Celtic v Bayer Leverkusen - Thursday 30 September, kick-off 8pm - all comments here

FFS can you not see it's 'the system' that's the problem?
Trying to fit square pegs in round holes?
What kind of spell has Ange put on you all?
Oh aye the emperor has got fantastic clothes on?
It's fucking joke. Defeat after defeat or draw, yet you all say, ooh Ange is the man.
WHAT WILL IT TAKE?
I think if we lose at the weekend he's a goner.

A like big ange and like everyone who posts on here want him to be a monster success,,but a expected him to come in and settle us down get us a solid unit,hard to beat,we ain’t any of the above?no asking the big man to invent the wheel,just make us hard to beat play a bit a fit baw...am a easy man to please....we play the way we played first 15/20 min and take our chances we destroy any team in Scotland no prob,,but players look nervous as hell when we don’t,,,get them comfortable in a system that suits then move forward,,,,4-0 against Aberdeen get your doe on...☘️☘️

I am not sure

Have feeling Ange likes what he sees

And its feeling bit like NL analysis after games

If he cant see 2 acm dont work efficiently then im not sure how we change things

Nothing about his system is efficient imo

doesnt appear to be useful unless opposition also sacrifice their midfield

i was quite happy to let him continue despite reservations because goals were flying in

but opp managers are savvy in that they anticipate the strengths of ange system while exploiting our glaring weaknesses

whereas we just do same against everybody

And if anything we are doing it progressively worse over time rather than more efficiently

doesnt apear to be a proper plan

just run hard press and sacrifice midfield defensive mindset for high risk counter runs
Wee Frimpong played well the night TET?Scottish championship level you said ?🤣

FFS can you not see it's 'the system' that's the problem?
Trying to fit square pegs in round holes?
What kind of spell has Ange put on you all?
Oh aye the emperor has got fantastic clothes on?
It's fucking joke. Defeat after defeat or draw, yet you all say, ooh Ange is the man.
WHAT WILL IT TAKE?
The board either bet on Lennon Mk1 and a Sevco collapse or deliberately pulled a Lennon Mk2 to extend another lifeline to Sevco.
Either way they have failed to invest significantly enough in the club even after season tickets sold out. Nothing new there as they've always preferred money in the bank over money in the hoops.
This board has observed the various Ibrox fleecing operations and I'd be very surprised if lessons learned weren't applied to bonus maximisation strategies.
The loyalty of Celtic fans continues to be exploited as the people in control consistently place personal gain over the good of the club. Time and again the board has asset stripped the side and made token gestures of replacement. They'll keep doing it for as long as they can get away with it. If they are extending another lifeline to Sevco it's another win, win for them as they can do it on the cheap.
Will the season books sell out again next season if the strategy is so obvious?

Got to my seat and spent time savouring the atmosphere. Had a swatch through the players and noticed our captain and our Japanese talisman were back from injury. Really began to think to myself this may not be as bad as we feared. Then I saw the team, or should I say, the midfield. Not being clever after the event folks, I've already given my thoughts on playing with three offensive midfield players. At any level it's naive. At this level, it's suicide.
As for the inverted fullbacks ? Well, I understand the thinking, tucking in when our midfielders are attacking. I get it, but when the ball is lost we are WIDE open down the flanks.
While it may be true to say we more than matched them up until Turnbull's mistake, for me we were simply outclassed over the 90 odd minutes. Sunday is a big day for Ange.

Got to my seat and spent time savouring the atmosphere. Had a swatch through the players and noticed our captain and our Japanese talisman were back from injury. Really began to think to myself this may not be as bad as we feared. Then I saw the team, or should I say, the midfield. Not being clever after the event folks, I've already given my thoughts on playing with three offensive midfield players. At any level it's naive. At this level, it's suicide.
As for the inverted fullbacks ? Well, I understand the thinking, tucking in when our midfielders are attacking. I get it, but when the ball is lost we are WIDE open down the flanks.
While it may be true to say we more than matched them up until Turnbull's mistake, for me we were simply outclassed over the 90 odd minutes. Sunday is a big day for Ange.
Were the Disco Lights good?

Agree was up in my seat and going for it with some of the play we produced but again frailties, one slip gave them the breathing space and then we got going again, we see them going over for a corner and the ref points to the spot, unbelievable, their keeper was outstanding and they have a couple of young gems in the side with German internationals, good side and at times great football played were we had them reeling, but same old story, as someone wrote in a song,
"But the film is a saddening bore
For We've (she's) lived it ten times or more....."

The saddest thing is the result tonight was not a surprise, it was expected. That's what we have become, Europa League whipping boys.
Utter shite, club a shambles from the top down and Ange isn't doing himself any favours trying to fit square pegs into round holes. You cant play that system with the players we have available. In fact you cant okay that system with the players we have at the club.
I like Ange, I like how he wants to play football but he has been sold a pup and hasn't been given the backing required to improve us from last season. The squad is worse than the one that lost the league by 25 points. If I was Ange I'd walk, and I would let everyone know why I walked. He won't, he'll be sacked, possibly as soon as the next international break in November unless results improve dramatically.
On the game Jota MOTM by a mile, Carter-Vickers, McGregor and Hart pass marks, the rest 🙄

2 major lessons the players should learn from tonight...the 1st is you've got tae be more clinical and take full advantage of the chances that come yer way because opposition teams operating at Leverkusen's level will sure as fuck make the most of the theirs...the 2nd is ye cannae afford tae switch off for a second against quality opposition like that because they'll pounce on every loose pass, every hesitation and every individual error and they'll punish you for it.

You can see what AP is trying to achieve here with this system because we saw in flashes tonight how even top teams like Leverkusen struggle to contain it and get themselves intae a flap at times trying to get to grips with it but the big lesson for AP here is that he has to recognise we lack the necessary personnel with the required quality to sustain it at this level for now so he needs to be a bit more pragmatic and learn to adapt...at least in Europe...until he has the players he needs to make it work.

Said it before....although both have talent neither Rogic nor Turnbull have either the defensive capabilities or the stamina to make AP's midfield 3 vision work and playing both at the same time is suicide against opposition like Leverkusen and while Ralston and Montgomery both have their strengths neither of them are equipped to play the inverted full back role, you could see clear as day how much unnecessary pressure that put on the CB's tonight.

There are clearly signs of a successful and exciting strategy in AP's style of play but for now, especially in Europe, we're falling way too short in the personnel department to make it work properly and I just hope AP recognises this and comes up with a Plan B.

I
I've stated my dislike of these so called "inverted" full backs before. Leaves gaping holes. Let them defend ffs. It's a part of the reason we're shipping goals.

I seen a lot of people commenting that the players aren't good enough to play the system that the manager wants to play, that may well be true and the problem then becomes the manager trying to persist with the system knowing the players aren't able to adapt to it. Top managers adjust the system during games if they feel it isn't working