and the type of language being used isn't just happening on the Noise it's happening all over social media so if it's fair game on other platforms then why should it be any different for those on the Noise? Why should the people on here who choose to be critical of a divisive figure restrict their language on this when others on the likes of Twitter etc. aren't expected to do so?
Again spot on m8
But .....
I’ll add the caveat that I never got to read it all before it was removed
I would be surprised if there was a single post defending him or attempting a whitewashing of his life or his statements. It’s too easy to assume that by default we’re sticking up for him. No one is, it’s therefore missing the argument.
I can speak for myself only when I say that I seem to have put myself on the other side of the argument and I can live with that.
Again what people say, feel or do is their right
Despite my defending WC, I would go as far to say I share the same view of the deceased with the people I am debating with, up to a certain point.
But I only care about our site and what we are about and where we are heading.
The rest of the internet is what it is. despite the man in question I think it’s poor to be celebrating his death. My opinion only.
To consider someone a horrible cunt is fair enough, to then be horrible upon his death doesn’t make sense to me. Again my opinion.
But imagine if these threads went public then it would by default reflect nearly 3,000 members. It would damage the credibility of what I think is a site that reflects genuine celtic supporters.
it’s not the message I have a beef with it’s potential consequences they carry

I remember meetin my father's teacher years ago. He was in his late nineties and really frail. I was about 14 and had listened to all the stories about the beatings he gave my father when he was a child. He beat him senseless with a length of hosing on numerous occasions. I was gonna flatten the oul cunt, but my father wouldn't let me saying, he's and oul man leave him be. But my argument was he was the same bad fucker that beat children unconscious on a daily basis, he's just not fit to do it anymore
As much as most would have rather taken your option and despite being the guy that suffered at the hands of this cunt, your father made a personal choice, not to let this man influence him in any way shape or form.
Overlooking an opportunity for short term retribution/satisfaction, your old man showed class and integrity which is more far more courageous than the alternative.

Again spot on m8
But .....
I’ll add the caveat that I never got to read it all before it was removed
I would be surprised if there was a single post defending him or attempting a whitewashing of his life or his statements. It’s too easy to assume that by default we’re sticking up for him. No one is, it’s therefore missing the argument.
I can speak for myself only when I say that I seem to have put myself on the other side of the argument and I can live with that.
Again what people say, feel or do is their right
Despite my defending WC, I would go as far to say I share the same view of this guy with the people I am debating with, up to a certain point.
But I only care about our site and what we are about and where we are heading.
The rest of the internet is what it is. despite sharing similar opinions on the guy, I think it’s poor to be celebrating it. My opinion only.
To consider someone a horrible cunt is fair enough, to then be horrible upon his death doesn’t make sense to me. my opinion.
If it went public then it would by default reflect nearly 3,000 members. It would damage the credibility of what I think is a site that reflects genuine celtic supporters.
it’s not the message I have a beef with it’s potential consequences they carry

Naw that's fair enough mate I get and respect where you're coming from and understand that not seeing the threads for yourself means that it's hard to make a judgement on the things that were being said but I can assure you there was a few posts passing off his racism as 'no worse than what often gets said on this forum', some putting it down to 'generational' differences like being a racist was somehow understandable or acceptable because it was in the past and other comments casually dismissing it in light of his 'service to his country' like that makes a difference for some weird reason. Why his 'service to his country' would excuse his racist comments is a mystery to me but he ho? :confused:

Like I said I personally have no interest in celebrating the man's death or have any desire to go out of my way to speak ill of a dead man whether it's Prince Philip or anybody else...that said I do find the eulogising of the man, the attempts to excuse his racist behaviour and the berating of those who were taking issue with that eulogising and highlighting his racist comments pretty fucked up! That's the trouble with defining what's so offensive that it crosses the line, what one person may find horrible another person may find legitimate and fair comment.

Again I don't think it would be fair for anyone to have a go at WC/Admin for pulling the threads I just think that policing people's language (that's not against the law) is an unforgiving minefield and probably not a great idea for a forum that seeks to generate discussion and debate. If causing offence and being distasteful is now considered 'crossing the line' then threads are going to be getting pulled left, right and centre.

