The Celtic Exchange.

I have just finished the Keevins one. Like all the previous podcasts I thought it was excellent and he came across really well. Maybe because my only exposure to him is the hilarious social media snippets I hear where he has made an arse of himself but I've never suffered any of his shows or ever read his newspaper articles, so I didn't have any feelings about him beforehand.

I cannot express how much I am loving these interviews. Everyone has been so humble too as everything they did was totally focused on doing whatever they could to save our club.

I am left wondering what could have been if there wasn't the falling out between Fergus & Brian Dempsey. If we had the vision and financial acumen of McCann coupled with the force of personality & people's touch of Brian, what could the club have achieved? Could we have progressed on a higher stage with his drive? Maybes aye, maybes naw! And we'll never know what might have been.

I reckon Scottish football would look completely different today. Whether it was for his love of Celtic, or the way he was treated by the old board, Dempsey seems like a guy who was relentless to see change at the club.
If Fergus, the quiet business man, was willing to take on the SFA over the Cadete issue....can you imagine what Dempsey would have done to Scottish football!!
Maybe we will find out in part 6. Can't wait!!

Just to back up what Lubos has been saying from this thread If you haven't listened in yet.
Getting plenty of acclaim on Celtic sites.

View attachment 25424

Puts our copy and paste mainstream media to shame, that a bunch of "Internet bampots" could put a masterpiece like this together. Documenting, not only a massive event in our history, but a massive event in Scottish footballs history.
Because of the work done by the people on these series of Podcasts, Scottish football have only ever lost one Glasgow giant.
This podcast SHOULD be being promoted by the MSM but we know why it isn't.

Puts our copy and paste mainstream media to shame, that a bunch of "Internet bampots" could put a masterpiece like this together. Documenting, not only a massive event in our history, but a massive event in Scottish footballs history.
Because of the work done by the people on these series of Podcasts, Scottish football have only ever lost one Glasgow giant.
This podcast SHOULD be being promoted by the MSM but we know why it isn't.
Spot on Lubos....maybe the Celtic Star could facilitate similar Podcasts in the future as they have some great Celtic voices among their team... young and mature with much to tell about our great history.
They could even invite some of the posters from the noise as a guest now and again ...guys like your good self and many others on here who contribute so much in so many different ways.
Plenty of potential there I would say. HH and fcuk the SMSM !!

Aye Lubos McNee and Keevins made the mistake of penning Celtic books which would have outed them as leaning towards our club.
They soon learned that would not be tolerated in the world of funny handshakes and the goat so like most in SMSM throughout the decades they took the soup and pretty much turned full circle.

Now and again you would get the odd journo putting their Tim heids above the parapet with the likes of Jim Delahunt and Jim Spence but they would soon be slapped doon.
Only real decent one I can ever remember was the late great Bob Crampsey a true gentleman and scholar of sports journalism.
Crampsey was a brain of Britain at one time. When Crampsey spoke you listened.

With there being no proper football on, I thought I'd take this opportunity to have a wee rant!! (If you can call it that)

I love listening to Celtic Podcasts. It makes my commute in and out of London a little easier. Two of the best, IMO, are 20 minute Tim's and the Celtic Exchange. Tino, the creator of the Celtic Exchange, joined the Noise to promote his podcast and for that I'm grateful.

He is currently running a feature, that I've posted about a couple of times, mapping out the events that took place around Celtic 30 years ago. If there is a big archive on the history of Celtic in a vault somewhere then the podcast, that the Exchange has produced should 100% be saved there. What Tino and his team have managed to do, in telling the story around probably the most important time in Celtics history is nothing short of amazing.

The podcast, currently on part 5, (we will get to that) has managed to tell the story of the events, around that time, from several angles. We've had Save our Celts, Jim Orr, who could possibly be credited, along with others, of starting a movement that would eventually bring about the removal of the old board. We've had Matt McGlone of Celts for Change talking about the hard work they put in, convincing the fans that change was needed. Stories of secret tape recorders and protests at the bank. Then there was David Lowe discussing his relationship with Fergus and his mission to gain shares in the club. I've just listened to Tom Grant, an actual Celtic board member at the time of the Whites and Kelly. The stories and first hand accounts from these guys are truly eye opening and I urge anyone to have a listen....

