If I was Dermot Desmond

They just don't get it or maybe its me who doesn't get it.
Its not just a football team its our culture, DD should spend his vast wealth on building and promoting a great Celtic team and culture.
The amount of money he has can make a difference even in bitter wee Scotland, he has the power (money) to challenge them in every dodgy decission, from Refs all the way up to the top Prince Philip is known to be top or, in the chair of the Masons surronded by a culture of anti Irish/Scottish nationists (katholics) altho I'm a Atheist I still feel oblidged to defend the ordanery worker who choses to follow the faith of his kin and ancesters. The same reason I don't have any time for DD. I also don't have any time for Roy Keane such a great freadom man from Cork. Did he spend his gift as a footballer to make his culture happy.
No f**ken way he sold his soul for the Queens silver playing for a English team till they didn't want him any more. I know a lot of my Irish comrades won't agree with me, if so I would like to hear there thot on them both. As a Scotsman I am actually more of a Warrior for Irish freedom than those two wealthy English loving trators, I don't see any difference between them and Mo Johnstone.

Davies decided to invest in Newton Heath, in return for some interest in running it. This led to a change of name and, after several alternatives including Manchester Central and Manchester Celtic were rejected, Manchester United was born in April/May of 1902.

Manchester's Irish connection goes further than the thousands who travel across the Irish Sea each week to watch their beloved Manchester United. Indeed it goes deeper than the thousands of Irish Mancunians who live in Levenshulme and throughout the city. The annual Manchester Irish Festival is the largest in the UK and one of the biggest in the world. On these pages, we take a look at why the connection is so strong and celebrate everything Irish to have emerged from Manchester.​

By 1841, a tenth of the city's population was Irish and many lived in the district known as "Little Ireland", a slum area in the Ancoats area of Manchester which Engels labelled in his 1845 'Condition of the Working Class In England' as "the most disgusting spot of all!". This area of the city was so overcrowded that the sudden Irish influx during the Potato Famine could not be accomodated and had to turn to other English cities, notably Liverpool and Birmingham.

Engels wrote, "The New Town, known also as Irish Town, stretches up a hill of clay, beyond the Old Town, between the Irk and St. George's Road. Here all the features of a city are lost. Single rows of houses or groups of streets stand, here and there, like little villages on the naked, not even grass-grown clay soil; the houses, or rather cottages, are in bad order, never repaired, filthy, with damp, unclean, cellar dwellings; the lanes are neither paved nor supplied with sewers, but harbour numerous colonies of swine penned in small sties or yards, or wandering unrestrained through the neighbourhood. The mud in the streets is so deep that there is never a chance, except in the dryest weather, of walking without sinking into it ankle deep at every step. In the vicinity of St. George's Road, the separate groups of buildings approach each other more closely, ending in a continuation of lanes, blind alleys, back lanes and courts, which grow more and more crowded and irregular the nearer they approach the heart of the town. True, they are here oftener paved or supplied with paved sidewalks and gutters; but the filth, the bad order of the houses, and especially of the cellars, remain the same." [Buy Engels 'Condition of the Working Class']

According to the census of 1841, 60% of the population of the West of Ireland lived in windowless single-roomed mud cabins with little furniture. It was from this area that the majority of Manchester's Irish immigrants came. Unprepared for city life, they often took any job available, many degrading, low-paid and dangerous.

Manchester's early Irish inhabitants found themselves living in poverty. They often crammed into houses with little air and light. A tax on windows caused many landlords to block up as many openings as possible, making the houses dangerously dark and lacking ventilation. Overcrowding forced many to live in the cellars of houses where the conditions were damp, dangerously dark and lacking sanitation. A report found that 18,000 Irish inhabitants lived in Manchester cellars. (15% of these actually slept more than 3 people in one bed, with cases of 8 in a bed reported and even horrific tales of many even sleeping without a bed).

Life in Manchester though for many was surprisingly better than that enjoyed in Ireland, and for this reason immigrants were willing to work for lower pay than the locals. This lead to tension, especially when Irish workers were used to break strikes. Many Irish in Manchester sent a fraction of their earnings 'back home' which helped the Irish economy.

