FOREIGN REFEREES

Sorry but fuck Spain and the Francoist bastard cops. Up the Catalonian independence!
welcome tae the wonderful sectarian underbelly of scottish/european football L,the green brigade fly banners supporting palestinians (supported by the likes of roger waters)fined by eufa,crowdfunding paid the fine,and the rest provided schools, food and medical help in gaza,we flew banners supporting catalonian/basque self automony,tonight your seeing the reaction of the spanish authoritiesto that,as an aside a "rangers" pub in benidorm,had a few external flags burned, scottish media report "rangers pub petrol bombed as celtic fan's arrive in spain!!!!!!

They're often at odds with the Club (and UEFA) due to their political stance, but they are a source of great pride for the majority of us.

Over the Christmas period, they organised a food drive and were able to provide care packages and gifts for vulnerable and needy families.

True patrons of the Celtic Way!
the green brigade know what our club is all about SP,they are definitely not goin to the back of any phuqers bus!!!!!HH rosa park

ye might find this of interest L,we're not trying to radicalise anyone,least of all your good self,but like the civil rights protests in the usa in the sixties,which was racial,the same shit was happening in the u.k except it was sectarian.
https://philmacgiollabhain.ie/2018/10/05/the-day-that-state-violence-started-the-troubles/
for example,in the usa, an african american did'nt get a job because of his/her colour,in northern ireland/scotland you did'nt get a job because of school you went to!!!

we're not trying to radicalise anyone,least of all your good self,

Too late, MD -- committed American left-winger with portfolio here (in fact, that's a socialist pin in my hat):D Thanks for the props to Rosa Parks, who is a hero to many of us in the U.S. and thanks for the link, which is an outstanding article (and, interestingly, I was just talking about Bernadette Devlin with someone today). I know there is clearly parallels between the civil rights struggles here and in Ireland. Up the Ra!

ah remember this wee version of the celtic song from the 70's.,when it wiz open season, for celtic fans to be detained under the ould "breach of the peace","drunk and disorderly" etc,
"for it's a grand ould team to get the jail for.
for it's a grand ould team tae pay the bail for.
and if,ye know, the history, its enough tae make yer heart go oh.oh,oh
we don't care what the polees say'
what the hell do we care!
for we only know,that's there's gonnae be a show
and the glasgow celtic will be there!!!!!
sung with gusto, on a saturday night in tobago street nick!!
Hail Hail. YNWA!!!!! COYBIG!!!!

Too late, MD -- committed American left-winger with portfolio here (in fact, that's a socialist pin in my hat):D Thanks for the props to Rosa Parks, who is a hero to many of us in the U.S. and thanks for the link, which is an outstanding article (and, interestingly, I was just talking about Bernadette Devlin with someone today). I know there is clearly parallels between the civil rights struggles here and in Ireland. Up the Ra!
Hail Hail L feckin beautiful,we can get caught up in sweepin generalisations,but we can also pinpoint instances that are life changin,i used to rail against america for vietnam,south and central america,then while youth hostellin in europe,met loads of young americans who felt the same,put a stop to me generalising (apart from the huns,,,,,) this kinda summed that time up for me
HH, L!!!

There are TWO issues that badly need addressing and reform over at the SFA. (1) the shocking inadequacy of the referees, and (2) the compliance officer / incident review process. I’ve already put my thoughts forward on the compliance officer aspect (trial by television) in a separate thread, so I won’t repeat myself here.

With respect to the referees, foreign refs are likely the best solution, particularly if they’re full time professionals already.

Remember, the poor quality is down to two fundamental causes:
  1. Honest Mistakes. Enuf said.
  2. honest mistakes - caused by part time or amateur officials attempting to do an honest job but failing on occasion.
Foreign refs with no ties to Scotland will almost certainly eliminate the first issue. If they’re part time or amateur (3rd tier rumor), we’ll still be dealing with the 2nd issue. Maybe more, maybe less. TBD. If we hit a home run with this and we end up getting full time professional referees that are actually good, then there’s really no downside other than the cost. But given the alternative, I think most clubs in the Premiership would gladly pay the cost to bring in better officials.

But even if we get the officials sorted out, we still need reform at the SFA for compliance officer review as valid red cards will be appealed, and legitimate non-calls will still be subject to panel review.

Love that song. We have a radio station here which plays that song, in its 20-minute plus entirety, four times a day on Thanksgiving (9, 12, 2 and 6), since it has a Thanksgiving theme.
aye L,don't know how Arlo's career went after that,but i'll always be grateful that i discovered woody through him,which gave me a better understandin of dylan and to a lesser extent, simon and garfunkel,and this dude who i used to go and see in a pub in byres rd, in glasgows west end
creeeepy!!!!

But even if we get the officials sorted out, we still need reform at the SFA for compliance officer review as valid red cards will be appealed, and legitimate non-calls will still be subject to panel review.

I agree completely with this, and the rest of your post, Ben (obviously). But especially this.

I haven't seen anything on this, but clearly I could have missed it: Who does the review? Should there be a grading system where clubs can rate referees, or at least have input with the officials' organization which puts them out on the field?

Bibiana Steinhaus, ref'd Augsburg v Bayern Munich today
Did a good job, I'd welcome foreign refs to help clean up corruption in Scotland, but will never happen, as long as there's a Masonic lodge
Steve Clarke must be pissed after that ref's performance today
The bias couldn't be more obvious
Stonewall penalty, not given, keeper sent off, ruined the game
I hope Aberdeen 'bring it' in the next round and knock seven shades of shite out of them

bibiana steinhaus.jpg

There are TWO issues that badly need addressing and reform over at the SFA. (1) the shocking inadequacy of the referees, and (2) the compliance officer / incident review process. I’ve already put my thoughts forward on the compliance officer aspect (trial by television) in a separate thread, so I won’t repeat myself here.