Now my wee rant.

We have had perspectives of events from different sections during this time...and part 5 is from a media point of view. I could only bring myself to listen to about 15 minutes of this before switching off, sadly. This is because, for what ever reason, the guy they've decided to interview is no other than Hugh Keevins. Now, maybe in the early 90s, old Shug, who states in the podcast that he's from a Celtic family, was a friend of the club. But the last 20 odd years of listening to this guy attack our club, meant that I just couldn't bring myself to listen to him, which is a shame. Unfortunately, for me and possibly only me, its tainted what is probably one of the best and most insightful pieces I've read or listened to regarding Celtics recent history.

In saying that, I recommend that you listen to the various Podcasts, on the Exchange, mapping out this part of the clubs history, including Keevins, if you can stomach it.

If you made it this far. Thanks for reading 🤣🤣🤣
Just listened to the first one with Matt McGlone. Really enlightening and reminds us just how much we were hanging by a thread.

The best of the series from Tino. Brian Dempsey comes across brilliantly.

We'll leave The Celtic Exchange thread pinned to the top on Celtic Noise as Tino wants to get involved on here. I've suggested that this could be good way to do that and on match days it will sit next to thread on the game and that could lead into the post match podcast and further interaction with Celtic Noise regulars!

Tino has been chatting to Lubos left peg and those two seem best buddies now!

Back to this series, the best thing for me personally is that you sort of remember snippets about what you've heard at the time or shortly thereafter about the players in this. Plenty of the guys featured got their characters attacked - snidely in most cases. Judging from these podcasts the only one I'd have any reservations about is Keevins because of what he's become.

I know Tom Grant personally and always knew he was a top quality Celtic man, the same can be said about the rest with Dempsey the star of Tino's show.

Final point - it's Celtic fan media bringing this to the support, not the mainstream media. I doubt any club anywhere could be better served than the Celtic support.

We'll leave The Celtic Exchange thread pinned to the top on Celtic Noise as Tino wants to get involved on here. I've suggested that this could be good way to do that and on match days it will sit next to thread on the game and that could lead into the post match podcast and further interaction with Celtic Noise regulars!

Back to this series, the best thing for me personally is that you sort of remember snippets about what you've heard at the time or shortly thereafter about the players in this. Plenty of the guys featured got their characters attacked - snidely in most cases. Judging from these podcasts the only one I'd have any reservations about is Keevins because of what he's become.

I know Tom Grant personally and always knew he was a top quality Celtic man, the same can be said about the rest with Dempsey the star of Tino's show.

Final point - it's Celtic fan media bringing this to the support, not the mainstream media. I doubt any club anywhere could be better served than the Celtic support.

I did drop Tino an email congratulating him. Also let him know that we are over on the Celtic Noise giving him our support.
We are the luckiest fans in the world, IMO, when it comes to our bloggers. They don't feed us crap. They tell it like it is. They treat us with respect and they make sure our club is reported on truthly and fairly.
We don't need to be fed deludamol and fantasy. So I 100% wholeheartedly agree with your final point!!!

David, cheers for this. All the guests have been brilliant but was great to sit down with Brian and hear his side of the story. The episode's only been live now for a few hours but the response has been phenomenal!

Thanks for pinning our thread at the top and really keen as you say to get more involved here on Celtic Noise (thanks too to @Lubos left peg for recent support). Looking forward to it!

Cheers, Tino

Just a short message here to thank everyone for the overwhelming support with what we've been doing with The Battle To Save Celtic series.

It's gathered real pace since we launched the first episode on 4th March (30 years to the day since the Fergus McCann takeover) and all 6 guests so far have been exceptional.

