AZ Alkmaar v Celtic - Thursday 26 August, live on Premier Sports, kick-off 7.15pm - all comments here

Well what can I say. Firstly Kyoto's goal is the difference between going out or qualif Iing. Secondly not at all happy with defence, Welsh should taken responsibility and clear thee ball why then did he stop he should have kept going and bailed out put Hart.Not impressed by the performance at all we need more experience players. Some good team we come against will hammer us. It's great to think you score two but we will score four. No nowadays football has changed so much over the years teams now mix it up. The transfer window closes Tuesday get the players in that we need. Sorry troops to spoil the parade but I'm calling it as I see it.Hail Hail☘️☘️☘️

Now that the washing machine has been loaded, and none to impressed either may I add, and the heart rate and blood pressure has returned to normal, time to really savor the achievement tonight.
Showed real character and fight especially from Starfelt, Welsh and Hart after such a poor showing in the 1st half.
Performance wise, wasn't what we have started to get use to, but when many of our players put in there worst performance to date and even Ange got it tactically wrong until eddy came on, we still showed great character to eventually overcome a very good team in AZ.
Sometimes you learn far more in defeat than an easy win about your team and think Ange would have seen that himself, and a massive step gained tonight and very proud of the Bhoys.
The experience gained tonight with be so valuable for us going forward and that includes Ange also.
With the level of commitment shown tonight, will make the league title a fairly easy task as we are not going to face a team as strong as AZ in the league all season.
Hope all the players are OK for Sunday as some fairly hefty knocks some of them took tonight and went unnoticed.
Still got no worries about Sunday and the washing machine will also be having the day off, glad to say.

In Pot 2 for the draw. There could be some interesting and very tough groups:

View attachment 15517
It's where we need to be BB and able to compete strongly if we really want to be a CL team next season.
One thing for sure now is the competition within European football is getting stronger by the season, so expecting a tough group maybe not as tough as last season though

It's where we need to be BB and able to compete strongly if we really want to be a CL team next season.
One thing for sure now is the competition within European football is getting stronger by the season, so expecting a tough group maybe not as tough as last season though
No matter who it is John I know you and I are delighted to Invite them to our fantastic field of dreams. 💚🍀

Aye, just in from the pub after an Auld Grumpy Bastards Club day out, not gonnie go in tae details AGBC(wur more secretive than the masons)

As for the game was impressed by the start, but fuck all else after that. Not gonnie point any fingers of blame at the team or management. We're in the draw for the Group Stages & that'll do me, should've been The CL but the boards pursuit of an unrealistic target, resulted in that failure.

Now " BRING ON THE COVID INFECTED ORANGE BASTURDS"

Well what can I say. Firstly Kyoto's goal is the difference between going out or qualif Iing. Secondly not at all happy with defence, Welsh should taken responsibility and clear thee ball why then did he stop he should have kept going and bailed out put Hart.Not impressed by the performance at all we need more experience players. Some good team we come against will hammer us. It's great to think you score two but we will score four. No nowadays football has changed so much over the years teams now mix it up. The transfer window closes Tuesday get the players in that we need. Sorry troops to spoil the parade but I'm calling it as I see it.Hail Hail☘️☘️☘️
:rolleyes:
Group stages...job done...more to come
Looking forward to watching the Bhoys going forward

Isn't it amazing how expectations rise in the space of 4 weeks?
FFS we would have ripped your arm off for that result tonight.
AZ ARE a good Team yet they didn't hammer us, even after we gifted them 2 goals. They are better than anything in the SPFL and maybe even us, yet we still won. Yes we are still a work in progress but come on!!!

I watched the game like the rest of us, and maybe I'm in minority but I always thought we looked quite comfortable (if you are inclined to watch the game knowing the score the nerves of watching it real time are removed - I'm not going to watch it again!).