In the main Manchester's Irish immigrants found jobs in construction. As well as the labourers and builders there were the 'navvies' (navigators), who learnt their trade in the construction of canals (of which Manchester had many), before adapting to work in railway and road construction. Many women became domestic servants, a surprisingly high number of Irishmen found jobs in the armed forces, and a few became prize-fighters finding fame and small fortune in the process.​

Who are we to tell anyone what to do with their money? It's not as if we are running at a loss like another klub we know.
A club without supporters is nothing and Celtic's money is the supporters' money. Desmond is a billionaire and doesn't need to profit from Celtic; yet he does. If his love was for the club he would reinvest every penny.

Davies decided to invest in Newton Heath, in return for some interest in running it. This led to a change of name and, after several alternatives including Manchester Central and Manchester Celtic were rejected, Manchester United was born in April/May of 1902.

Manchester's Irish connection goes further than the thousands who travel across the Irish Sea each week to watch their beloved Manchester United. Indeed it goes deeper than the thousands of Irish Mancunians who live in Levenshulme and throughout the city. The annual Manchester Irish Festival is the largest in the UK and one of the biggest in the world. On these pages, we take a look at why the connection is so strong and celebrate everything Irish to have emerged from Manchester.​

By 1841, a tenth of the city's population was Irish and many lived in the district known as "Little Ireland", a slum area in the Ancoats area of Manchester which Engels labelled in his 1845 'Condition of the Working Class In England' as "the most disgusting spot of all!". This area of the city was so overcrowded that the sudden Irish influx during the Potato Famine could not be accomodated and had to turn to other English cities, notably Liverpool and Birmingham.

Engels wrote, "The New Town, known also as Irish Town, stretches up a hill of clay, beyond the Old Town, between the Irk and St. George's Road. Here all the features of a city are lost. Single rows of houses or groups of streets stand, here and there, like little villages on the naked, not even grass-grown clay soil; the houses, or rather cottages, are in bad order, never repaired, filthy, with damp, unclean, cellar dwellings; the lanes are neither paved nor supplied with sewers, but harbour numerous colonies of swine penned in small sties or yards, or wandering unrestrained through the neighbourhood. The mud in the streets is so deep that there is never a chance, except in the dryest weather, of walking without sinking into it ankle deep at every step. In the vicinity of St. George's Road, the separate groups of buildings approach each other more closely, ending in a continuation of lanes, blind alleys, back lanes and courts, which grow more and more crowded and irregular the nearer they approach the heart of the town. True, they are here oftener paved or supplied with paved sidewalks and gutters; but the filth, the bad order of the houses, and especially of the cellars, remain the same." [Buy Engels 'Condition of the Working Class']

According to the census of 1841, 60% of the population of the West of Ireland lived in windowless single-roomed mud cabins with little furniture. It was from this area that the majority of Manchester's Irish immigrants came. Unprepared for city life, they often took any job available, many degrading, low-paid and dangerous.

Manchester's early Irish inhabitants found themselves living in poverty. They often crammed into houses with little air and light. A tax on windows caused many landlords to block up as many openings as possible, making the houses dangerously dark and lacking ventilation. Overcrowding forced many to live in the cellars of houses where the conditions were damp, dangerously dark and lacking sanitation. A report found that 18,000 Irish inhabitants lived in Manchester cellars. (15% of these actually slept more than 3 people in one bed, with cases of 8 in a bed reported and even horrific tales of many even sleeping without a bed).

Life in Manchester though for many was surprisingly better than that enjoyed in Ireland, and for this reason immigrants were willing to work for lower pay than the locals. This lead to tension, especially when Irish workers were used to break strikes. Many Irish in Manchester sent a fraction of their earnings 'back home' which helped the Irish economy.