With respect to the referees, foreign refs are likely the best solution, particularly if they’re full time professionals already.

2. honest mistakes - caused by part time or amateur officials attempting to do an honest job but failing on occasion.
Foreign refs with no ties to Scotland will almost certainly eliminate the first issue. If they’re part time or amateur (3rd tier rumor), we’ll still be dealing with the 2nd issue. Maybe more, maybe less. TBD. If we hit a home run with this and we end up getting full time professional referees that are actually good, then there’s really no downside other than the cost. But given the alternative, I think most clubs in the Premiership would gladly pay the cost to bring in better officials.

Ben!!!!!!! where have ye been,this is just an acknowledgement,not read your post yet,cos ah'm pished oot ma nut,lot of brewery workers in belgium dependin on me for employment!,however i shall return for some discourse,because yer gettin tae the nub of the problem with scottish football,IT'S CORRUPT AS PHUQ!!!!

I agree completely with this.

I haven't seen anything on this, but clearly I could have missed it: Who does the review? Should there be a grading system where clubs can rate referees, or at least have input with the officials' organization which puts them out on the field?
call me a cynic (hic) schalke v man city,var, schalke get 2 penalties,cannot consult var- "it's broken"
var in scotland- masonic referees on the pitch,masonic officials on var, or "it's broke" , maybe it's just me!!!!!!

But even if we get the officials sorted out, we still need reform at the SFA for compliance officer review as valid red cards will be appealed, and legitimate non-calls will sti who might make a ll be subject to panel review.
Ben, i would rather have an even sub substandard foreign referee who might make a "mistake" than a corrupt bastard, who you know IS going to make an "honest mistake",the compliance thing is interesting though,a light is being shone and they are very aware of the court of public opinion,if more managers, like steve clark call them out the better, but he needs to be backed up,something which our club has been very retiscent to do.

Bibiana Steinhaus, ref'd Augsburg v Bayern Munich today
Did a good job, I'd welcome foreign refs to help clean up corruption in Scotland, but will never happen, as long as there's a Masonic lodge
Steve Clarke must be pissed after that ref's performance today
The bias couldn't be more obvious
Stonewall penalty, not given, keeper sent off, ruined the game
I hope Aberdeen 'bring it' in the next round and knock seven shades of shite out of them

View attachment 1527
DILLIGAF,mentioned this on friday,by the way thought she had a great game,ah said, "bundesliga,welcome to the 21st century
scotland,still stuck in the 17th century!!! HH

It's one of the reasons I don't miss living in the West of Scotland
Steve Clarke was interviewed for the Rnagers job before Stevie G, he was told "There is no longer bigotry at this club"
He's not an idiot, everyone knows they will never eradicate the 1690 inhabitants, anti Catholic, anti Irish, agenda
Decisions made, cost clubs money, they hate Celtic more than they love their club and the SFA has entrenched, sectarian bigotry, into their mandate
Small minded minority, absolutely embarrassing Scotland
The rest of the world, just cannot comprehend it

I agree completely with this, and the rest of your post, Ben (obviously). But especially this.

completely anonymous L,3 man panel and all 3 have to agree the decision,i.e morales kicked scott brown in the balls,was it intentional,maybe, (stop laughin in the cheap seats!!) was it violent,or just a little, ye know..(told yeez tae stop laughin)
so he grabs somebody else by the balls,hey .it happens everyday guys!! ask any lassie! (stop growlin in the cheap seats)
guy lyin injured on the park,think i'll stand on him and dig my studs intae his back!!!!!! not a talking too, not a yellow card,for THREE yes THREE red card offences,and that's only ONE game!!!!
ah'll take ah blind,one legged foreign referee any day of the week over the corrupt pish that officiate oor game, oh an d fuck if ive made a spellin mistake gggrrrr!

completely anonymous L,3 man panel and all 3 have to agree the decision,i.e morales kicked scott brown in the balls,was it intentional,maybe, (stop laughin in the cheap seats!!) was it violent,or just a little, ye know..(told yeez tae stop laughin)
so he grabs somebody else by the balls,hey .it happens everyday guys!! ask any lassie! (stop growlin in the cheap seats)
guy lyin injured on the park,think i'll stand on him and dig my studs intae his back!!!!!! not a talking too, not a yellow card,for THREE yes THREE red card offences,and that's only ONE game!!!!
ah'll take ah blind,one legged foreign referee any day of the week over the corrupt pish that officiate oor game, oh an d fuck if ive made a spellin mistake gggrrrr!
In fairness, [ya, right!] I don’t believe the incidents from the last derby game were even sent to the compliance officer or the panel for review. They looked at the match report and supposedly the referee said he saw all 3 incidents and didn’t feel any warranted action so... by rule his decision couldn’t be appealed. Or so the story goes.

But that actually brings me to the reform idea I presented yesterday where the panel should have carte blanche to look at anything and everything it seems worthy of discipline, and the referee has no influence (even a red card given) on suspensions. The referee handles the match, and the panel handles suspensions; and the two are completely independent of one another.

I didn’t mention it in that thread, but one side benefit is that there would always be an independent body evaluating ALL of the calls of the referees and making public determinations (with video evidence) of any errors made. At least with respect to anything worthy of discipline. Penalty calls would still be unreviewable after the fact.