‘Reeking’ Forgotten photos from The Jungle and around Celtic Park

Winning Captains

Administrator
Staff member

Forgotten photos from The Jungle and around Celtic Park (Photos 191-250 from 800)…

502-630x423.jpg

We promised you photographs of the Jungle this evening, images that you never thought you’d see again and will remember vividly and the memories will come flooding back. Talking of flooding…someone says that you can’t smell a photograph, well not sure you will agree with the that assessment when you get to the end of this batch from our collection which has much more to deliver this week!

image-50.jpeg

Tom Grant sitting to the left of Fergus McCann at Celtic Park

These photographs were given to The Celtic Star in the summer by the former Celtic director Tom Grant who found them totally forgotten about up in his loft when he was doing a clear-out ahead of a house move.

Tom kindly contacted The Celtic Star and offered them to us to digitalise and share with the wider Celtic support on his favourite Celtic site.

Earlier this evening we published 40 new photographs, mostly of the internal work as the extension to the Main Stand was in progress during the Centenary season. You may recognise many of the lounges and the front reception area coming together in those.

Now have 60 new photographs, taken the number published to 250 from our collection of around 800, all of which we’ll share with you this week. And we may add the earlier batch that were also given to us by Tom Grant, just ahead of the Covid lockdown. These pictures show the demolition work at the Celtic end, the Jungle and the Rangers end and the building of the stands that we know and love today.

499-630x955.jpg

But tonight you can ‘marvel’ at the facilities, the convenience of the catering units in close proximity to the Gents which will have you thinking about all those pies and bovrils you consumed over the years.

Memories View right enough, enjoy one last trip through The Jungle…

Continue reading...

Toilets under the jungle 🚹☣ weren't a health hazard right enough 😂. Mind you there was more pish on the terrace's than in the urinals, guys flared trousers acting like wicks and soaking it up ,wee tip for the youngsters out there never wear white skinner's ,they might look good at Wigan Casino but not when there soaked up a gallon of pish 😂😂😂

Fae the age of 5, i always stood Celtic end, no 3, spray painted Jock Stein on wall besides the stairs going up
The first time i was allowed tae fly, my old bhoy gave me a fiver to go into the jungle
About 11 i was, me n my mate head straight up the back, right under the overhead bit for the cameras
some big guy (about 12) gave me a joint, took 3 draws and ended up lying up against the floodlight legs at the entrance for what seemed an eternity
every time i stood up the blood went from toe to heed in a millisecond
some paramedic wanted to get me tae hospital
'no chance, the grubs shite and my folks will know and boot my baws'
my first tolk was my first whitey and easily the worst i'll ever suffer
we won though
back on the bus paw says 'well ?' it was eventful dad, i'll just stick with you lot next week
that was my only time in the jungle
right, wheres ma pipe ........

Took MrsTT to her 1st game, at start of 83/84 season. Canny remember who the opposition was, but it was a lovely summers day, of course not being one to listen too advice,

MrsTT was determined to wear sandals to the match, I took her to my usual spot in the jungle just at the halfway line, bought her the usual pre match cuisine look warm pie & boiling hot cup of tea, just after half time she pipes up 'it's a bit early tae be washing down the terraces I was perplexed as tae what she was on about.

Until I looked down and realised my lovely girlfriend & her new sandals were standing in puddle of piss, when I informed her of what had happened. She was not amused & demanded we leave immediately as she would need to go home & wash her feet. We moved closer too the Celtic End were the terraces was dry.

Unfortunately she was still moaning about her wet feet, so with about 10min left we headed for the exit, when she seen the puddle of piss we'd need too wade through in order to get out, she freaked. By this time my patience were wearing thin, I gave her a lift over the puddle & got out of the ground, it was her 1st & last game at Celtic Park😂😂

Remember the days of the yellow rivers very well and the cans that you kicked out the way on your way out being full....... but not of beer.
My first experience would have been the 70's
during our first 9 in a row.
Always stood at Number 3 in the Celtic end as most did who travelled with the Greenock Celtic supporters but did manage to get into the Jungle on some big European nights.
Great days 😄🇮🇪

Toilets under the jungle 🚹☣ weren't a health hazard right enough 😂. Mind you there was more pish on the terrace's than in the urinals, guys flared trousers acting like wicks and soaking it up ,wee tip for the youngsters out there never wear white skinner's ,they might look good at Wigan Casino but not when there soaked up a gallon of pish 😂😂😂
😆😆😆 they were filthy disgusting and there was a time I mind there were no female loos.
Luckily the female of the species is not only deadlier than the male , but they're also camels 🐫 and can haud in a pish way beyond anything us weak male guys can come close to.
Fs the guys didn't want to use these bogs which says a lot , given guys are fkn animals 😆
Fuk had they put big doc leaves in the cubicles instead of bog roll guys would be happy just to have something to wipe their arses with.
Also many ( particularly young hoops who don't remember the old stadium) will likely see it or take it as a myth that some " supporters" in the jungle would pish in another fan stood in fronts pocket.
Unfortunately kids/ younger hoops, as Marky said this is very true, led to countless punch ups which just depending on your luck were either smack in the middle of it or best scenario, well away from it, because if you left your viewing spot in the jungle at any time, during 1st ½, ht, during 2nd ½, then good fkn luck getting back to that space which no longer existed as soon as you'd left and vacated it.
I was replying to boab the other day on how nostalgia plays a large part in memories of the old barras and briggait, but old Celtic Park and the jungle?
Definately nostalgia kicking in, cos as great as it was ( and it was way better than great) so long as you could just wait for the bogs in the first pub home. Not a guys strong point, we need a pish ? We need it now, so bad that I mind dropping what was 3×£1 notes into a puddle on the jungle steps ( on a dry day) .
A dry day but the steps were soaking in puddles of pish.
£3 back then probably £10-£15:quid now so no little amount given how little folk had back then on the whole but there was no way was I picking up 3 £1 notes from a puddle of pish and sticking that in my trousers. 🙈

