Celtic youth

commons,mulgrew,stokes

the clique who plotted against him were moved on quite quickly , Ronny would have been an asset at the the club as a number 2 or head of youth development
Totally agree, kelly. Think Ronny is a coach first and foremost and wasn't comfortable with the media scrutiny that being manager brings.

Maybe too nice a fella to be an actual boss, but I think he would have been the best type of no.2

I don't understand why with no competitive football on offer for these potentially great youngstsrs are they not playing in a u23 league down south as there is one to the best of my knowledge.
It's a fact we are by far the biggest club in Scotland and the only one's capable of getting youngsters to international level and yet no support from the SFA to help with the development of young home grown talent or am I looking at this point all wrong?

Back in the 80's and early 90's (and way back in the olden days when Duffy was just a mere pensioner), there was a pretty clear gateway to first-team football if you had a modicum of talent.

Scouting wasn't as advanced and maintaining young players cost next to nothing. The pros were on ok money, but nothing that was gonna buy them a holiday home in Malibu.

Bosman was a gamebreaker, as the clubs didn't have their hooks in you the way they did prior to that and the 7-year contracts became a footnote in history.

All the available money (and Scotland had a sweet enough SKY deal at the time) was being invested in first-team properties and the young lads were never going to be able to provide an instant fix in the way they used to.

The demise of school football didn't help either.

There's a real irony in Murray's part in the downfall though. When they had that run in 92, it was built on the back of young Scots boys like Nisbet, McSwegan and Pressley. After that, they spent crazy money on Laudrup, Boli and Spazcoigne and shat the bed on an annual basis in Europe.

Irony can be quite amusing sometimes, but we're paying the price for it now.

I don't understand why with no competitive football on offer for these potentially great youngstsrs are they not playing in a u23 league down south as there is one to the best of my knowledge.
It's a fact we are by far the biggest club in Scotland and the only one's capable of getting youngsters to international level and yet no support from the SFA to help with the development of young home grown talent or am I looking at this point all wrong?
Nope your spot on John, like kelly and others have said, murray in cahoots with the sfa,stopped reserve team football, the pathway Celtic used to bring our youngsters through, i.e, 'the quality street gang', it was part of his financially doped plan to buy success and at the same time almost killing scottish football, clubs,with no pathway, turned to the expensive foreign imports to compete, driving clubs to financial ruin, scottish football, to this day, has never fully recovered 🍺 🥳

Back in the 80's and early 90's (and way back in the olden days when Duffy was just a mere pensioner), there was a pretty clear gateway to first-team football if you had a modicum of talent.

Scouting wasn't as advanced and maintaining young players cost next to nothing. The pros were on ok money, but nothing that was gonna buy them a holiday home in Malibu.

Bosman was a gamebreaker, as the clubs didn't have their hooks in you the way they did prior to that and the 7-year contracts became a footnote in history.

All the available money (and Scotland had a sweet enough SKY deal at the time) was being invested in first-team properties and the young lads were never going to be able to provide an instant fix in the way they used to.

The demise of school football didn't help either.

There's a real irony in Murray's part in the downfall though. When they had that run in 92, it was built on the back of young Scots boys like Nisbet, McSwegan and Pressley. After that, they spent crazy money on Laudrup, Boli and Spazcoigne and shat the bed on an annual basis in Europe.

Irony can be quite amusing sometimes, but we're paying the price for it now.
" Back in the 80's and early 90's (and way back in the olden days when Duffy was just a mere pensioner "🥢🍺🥳

Ah mind, when a got ma first chariot, 0 tae 20 in hauf an oor,jist efter ma grandson invented the wheel,the worst thing aboot the chariot though, wiz the blowback fae the horsefarts, and ye charged doon the 'chariotway', think they eventually called them road's or something......that wee prick Methusalah shouted 'hey auld yin, dae ye no' need a licence fur that'!
ye cheeky feckers! 🍺 🥳

Not using the five subs (to perhaps give two youth prospects a run out for 10-15 mins) in most games seems like folly.