In the main Manchester's Irish immigrants found jobs in construction. As well as the labourers and builders there were the 'navvies' (navigators), who learnt their trade in the construction of canals (of which Manchester had many), before adapting to work in railway and road construction. Many women became domestic servants, a surprisingly high number of Irishmen found jobs in the armed forces, and a few became prize-fighters finding fame and small fortune in the process.​

A club without supporters is nothing and Celtic's money is the supporters' money. Desmond is a billionaire and doesn't need to profit from Celtic; yet he does. If his love was for the club he would reinvest every penny.

Still don't think we have the need to tell him what he should be investing in, it's not as if he'll be taking advice from us plebs anyway. Thank God we are self sufficient and haven't had the need to pawn our assets with rogues like Close Bros.

I'd like him to fuck off and offer up his shares for purchase by fans. How ironic that would be when the Sevco board are trying to offload their worthless shares to the gullabillies. Desmond's shares would sell out in a day at most while the Sevco share bonanza will last as long as the club itself.

I happen to think DD could do with lightning the load in his wallet, but I also think it's vital that we remain self-sufficient and never solely dependent on a benevolent benefactor.

There comes that time when DD will no longer part of the club and it would be unthinkable to be encumbered by debt due to excessive wage bills and huge transfer fee tranches to be paid.

Aye, apparently it's all about the kafflicks & proddies. Well I'm not having it The Pagans wur here 1st, MON THE PAGANS
As long as it's not the Greeks
8fe68vrldnv21.jpg

I disagree with the general sentiment of the thread.

DD is a businessman

He invests in Celtic in many ways

To claim he loves Celtic less because he is billionaire and doesn't make Celtic compete at higher levels is madness

No matter what you love

If it spends more than it creates its a waste of time or a scam of some sort

The minute Celtic start spending more than they can afford its the end.

Scottish football just like Hungarian football or Polish football is not going to get better if Celtic spend even more than every other team in our league.

And that means you would be pouring money down a big hole.

Celtic adds to the economy of Scotland
Makes profits regularly
Pays taxes regularly
And encourages investment from many sources other than Celtic fans as a result

Having Messi or that level that Barcelona can afford is paid for by corruption (imo)

Money down a hole and into billionaires pockets at a faster rate than DD gets his just rewards for adding his value to the Celtic business side.

Businessmen are only interested in making money

They don't throw money down a hole usually

And if they do you can bet its a tax dodge or fiddle of some sort.

Rangers are dead and they had the entire Scottish political and masonic hand aiding them in their destruction and now they are covering it up.

No such luxury would ever be extended to Celtic

And even if DD spent his entire billions on Celtic he could never get it back

And club would be gone just like Rangers are gone

I can guarantee you that you would only get extra expensive players playing in Scotland for Celtic against Hamilton or even hearts regularly

Their heart would not be in it coz they aren't at sharp end of the market where they can sharpen their talent

So just like Lisbon team Celtic should be bringing through best Scottish talent and supplementing it with player who want play for celtic not DD wage packets

If we can't win the league with best income and best resources then something is very wrong

if we need to be in debt to billionaires just to compete its no longer football
Its a scam

DD like every other shareholder should be interested in making returns every year

because the minute you aren't making returns your dying

that's the point where you should quit what's killing you.

Celtic for over 100 years have competed against the big boys and won some incredible tournaments against the odds and against (imo rigged ) system

you cant win anything with money

you can only buy it

And Celtic won every tourney they ever competed

Rangers decided to buy tourneys and still won nothing worth talking about against clubs who had no such special resouces

they won nothing

they bought it

Prior to buying the titles

they had a special set of rules that was to help them in every way

they still had that plus mega million loans and tax scams when they decided buying trophies was worth it

To think that despite buying most of their trophies in last 30 years they haven't really won much more than celtic with buttons must really make them weep inside

Despite being serial cheats
Scamming the country
and spending other peoples money while making themselves richer they died

dead

gone

And they loved it when Celtic were close to death

But their mega spending killed them instead

And that culture will kill sevco stone dead too

if you cant beat e join em

no no no

you can beat em

Celtic is proof of that

100 years of trying to kill us stone dead made us the best team in scotland by a country mile

And we didn't ever need to buy it

we did what clubs should do

work with what you can afford and be determined that your as good as anyone else with massive support worldwide.

