If not Lenny then who?

Was reading the Glasgow Celtic Supporters Page there. Lenny is not popular as choice for manager. To put it mildly. I love him too but would prefer a better manager. I know we won’t get a better manager, so I have prepared myself for Lenny.

More high profile managers cost and demand more money for themselves and their available budgets. Lenny is the cheapest option and that way of thinking is the central tenet of our boards DNA.

It’s lenny all day long.

On a side note, I would rather have Lenny than. Coyle, Moyes, or Mckinnes who I saw mentioned as a possible. Rose would be my choice if I lived in cloud cookoland.

Was reading the Glasgow Celtic Supporters Page there. Lenny is not popular as choice for manager. To put it mildly. I love him too but would prefer a better manager. I know we won’t get a better manager, so I have prepared myself for Lenny.

More high profile managers cost and demand more money for themselves and their available budgets. Lenny is the cheapest option and that way of thinking is the central tenet of our boards DNA.

It’s lenny all day long.

On a side note, I would rather have Lenny than. Coyle, Moyes, or Mckinnes who I saw mentioned as a possible. Rose would be my choice if I lived in cloud cookoland.
Can i ask how you prepared yourself for Lenny??

Simple question here

For those of us who seem to be dead set against Lenny becoming our next manager then who do you feel that we should go for
Realistically taking into account availability desire to join Celtic experience finances and fan acceptance?

There are thousands of candidates out there There MUST be someone who ticks all the relevant boxes

Let's hear your suggestions

I'm sure it will make very interesting reading and no doubt a healthy debate

see as long as it's no Moyes I'm prepared to back him !

After the whispers and rumours and secret meetings doing the rounds, here's my stick-on prediction:

Lenny gets a one-year 'rolling contract' to stay and complete the nine through 2019/20.

Martinez in next summer straight after the Euros to take us toward the ten.

Announced whenever the team is flagging/support getting edgy with Lenny during next season.

All parties already agreed in principle. You heard it here.

After the whispers and rumours and secret meetings doing the rounds, here's my stick-on prediction:

Lenny gets a one-year 'rolling contract' to stay and complete the nine through 2019/20.

Martinez in next summer straight after the Euros to take us toward the ten.

Announced whenever the team is flagging/support getting edgy with Lenny during next season.

All parties already agreed in principle. You heard it here.
good shout Sandman,but ah don't want Martinez!!!! he played fur motherwell ffs,

(y)he won a cup wi wigan,got them relegated,got a gig wi everton,got ran out of town cos they were pish! got 3rd place in the world cup wi the team number 1 rated in the world, NAW!jist NAW!

There was this guy who managed here for a while He was adored and revered until he vanished like a proverbial thief in the night

When he arrived he hadn't won any trophies at all let alone take a team to a World Cup Final so Martinez' FA Cup win is a definite improvement on that

I think we've got to get a perspective on the environment and league in which we play The money available to a manager to build a team and stamp his mark on it and the kudos or perhaps lack of it that a perceived move to Celtic might carry within the Sphere of world football

If Lenny got the job on a 1 year rolling contract but failed to secure the 9 IAR how would that affect a new manager's view and desire to joining Celtic

As for a new guy arriving after a Euros competition I recall 2 Ulstermen doing something not too unsimilar 1 just before and the other just after because he'd spent his summer working at the tournament as a Television Pundit
Both of these guys did not too badly until for different reasons they took their leave

Next season will be critical for Celtic in as much as if 9 IAR is secured then we'll have equalled the best run in our Club's history albeit with 3/4 managers as opposed to just 1 manager on the previous occassion

If the 9 isn't achieved then it'll a long wait until we might be in the position to attempt to go for the Holy Grail of 10 IAR again It's taken almost half a century to get back to a position that we were in back in 1973 I'm too old to wait another 45 years to try again if we fuck things up this time
In reality Celtic shouldn't be in the position of wondering if we can attain the 10

Bearing in mind the amount of cash that the HUNS have thrown at trying to stop us doing 8 IAR I can only imagine how many stops they'll be pulling out to try and derail our efforts of achieving 9 whether they do it fairly or otherwise
However knowing the track record of both the incumbent regime at Edmiston Drive as well as that of the previous occupiers and the help they'll be seeking and no doubt receiving from our Scottish game's governing bodies I have a feeling that it's more likely to be the 'otherwise' option that we'll find ourselves up against especially if Strict Liability is introduced
Despite the Clubs being dead against it I feel that this could be the very vehicle that the Footballing authorities in this country could use to thwart our record breaking efforts