Aye, we want the 10, but even if all goes to plan next season will definitely be beyond Broony; Eddy will be off, hopefully leaving as a hero; Ajer and Ntcham will be agitating for a move (if they don't get it before the end of October this year); heaven forbid, McGregor might even fancy a shot at England; there's no guarantee Duffy will be here beyond his loan spell; Moi won't be on loan for a third season, surely; Forrest will be 30, which is serious drop-off time for a winger.

That's most of our team. Lenny needs to know which young players he can trust to step in because I doubt we'll make seven top-dollar signings to replace the guys listed above.

This season has a sort of Last Dance vibe to it.

Celtic youth system is full of quality. Luca, Okoflex and Dembele to name but a few.
There are whispers that Dembele wants away. We have also lost a young defender to Bayern. This is down to youth not being given a chance at Celtic lately. This obviously hasn't always been the case, Tierney, McGregor and Forrest are proof of what can be done when players are promoted from the youth ranks. I for one completey understand why our management want to go with the tried and tested, battle hardened players. To lose the chance of winning 10 in a row by playing young inexperienced players would be madness. Would you bhoys and Ghirls, after the 10 is won (which it will be) like to see more of our youngsters promoted and given a chance. Even at the risk of us loosening our grip on scottish football or do you think we should be putting them in there now?? I dont want to keep creating quality youngsters just to lose them because they arent given a chance. We should be able facilitate a few of these kids alongside a more experienced team.
Like tony said if theyre good enough...I believe that our youth players will understand that the best they may hope for is a place on the bench or injuries to get a chance but I would say that the youth players we have are of a very high standard and I for one would have no problem having welsh , oko- flex on the bench as I think they are ready Harper was on the bench recently dembele has also played I think the future looks bright, green and white in these bhoys hands.

Would anyone be able to explain why have we not got an u23 team playing in the Scottish league. With no proper football on offer for these youngsters how are they meant to gain experience and be ready for that step up if they are not playing competetivly matches in the first place? Why can't a young team start at the lower league and see how they do. Other team's do that Europe so why not in Scotland. We are the club that produces the best part of the national squad weather there current or past players. Also they would get great support from us supporters. It would help out other clubs financially. A couple of simple rules like both teams couldn't play in the same league or against each other unless a final of a cup competition. If our young star's sign for CELTIC they should play for CELTIC not be loaned out to others. As we are the only one's who do invest in youth in Scotland that needs to be acknowledged by the SFA and our board should be fighting there case.

Ah John,this is Scotland mate,the SFA are not interested in the good of the game,the first league reconstruction was designed to prevent Celtic, reaching ten in a row, they then cancelled the reserve league,where our youngsters competed against seasoned pro's,while learning from fellow pro's coming back from injury etc, it was where they gained the experience, enabling them to make the step up to the first team, we now have academies,where development players play against each other on a limited amount of games, at youth level our young players are stagnating,due to the lack of competition,in short our young player's 'pathway' is fecked! HH 🍺 🥳

With common sense like that MD you've got no chance of getting a job at hampden. Question for u mt peter lawells about to take up a position on either the SFA/SPFL board of tadjers (Scottish word wrong thread) does he get paid for that or is it just a token position? I'm guessing that the former is true as people like lawell (ok there are no people like lawell) dont do things for free . The greedy 🤬..🤬..🤬

It's a disgrace that this is allowed to happen as now our squad and by the signings we are making are more of a proven and experienced player which is OK at the moment. On the bigger picture to much youth are been deprived of an opportunity to really make it. In England they have no respect for our league whatsoever so sending them out on loan to any clubs down there could be looked upon as a form of cruelty. Time we started to protect our young players and find game time for them playing in the green and white of celtic

Just said very similar john on another thread , in the 2017 season the league cup winners won 250k for winning it ( that would be us of course) whilst we paid 350k to bring Luca Connell to the club, theres nothing but bragging rights weve no need for in that tourney so we should just go it alone and play our colts in the league cup and who could care less? No european place, no money of real value to our club and it would give new clubs a chance to win silverware........like Edinburgh city or Kelty

I just seen it mind you getting the message out there to protect our youth can't be a bad thing.

