It’s time now…

A long time ago when cr informed us the Scottish oil money built the Blackwall Tunnel I pointed out that it was the victorians who built it 100 years before Scottish oil had been thought of. The foul mouthed reply I received was quite memorable, I was an "insufferable fucker" "a wee cat cunt" and I was insulting her late husbands memory. The insufferable fucker and wee cat cunt parts are probably fair enough but under no circumstances did I offend her husband in any way, shape or form. I didn't respond in kind with cursing and name calling, I tried to defuse the situation, that olive branch was ignored.
I will treat people they way they treat me, anyone who thinks they can call me all the fuckers under the sun without risk of reprisal is delusional (read what I said earlier about bully's) and when that person waves the victim flag when they receive a fraction of what they're happy to dish out they are a hypocrite.
What's good for the goose is good for the gander springs to mind.
As it happens I bocked her 5 months ago for her offensive views on Ukraine, so whoever has been "bullying" her since certainly wasn't me, but I'm sure this thread has achieved its original purpose, lots of unwarranted sympathy and a bit more discord sown.
If true Hoopy, and I have no reason to doubt you, then perhaps we have all been led up the garden path by a “player”.
There are plenty out there with lots to say without affording a right to reply, these are often the ones that resort to the foul language as more often than not don’t have an answer when challenged on their views.
Think I’m with BB on this, time to put this thread to bed.

If true Hoopy, and I have no reason to doubt you, then perhaps we have all been led up the garden path by a “player”.
There are plenty out there with lots to say without affording a right to reply, these are often the ones that resort to the foul language as more often than not don’t have an answer when challenged on their views.
Think I’m with BB on this, time to put this thread to bed.
Aye these days it's far too easy to shout racist/misogyny/fuckin witever because somebody does not agree with u and with this social media ur guilty rite away man its fuckin no rite

A long time ago when cr informed us the Scottish oil money built the Blackwall Tunnel I pointed out that it was the victorians who built it 100 years before Scottish oil had been thought of. The foul mouthed reply I received was quite memorable, I was an "insufferable fucker" "a wee cat cunt" and I was insulting her late husbands memory. The insufferable fucker and wee cat cunt parts are probably fair enough but under no circumstances did I offend her husband in any way, shape or form. I didn't respond in kind with cursing and name calling, I tried to defuse the situation, that olive branch was ignored.
I will treat people they way they treat me, anyone who thinks they can call me all the fuckers under the sun without risk of reprisal is delusional (read what I said earlier about bully's) and when that person waves the victim flag when they receive a fraction of what they're happy to dish out they are a hypocrite.
As it happens I bocked her 5 months ago for her offensive views on Ukraine, so whoever has been "bullying" her since certainly wasn't me, but I'm sure this thread has achieved its original purpose, lots of unwarranted sympathy and a bit more discord sown.
Now hoopy I didn't read the posts that cr had written. You have given me a massive wake up call . I won't comment on written posts if I have never read them. Thanks Tiddles for that😍😍

Lots of talk about bullying, but what is bullying?

Is it the dictionary definition, perceived strong person abuses their strength to dominate or intimidate a perceived weak person? I don't think so that's too simplistic.

A bully is someone who believes their status gives them the right to abuse, dominate or offend others without fear of retribution and when the bully faces retribution for their actions they have a habit of playing the victim card.

The bully and the victim are often two sides of the same coin, the bully bully's to inflate a weak identity and if that fails the bully instigates sympathy as a victim to massage the damaged ego.
Food for thought for anyone who wishes to think.
Hoopy the dictionary definitions are correct in those senses you mentioned.
It misses out the ' unknowing bully' though, you know what I mean?
Sometimes having strong opinions and being immersed in them can blind a person.
To the extent that the bully is unknowing of the pressure it might put on another just by being forthright, especially when we dont know who were talking with.
It's easily done without being intended.
New dictionary please 😉

See this is where the rest of us can help ( thanks for that hoopy) in either sending a PM to one party or the other , or just saying publically can you 2 or 3 just drop it please cos it's not nice to read insults firing back and forth and putting us all on a downer or words to that effect, if one really wants to continue do it over the PM option mibbe.
I believe that the pandemic lockdown also had a part to play in the low points of the time cos we had nothing really football wise to speak of.