So whilst we continue to dream of the ultimate 10 IAR we must bear in mind the pitfalls and obstacles that the Club faces in achieving that goal
Selecting the right man to lead us towards it and by association glory renown and greatness in Celtic folklore is of paramount importance and waiting a year to install a manager so that he can try and fulfil his International ambitions would be an error of the greatest magnitude

Whoever the Club want to get to try and lead us to what we are all desperate for must be installed after the current season ends Hopefully with a TREBLE TREBLE achieved

No caretaker or temp for a year Think back to the last time we attempted to go for 10 IAR with a caretaker manager albeit under vastly different circumstances It all came crashing (excuse the pun) down around our ears
Get the right man whoever that may be in at the end of THIS season Let him get bedded in Let him attempt to get us to the CL and the rewards that would bring us and use those funds to ensure that we get the quality of player required to get us the 10 IAR and beyond

The more IAR leagues we win The more CL qualifications we achieve the more bounty comes flooding in to the Club's coffers and the more dispair pressure and hurt we bestow on those HUN bastarts

WE are in the enviable position The position of financial strength WE have the world at our feet WE have the chance to DESTROY the HUNS once and for all and send them babbling ranting and raving back under the rocks and back into the caves from where they emerged Remember 2012 What we could achieve here on in would eclipse that great year manyfold
We could tear their hearts out Drain the very last drop of their life blood and leave their rotten stinking carcasses for the overhead circling vultures to strip bear

If the Board simply makes the correct appointment within the next 6 weeks we coukd ultimately be living in a HUN FREE footballing society Now there's a wonderful prospect

Remember snivelling whingeing depressed HUN fuckwits 7 years ago?
Their inane ramblings 'THE BIG HOOSE MUST REMAIN OPEN' 'WE ARE THE PEEPUL' 'EVERYBODY HATES US BUT WE DON' T CARE' 'WE DON'T DO WALKING AWAY
Their totally OTT celebrations when they knocked us out of the Scottish Cup on penalties in 2016 before ultimately being gubbed themselves in the Final against Hibs who were ably fortified by 2 on loan Celts Stokes and Henderson....... KARMA indeed
The ensuing pitch invasion and the lies about their players being attacked
The cheering from their dressing room when we were drawn together in 2018 Scottish Cup Semi Final Look how that one panned out
But ultimately the Trophies and Titles they STOLE from us through their cheating and skullduggery as well as the denial of us having the chance to reach CL and attain the vast fortunes which would have been available to us
Their claims that they are the World's most successful Club
Their 'GOING FOR 55" claims as well as' THE RANGERS ARE COMING' when in reality the only trophy they have won is the Petrofac Cup

So come on Mr Desmond Mr Lawell et al
Get your baws out Make a decision The RIGHT decision Get your cheque book out Get a man in ASAP to lead us to GLORY and consign these upstarts to history like their fore runners Be philanthropic Bury these vermin once and for all and do the rest of Scottish football World football the biggest favour imaginable

Great post Bill. Laid it out on the line and got it exactly right imo. The selection of the new manager to take over Celtic is sacrosanct to achieving 10iar. We can’t have any more temporary or rolling contract Manager and as you say we need a new permanent manager in ASAP.

You have outlined the many pitfalls that lie ahead of Celtic as they go ahead for the nine and 10 and these are going to be substantial coming from every nook and cranny of the Scottish establishment. we need not just a make do manager but a great manager to lead us just as big jock did way back in the sixties. We are on the cusp of another great achievement for Celtic FC.

Celtic FC heirachy get this right and let us as Bill said blow this lot from ibrokes clean out of the water. HH

phuq sake Celtic fans! if we don't win a treble every year we're shite! sack the board,sack the manager,the players urny good enough,the pies are cauld,hoopy's pish at dancin!!!!! phuqin chill will yeez! get behind Lenny,get behind the team ffs!!!!! so many "world class" coaches postin on here,GEEZAbreak!
You've crossed the fuckin line here Michael. Hoopy 's a fuckin world class dancer. Michael flately my arse, hoopy all day long......