CLUB or COUNTRY

For me it would be interesting to know how many players have been ruled out from the lucrative monied associations compared to the smaller more financially strapped ones.
If it's significantly less then for me, it begs a huge question regarding resources, organisation and protection of players.
It's then like a two tier league.
Anybody any idea?

Some interesting and strong views on this thread.
To my mind players can decide if they want to play for their national team or not, it's the clubs who are governed by the regulations and can't refuse to release players. Players simply say no I don't want to play or retire!!
For me I fell out of love with our national team many years ago and am slightly embarrassed to say I didn't recognise probably 4 of the players in scotlands team. But watched in hope rather than expectation.
Again from a personal perspective I would have loved to have been good enough at anything to represent my country so quite get our players wanting international recognition. " If you know your history" comes to mind.
Anyway Celts are back at the weekend and can't wait.

Like my Scotland days out, just as much as my Celtic one's. Personally I don't think international games should be getting played at the moment, domestic & Champions/Europa Lge game's are fine because of the club bubbles. But with infection rates as they are & no clear guidance coming from the international governing bodies FIFA/UEFA.

Greed & TV monies fucked the game in Scotland, for decades folk have rubbished the domestic top Lge, both the 10/12 versions have failed, familiarity breeds contempt, also teams failures in Europe & the domestic game full of average non Scot's have not helped the game.

But what do I know, I'm just a fan & all they want is my money.

I dont go out of my way to watch any Scotland games. In the sense of booking a night or weekend day off
Cant fucking stand the mutants that appear from the bowels, thick as pig shit tartan army nuggets from the deep dark corners that only venture to Glasgow for walks or games at Hampden.
Having to stand next to huns and listening to their shite while attempting to be mates isnt for me.
Another part of the "army" are total naffs that dont have a fucking clue about football but buy a ticket to sound hard and have a story to tell by the photocopier on monday.
My ears tune into the huns and the naffs in the pub...no problem with that now.
Its the sleekit hatred of our players that I detest. From replies above nothing has changed or will.
As a fan I say keep the team at home.

If your a player its different. Its another tournament. Competition. Break from the norm. Chance to get the f@#$ out of dodge.
I was always shite at football. The lads that played and went to tournaments abroad loved it.
Becoming an international player is part of that. Cant get away from it.

Im viewing covid as a wartime midset in some ways. Death is inevitable.

What a few people seem to be missing is that it doesn't seem to be something that you become immune to.

Numerous people are getting it 2nd time round.
There is every chance the robust gain of function nature of the virus can be carried even on a vaccinated person.

The only answer is a world lockdown. Closed borders and military style quarantine.

A few places managed it but it was always incoming people that kicked it off again.

From what i gather a decent number of the population wont be given the vacincie anyway so there is no plan to eradicate it

Fuck the country, whether it's Scotland the republic or anyone else. We pay the wages and keep them in a bubble only to send them oot tae get it elsewhere. Fkn crazy to be playing international football atm,some of them are friendlies ffs.. I'd never deny any player the chance to represent their country but to do it in the current circumstances is completely fkn ludicrous. As far as Europe goes every club should be able to prove they're testing twice a week minimum or fucked oot the tournament. HH

In general most football fans of big clubs put the interests of their team way before that of the national team. The finals of these tournaments are played when that is the only football on offer.
There was a time when playing for your country was the biggest honour but that don't seem to be the case nowadays. So I don't understand why Uefa and fifa try to put an importance on games that neither most of the players and certainly the fans don't want.

I've been a proud Tartan Army member since my teens, I don't give a fuck what club team the guy next tae me supports, we're their supporting our country. As for the OO brigade they don't support Scotland & the majority of my fellow Hoops fan's I know follow Ireland.

Aye, there's a new hooray Henry element following Scotland, but going abroad & seeing what most expensive bottle of champagne, wine or whisky you can drink is not what the majority are about. But unfortunately yee canny help but laugh at the wankers, who are mostly rugby fans, just for the record.

I've been a proud Tartan Army member since my teens, I don't give a fuck what club team the guy next tae me supports, we're their supporting our country. As for the OO brigade they don't support Scotland & the majority of my fellow Hoops fan's I know follow Ireland.

Aye, there's a new hooray Henry element following Scotland, but going abroad & seeing what most expensive bottle of champagne, wine or whisky you can drink is not what the majority are about. But unfortunately yee canny help but laugh at the wankers, who are mostly rugby fans, just for the record.
At least it gives them a chance to wear there skirts

Aye, if that's meant as a derogatory comment about the kilt, got one similar on twitter in 2013 from an ignorant hun cunt, do we just drop hun in you're case, eh.
No need for the smart comments.
First of all it was you that was slagging off the rugby followers who go and follow the national team and we are well used to them coming to Dublin every 2 years and taking over the city centre.
Haven't got any problem with people attending sporting occasions dressed in fancy dress as it can add colours and enjoyment to the event, it's just not for me.
Scotland like Ireland are pure shite on the international scene so just to qualify is a major achievement in itself. So if people want to go to these finals dressed in traditional gear then brilliant as many would go from Ireland dressed as leprechauns.
The difference is we go there to enjoy the craic like the Scots as we all know we got no chance of winning the tournament, just hope we don't make a holy show of ourselves and some good results is a bonus.
Now when we follow our club in Europe it is a different storey as the expectations are so much higher so the real enjoyment is in the winning.
I would love to see Scotland qualify for the euros even more so now Ireland have gone by the wayside yet again, and yes it would be great to see the kilt brought out of storage and dusted down as they have been there for long enough.
So no need to start acting like an extra out of braveheart, maybe just lighten up and cop yourself on eh

I've been concerned about our players being infected by Covid from the very start, as far back as March when all the talk was about cancelling the international long distance travel games, be it the EL, Euros or World and Nations cups, for fear of these contagion risks.