Im proud that billionaires invest in Celtic because it means it makes more than it uses

Unlike the charity crypt for the ungrateful dead

I disagree with the general sentiment of the thread.

DD is a businessman

He invests in Celtic in many ways

To claim he loves Celtic less because he is billionaire and doesn't make Celtic compete at higher levels is madness

No matter what you love

If it spends more than it creates its a waste of time or a scam of some sort

The minute Celtic start spending more than they can afford its the end.

Scottish football just like Hungarian football or Polish football is not going to get better if Celtic spend even more than every other team in our league.

And that means you would be pouring money down a big hole.

Celtic adds to the economy of Scotland
Makes profits regularly
Pays taxes regularly
And encourages investment from many sources other than Celtic fans as a result

Having Messi or that level that Barcelona can afford is paid for by corruption (imo)

Money down a hole and into billionaires pockets at a faster rate than DD gets his just rewards for adding his value to the Celtic business side.

Businessmen are only interested in making money

They don't throw money down a hole usually

And if they do you can bet its a tax dodge or fiddle of some sort.

Rangers are dead and they had the entire Scottish political and masonic hand aiding them in their destruction and now they are covering it up.

No such luxury would ever be extended to Celtic

And even if DD spent his entire billions on Celtic he could never get it back

And club would be gone just like Rangers are gone

I can guarantee you that you would only get extra expensive players playing in Scotland for Celtic against Hamilton or even hearts regularly

Their heart would not be in it coz they aren't at sharp end of the market where they can sharpen their talent

So just like Lisbon team Celtic should be bringing through best Scottish talent and supplementing it with player who want play for celtic not DD wage packets

If we can't win the league with best income and best resources then something is very wrong

if we need to be in debt to billionaires just to compete its no longer football
Its a scam

DD like every other shareholder should be interested in making returns every year

because the minute you aren't making returns your dying

that's the point where you should quit what's killing you.

Celtic for over 100 years have competed against the big boys and won some incredible tournaments against the odds and against (imo rigged ) system

you cant win anything with money

you can only buy it

And Celtic won every tourney they ever competed

Rangers decided to buy tourneys and still won nothing worth talking about against clubs who had no such special resouces

they won nothing

they bought it

Prior to buying the titles

they had a special set of rules that was to help them in every way

they still had that plus mega million loans and tax scams when they decided buying trophies was worth it

To think that despite buying most of their trophies in last 30 years they haven't really won much more than celtic with buttons must really make them weep inside

Despite being serial cheats
Scamming the country
and spending other peoples money while making themselves richer they died

dead

gone

And they loved it when Celtic were close to death

But their mega spending killed them instead

And that culture will kill sevco stone dead too

if you cant beat e join em

no no no

you can beat em

Celtic is proof of that

100 years of trying to kill us stone dead made us the best team in scotland by a country mile

And we didn't ever need to buy it

we did what clubs should do

work with what you can afford and be determined that your as good as anyone else with massive support worldwide.

Im proud that billionaires invest in Celtic because it means it makes more than it uses

Unlike the charity crypt for the ungrateful dead
Cheers TET,ye just made ma night! Hail Hail! ☘

Lose a penalty shoot out tae the scum-Boo!
Hire Brendan Rodgers-YAYYY!
Invincible season-YAAYYY!
Unprecedented Double treble-phuqin YAAAYYY!
Snake oil slithers out-Boo!
Lenny comes,steady's the the ship,get's an exhausted team over the line,
Phuqin rebel treble treble,YAAYYYYY!
Lenny new manager, boo! WTF!!!!,cheap option, we should be gettin some kinda famous, foreign cheque book phuqer, that knows phuq all about Scottish football!
up to date,top of the league,in a cup final,qualified for the last 32 of the EL,with 2 games to go,
Undefeated in away games in europe!!!!!! did ye brendan! aye right!!!!
Who needs Dermot's gazillions, we do what we do,we do it from the heart not the cheque book COYBIG! YAAAYYYY!