Who could replace Neil Lennon

A successful team is based upon how the sum of it's parts function as a group and how each section interacts with each other section.

That is over simplifying it, but that is basically how team sports work.

Personal opinion is, is that whoever it is that is responsible for identifying potential players has directed their attention towards just filling a position without looking at the requirements of the team.

Admittedly, that must be difficult with the team at the moment, as there is no real pattern or identity to speak of; however - players have been signed who don't seem to currently fit within whatever system it is we're trying to play. It isn't helped by the fact that the current manager doesn't seem to know what system suits his players best and that just adds to the overall lack of cohesion and just general confusion.

When things are going in a downward trajectory - it is often best to go back to basics and have the team focus on doing their own individual jobs.

Central defenders patrolling the central areas, right and left full-backs defending the right and left flanks with the option to bomb on only when it is appropriate.

Two central midfielders working the 60-yards between the penalty areas. Two WIDE midfielders staying WIDE and opening up spaces.

Two forwards, one central and one prepared to run both channels and link up.

This is Scottish football. The formula is basic, but it should be effective in the vast majority of matches.

The systems we currently favour allow players to hide or go missing at various points. That simple 4-4-2 means that no one can afford to hide or relinquish their responsibility. The only question then left to answer is are they good enough footballers? I happen to think most of them are, but then it would be up to them to prove it.
Right WC this is a red card aw dae it’s folk like this that grind ma garlic 🧄 eye a never came oan here fur folks ti talk sense
Get this post in the Irrational hatred Fred
Wur no here to make sense SP.
actually great sensible post well said that man players doing there jobs in the positions they play genius
👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏
Ignore first part sair heid been up aw night
Projectile vomit with jet wash 💩 oot the other end. Oh and ma Covid19 test back Negafuckingtive whoooo hooo
But great post as per usual SP always a pleasure. 👏👏👏

HH 👏

A successful team is based upon how the sum of it's parts function as a group and how each section interacts with each other section.

Personal opinion is, is that whoever it is that is responsible for identifying potential players has directed their attention towards just filling a position without looking at the requirements of the team.

Admittedly, that must be difficult with the team at the moment, as there is no real pattern or identity to speak of; however - players have been signed who don't seem to currently fit within whatever system it is we're trying to play. It isn't helped by the fact that the current manager doesn't seem to know what system suits his players best and that just adds to the overall lack of cohesion and just general confusion.

When things are going in a downward trajectory - it is often best to go back to basics and have the team focus on doing their own individual jobs.

Central defenders patrolling the central areas, right and left full-backs defending the right and left flanks with the option to bomb on only when it is appropriate.

Two central midfielders working the 60-yards between the penalty areas. Two WIDE midfielders staying WIDE and opening up spaces.

This is Scottish football. The formula is basic, but it should be effective in the vast majority of matches.

The systems we currently favour allow players to hide or go missing at various points. That simple 4-4-2 means that no one can afford to hide or relinquish their responsibility. The only question then left to answer is are they good enough footballers? I happen to think most of them are, but then it would be up to them to prove it.
Spot on SP
A football team has always been about partnerships within a team.
Usually most managers address the kepper and 2 CB as I have been saying for years it is the most important partnership that needs to be got right and you build from there. It is also the one any decent manager does not like to change unless it is forced upon him. It is the old theory if you don't concede a goal you don't lose the game.
This area has not been addressed all season which is criminal, it is just stick them in there and hope it clicks.
Also for width you are looking for FB to be having a good understanding with the lad in front of them to have control of the flanks in attack and defence.
We operate with 1 man expected to do the whole lot on his own.
You expect your 2CM to be able to control the game, to always be in a position to receive a ball at most times, to be able to link the defence to the attack as well as the width.
We play with 2 far to deep and keep getting pulled out of position trying to cover our lack of width.
Always been a fan of the 2 up front, 1 working the CB and 1 working the channels or dropping off making themselves available in front of there defence.
We play 1 up to get crowded out without any support.
I also believe we are trying to use all these different formations just to try and accommodate certain players into a team, when it should be the manager sticking to how he wants to play and the players follow suit and if not preforming a bench is always waiting

You summed this up perfectly in the first 2 sentences mate.
By way of example in my younger days I played in DM role. If either of the full backs or central defenders went forward I would hang back to cover for them. I only went forward if I knew they were behind me and holding position. All of this kind of shit was coached into us. We knew what we were supposed to be doing.
Unfortunately at the minute our guys don't seem to. They are all over the place. There is no semblance of a truly cohesive unit. So who you put into this scenario will make no difference unless everybody is on the same wavelength. This is all down to the coaching or lack thereof.
I don’t think player recruitment is the issue. It’s difficult to recruit a player who fits requirements without knowing what those are. As Lennon doesn't seem to know how can Hammond be expected to.
We all seem to know what is required why can’t Lennon and the players?