I can't see what's changed now, in fact if anything the likelihood of risk, virus contact and potential death is presently even higher now with figures going through the roof on a worldwide scale!

Yet.........the braindead thugs operating out of FIFA and UEFA insist ALL internat players selected to play for their national side MUST attend... if fit!

Yes thugs, because they neither care what health risks/fatalities may befall the players nor will they likely compensate them, their families or the clubs satisfactorily, should the worst happen.

I mean, imagine if Ronaldo died, after just yesterday being confirmed as Covid positive.....heaven forbid this but would they...FIFA, or UEFA financially help the suffering parties involved.

I doubt it very much....so why why why......put anyone in the front line of health and safety risks?

Its not like its a potentially broken arm, leg or bruising at stake here.

Its risk of Death......its absolute madness.

Therefore if a player thinks its not worth the risk to life and respiratory system, because it's 'just a football game' then it should be up to him/her, even if they have no existing injuries at the time that would normally rule them out.

The new government three rule restrictions brought in yesterday...starting from today show that FIFA are interfering with the UK's attempts to curtail unnecessary travel, mixing, and multiple socialising that hopefully brings this pandemic under control again.

Its utter madness.

However...if they...FIFA, UEFA or the SFA continue with this practice remaining in place, then Celtic and other teams who have players on internat duty MUST insist on having the choice of postponing future upcoming games forthwith..... if ANY of their players are unable to partake in them because of the necessary isolation measures involved enforcing their absence.

Otherwise, they have the HSE laws of Health and Safety (RIDDOR etc) on their side, enabling them to enact the 'Near Miss' prevention rules that apply to protect Everyone in this country, irrespective of their employment AND to behave responsibly and sensibly regarding the threat to life and limb.

THERE ARE NO PERSONS, ESTABLISHMENTS, JOBS, SITUATIONS, CONDITIONS OR POWERS ANYWHERE, THAT CAN OVER-RULE THE HSE HEALTH AND SAFETY REGULATIONS IN PLACE IN THE UNITED KINGDOM.

A word of warning to the SFA.

Corporate liability is currently running rife at the moment in this country.
...There have been fines totalling millions of pounds and or penal servitude.
Establishments such as our governing body flaunting health rules especially at present..... may be deemed reckless and foolhardy in a court of law...

.............(who saw that one turning out....Supreme Court, July 2017, Craig Whyte)

Those among us still able to remember the '70's 'Hill Street Blues' will reminisce with the police sergeant....
... extolling to his guys, after a briefing and just before sending them off to work with his now iconic words of "and remember..............be careful out there"......

....well, it was the long pause and cold stare between his words of "remember" and "be" that did it for me.

I don't get this.......Its utter, Utter UTTER Madness........

I've been concerned about our players being infected by Covid from the very start, as far back as March when all the talk was about cancelling the international long distance travel games, be it the EL, Euros or World and Nations cups, for fear of these contagion risks.

I can't see what's changed now, in fact if anything the likelihood of risk, virus contact and potential death is presently even higher now with figures going through the roof on a worldwide scale!

Yet.........the braindead thugs operating out of FIFA and UEFA insist ALL internat players selected to play for their national side MUST attend... if fit!

Yes thugs, because they neither care what health risks/fatalities may befall the players nor will they likely compensate them, their families or the clubs satisfactorily, should the worst happen.

I mean, imagine if Ronaldo died, after just yesterday being confirmed as Covid positive.....heaven forbid this but would they...FIFA, or UEFA financially help the suffering parties involved.

I doubt it very much....so why why why......put anyone in the front line of health and safety risks?

Its not like its a potentially broken arm, leg or bruising at stake here.

Its risk of Death......its absolute madness.

Therefore if a player thinks its not worth the risk to life and respiratory system, because it's 'just a football game' then it should be up to him/her, even if they have no existing injuries at the time that would normally rule them out.

The new government three rule restrictions brought in yesterday...starting from today show that FIFA are interfering with the UK's attempts to curtail unnecessary travel, mixing, and multiple socialising that hopefully brings this pandemic under control again.

Its utter madness.

However...if they...FIFA, UEFA or the SFA continue with this practice remaining in place, then Celtic and other teams who have players on internat duty MUST insist on having the choice of postponing future upcoming games forthwith..... if ANY of their players are unable to partake in them because of the necessary isolation measures involved enforcing their absence.

Otherwise, they have the HSE laws of Health and Safety (RIDDOR etc) on their side, enabling them to enact the 'Near Miss' prevention rules that apply to protect Everyone in this country, irrespective of their employment AND to behave responsibly and sensibly regarding the threat to life and limb.

THERE ARE NO PERSONS, ESTABLISHMENTS, JOBS, SITUATIONS, CONDITIONS OR POWERS ANYWHERE, THAT CAN OVER-RULE THE HSE HEALTH AND SAFETY REGULATIONS IN PLACE IN THE UNITED KINGDOM.

A word of warning to the SFA.

Corporate liability is currently running rife at the moment in this country.
...There have been fines totalling millions of pounds and or penal servitude.
Establishments such as our governing body flaunting health rules especially at present..... may be deemed reckless and foolhardy in a court of law...

.............(who saw that one turning out....Supreme Court, July 2017, Craig Whyte)

Those among us still able to remember the '70's 'Hill Street Blues' will reminisce with the police sergeant....
... extolling to his guys, after a briefing and just before sending them off to work with his now iconic words of "and remember..............be careful out there"......

....well, it was the long pause and cold stare between his words of "remember" and "be" that did it for me.

I don't get this.......Its utter, Utter UTTER Madness........
Just hope hindsight can play a part next time around would never have thought this time around that the problem this time around would cause so much disruption and concern for all involved