We have a couple more planned but will depend on a few things falling into place and will try upodate everyone here as best I can on things as we progress.

Meantime if anyone had any questions or anything like that on what we're doing then feel free to let me know here.

Cheers, Tino

Just a short message here to thank everyone for the overwhelming support with what we've been doing with The Battle To Save Celtic series.

It's gathered real pace since we launched the first episode on 4th March (30 years to the day since the Fergus McCann takeover) and all 6 guests so far have been exceptional.

We have a couple more planned but will depend on a few things falling into place and will try upodate everyone here as best I can on things as we progress.

Meantime if anyone had any questions or anything like that on what we're doing then feel free to let me know here.

Cheers, Tino
Would like to hear a proper Neil Lennon interview!!the ten season!!the threats!!the mccoist whisper…

Wow! The Brian Dempsey interview was even better than the previous 5. I'd love to hear Fergus's thoughts but I'm not sure if this will be even possible. As I've said before, it is imperative that we document these important events which have shaped our history before they are lost in the mists of time forever. Record them from various viewpoints with as many first hand accounts as possible to get the best possible picture as to what happened.

This is why it is important that these wonderful Celtic historians continue to spread the word about events that most of us only have vague notions of.

Well done Tino. If there is any justice then this series would win whatever awards are available in the podcast community. Hail hail!

Wow! The Brian Dempsey interview was even better than the previous 5. I'd love to hear Fergus's thoughts but I'm not sure if this will be even possible. As I've said before, it is imperative that we document these important events which have shaped our history before they are lost in the mists of time forever. Record them from various viewpoints with as many first hand accounts as possible to get the best possible picture as to what happened.

This is why it is important that these wonderful Celtic historians continue to spread the word about events that most of us only have vague notions of.

Well done Tino. If there is any justice then this series would win whatever awards are available in the podcast community. Hail hail!
The awards are just click bait nonsense, there is no proper fan media awards which are based on merit. Wry smile when I see folk claiming this and that, Celtic Exchange is head and shoulders the best Celtic Podcast for quality, not everyone wants quality which is fine, madness, banter, sensationalist whatever - take your pick. The fact is that this brilliant series was brought to us all by a Celtic supporter with a podcast, not the BBC or a national newspaper. The Brian Dempsey one is a major story and it's so important that his side of events has been told. Dempsey, like most of the others have had their reputations tarnished by gossip, lies and agendas over the years and at the time. He came across brilliantly in my view.

Just this second finished listening to part 6. Actually got goosebumps as Tino quoted Brian's speech. It's no wonder that the fans in that room, when this guy spoke, went out and made sure the heart and soul of the club was won. How could you not be inspired!!!

I've shared this with all my Celtic family/friends and already receiving positive vibes from them....some actually watching it on the telly today to cover the boredom of no fitba.
Well done lubos for bringing this to our attention. I would encourage everybody to share this far and wide across the Celtic family and support. Many of our younger team among the support might not be fully aware of how monumental this time was in the story of Celtic.

Wouldn't it be mad if The Exchange managed to get any of the Kelly's or Whites!!! Im not sure they would be truthful, going by what we've heard so far...but it would be interesting hearing from their side!
I think it would be brilliant to hear their version of "the truth". I think that would be amazing to hear what they thought was going on.

Even if their versions differed it doesn't mean to say their are lying. It is just their perspective was very different. How often do you watch an incident at a game and you hear a dozen different interpretations and often exact opposite views as to what happened? It is not just football but everything.

Thanks for giving us the heads-up on this.

I'm hoping that there are more programmes to come in this series.

Any suggestions for future subjects? I'd like to hear about the 1999 season. All the background and tensions that led to the Supercaleygoballistic fiasco and sacking. I think it would be excellent to hear from John Barnes, Kenny Dalglish, Jock Brown, Craig Burley, Tom Boyd, etc.

Now, I really don't like some of those people listed but their views on this are important to hear.

The 10IAR year would be good to hear an insight to as well, but maybe we need to wait a while as it is still to raw for most of us.