On that, if you take away the two goals which were mistakes I think we limited a very good side to just a few very good chances. If they had scored and taken us to extra time I was confident we would have scored again, as we were really growing into the game. As per normal goals change games, but for me I didn't see any panic within our game - maybe this comes from Ange. Glad he took Rogic off who was completely being bypassed (not having a go at him as it could have been Thurnbull), and I was surprised that Eddie came on and not a midfielder but it worked, so what do I know.

The real plus was they got us through a very tricky tie, and we were tested and put under pressure. No one likes losing but we must learn from it. They adapted to our style (this is what happens against good teams in Europe) and bypassed our midfield with quality long balls and we struggled at times to deal with it. But it's a journey and when we face that again we should be better prepared.

I thought the defence wasn't outstanding, but they all did their job. I think some forget that the back line was:

Ralston age 22 - played a total of 57 games in his career
Welsh age 21 - played a total of 33 games in his career
Montgomery 19 - played a total of 8 games in his career
Starfelt 26 - Played 170 games - but just 5 for Celtic
Taylor 23 - 149 games (experienced compared to the rest but just 26 for Celtic).

That game was wonderful experience for these young lads, don't be too harsh for a few errors which if they learn from will stand them in good stead.

Now that the washing machine has been loaded, and none to impressed either may I add, and the heart rate and blood pressure has returned to normal, time to really savor the achievement tonight.
Showed real character and fight especially from Starfelt, Welsh and Hart after such a poor showing in the 1st half.
Performance wise, wasn't what we have started to get use to, but when many of our players put in there worst performance to date and even Ange got it tactically wrong until eddy came on, we still showed great character to eventually overcome a very good team in AZ.
Sometimes you learn far more in defeat than an easy win about your team and think Ange would have seen that himself, and a massive step gained tonight and very proud of the Bhoys.
The experience gained tonight with be so valuable for us going forward and that includes Ange also.
With the level of commitment shown tonight, will make the league title a fairly easy task as we are not going to face a team as strong as AZ in the league all season.
Hope all the players are OK for Sunday as some fairly hefty knocks some of them took tonight and went unnoticed.
Still got no worries about Sunday and the washing machine will also be having the day off, glad to say.
This!! ☝️👏👏

Isn't it amazing how expectations rise in the space of 4 weeks?
FFS we would have ripped your arm off for that result tonight.
AZ ARE a good Team yet they didn't hammer us, even after we gifted them 2 goals. They are better than anything in the SPFL and maybe even us, yet we still won. Yes we are still a work in progress but come on!!!
Spot on mate. We may have lost this game but AZ are a cut above anything in the SPL. Let’s remember the manky mob could only manage 0-0 against a 10 man mediocre Armenian side and squeak through by one goal. If we play like we did in our previous 3/4 games we’ll hammer this mob.

Thought or defence played well,the two goals there isn’t a footballer on this site who swung at a ball and missed you could see on the lads face how he felt,yes. Joe H should have known better with his experience but more than made up for it
as for the game they set out to bully us harass the Ref into booking Celtic players
and like a few of or own Refs allowed them free range to push kick jump into and anything else to stop Celtic we got though a Big change from last season both in play and commitment roll on Sunday hopefully we will see the progress

It was nail biting stuff but this time we had luck on our side and there definitely was improvement in the 2nd half.
If that had been last season, heads would have been down.
4/5 weeks ago how many of us thought there was no way we would get into the group section.
Well done to the club, but mostly well done to the players and especially Ange. HH.

Spot on mate. We may have lost this game but AZ are a cut above anything in the SPL. Let’s remember the manky mob could only manage 0-0 against a 10 man mediocre Armenian side and squeak through by one goal. If we play like we did in our previous 3/4 games we’ll hammer this mob.
The Dutch media probably reported more positively about their team going out than our clowns did over here about a Scottish team going through.
Never seen anything like it, national press wanting home teams beat.

We beat a very good team over 2 legs....would we have won that last season?Would we fuck .You re no spoiling my parade ...Celtic have been immense these last few weeks and will only get better .