Exactly, and it's not so long ago that the club released a raft of young talent (not an actual raft on the clyde 🤡) but many youth players were let go. MD please remind us why that happened as my memory isnt what it was when the...ehm. ....thing ...what I was trying to say what was it again 🤔

I was going to say that we shouldn't forget about that but then I realised that I couldn't remember what the whole story and reasoning behind it was myself haha aye I need my bed and I'm not going to google it not when you've got the likes of Michael Duffy a living Celtic encyclopedia who will come across that post at some stage and remind me of what I'm saying we shouldn't forget 🤡😜 or I'll remember in the morning haha

We would be the only club capable of fielding two teams. I'm unsure how the restructure to accommodate it would work. Would we have to enter a non league set up initially and work our way up? I'm guessing there wouldn't be the same freedom of movement player wise that we had in the old reserve league.
So young players couldn't play along side our older first team recovering from injury or playing to improve match sharpness. It might be strictly a youth squad and projects.
I'm sure we must of looked into it and deemed it too expensive or not worth it.
There's no point playing a skinny 16yr old cb against 14st hammer thrower center forward. There have been very few of our youth coming through that have been physically ready for senior pro football. Most I've seen have been skilful but essentially too light and small to compete.
Even guys like Johnston (who I rate) still has a bit to go before he can be pushing and displacing a first team player and he is 21.
By the age of 18 they should be capable of putting on some muscle mass but very few of them do.
Time and time again we hear the story of a player saying they put in extra work to build themselves up to compete better.
Are our youth doing that or are they just training and clocking out for the day?

Without the set up of a reserve league we can't operate in a way that would benefit the squad. A few injuries and we might need Soro to start or even a guy like welsh to be on the bench. We can't have them locked in B team set up and unavailable unless the sfa allow say a 10 game appearance rule for the A team.

We would have to break the mould and follow in the footsteps of a Spanish set up.
Not impossible but we couldn't use it to our advantage with the senior players registered to the A team in the way we did with the old reserve set up.

Would still be worth a punt though. Anything has to be better than this pro youth pish.

We are constantly at risk of losing our better players to the money of the EPL youth wastelands or to the German set up.

I'll add that the Germans are miles a head with what they are doing over there.
It's the no1 place young guys want to go.

Scotland is so far behind and as things stand any attempt to copy the model would fall flat on its arse over here as we are the only club that could afford to attempt it.

Even with better TV money English clubs are buried alive in debt.

Ze Germans just know how to get shit done

We would be the only club capable of fielding two teams. I'm unsure how the restructure to accommodate it would work. Would we have to enter a non league set up initially and work our way up? I'm guessing there wouldn't be the same freedom of movement player wise that we had in the old reserve league.
So young players couldn't play along side our older first team recovering from injury or playing to improve match sharpness. It might be strictly a youth squad and projects.
I'm sure we must of looked into it and deemed it too expensive or not worth it.
There's no point playing a skinny 16yr old cb against 14st hammer thrower center forward. There have been very few of our youth coming through that have been physically ready for senior pro football. Most I've seen have been skilful but essentially too light and small to compete.
Even guys like Johnston (who I rate) still has a bit to go before he can be pushing and displacing a first team player and he is 21.
By the age of 18 they should be capable of putting on some muscle mass but very few of them do.
Time and time again we hear the story of a player saying they put in extra work to build themselves up to compete better.
Are our youth doing that or are they just training and clocking out for the day?

Without the set up of a reserve league we can't operate in a way that would benefit the squad. A few injuries and we might need Soro to start or even a guy like welsh to be on the bench. We can't have them locked in B team set up and unavailable unless the sfa allow say a 10 game appearance rule for the A team.

We would have to break the mould and follow in the footsteps of a Spanish set up.
Not impossible but we couldn't use it to our advantage with the senior players registered to the A team in the way we did with the old reserve set up.

Would still be worth a punt though. Anything has to be better than this pro youth pish.

We are constantly at risk of losing our better players to the money of the EPL youth wastelands or to the German set up.

I'll add that the Germans are miles a head with what they are doing over there.
It's the no1 place young guys want to go.

Scotland is so far behind and as things stand any attempt to copy the model would fall flat on its arse over here as we are the only club that could afford to attempt it.

Even with better TV money English clubs are buried alive in debt.

Ze Germans just know how to get shit done
Think that covers it Bobo! 🍺 🥳