As for what's allowed on the Noise compared to what's allowed on other platforms well that's the unenviable task for WC and Admin to deal with and if the perceptions of people outwith concern those guys and they think the level of discussion on those 2 threads damages the credibility of this site then as members we have to respect and accept that even though many don't see what was said as a crossing of the line especially when you consider some of the stuff that has been said previously on other threads that have remained up.

I'll say this though...I look forward to the day that the fitbaw dominates the discussion on here again because that's what we all really signed up to talk about!

Understand the sentiment pal but I culdnae hit an old man even if I hated the cunt i wid just pish in his tea🤣🤣

Naw that's fair enough mate I get and respect where you're coming from and understand that not seeing the threads for yourself means that it's hard to make a judgement on the things that were being said but I can assure you there was a few posts passing off his racism as 'no worse than what often gets said on this forum', some putting it down to 'generational' differences like being a racist was somehow understandable or acceptable because it was in the past and other comments casually dismissing it in light of his 'service to his country' like that makes a difference for some weird reason. Why his 'service to his country' would excuse his racist comments is a mystery to me but he ho? :confused:

Like I said I personally have no interest in celebrating the man's death or have any desire to go out of my way to speak ill of a dead man whether it's Prince Philip or anybody else...that said I do find the eulogising of the man, the attempts to excuse his racist behaviour and the berating of those who were taking issue with that eulogising and highlighting his racist comments pretty fucked up! That's the trouble with defining what's so offensive that it crosses the line, what one person may find horrible another person may find legitimate and fair comment.

Again I don't think it would be fair for anyone to have a go at WC/Admin for pulling the threads I just think that policing people's language (that's not against the law) is an unforgiving minefield and probably not a great idea for a forum that seeks to generate discussion and debate. If causing offence and being distasteful is now considered 'crossing the line' then threads are going to be getting pulled left, right and centre.

As for what's allowed on the Noise compared to what's allowed on other platforms well that's the unenviable task for WC and Admin to deal with and if the perceptions of people outwith concern those guys and they think the level of discussion on those 2 threads damages the credibility of this site then as members we have to respect and accept that even though many don't see what was said as a crossing of the line especially when you consider some of the stuff that has been said previously on other threads that have remained up.

I'll say this though...I look forward to the day that the fitbaw dominates the discussion on here again because that's what we all really signed up to talk about!
Ha I joined pissed one night after the second Sparta defeat. In lockdown with no one to bump my gums at. If we had won that night you may have been spared my excrement.
I’m quite sure that this year has been a season like no other. I wish I’d joined when we were winning 🙈
So back to topic.
I saw posts celebrating/rejoicing his demise and went straight to comment in a fit.
I agree that the coverage is extreme. I find that more offensive than anything. It’s verging on ridiculous. The same people who correctly called him out for his comments have conveniently forgotten their own coverage and now worship same as a superman whom we were blessed to have. Those same comments are now classed as ‘off the cuff’ and ‘breaking the ice in his own way in difficult situations’.
But, I don’t think those that are speaking of different times are really trying to defend him. Merely stating the fact what’s unacceptable now was ‘acceptable’ then. Best example I can give is when I say at my maws one night many moons ago. Save the coking and the dishes mum and I’ll treat us to a chinky. The nieces put me in my place. For 25/30 years it wasn’t offensive but as times moved it was considered different. Now I don’t give a flying fuck what creed, colour or religion I meet, were all born the same way so all should have the same rights. If you tell me your offended then I apologise and change my way. Not because it’s politically correct, but because if it’s viewed as offensive then by rights it is.
so long story short if you, I or others look back, by today’s standards we’ve all been racist by default. Again, this is not in defence of him, merely offering an insight into the post you mention that I never saw.
The other point you make is again fair enough. The mods (wonder what weller thinks ) are in a position. They’re damned either way. I do not think for a second they wanted to take that action, they are very liberal which you make the point of. In fact I’d go as far as say they possibly wrestled with it and against their gut pulled them. Personally I think that it’s unfair of people to assume that they are restricting their right to free speech as though they’ve taken the moral high ground. Like a father with children, sometimes you’ve got to make difficult decisions for the good of your own. The site is a godsend to many of us, they have ponied up and IMO protected what we have for our own sakes. Difficult decisions are such for a reason.
I did notice that after pulling the threads WC had taken the rest of the day off 🤣