The jungle was inspirational, when that full side of the stadium where all on top form there was no atmosphere to compare, even without it world football has very little to match or better the inspiration the jungle gave our bhoys " sucked the ball into the net" something we hear a lot of regarding partisan crowds, sounds daft but really was true if we were 1 down but the fans saw we were playing well and happy with application there was no support like it in the world of football.
In hindsight maybe the old board missed a trick to earn a few quid, they knew what was going on but couldn't give a sh*t pardon le pun.
Had they the foresight ( any kind of foresight) they couldve sold portable mens urinals for a few quid outsidecthe stadiums or on the concourse cos they woulve sold without question.
Something like this
Screenshot_20231122_184213_Chrome.jpg
Which looks to me suspiciously like a milk carton recycled?
At £4 quid today and holding a litre of pish the old biscuit tin board missed an opportunity there .
This thread stinks of pish.

Always stood in the jungle when I started going on the Broxburn supporters bus with my mates in the early 70s we always stood about half way toward the rangers end of the jungle (right hand side looking from the stand),to say it was mental would be an understatement,once saw a guy waving a short samurai sword above his head strangely enough no one said anything ,
Yet I Got huckled during a rangers game in 1975 or 76 for nothing 😇😇 ,got a weekend lie over and a £75 fine ,I think I was on about a tenner a week back then , my soon to be wife wasn't very happy (we married young back in these days)but one good thing my future mother in law never spoke to me for about five years .

😆😆😆 they were filthy disgusting and there was a time I mind there were no female loos.
Luckily the female of the species is not only deadlier than the male , but they're also camels 🐫 and can haud in a pish way beyond anything us weak male guys can come close to.
Fs the guys didn't want to use these bogs which says a lot , given guys are fkn animals 😆
Fuk had they put big doc leaves in the cubicles instead of bog roll guys would be happy just to have something to wipe their arses with.
Also many ( particularly young hoops who don't remember the old stadium) will likely see it or take it as a myth that some " supporters" in the jungle would pish in another fan stood in fronts pocket.
Unfortunately kids/ younger hoops, as Marky said this is very true, led to countless punch ups which just depending on your luck were either smack in the middle of it or best scenario, well away from it, because if you left your viewing spot in the jungle at any time, during 1st ½, ht, during 2nd ½, then good fkn luck getting back to that space which no longer existed as soon as you'd left and vacated it.
I was replying to boab the other day on how nostalgia plays a large part in memories of the old barras and briggait, but old Celtic Park and the jungle?
Definately nostalgia kicking in, cos as great as it was ( and it was way better than great) so long as you could just wait for the bogs in the first pub home. Not a guys strong point, we need a pish ? We need it now, so bad that I mind dropping what was 3×£1 notes into a puddle on the jungle steps ( on a dry day) .
A dry day but the steps were soaking in puddles of pish.
£3 back then probably £10-£15:quid now so no little amount given how little folk had back then on the whole but there was no way was I picking up 3 £1 notes from a puddle of pish and sticking that in my trousers. 🙈

The jungle was inspirational, when that full side of the stadium where all on top form there was no atmosphere to compare, even without it world football has very little to match or better the inspiration the jungle gave our bhoys " sucked the ball into the net" something we hear a lot of regarding partisan crowds, sounds daft but really was true if we were 1 down but the fans saw we were playing well and happy with application there was no support like it in the world of football.
In hindsight maybe the old board missed a trick to earn a few quid, they knew what was going on but couldn't give a sh*t pardon le pun.
Had they the foresight ( any kind of foresight) they couldve sold portable mens urinals for a few quid outsidecthe stadiums or on the concourse cos they woulve sold without question.
Something like this
View attachment 24382
Which looks to me suspiciously like a milk carton recycled?
At £4 quid today and holding a litre of pish the old biscuit tin board missed an opportunity there .
This thread stinks of pish.
I mind being in the Jungle once and finding 3 Clydesdale £1 notes just lying there in a steaming yellow puddle. They were sodden and reeking of pish, but the macaroon bars boy accepted them so I stuffed my face that day (I'm still picking bits of coconut out of my teeth yet).

Thats nothing, one time I took my samurai sword with me...  got peace the whole game...

Ahhh, The reek o pish, the split heads and beer cans full o pish that got launched at random, bottles tae. I wonder why women never went to the game back then?
The wee boys that went round the track selling Wrigleys, Maccaroon bars and corned beef rolls took some abuse. “Hey, wee man, was yer maw picking her f…. When she made they rolls? ” is something I really heard a Celtic supporter ask a wee guy at Tannadice in the early 80s. Nostalgia.
I went to a mid week Celtic game at Tannadice on mushrooms as well. Totally mental experience, an assault on my senses, light, colour, noise and a hectic atmosphere. If I mind right the Celts won 3-1. Loved it.

Notice the old mobility cars. Takes you back don't it?
It does very much so, wonder what happened?
If they just gave those supporters seats at the front , don't see any wee mobility scooters in their place so imagine they seated them somewhere.
I always used to think, for all the troubles in that person's life I'd be doing well to imagine , at least they have amongstvthe best viewpoints in the stadium

Well I'm glad someone was brave enough to pick them up 😱🥵🤮
If it was my 3 £1 notes, and its a small world Bridie so I wouldn't be surprised.
Top marks for sticking yer hauns in there , tbh I was considering it but my brothers were like " STOP! that's no water that's pish " - roughly 10 Yr old me " whit? Is there a leak?"
- Reply , " aye and about 7,000 others"
Hope ye washed handies
😆😆😆