New Celtic manager , who do we want?

Who do you want as the inevitable new manager?

• WGS

Votes: 1 1.8%
  • Frank Lampard

• Rafa Benitez

Votes: 8 14.3%
  • Steve Clarke

Votes: 3 5.4%
  • Eddie Howe

Votes: 24 42.9%
  • Martin O'Neil

• Other (please state)

Votes: 6 10.7%
  • Martinez /Maloney

Votes: 12 21.4%

• Total voters
John Terry...loves the Celtic

With regards Broony, Terry or any fledgling ex-player coach....I don't get people when they say " no, don't want him, I want someone who can organise a defense etc."
These are guys who have played at the very top, trained and been coached everyday under the very best coaches and managers..they have forgotten more about the game than most even know.They are media savvy and know football clubs inside out...Some people are just cut out for being a manager, they have the charisma , knowledge and ability to lead with the latter being one of the most important factors in guiding a group of players

With regards Broony, Terry or any fledgling ex-player coach....I don't get people when they say " no, don't want him, I want someone who can organise a defense etc."
These are guys who have played at the very top, trained and been coached everyday under the very best coaches and managers..they have forgotten more about the game than most even know.They are media savvy and know football clubs inside out...Some people are just cut out for being a manager, they have the charisma , knowledge and ability to lead with the latter being one of the most important factors in guiding a group of players
Unfortunately opinions are like aresholes ,everybody’s got wan 🤷‍♂️🤷🤷‍♂️

John Terry looks as if he has done well with the Villa defence,could do worse than try to get him in,
might be able to bring a couple of Villa players with him,but having said that Steve Clark is now the bookies Fav.

Idk about you or others GS but if Clarke takes the joab I would find that a bit hypocritical having slagged aff both us and the zombies for the sectarian hatred and bs that goes on. I'm looking at Lennon thinking the guys got thicker skin than an elephant and hippo put together. If Clarke wasn't happy with it when killie manager hows he gonny cope when he is Celtic manager? Move his family tae the moon? It's likely that he'll find that theres a whole new level of survival liars oan the moon as well as a Moon Celtic supporters club. He was close to breaking point at killie, some might even say he did have a mental breakdoon at killie. I know that hes supposedly been interviewed for the joab before , I'm no sure hes got the mental strength to lead us

I dont know Docco I've forgot hunners a pish I mean whit wis a talking about again 😛

Aw bs aside ( mostly) I would have Terry as a no nonsense no2 like big johan was , anybody who dives heid first into the pitch is serious about defending , but if he came hed want tae be no1 hes already at a successful villa as a coach ( most successful villa since MONs villa) I think a fair few of the ex England players would fancy having a go at slippy but I'm fair confident that slippy will do the off soon enough and well before fans and zombies are allowed back into stadiums.

I seen yesterday that Eddie Howe is a candidate for the crystal palace joab noo roy Hodgson has reached retirement age (145yrs young) and if he is chucking it that means weve missed the boat cos Howe will choose an EPL side over an SPL side. Wagner was mentioned for the Bournemouth joab as well , at this rate well do well to have any manager in place. Would be just like Celtic for lenny to walk and weve got no-one to replace him bar Kennedy

In the (Peter Lawwell) ideal world we would have strode to the 10 this season, he would step down as CEO, probably become Chairman, Lennon would take his bonus and step down (maybe stay for one more year to hand over) and a new CEO, Director of Football and young progressive manager appointed. Next season would be a free hit with the 10 in the bag and the new modern structure would have a season to bed in.
Unfortunately this season has been a shitshow. As a result we need to bounce back and win the league next season. There is no way we will have a new CEO, DoF and inexperienced manager arriving in the summer. We know the new CEO starts in July, and if a DoF is to be appointed that will likely be in the summer as well. To allow them time to review what they've inherited, and start to implement their own ideas, we now need an experienced manager. Someone who is pragmatic, can work with a DoF, improves players and have the team playing with an identity. He needs to do this on small budget with many of our current 'better' players leaving.
We need another Wim Jansen type appointment.
Who, with experience in UK football, fits the bill?
IMO Clarke is as good a shout as anyone. Howe given his age and profile would be an ideal but unlikely. A Martinez/Maloney combo is fantasy league stuff.
After we play them at CP on 20th March. An ideal time for a new manager to come in and assess what he has ahead of next season.
All of this assumes Lennon is getting sacked.

I totally understand your logic Docco, but it's football we're talking about, logic seldom comes into it. Football is littered with managers who've played with the best, trained with the best, and even played under the best managers; and yet, when it came their turn for a wee shot in the dugout, they simply couldn't cut it. No, for me we need someone with a proven track record, someone who's unafraid to tackle what for me is a massive rebuilding job. I believe the decision we're all waiting, ( and hoping ? ) for, will be the difference between a relatively quick return to the top, or years in the doldrums. You're correct, some people are just cut out to be managers. Difficult thing is, first finding them, and then getting them to work in Scottish football. It's so very important to get this right; this is no time to allow a budding boss to cut his teeth.