Did anybody read jackie mac in the record he said lenny says turnbull needs to get fitter to get a start he is fuckin fit he canny get his match sharpness cause lenny wont play him same way the boy soro put them in the regulars urnae exactly romping it are they? This is why we need a proper manager in someone who's no scared to put players in and to change things if its broke our gaffer keeps trusting the broke bits to somehow get fixed all by they're self with no input fae him as the gaffer....just want the whole thing over n done with

You summed this up perfectly in the first 2 sentences mate.
By way of example in my younger days I played in DM role. If either of the full backs or central defenders went forward I would hang back to cover for them. I only went forward if I knew they were behind me and holding position. All of this kind of shit was coached into us. We knew what we were supposed to be doing.
Unfortunately at the minute our guys don't seem to. They are all over the place. There is no semblance of a truly cohesive unit. So who you put into this scenario will make no difference unless everybody is on the same wavelength. This is all down to the coaching or lack thereof.
I don’t think player recruitment is the issue. It’s difficult to recruit a player who fits requirements without knowing what those are. As Lennon doesn't seem to know how can Hammond be expected to.
We all seem to know what is required why can’t Lennon and the players?
This team and squad was set up as a 352 with 2 players for each position so rotation should have been straight forward.
With all the chopping and changing has never created a settled team.
The constant changing of formations just shows a lack of confidence in what you are hoping for which transmits down through out the team.
We have become a team just thrown together on match day in the hope something might click, absolutely pathetic way of running any team least of all ours

Did anybody read jackie mac in the record he said lenny says turnbull needs to get fitter to get a start he is fuckin fit he canny get his match sharpness cause lenny wont play him same way the boy soro put them in the regulars urnae exactly romping it are they? This is why we need a proper manager in someone who's no scared to put players in and to change things if its broke our gaffer keeps trusting the broke bits to somehow get fixed all by they're self with no input fae him as the gaffer....just want the whole thing over n done with
I have never heard in all my life of a team where we always an issue over players fitness. You only hear about that with players coming back from injury.
At this stage it is just more bullshit been put our way a real cop out, with a ready made excuse.
If that's the case in us not able to get players fit then no chance of seeing Mikey Johnston then.
More like lenny won't play them, the question still remains why?

Turnbull needs to get fitter? Why? Does he have a different training schedule from the rest of the squad? You set the training sessions Lennon don't you? So why is this guy not fit?
If he means match fit then all down to one person - himself. You don’t get time if you're not selected.
I’m getting fed up with this fitness shit from Lennon.

Turnbull needs to get fitter? Why? Does he have a different training schedule from the rest of the squad? You set the training sessions Lennon don't you? So why is this guy not fit?
If he means match fit then all down to one person - himself. You don’t get time if you're not selected.
Aye so am I mate have been for a while he buys players then disnae even try and fit them into the team shved for example wether hes good enough or not is for another time but hes a winger hes exactly wit the team needs never understood the whole shved thing at all but its classic lenny now hes not wanting to play more of his signings,theres no effort to try n freshen the squad up a bit even play some youth at the very least they wid give us bit a oomf and speed in our play.....och am away am knocking maself mental 🤪

I'm just fed up with Lennon.
How about sorting training out and have all your players fit and less of the excuses and shite talk. Fuckin sick looking at him never listening to him.

I've been drilling it into every Gaelic football team I've coached. They're probably sick listening to me at this stage. TEAM = Together Everybody Achieves More.

Why?
Guy is an up and coming manager who's teams play attractive football... Maloney is Scotland's top young coach and from what I've heard, big Mick is doing a great job.....it's a perfect young and forward thinking combination who know exactly what is required.....
No problem with Maloney coming back but surely we should be aiming higher than Jack Ross

Just looked at BBC footie page.
Neil - ‘There’s not a lot wrong...We’re lacking a rub of the green and cohesion at times..we’re dominating games in terms of possession and chances..blah blah blah’
Not a lot wrong? FFS!!
Unlucky? What 10 times in 12 games?
Dominating possession? The only reason we dominate possession against these shit teams is because they line 10 men up outside the box and invite us forward in the knowledge that our lone striker wont get a sniff and if they break fast our defensive sieve will concede at least one.
Apparently the players are happy about the board support though. Well isn’t that just dandy that makes 11 happy people then 👿

Neil - ‘There’s not a lot wrong...We’re lacking a rub of the green and cohesion at times..we’re dominating games in terms of possession and chances..blah blah blah’
Not a lot wrong? FFS!!
Dominating possession? The only reason we dominate possession against these shit teams is because they line 10 men up outside the box and invite us forward in the knowledge that our lone striker wont get a sniff and if they break fast our defensive sieve will concede at least one.
Apparently the players are happy about the board support though. Well isn’t that just dandy that makes 11 happy people then 👿
Vomit inducing stuff from Lennon....

Not a lot wrong? FFS!!
Can't and won't listen to him no more barrow.
In fact lost so much respect for the man.
Going around thinking he has became the master of deception when the truth is every time he opens his mouth nothing but bullshit is coming out of it.
Could have kept his respect and dignity by doing the right thing and leaving.
The longer he stays the worse his reputation and past achievements will become less relevant.
For the younger generation he is fast becoming a hate figure, so will never understand why he is doing this to himself, can only guess he is getting paid huge money for helping create the fuck up in place