Must admit I have found this thread to be somewhat worrying myself.
Learnt over the past few years that if you have a troubled mindset, like I own myself, that a great way to realise that tension is by being able to express yourself to release such pressure.
Also when you own an over obsessed celtic mindset like I have myself then this forum can become a vital part of your daily life also.
Many different characters and subjects discussed, not that I personally would have much interest in some myself, but this forum has to remain open to anyone to feel free to express themselves in what ever views they feel fit to do so, and on what matters regardless of any offence that they may cause to others imo.
Hardly one to talk about rows and disagreements amongst ourselves with being involved in a few to many myself, but really don't like them and do have an adverse effect upon myself also, yet still struggle to deal with such issues that can arise within your daily lives also.
However, how important it has been to learn the value of RESPECT, and only really learnt that from the great man himself, MICHAEL DUFFY (MD) as tended to be to self focused to really consider other people as such and how they actually might feel about certain things.
So could I make a suggestion that if people see any such unsavoury incidents amongst ourselves that others can feel free to jump in with just a MD as a sign of more respect needs to be shown here.
Don't take any pleasure from seeing or being involved in such matters and believe that a simple intervention could resolve any disputes that could turn nasty and become out of hand also.
I fully understand how emotion can engulf someone when such incidents do occur, again another weekness within myself and sometimes a simple reality check is all that's needed to resolve an issue, and would be very welcomed by myself anyway if others within the forum could step in and feel free to defuse a situation than to stand by as onlookers as such.
I believe that maybe a simple MD could be called for, especially from a man who helped to make this forum as great as it still remains and also was so important to his daily life also.
Only a thought
Considering that we dont know each other, never met though I know a few have.
Youd think it wouldn't bother you but it does.
Theres nothing worse than coming off this forum feeling down because of a disagreement that's went overboard.
It affects us because we all love Celtic and were all here for that reason.
I want to sign off for the day not despondent cos I'm in the minority but grateful for the site and being able to put my opinions out there , If I'm in the minority so be it. It is the name calling that's too much, ( that's usually banter) if it's not taken as such then a " only joking btw" would help.
I don't see this thread as a long goodbye , I see it as ourselves collectively hitting the reset button on what the Celtic noise forum is for, Celtic .
I'd like the general chat section to be general chat about football not necessarily concerning Celtic ( what i think it's meant to be).
What I'd like is one thing , but I hope we all collectively hit the reset button now and do what we do best , talk Celtic and football in general. HH

Are we having a blether on the definition of bullying; or are we looking for a way to appease our conscience for the manner in which we sometimes show a lack of respect, not just to the particular individual we're in discussion with, but to The Noise as a whole ?

Let me say , I certainly don't think Rose was looking for sympathy; she was just informing us as to the reasons she felt unwelcome, ( by some ) on The Noise. I also have to say, I absolutely didn't agree with Rose regarding the war in Ukraine. Equally, I'm too long in the tooth to fall for the propaganda coming from all sides. I know we've all heard it, but it's worth repeating: The first casualty of war is always truth.

So, let's try define what we believe to be bullying. Speaking only for myself here, I feel bullying shows itself in many forms. From a very early age, starting even in primary school, and continuing through secondary, I'm sure we've all witnessed bullies try to establish some kind of pecking order.

That was certainly my first experience of bullying. No problem, easily sorted. Stand up to them, even once, and they get the message. They're basically insecure cowards.

The other kind is much more difficult to contend with; the verbal onslaught from a voice with no face. Every bit as cowardly; and more damaging. Bruises heal quicker than mental abuse. This is the kind of bullying Rose felt she was being subjected to. The name-calling, for me, went way beyond what is acceptable. Probably THE pitfall of discussing emotive subjects on any kind of social media. Does it fall into my personal definition of verbal bullying ? Yes, it does.

I think it was Bellshill boy who feels it's time to bin this thread; think he also feels we should discuss nothing other than football. Especially no politics. Fair enough, no problem with Bb holding that opinion. Again; just my own thoughts here, I feel The Noise would lose something if we ventured down the road of censorship. We have a general chat facility for a reason. If someone posts something we're not interested in, then, move on. Ignore.

If, however, we choose to answer that which we may think to be absolute guano, then it would help if we answered in a respectful manner. If we all did that; there would be no need for a thread such as this. Sorry about the lengthy answer. Too many opportunities to go off at a tangent !

Are we having a blether on the definition of bullying; or are we looking for a way to appease our conscience for the manner in which we sometimes show a lack of respect, not just to the particular individual we're in discussion with, but to The Noise as a whole ?

Let me say , I certainly don't think Rose was looking for sympathy; she was just informing us as to the reasons she felt unwelcome, ( by some ) on The Noise. I also have to say, I absolutely didn't agree with Rose regarding the war in Ukraine. Equally, I'm too long in the tooth to fall for the propaganda coming from all sides. I know we've all heard it, but it's worth repeating: The first casualty of war is always truth.

So, let's try define what we believe to be bullying. Speaking only for myself here, I feel bullying shows itself in many forms. From a very early age, starting even in primary school, and continuing through secondary, I'm sure we've all witnessed bullies try to establish some kind of pecking order.

That was certainly my first experience of bullying. No problem, easily sorted. Stand up to them, even once, and they get the message. They're basically insecure cowards.

The other kind is much more difficult to contend with; the verbal onslaught from a voice with no face. Every bit as cowardly; and more damaging. Bruises heal quicker than mental abuse. This is the kind of bullying Rose felt she was being subjected to. The name-calling, for me, went way beyond what is acceptable. Probably THE pitfall of discussing emotive subjects on any kind of social media. Does it fall into my personal definition of verbal bullying ? Yes, it does.

I think it was Bellshill boy who feels it's time to bin this thread; think he also feels we should discuss nothing other than football. Especially no politics. Fair enough, no problem with Bb holding that opinion. Again; just my own thoughts here, I feel The Noise would lose something if we ventured down the road of censorship. We have a general chat facility for a reason. If someone posts something we're not interested in, then, move on. Ignore.

If, however, we choose to answer that which we may think to be absolute guano, then it would help if we answered in a respectful manner. If we all did that; there would be no need for a thread such as this. Sorry about the lengthy answer. Too many opportunities to go off at a tangent !
Great post Frank . No this thread isnt about the definition of bullying.
It's become a kind of reality check thread where keep it respectful from here in is the topic its changed to, and achievable.
Theres another huge one in the news I wont mention but we all know what it is.
Hopefully if it does becomes a thread it remains respectful.
Censorship? No , bad idea ( not one you were advocating for).

Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy.......Isaac Newton........