In the (Peter Lawwell) ideal world we would have strode to the 10 this season, he would step down as CEO, probably become Chairman, Lennon would take his bonus and step down (maybe stay for one more year to hand over) and a new CEO, Director of Football and young progressive manager appointed. Next season would be a free hit with the 10 in the bag and the new modern structure would have a season to bed in.
Unfortunately this season has been a shitshow. As a result we need to bounce back and win the league next season. There is no way we will have a new CEO, DoF and inexperienced manager arriving in the summer. We know the new CEO starts in July, and if a DoF is to be appointed that will likely be in the summer as well. To allow them time to review what they've inherited, and start to implement their own ideas, we now need an experienced manager. Someone who is pragmatic, can work with a DoF, improves players and have the team playing with an identity. He needs to do this on small budget with many of our current 'better' players leaving.
We need another Wim Jansen type appointment.
Who, with experience in UK football, fits the bill?
IMO Clarke is as good a shout as anyone. Howe given his age and profile would be an ideal but unlikely. A Martinez/Maloney combo is fantasy league stuff.
After we play them at CP on 20th March. An ideal time for a new manager to come in and assess what he has ahead of next season.
All of this assumes Lennon is getting sacked.
I believe Lennon will be allowed stay to the very end, G67. He will then walk away on his own terms, or so we will be told.

Lauded and thanked by Dermot Desmond, Peter Lawell, the Celtic Board, the media and any other sycophant they can muster up for his 'magnificent' contribution.

I am convinced Lennon knows, and has agreed this strategy.

The ultimate insult to the critics within the Celtic support.

This is what we have leading us, both on and off the pitch. Money, personal prestige and position are more important to them, than the good of the club.

This historic season was very salvageable, even with the poor start. They chose not to make the decisions necessary to do so.

I, for one, will have no sympathy for any of them. Let their reputations rot. A curse on all their houses.

I totally understand your logic Docco, but it's football we're talking about, logic seldom comes into it. Football is littered with managers who've played with the best, trained with the best, and even played under the best managers; and yet, when it came their turn for a wee shot in the dugout, they simply couldn't cut it. No, for me we need someone with a proven track record, someone who's unafraid to tackle what for me is a massive rebuilding job. I believe the decision we're all waiting, ( and hoping ? ) for, will be the difference between a relatively quick return to the top, or years in the doldrums. You're correct, some people are just cut out to be managers. Difficult thing is, first finding them, and then getting them to work in Scottish football. It's so very important to get this right; this is no time to allow a budding boss to cut his teeth.
Im of the opinion that even a proven manager like Howe might take time to settle into the goldfish bowl and the hatred that he will be subjected to. Point is theres no way to know for sure if a manager with track record vs a guy like Terry or others like broony, larsson will do any better. Even so I would still prefer a proven manager ☘

That's really harsh POD lenny may be out if his depth, same for those upstairs but I've no doubt whatsoever that Lennon is doing his utmost to turn things around , too late or not. HH
Sorry Winter, I completely understand where you are coming from. But the way I see it is, that's his job, and what he is paid to do. He is only trying to turn around his own failures and catastrophic management. Not those of somebody else. They were mostly caused by his own refusal to change direction and pig headed stubbornness. When it was obvious his selections and tactics were not working, and he was not prepared to change, then he should have taken the decision to go. The fact that he didn't, was his own personal choice, which I believe was based on, what was best for Neil Lennon, not for the club.
As for Peter Lawell and the Celtic Board, don't get me started.

That's my rants for the day now, and I feel better ! 🤬👍🍀HH

Have a good one👍

I don’t want Neil Lennon at Parkhead next season. Full Stop.
So HE shouldn’t be deciding who the club is signing for the new season.
I’m hoping that the board are presently working on their next manager, but knowing them, they won’t be.
If Lennon is there next season, it doesn’t matter if the gates are open or not, there won’t be many season ticket holders.
As far as I’m concerned, Lennon should have been out the door when he played with no strikers in a European tie at home in September/October.

As much as I have became so disillusioned by lenny as I can no longer stand the sight of him and long ago stopped listening to his bollox, I can still understand why he's still in his position even though I believe he should have been removed months ago.
I know that is a very condirdictory statement to make, but I do believe that the club needs to look at the financial side of things before it can race into finding the replacement.
Nearly all clubs have been hit very hard with this pandemic financially and can see this summer being one of a huge merry go around regarding players.
Even ourselves have a good few entering the last year of a contract, so if they are not going to get an improved contract elsewhere then we could be stuck with players just waiting until things improve and can leave us on a free transfer costing us yet again more millions.
Most clubs will also need to make huge cutbacks to recoup money lost during this pandemic. Also nearly every club will be affected by ST sales as most supporters will possibly wait and see what and when can they attend games before paying out on St.
With so much uncertainty around the game at present, it most be nearly impossible to say what budget a new potential manager would have to work with as I would be fairly certain a new manager would like to know considering the expectations that will be placed upon him.
Our best prospect has Surly got to be a head coach that can improve the youngsters within the current squad an area lenny has failed miserably.
I fear with the current cash climate we may not get the big name we hope for, but there will also be plenty of potential younger players up for grabs in the summer, so we do need a head coach with a reputation for improving players unlike lenny who is gaining a reputation for destroying careers of players